News Releases

News Release

August 31, 2007 - Flood-stricken Counties will get Additional Time to File State Taxes

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Ohio Tax Commissioner Richard A. Levin announced today that Ohio residents and businesses stricken by last week’s severe flooding will be granted an extension to Oct. 15, 2007 to file and pay Ohio taxes.

The extended deadlines apply to residents and businesses in the six Ohio counties that were declared federal disaster areas on Monday: Allen, Crawford, Hancock, Putnam, Richland and Wyandot counties.

“Many families and small businesses are still trying to rebuild their lives and their communities. Hopefully, this extra time can help,” Levin said.

The deadline extension to Oct. 15 applies to any Ohio tax payment, report or return due between Aug. 20 and Sept. 30, 2007.  Note: While the extension authorized by the tax commissioner per Ohio law (section 5703.35 of the Revised Code), means no penalties will be imposed for the late payment or filing of a return or report, interest on late payments cannot be waived.

Individuals and businesses who qualify for the extension do not have to file any special form. They may simply write or type, in bold letters, “Disaster Relief” across the top of a payment check, return or report at the time it is filed. The Ohio Department of Taxation will credit tax accounts accordingly.

If the Department of Taxation inadvertently issues a bill, taxpayers should write “Disaster Relief” in bold letters across the top of the bill and return the billing.

To qualify for the extension, an individual or a business must have resided in or operated in one of the six counties declared a disaster area on Aug. 20.

# # #


News media with further questions should contact John Kohlstrand at (614) 644-3858 or Mike McKinney at (614) 466-5461.