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REAL ESTATE TAXES ON MANUFACTURED HOMES: Ten Percent and Two & One Half Percent Rollbacks, and 
Homestead Exemption, by County, Distributed during Calendar Year 2008 (for Tax Year 2008)  

In Ohio, manufactured and mobile homes are subject to one of three different possible property tax treatments: the 
manufactured home tax using a depreciation schedule; the manufactured home tax that is like the real property tax; or the 
real property tax. Table PD-2 pertains to the last method of taxation: i.e., manufactured homes that are taxed as real 
property. (Refer to Table HE-2 for data on homestead exemptions granted to owners of manufactured homes that are 
taxed under the two other methods of taxation.)  

A manufactured home that acquired situs in Ohio on or after January 1, 2000, or was transferred on or after that same 
date, must be included on the real property tax list if it meets three conditions. The three conditions are: (a) the home is 
affixed to a permanent foundation; (b) the home is located on land owned by the owner of the home; and (c) the certificate 
of title was inactivated by the clerk of court of common pleas that issued it (once the first two conditions are met, the 
owner must surrender title to the county auditor, who delivers it to the clerk to be inactivated). In addition, a manufactured 
home that acquired situs in Ohio before January 1, 2000, or was last transferred before that same date, is included on the 
real property tax list if it meets the same conditions listed above and if several other requirements are met, including the 
filing of an election by the owner to have the home taxed as real property. 

Current state law (Revised Code Section 319.302) requires each county auditor to reduce all real property taxes charged 
by 10 percent. In addition, Section 323.152(B) requires the county auditor to further reduce the real property tax on owner-
occupied property by 2.5 percent. Lastly, real property homestead exemption property tax reductions are granted to 
homeowners who are at least 65 years of age; permanently and totally disabled; or to surviving spouses at least 59 years 
of age if the deceased had previously received the exemption.   

Prior to tax year 2007, eligibility for the homestead exemption was limited to taxpayers who earned $26,200 or less, with 
benefits tiered according to income.  However, starting with the 2007 tax year (taxes due 2008), income tests and tiered 
benefits no longer apply (although homeowners that received a higher credit under the program that existed in tax year 
2006 will continue to receive that year’s credit). Instead, each qualified homeowner received a credit equal to the taxes 
that would otherwise be charged on up to $25,000 of the true value (meaning, $8,750 in taxable value) of the homestead. 
In effect, the homestead exemption shields up to $25,000 of the true value of an eligible homestead from property 
taxation. 

Local governments are fully reimbursed from the state general revenue fund for these tax reductions. The Department of 
Education reimburses the schools for their share of the tax reductions and the Tax Commissioner reimburses the counties, 
townships, municipalities, and special taxing districts for their shares of the tax reductions. The county auditor also 
receives 2 percent of the amount reimbursed under Section 323.152 as payment for administering the homestead 
exemption and 2.5 percent rollback.  

Table PD-2 indicates that during calendar year 2008, the Departments of Taxation and Education together reimbursed 
local governments a total of $8.4 million including $2.6 million for the 10 percent rollback, $5.3 million for the homestead 
exemption (including $126,531 for late-filers), and $0.4 million for the 2.5 percent rollback (including $446 for late-filers). 
Additionally, $115,678 was paid by the Departments of Taxation and Education to county auditors for administering the 
homestead exemption ($106,916) and 2.5 percent rollback ($8,762). These administration payments are excluded from 
the table.  
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Table PD-2 
No. 72 (2009) 

December 10, 2009 

MANUFACTURED HOME PROPERTY TAX RELIEF, BY COUNTY, 
DISTRIBUTED DURING CALENDAR YEAR 2008 (a) 

