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County Return of

Taxable Business Property
Please note: This year's booklet no longer provides multiple copies of our returns.
Additional copies may be downloaded from our Internet site at www.ohio.gov/tax.

2004
Filing Requirement – File this return in duplicate with your County Auditor with
check attached, made payable to your County Treasurer, for at least one-half of the
tax, between February 15 and April 30. There is no filing requirement if the
listed value is $10,000 or less. No payment is required if the total tax due is less
than $2.

Penalty for Late Filing – To be filed timely the return must be received by the
County Auditor on or before the due date. The mailing of a return, except by certi-
fied mail, does not constitute filing. To ensure timely delivery to and receipt by the
County Auditor, certified mail should be used, or the return may be filed in person
with the County Auditor.

If the return is filed late, the assessor will add a penalty of up to 50% of the remain-
ing listed value after the full $10,000 exemption is applied.

Taxing Districts – You must list your property in the taxing district where it is
located and show the complete name of the taxing district. Taxing district names
normally consist of a township, city or village and school district. Cities may have
more than one school district. If you do not know your taxing district, check
your real property tax bill or contact your County Auditor.
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State of Ohio
Department of Taxation

P.O. Box 530
Columbus, OH  43216-0530

1-888-644-6778

Administration of the Property Tax

Each County Auditor places on their county's gen-
eral tax list the values presented by each single county
taxpayer as filed on the annual returns, and the inter-
county values preliminarily assessed by the Tax Com-
missioner. A duplicate of this list is presented to the
respective County Treasurer for the preparation and
mailing of tax bills, and the subsequent collections.

Preliminarily assessed values of general business
personal property are determined by the taxpayer,
based upon requirements of the Ohio Revised Code,
Ohio Administrative Code, and the directives and guide-
lines prescribed by the Tax Commissioner. Businesses
with taxable personal property in one Ohio county file a
County Return of Taxable Business Property, Form 920,
in duplicate with the respective County Auditor. Busi-
nesses with taxable personal property in more than
one county file an Inter-County Return of Taxable Busi-
ness Property, Form 945, with the Tax Commissioner.

Personal property tax collections are distributed by
the County Auditor to the local jurisdictions, e.g., county
governments, municipalities, townships, school dis-
tricts and special districts according to the allocated
value times the total millage levied by each jurisdiction.
Approximately 70% of the collected revenue is allocated
to primary and secondary education.

In completing a Return of Taxable Business Prop-
erty you are required to disclose the valuation meth-

ods used for determining "true value" of your personal
property. Disclosure of valuation methods used should
not be construed as "prima facie" acceptance by the
Tax Commissioner of their use.

The Tax Commissioner is also responsible for as-
sessing all unreported personal property and auditing
the preliminary assessments to determine that taxable
property values are based upon "true value in money."

If you discover an error after filing a Return of Tax-
able Business Property, an Application for Final Assess-
ment may be filed with the Tax Commissioner to ini-
tiate a review of the values assessed.

Common questions and answers are contained in
the following pages of this booklet. If you need further
assistance, please call or visit your local County Audi-
tor, or call or visit one of the district offices of the Ohio
Department of Taxation.

Visit the department's home page on the
Internet at http://www.ohio.gov/tax.

Telephone assistance is provided for the hearing
impaired through the Ohio Relay Service (ORS). TTY/
TDD users may contact County Auditors or the Tax
Department's Taxpayer Service Centers by contacting
ORS operators at 1-800-750-0750. All other telephone
inquiries should be directed to 1-888-644-6778.



General Information for 2004 Return

Personal property is every tangible thing that is owned, except real
property. Real property is defined as land, growing crops, all build-
ings, structures, improvements and fixtures on the land.

If you are engaged in business in Ohio and have property located in
Ohio on January 1 (and have a total listed value of more than
$10,000), you must file a return.

Form 920, County Return of Taxable Business Property, and Form
921, Ohio Balance Sheet, must be filed in duplicate. Other forms,
described later, may also be required.

The return is filed between February 15 and April 30. An extension of
time to June 15 may be requested from the County Auditor in the
county where the return is required to be filed.

The return is filed with the County Auditor in the county in which the
business is located. Taxpayers located in more than one county must
file a combined return (Form 945) with the Tax Commissioner.

