Tax Data Series

Individual Income

Municipal Income Taxes
Tax Rates and Amounts collected, by Municipality, Calendar Year 2005

Municipal income taxes are generally imposed on wages, salaries, and other compensation earned by residents and nonresidents who work in the municipality. The income tax is also applied to business net profits that are attributable to activities in the municipality. Most municipalities allow a partial or full credit to residents for municipal income taxes paid to another municipality where they are employed.

Administration of the municipal income tax is strictly local, either by the cities and villages themselves or by central collection agencies under contract with various municipalities.

State law requires that the rate must be uniform within a municipality and cannot exceed one percent without a vote of the people. Rates of taxation in 2005 ranged from a low of 0.30 percent in the City of Indian Hill Village to a high of 3.00 percent in the City of Parma Heights, Cuyahoga County, and the Village of Urbancrest, Franklin County.

The City of Euclid is the only municipality to levy and collect municipal income taxes for its corresponding school district. The city’s income tax is 2.38% while the Euclid City School District has a 0.47% tax. Although the Ohio legislature revoked this authority for all other communities beginning in 2001, it has since reenacted this authority under the condition that only residents would be subject to the municipal income tax.

Total municipal income tax revenue was $3.8 billion. Of this amount, approximately $3.5 billion was collected by cities and $0.3 billion by villages. There were fourteen municipalities that did not submit calendar year 2005 data in which eleven of these had data submitted by their collection agency (RITA or CCA). For the remaining three municipalities, prior year’s collections are shown. Assuming these municipalities still had the income tax in effect in calendar year 2005, a total of 558 municipalities (234 cities and 324 villages) levied the tax.

There were three new municipalities added to this publication this year:

  • Village of Minerva Park, Franklin County
  • Village of Owensville, Clermont County
  • Village of Piketon, Pike County

Finally, there were twenty-seven municipalities that adjusted tax rates during calendar year 2005, one of which was a decrease.

Data for Table LG-11 were obtained from surveys conducted by the Ohio Department of Taxation.