News Releases

News Release

September 02, 1999  -  Columbus, Ohio  -  Energy Credit Program Deadline Extended

CONTACT: JAMES GERKO, (614) 728-1088                    

The deadline to apply for assistance for this winter's heating bills through the Ohio Energy Credit Program has been extended to November 1, 1999.

Ohio Tax Commissioner Thomas M. Zaino announced the extension today. "This program assists thousands of low income senior citizens and disabled Ohioans who struggle to pay their winter heating bills." He added that by extending the deadline, he hopes every Ohio citizen who wishes to apply for the program will be able to do so. The Ohio Energy Credit Program is administered by the Department of Taxation.

Beginning with this heating season (December, 1999 through April, 2000), qualifying income levels will be indexed annually to adjust for inflation.

To qualify for the Energy Credit Program, you must meet all of the following requirements:

  • Be head of household or spouse;
  • Be 65 years of age or older in 1999 or be totally and permanently disabled;
  • Have a total household income of not more than $9,090 in 1998. If your 1998 income exceeds $9,090, you may still qualify, if your total income in 1999 will not exceed $9,090 (January 1, 1999 through June 30, 1999 must not exceed $4,545).

Benefits available for applicants are determined by income and the type of heat used. The range of benefits for eligible applicants is:

  • 25% credit against winter heating bills -- when annual income is between $5,051 and $9,090 (using electric or natural gas heat);
  • 30% credit against winter heating bills -- when annual income is $5,050 or less (using electric or natural gas heat);
  • $125 one-time credit -- when annual income is less than $9,090, using bottled propane, wood, or kerosene, or sharing a meter, or paying rent which includes heat.

People who believe they are eligible for the Ohio Energy Credit Program should call the Ohio Department of Taxation at the toll-free number, 1-800-282-4310, or in Franklin County, 728-1081.

For more information contact:

Gary Gudmundson, Communications Director
Ohio Department of Taxation
(614) 644-6903