Tangible personal property used in business is taxed. This includes
machinery and equipment, furniture and fixtures, small tools, sup-
plies and inventory held for manufacture or resale.

Each taxpayer is entitled to an exemption not greater than $10,000 of
listed value. This exemption is deducted from the total listed value in
the taxing district with the greatest listed value. If there is an excess,
the balance is deducted from the district with the next greatest listed
value.

The tax is based on the true or market value of the property. In the
case of fixed assets, the value is the cost less an allowance for
depreciation depending on age. In the case of inventory, the average
of the cost of inventory on hand at the end of each month is the
value. The values are reduced to taxable or listed values and multi-
plied by the local tax rate. This tax rate varies according to location
and is based on the tax rates for real property.

Tangible personal property is required to be listed in the taxing dis-
trict where it is physically located on listing date. Refer to your real
estate tax bills or contact your County Auditor.

The true value of depreciable tangible personal property is its book
cost less book depreciation, unless the Tax Commissioner or a tax-
payer using the prescribed prima facie valuation procedure finds that
the depreciated book value is greater or less than the true value of
such property.

When the return is filed, one-half of the total tax must be paid, and
the second-half must be paid by September 20. A bill is mailed by the
County Treasurer to indicate the amount due.

What is personal property?

Who must file?

What forms must be filed?

When is the return filed?

Where is the return filed?

What property is taxed?

What is the $10,000
exemption?

How is the tax calculated?

Which taxing district should
I use?

What is true value?

When are the taxes paid?
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Is there a minimum amount of tax?

What if I file after the due date?

What if I make a late payment?

What if my business began after
January 1?

What if my business stops after
January 1?

What tax return forms should I use?
Where do I obtain the form?

Are other forms required?

What services can I use to mail
my return?

If the total tax due is less than $2, then no payment is required. If
the total listed value of the return is less than $10,000, no return is
required.

If the return is filed late, the assessor will add a penalty of up to
50% of the remaining listed value after the full $10,000 exemption
is applied.

Late paid taxes are subject to a 10% late payment penalty and
also to interest charges. The interest is applied monthly and is
based on the current market rate.

Those taxpayers who begin business after January 1 must file a
"new taxpayer return" within 90 days of beginning business. The
amount of tax is prorated according to the number of full months
left in the calendar year.

If business stops or property is sold after January 1, a full return is
still due. However, a return will not be required for the following
year.

Those taxpayers with property in only one county must file Form
920, County Return of Taxable Business Property. Obtain Form
920 from the County Auditor in whose county the property is lo-
cated. If property is located in more than one county, Form 945,
Inter-County Return of Taxable Business Property, must be
filed. Obtain this form from the Tax Commissioner.

Form 902, Claim for Deduction from Book Value: File this form
if the value you claim is less than depreciated book value, as
shown on your books and records. This deduction must be re-
flected in the "true value" as represented on the return schedules
and recapitulation of listed value.

Form 913EX, Report of Exempt Personal Property Located
in an Enterprise Zone or a Hazardous Substance Reclama-
tion Area: This form is required when an exemption for property
located in an enterprise zone is claimed and to calculate the tax-
able property within a zone.

Form 925, Return of Grains Handled: This form is required to
be filed by those taxpayers who handle grain.

Form 937, True Value Computation: This form is required to be
filed when using the prescribed true value computation.

Approved delivery services include:

• Federal Express Corp – FedEx Priority Overnight, FedEx
Standard Overnight, FedEx 2nd Day Air

• United Parcel Service – UPS Next Day Air, UPS Next Day Air
Saver, UPS 2nd Day Air, UPS 2nd Day Air A.M.

These forms may be obtained from your County Auditor or the Tax Commissioner,
P.O. Box 530, Columbus, OH  43216-0530. They may also be downloaded from

the Department of Taxation Web site: http://www.ohio.gov/tax
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Instructions for Listing and Valuing Personal Property

Listing Tangible Personal Property
All tangible personal property used in business must

be listed and assessed unless specifically exempt.
Business is defined as all enterprises, except agricul-
ture, conducted for gain, profit or income, and extends
to personal service occupations. Property is to be listed
as of the last day of December of the preceding calen-
dar year. If a year end other than December 31 is used
for Internal Revenue Service purposes, then that year
end must be used for personal property purposes. Use
the year ending in the previous calendar year. If you
have not been engaged in business in Ohio for 12 months
prior to that year end, then you must use December 31.
(Rule 5703-3-04)

Depreciable Assets
Depreciable assets should be listed at their true value,

which may be greater or less than their book value as
of the taxpayer's listing date. The Tax Commissioner
has prescribed a method of computing the true value to
be used in lieu of book value. This method uses com-
posite annual allowances, varying by business. The
composite prima facie valuation procedure for use in
filing personal property tax returns may be obtained upon
request from the Tax Commissioner. Form 937 is the
prescribed form for making this computation.