2.5% Reduction 
Homestead in Homeowners' 
Exemption Real Property 

County 10% Reduction Reduction (b) Taxes (c) Total 

Total $2,644,054 $5,345,791 $438,115 $8,381,688 

Adams 21,075 24,489 708 46,272 
Allen 26,657 56,677 5,343 88,678 
Ashland 15,668 27,596 2,661 45,925 
Ashtabula 56,681 112,767 9,056 178,504 
Athens 67,179 98,208 10,372 175,759 
Auglaize 6,015 9,993 1,087 17,095 
Belmont 21,844 32,565 4,177 58,586 
Brown 35,291 41,714 2,366 79,371 
Butler 72,527 158,439 12,841 243,807 
Carroll 19,722 17,128 672 37,522 
Champaign 18,326 11,805 2,516 32,646 
Clark 39,064 118,008 8,955 166,027 
Clermont 65,683 151,434 9,686 226,803 
Clinton 21,689 27,322 2,590 51,600 
Columbiana 56,810 82,524 10,911 150,245 
Coshocton 18,003 45,387 3,033 66,423 
Crawford 5,786 10,921 984 17,690 
Cuyahoga 61,322 459,679 14,592 535,593 
Darke 7,788 18,462 1,403 27,654 
Defiance 14,149 24,137 2,618 40,904 
Delaware 21,288 54,983 3,976 80,247 
Erie 14,527 31,161 2,582 48,270 
Fairfield 13,290 27,905 701 41,896 
Fayette 8,076 7,531 1,329 16,935 
Franklin 79,339 230,210 15,529 325,078 
Fulton 26,199 41,712 5,190 73,101 
Gallia 30,504 48,761 4,259 83,525 
Geauga 42,986 115,925 8,802 167,713 
Greene 20,169 55,556 3,372 79,097 
Guernsey 24,283 42,632 1,416 68,331 
Hamilton 53,247 126,038 11,681 190,965 
Hancock 32,377 40,496 6,805 79,678 
Hardin 7,698 8,354 1,247 17,300 
Harrison 9,973 10,756 251 20,980 
Henry 13,677 21,205 2,644 37,526 
Highland 25,100 30,528 1,633 57,261 
Hocking 27,451 32,622 4,893 64,965 
Holmes 12,723 10,927 1,455 25,105 
Huron 25,021 34,904 4,518 64,443 
Jackson 30,724 26,203 5,466 62,394 
Jefferson 20,241 26,910 2,930 50,081 
Knox 17,433 35,948 3,196 56,577 
Lake 43,793 158,189 9,645 211,627 
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2.5% Reduction 
Homestead in Homeowners' 
Exemption Real Property 

County 10% Reduction Reduction (b) Taxes (c) Total 

Lawrence $48,367 $55,822 $4,782 $108,971 
Licking 44,631 61,809 7,546 113,986 
Logan 34,222 22,004 2,943 59,169 
Lorain 63,128 157,282 14,761 235,171 
Lucas 67,154 162,060 13,492 242,706 
Madison 10,301 18,503 2,360 31,164 
Mahoning 15,850 37,892 2,954 56,696 
Marion 19,543 47,417 3,736 70,697 
Medina 11,900 31,350 2,774 46,025 
Meigs 29,483 32,354 2,972 64,809 
Mercer 14,044 27,259 2,023 43,327 
Miami 4,408 14,623 798 19,829 
Monroe 8,225 7,753 1,494 17,472 
Montgomery 49,056 158,040 10,120 217,216 
Morgan 10,965 7,203 1,709 19,876 
Morrow 22,214 24,918 1,313 48,446 
Muskingum 50,160 71,006 6,391 127,557 
Noble 7,368 10,365 1,333 19,066 
Ottawa 60,127 50,868 6,089 117,084 
Paulding 8,613 10,946 825 20,384 
Perry 30,306 15,735 3,935 49,976 
Pickaway 27,492 33,520 2,423 63,435 
Pike 30,417 36,562 6,317 73,295 
Portage 114,871 201,021 22,118 338,009 
Preble 5,385 10,856 900 17,141 
Putnam 7,838 10,476 1,537 19,851 
Richland 25,292 54,885 4,671 84,848 
Ross 51,112 84,465 10,833 146,409 
Sandusky 16,806 37,648 3,427 57,881 
Scioto 59,999 73,705 11,295 144,999 
Seneca 15,026 36,685 2,408 54,119 
Shelby 11,073 28,322 1,693 41,088 
Stark 44,331 168,573 9,476 222,380 
Summit 27,910 108,768 5,658 142,335 
Trumbull 39,159 120,712 6,082 165,954 
Tuscarawas 63,353 134,015 9,309 206,676 
Union 15,843 24,778 3,252 43,873 
Van Wert 9,171 16,815 1,703 27,690 
Vinton 21,167 26,420 2,482 50,069 
Warren 11,173 11,238 1,728 24,139 
Washington 44,830 46,735 2,830 94,395 
Wayne 59,353 128,003 10,150 197,507 
Williams 13,151 23,025 2,399 38,575 
Wood 64,663 149,262 10,520 224,444 
Wyandot 3,180 5,388 459 9,027 

(a) Amounts shown in table exclude administrative fees totalling $115,678: Homestead exemption fees 
were $106,916 and the 2.5% reduction fees were $8,762. 

(b) Includes homestead exemption "late-filer" reimbursements totalling $126,531. 

(c) Includes 2.5% reduction "late-filer" reimbursements totalling $446. 

Source: Records of the Ohio Department of Taxation. 
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