Monthly sales tax returns are due by the 23rd of the following month from the period filed.
Example: January through January 31 return is due on February 23rd.
Semi annual sales tax returns are due the following month from the end of the six month period.
Example: January through June return is due on July 23rd and July through December return is due on January 23rd.
Table of Contents
The Ohio sales and use tax applies to the retail sale, lease, and rental of tangible personal property as well as the sale of selected services in Ohio. In transactions where sales tax was due but not collected by the vendor or seller, a use tax of equal amount is due from the customer.
The state sales and use tax rate is 5.5 percent. Counties and regional transit authorities may levy additional sales and use taxes. For more information about the sales and use tax, look at the options below.
Key sales & use tax resources
- File a return electronically — Ohio offers several options for electronic filing of sales tax returns, which is now required. Choose the method that best fits the needs of your business.
- Make a payment — Ohio offers vendors several ways to remit sales tax. Learn more here.
- Registration — Ohio law requires any person or business making taxable retail sales to first obtain a vendor's license. Find out how here.
- Tax rates & rate changes — This page offers the latest information on sales tax rates as well as rate changes planned in any of Ohio's 88 counties.
- Use Tax Calculator — Ohio law requires residents to pay the use tax on untaxed purchases made from an internet or catalog (remote) vendor. Sellers who have no physical presence in Ohio are not required to charge and collect the state and local sales tax. If you purchase merchandise from those sellers, the obligation rests with the consumer to pay the use tax, which is equivalent to paying sales tax. Please click on the Use Tax Calculator link to determine how much tax is owed on your untaxed purchases.
Sales & use tax basics
- Frequently Asked Questions — Not sure if an item is taxable? Have a question about filing a return? Answers to some common sales and use tax questions are located here.
Special subject areas
- Direct payment program — Certain taxpayers have been authorized to pay sales and use tax directly to the state rather than through a vendor at the time of a purchase. Learn more here.
- Motor vehicles and watercraft — This page offers additional information on some of the special provisions that apply to motor vehicle and watercraft sales.
- Record retention notices — Certain food service operations may exercise the option of keeping 14 days worth of sales records per calendar quarter instead of all sales records. Lists of which days must be kept are found here.
- Streamlined Sales Tax Project — Ohio is participating in the Streamlined Sales Tax Project, a multi-state initiative to make sales tax systems more uniform across state lines. Learn more here.
- Vehicle Taxes — Answers to your tax questions, including a guide to responding to tax department contacts about your transaction.
Other sales & use tax resources
- Annual report (PDF) —The sales and use tax chapter of the Department of Taxation's latest annual report is here.
- Closing a business — There are certain tax responsibilities associated with closing a business. Learn more here.
- Information releases — Information releases are technical advisories that offer detailed explanations of the laws, rules and rulings that govern the taxes administered by the Ohio Department of Taxation.
- Offer in compromise —This program offers some delinquent taxpayers a chance to settle their debts.
- Rules — Resources on the department's proposed and final administrative rules are located here.
- Sales Tax Forms
- Other Tax forms — A complete database of state tax forms and instruction booklets is available on this page.
- Voluntary Disclosure
- Contact Us