List in Schedule 2 all assets used in manufacturing,
mining, laundries, towel and linen supply and dry clean-
ing plants, stone and gravel plants, and radio and tele-
vision broadcasting. List in Schedule 4 all other assets,
except inventories.

Exempt Property
Includes property used in agriculture, pollution con-

trol facilities certified as exempt, energy conversion fa-
cilities certified exempt, patterns, jigs, dies and draw-
ings not held for sale, construction in progress not ca-
pable of use, and registered motor vehicles and air-
craft.

Leased Property
Must be listed by the owner, regardless of the terms

of the lease. If the lessee is obligated to purchase the
property, then he is deemed to be the owner, otherwise
the lessor is deemed to be the owner. If you lease prop-
erty to a public utility or an interexchange telecommuni-
cations company, contact the Department of Taxation,
Property Tax Division, for instructions. Lessees must
list all tangible personal property held under lease on

tax listing date on Tax Form 921, Ohio Balance Sheet
Exhibit C.

Inventories
Ohio law requires inventories of manufacturers and

merchants to be listed on the average monthly basis.
The average value is determined by dividing the sum of
the month-end values in each taxing district by the num-
ber of months engaged in business in Ohio in that year.
Example: A merchant moving from taxing district "A" to
taxing district "B" during the year would report the
monthly values for each taxing district separately and
divide the total of each by the number of months in busi-
ness in Ohio. If monthly inventory records are not main-
tained, a gross profits computation may be used. (Rule
5703-3-16)

The value of manufacturing inventory must include
the costs of raw material, goods-in-process and fin-
ished goods. Goods-in-process and finished goods
must include all factory burden and overhead costs at-
tributable to the manufacturing facilities and process.
Such costs include, but shall not be limited to, indirect
labor, insurance, utilities, taxes, transportation, rents and
leases, repairs and maintenance, depreciation and am-
ortization. (Rule 5703-3-27)

The value of merchandising inventory must include
the costs to acquire the inventory, taxes and freight.
Inventories carried at retail must be restated at cost.
Consigned manufacturing or merchandising inventory
must be listed by the owner, but inventory consigned to
a merchant from outside Ohio must be listed by the
merchant.

Supply inventories of a manufacturer must be listed
in Schedule 3 on the average basis. All other supply
inventories must be listed as of the listing date in Sched-
ule 4. Inventories of taxpayers other than manufactur-
ers and merchants must be listed as of listing date in
Schedule 4. Such inventories include those of mines,
quarries, laundries, dry cleaners, contractors, repair
shops, garages, etc.

Taxing Districts
Property must be listed in the taxing district where it

is located. Taxing district names normally consist of a
township, city or village, and school district. Cities may
have more than one taxing district. If you do not know
your taxing district, check your real estate bills or con-
tact your County Auditor.
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Line Instructions for Completing Form 920

Taxpayer Identification
Enter all identification information. Please indicate the taxpayer name as registered with the Ohio Secretary of
State if a corporation or with the local County Auditor if a vendor's license is held. Indicate the type of business
organization – if not a corporation, indicate whether it is a sole proprietorship, partnership, joint venture, etc.

Line   1 ............................. Taxing District ................................ Enter the full exact taxing district name
(township, city and school district).

Line   2 ............................. Schedule 2 ..................................... Enter the listed value by taxing district
(rounded to the nearest $10).

Line   3 ............................. Schedule 3 ..................................... Enter the listed value by taxing district
(rounded to the nearest $10).

Line   4 ............................. Schedule 3A ................................... Enter the listed value by taxing district
(rounded to the nearest $10).

Line   5 ............................. Schedule 4 ..................................... Enter the listed value by taxing district
(rounded to the nearest $10).

Line   6 ............................. Total Listed Value .......................... Add the listed values from lines 2, 3, 4 and 5
and enter here. If the total listed value is less
than $10,000, no return is required.

Line   7 ............................. $10,000 Exemption ......................... Enter the allowable exemption by taxing dis-
trict.

Line   8 ............................. Taxable Value ................................. Subtract the amount on line 7 from the amount
on line 6 and enter here.

Line   9 ............................. Tax Rate .......................................... Enter the tax rate for the taxing district.

Line 10 ............................. Tax ................................................... Multiply the amount on line 8 by the amount on
line 9 and enter here. Since tax rates are
expressed in dollars per $1,000 of taxable
valuation, you must multiply the "taxable value"
on line 8 by the "tax rate" on line 9 and enter it
here (i.e., rate of $65.50 converts to .06550).

Line 11 ............................. Enter the Amount Paid With the
Return (minimum of half total tax)

Line 12 ............................. Enter Balance Due for Each
Taxing District

*Please note that the listing percentage remains 23%.

*Please note that the listing percentage remains 23%.



Taxpayer name
Address

City State ZIP

Business name

Physical location of taxable property

Date business started in Ohio

Description of business
Taxpayer who reported this property for 2003

Type of business:  Corporation ❑ Other ❑

Filing includes:  Form 902 ❑ Form 913EX ❑

_____________ County

County Return of Taxable Business Property
For accounting period to 2003

Tax Form

920 State of Ohio

2004

1. Taxing District –
(Township, city and school district)

2. Schedule 2 (nearest $10)
3. Schedule 3 (nearest $10)
4. Schedule 3A (nearest $10)
5. Schedule 4 (nearest $10)
6. Total Listed Value
7. $10,000 exemption
8. Taxable Value
9. Tax rate

10. Tax
11. Amount paid with return
12. Balance

(If corporation, as recorded with the Ohio Secretary of State)

Declaration

I/we declare under penalties of perjury that this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) has been
examined by me/us and to the best of my/our knowledge and belief is a true, correct and complete return and report.

File this return in duplicate with your County Auditor, with check attached, made payable to your County Treasurer
for at least one-half of tax, between February 15 and April 30. If total listed value is less than $10,000, no return is
required. No payment is required if the total tax due is under $2.

File No.

County Auditor's
Received Stamp

Time Extension
Permit

No. granted

to 2004

Person, other than taxpayer, preparing this return Date Signature of taxpayer Title Date

Address Name of taxpayer (please print) Date

Phone number (               ) Phone number (               )

Federal employer identification numberOhio charter number NAICS code number

Social security numberDate incorporated or qualified in Ohio Ohio vendor's license number
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$ $ $ $ $

$ $ $ $ $

$ $ $ $ $

$ $ $ $ $

Schedule 4 – Furniture, Fixtures, Machinery and Equipment and Supplies Not Used in Manufacturing. List at
25% furniture, fixtures, machinery and equipment, supplies, small tools and repair parts not used in manufacturing, inventories of other
than a manufacturer or merchant and all domestic animals not used in agriculture. List property used by public utility companies, and
other property used in generating and distributing electricity to others at the listing percentage for that type of property. Contact the
Property Tax Division for instructions. If the value is based on other than book value, attach details of the computation.

(Carry listed value by taxing district to line 3 or 4 on front of return)

List at 23% of
Average Value

Average Values
Divide by No. of Months

Total Values

Months in Business

January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November
December

Schedule 3
Manufacturing Inventories

Schedule 3A
Merchandising Inventories

FIFO cost Retail
LIFO cost Other

Perpetual inventory
Physical inventory
Gross profits method
Dates physicals taken

Net sales $

Book Adjustments Date Amount DR/CR

Source of Values Listed Method of Valuing Inventories Listed

Book to physical
LIFO reserve
Other reserves

Taxing District Taxing District Taxing District Taxing District Taxing District

Book Value Book Value Book Value Book Value Book Value

$ 25 $
25
25
25
25
25

$ $Total (Carry listed value by taxing district to line 5 on front of return)

Taxing District Listed ValuePercentTrue ValueDescription

- 6 -

$ 25 $
25
25
25
25
25
25

$ $Total (Carry listed value by taxing district to line 2 on front of return)

Machinery and Equipment – Schedule 2. List at 25% machinery, repair parts, small tools, etc., used in manufacturing, mining,
laundries, dry cleaning, towel and linen supply, stone and gravel plants and radio and television broadcasting. If the value of equipment is
based on other than book value, attach detail of computation.

Inventories – Schedules 3 and 3A. Monthly inventory values are required of merchants and manufacturers.

Taxing District Listed ValuePercentTrue ValueDescription
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  1. Cash and Deposits .........................................................................
  2. Notes and Accounts Receivable ...................................................
  3. Inventories

A) Manufacturing ..............................................................................
B) Merchandising .............................................................................
C) Supplies – manufacturing.............................................................
D) Supplies – other ..........................................................................
E) Consigned ...................................................................................
F) Agricultural machinery and equipment (merchandise) ..................
G) Exempted inventory .....................................................................
H) Other inventory ............................................................................

  4. Investments ....................................................................................
  5. Land ................................................................................................

  6. Buildings
A) Taxed as real estate ............................................
B) Taxed as personal property ..................................

  7. Leasehold Improvements
A) Taxed as real estate ............................................
B) Taxed as personal property ..................................

  8. Machinery and Equipment
A) Taxed as real estate ............................................
B) Taxed as personal property ..................................

  9. Furniture and Fixtures ...........................................
10. Personal Property Leased to Others

A) Taxable ................................................................
B) Non-taxable .........................................................

11. Capitalized Leases ................................................
12. Exempt Personal Property Located in an

Enterprise Zone (Attach Form 913EX) or a
Hazardous Substance Reclamation Area ............

13. Certified Exempt Facilities ....................................
14. Patterns, Jigs, Dies and Drawings ........................
15. Construction in Progress

A) Real property .......................................................
B) Personal property capable of use ........................
C) Personal property not capable of use ...................

16. Small Tools .............................................................
17. Vehicles and Aircraft

A) Registered or licensed .........................................
B) Other ...................................................................

18. Other Assets ....................................................................................
19. Total Assets .....................................................................................

20. Notes, Accounts Payable, Bonds and Mortgages ................................................................
21. Accrued Expenses .................................................................................................................
22. Other Liabilities, Deferred Credits ........................................................................................
23. Preferred Stock ......................................................................................................................
24. Common Stock .......................................................................................................................
25. Additional Paid-In Capital .....................................................................................................
26. Retained Earnings .................................................................................................................
27. Appropriated Earnings ..........................................................................................................
28. Owner's Capital ......................................................................................................................
29. Other .......................................................................................................................................
30. Total Liabilities and Net Worth .............................................................................................

Liabilities and Net Worth

Name FEIN/social security number
Balance sheet as of 2003

Ohio Balance Sheet
(Required to be Filed with Tax Form 920)

Tax Form

921 2004

Assets Total
Net Book Values

Ohio Cost

Within Ohio
Net Book Values



Reconcile
Differences

Gross
Annual Rental

2004 Exhibits for Balance Sheet Reconciliation and
Leased Property/Consigned Inventory
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Exhibit D – Inventory Held Under Bailment, Consignment, Contract Agreement
List all inventories held on consignment or as bailment, or under contract, and in your possession during the
reporting period and not listed in this return.

Name and Address of Inventory Owner
Inventory Location

Address
Estimated

Average Value
Inventory Type

(Mfg or Mer)

Book
Value

Value
Returned Difference

B/S
Line No.

Exhibit A – Reconciliation of Balance Sheet Line Numbers 3, 8B, 9, 10, 13, 15B and 16

B/S
Line No. AmountItemization

Exhibit B – Please provide a brief description of leasehold improvements and machinery and equipment taxed
as real (lines 7A and 8A).

Exhibit C – Leased Property
List all tangible personal property held under lease on tax listing day.

Name and Address of Property Owner
Lease:

Start Date
Lease:

Ending Date
Type of

Property



94.4
88.9
83.3
77.8
72.2

66.7
61.1
55.6
50.0
44.4

38.9
33.3
28.9
26.2
23.5

20.8
18.1
15.4
15.4
15.4
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True Value Computation

Note: Personal property leased to a public utility in Ohio must be valued the same as if owned by the public utility. Please
contact the department for the appropriate valuation method.

Age

1
2
3
4
5

6
7
8
9
10

11
12
13
14
15

16
17
18
19
20

90.0
63.3
44.0
32.0
20.0

20.0
20.0

92.0
76.3
60.6
46.1
37.9

29.8
21.6
20.0
20.0
20.0

93.2
82.8
72.4
62.0
51.5

42.2
36.3
30.5
24.6
18.8

18.8
18.8

93.9
86.3
78.7
71.1
63.5

55.8
48.2
40.6
35.4
31.1

26.8
22.5
18.3
17.4
17.4

17.4

94.3
88.1
81.8
75.6
69.3

63.1
56.9
50.6
44.4
38.2

32.8
29.5
26.2
22.9
19.6

16.3
16.3
16.3

Class I Class II Class III Class IV Class V Class VI

Form 937, True Value Computation, provides for assem-
bling the data necessary to determine the aggregate true value
of tangible personal property. A separate computation is nec-
essary for each taxing district involved and, within a given tax-
ing district, for each business activity assigned a different class.

Costs of taxable property at the end of the previous year
are to be shown by year of acquisition (Col. 1, Col. 2). Addi-
tions, disposals and transfers occurring during the year are to
be entered at cost, opposite the year in which they were ac-
quired (Col. 3, Col. 4). The resulting costs remaining at year-
end are then listed (Col. 5); their total must equal the begin-
ning-of-year total plus additions and transfers-in, less dispos-
als and transfers-out. The valuation percentages for the speci-
fied class are then copied into place (Col. 6). Each year-end
cost is then multiplied by the corresponding valuation per-
centage (Col. 7). The column total is the true value and should
be carried to the appropriate schedule (Schedule 2 or 4) in the
tax return.

Column (5) totals must reconcile with ledger accounts,
except that property written off the records but still physically
on hand must be included in the computation; property dis-
posed of but not written off the records should be deducted;
and any costs that are to be included as full costs may not

have been capitalized on the ledger account. These excep-
tions should be separately identified in the computation. Cost
for non-taxable property such as registered motor vehicles,
licensed aircraft, property taxed as real estate, or certified
pollution control facilities should not be included.

Full costs must be shown. Cost must include inbound
freight, millwrighting, overhead, investment credits, assembly
and installation labor, material and expenses, and sales and
use taxes. Premium pay and payroll taxes are includible in
labor costs. Costs may not be reduced by trade-in allowances.
Cost of major overhauls are to be treated as capitalized and
listed as acquisitions in the year in which they occur. Form
937 or a facsimile is required to be filed with the tax return.

Listed below are the valuation percentages for the six class
lives. For assets used in manufacturing, listed in schedule 2,
Class V is the most common class. Assets used in retail
trade, non-manufacturing activities and general office equip-
ment listed in schedule 4, are most often valued using Class
III. To determine the prescribed class life for your business
activity(s), consult the Department's publication "True Value
of Tangible Personal Property." The smallest percentage in
each class determines the minimum acceptable value so long
as the property is held for use in business.

Stand-Alone
Computers

75.0
60.0
45.0
30.0
15.0

15.0
15.0

  6.0 yrs.
  8.4   "
11.6   "
14.8   "
17.2   "

Class At Least Less Than
Composite Group – Life Ranges

I
II
III
IV
V
VI

  6.0 yrs.
  8.4   "
11.6   "
14.8   "
17.2   "
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True Value ComputationTax Form

937

Class Return Year

State of Ohio

Company Taxing District and County

(3)

Additions and
Transfers In

2003

(2)

Cost
At End Of

2002

(1)

Year
Acquired

(4)

Disposals and
Transfers Out

2003

(5)

Cost
At End Of

2003

(7)

True Value

(6)

Per
Cent Amount

$

Totals

Remarks      List  @  __________%

2004

25

Machinery and Equipment

Furniture and Fixtures

Public Utility Property

Stand-Alone Computers



Tax Form

913EX County

Return of Exempt Personal Property Located in an
Enterprise Zone or Hazardous Substance Reclamation Area

For accounting period to 2003

Signature of taxpayer Title Date

Signature of taxpayer Title Date

Person, other than taxpayer, preparing return Date

Address

Percent of
Exemption

Years

 Years

Years

Type of
Agreement

Taxpayer name

Address of business in zone or area

City State  ZIP

Taxing district name

2004
State of Ohio

Date Agreement
Effective

Period of
Exemption

Reclamation area

Municipal enterprise zone

County enterprise zone

Time period for acquisition of eligible assets from to

Declaration
I/we declare under penalties of perjury that this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) has been
examined by me/us and to the best of my/our knowledge and belief is a true, correct and complete return and report.

1. Schedule 2 (nearest $10)

2. Schedule 3 (nearest $10)

3. Schedule 3A (nearest $10)

4. Schedule 4 (nearest $10)

5. Total listed value

(C)
Taxable Value

 (Deduct B from A)
List on Form 920 or 945

(B)

Exempt
List Value

(A)

Total
List Value

Enterprise Zone Property – Listed Value Summary
All enterprise zone exemptions are limited per the terms of the agreement

File a separate Form 913EX for each agreement and taxing district in which exempt property is claimed. File this
form with Form 920 or Form 945. Remember to list the taxable portion of value (Column C) on Form 920 or Form
945.

Any taxpayer who is party to an enterprise zone or hazardous substance reclamation area agreement must complete and
submit this form with their Taxable Business Property Tax Form 920/945. Taxable values should be determined as prescribed by
the Tax Commissioner.

Ohio Revised Code Sections 5709.62 (I), 5709.63 (I), and 5709.88 (H) read as follows: "After an agreement is entered into, the
enterprise shall file with each personal property tax return required to be filed, while the agreement is in effect, an informational
return on a form prescribed by the tax commissioner for that purpose, setting forth separately the property, and related costs
and values exempted from taxation under the agreement."

%

 %

%
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Book to physical
LIFO reserve
Other reserves

 Column (C)

January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November
December

$ $ $ $
Exempt Listed%Listed Value

25
25
25
25
25
25

%

Exempt Machinery and Equipment – Schedule 2. List at 25% machinery, repair parts, small tools, etc., used in manufacturing, mining,
laundries, dry cleaning, towel and linen supply, stone and gravel plants and radio and television broadcasting. If the value of equipment
is based on other than book value, attach detail of computation.

Exempt Inventories – Schedules 3 and 3A. Monthly inventory values are required of merchants and manufacturers. List total amount
of inventory located within the enterprise zone.

Exempt Furniture, Fixtures, Machinery and Equipment – Schedule 4. List at 25% furniture, fixtures, machinery and equipment,
supplies, small tools and repair parts not used in manufacturing, inventories of other than a manufacturer or merchant and all domestic
animals not used in agriculture. If the value of equipment is based on other than book value, attach detail of computation.

Taxing District Description Total True Value Listed Value% % Exempt Listed Value Taxable Listed Value

 Column (A)

Taxing District Description Total True Value Taxable Listed

Carry listed values to page 1 "Listed Value Summary" as indicated:  Column (B)

$ $ $ $

 Column (B)  Column (C) Column (A)Carry listed values to page 1 "Listed Value Summary" as indicated:

25
25
25
25

Carry line B to page 1 "Listed Value Summary" line 2 or 3, column (A). Carry line F to page 1 "Listed Value Summary" line 2 or 3 column (B).

Months in Business

A. Average Values
Divide by No. of Months

Total Values

$ $ $ $ $

$ $ $ $ $

B. Total List Value at 23%
C. Average Value – Inventory at Same

Location for Year Preceding
Agreement (100% Taxable)

D. Average Value – Inventory
Subject to Exemption (A - C)

E. Average Value of Exempt
Inventory (Line D  x  %  of
Exemption)

F. List Value of Exempt
Inventory (Line E @ 23%)

FIFO cost Retail
LIFO cost Other

Perpetual inventory
Physical inventory
Gross profits method
Dates physicals taken

Net sales $

Book Adjustments Date Amount DR/CR

Source of Values Listed Method of Valuing Inventories Listed

Schedule 3
Manufacturing Inventories

Schedule 3A
Merchandising Inventories

Taxing District Taxing District Taxing District Taxing District Taxing District

Book Value Book Value Book Value Book Value Book Value
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Class Return Year 2004
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True Value ComputationTax Form

937
State of Ohio

Company Taxing District and County

(3)

Additions and
Transfers In

2003

(2)

Cost
At End Of

2002

(1)

Year
Acquired

(4)

Disposals and
Transfers Out

2003

(5)

Cost
At End Of

2003

(7)

True Value

(6)

Per
Cent Amount

$

Totals

Remarks      List  @  __________%25

Machinery and Equipment

Furniture and Fixtures

Public Utility Property

Stand-Alone Computers


