
 1. Severance tax (sum of lines 7 and 8 from 
  severance tax return, SV 3) 

  2. Oil calculation (barrels extracted multiplied 
  by $.10)   

  3. Natural gas (mcf extracted multiplied by 
  $.005)    

  4. Total oil and natural gas (add lines 2 and 3, 
  Column B) 

  5. Severance tax plus total oil and natural gas
  (line 1 plus line 4) 

  6. Total number of wells multiplied by $15 wells x $15 

  7. Subtotal (greater of line 5 or line 6) 

  8. Oil and gas regulatory cost recovery fee 
  (line 7 minus line 1) 

  9. Interest on late payment (see instructions) 

 10. Total amount due (line 8 plus line 9) 

Name         Account No.

Street         Period

City State ZIP code

There is an oil and natural gas regulatory cost recovery fee imposed on each owner of a well. The owner is responsible for paying the 
fee unless such owner designates a severer to pay the amount on the owner’s behalf. The oil and natural gas regulatory cost recovery 
fee is not a tax. 

If you own either an oil well or a natural gas well or both, you must complete this schedule. The only exception to the fi ling requirement 
is an exempt domestic well.

If as an owner you are not required to fi le the severance tax return (SV 3), you are still required to fi le this form.

Oil and Natural Gas Regulatory Cost Recovery Schedule
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A B C

Defi nitions
“Severer” means any person who actually removes the natural 
resources from the soil or water in this state. 

“Owner,” unless referring to a mine, means the person who has 
the right to drill on a tract or drilling unit, to drill into and produce 
from a pool, and to appropriate the oil or gas produced therefrom 
either for the person or for others, except that a person ceases to 
be an owner with respect to a well when the well has been plugged 
in accordance with applicable rules adopted and orders issued un-
der this chapter. “Owner” does not include a person who obtains a 
lease of the mineral rights for oil and gas on a parcel of land if the 
person does not attempt to produce or produce oil or gas from a 

well or obtain a permit under this chapter for a well or if the entire 
interest of a well is transferred to the person in accordance with 
Ohio Revised Code section 1509.31(B).

If you do fi le a severance tax return (SV 3), please submit this 
schedule with your severance tax return.  

I declare under penalties of perjury that this return, including any 
accompanying schedules and statements, has been examined by 
me and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, is a true, correct 
and complete return and report.

Signature Date

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

bbl x $.10

mcf x $.005

P.O. Box 530
Columbus, OH 43216-0530



Exempt Domestic Well (prior to July 1, 2010):
Ohio Revised Code section 5749.03 provides that natural resources 
used on the land from which removed by the severer as a part of 
the improvement or for use in his homestead are exempt from the 
severance tax and the cost recovery fee up to yearly cumulative 
market value of $1,000.

Exempt Domestic Well (after July 1, 2010):
If you obtain a well that becomes an exempt domestic well on and 
after July 1, 2010, the oil and gas regulatory cost recovery fee shall 
be $60 to be paid to the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, 
Division of Mineral Resources Management on the fi rst day of July 
of each year. If you fall into this category, please contact the Division 
of Mineral Resources Management.

Line 1  – Add together the amounts in line 7, Column 4 and line 8, 
Column 4 on your severance tax return (SV 3) and enter 
the total on line 1.

Line 2  – Enter the number of barrels of oil extracted in Column A 
and multiply it by $.10. Enter the amount in Column B of 
line 2.

Line 3  –  Enter the mcf of natural gas extracted in Column A and 
multiply it by $.005. Enter the amount in Column B of line 
3.

Line 4  –  Add line 2 and line 3, Column B. Enter the total in Column 
C of line 4.

Line 5  – Add line 1 and line 4. Enter amount in Column C of line 
5.

Line 6  –  Enter the number of wells subject to the fee in Column A 
and multiply the number of wells by $15. Enter the total 
in Column C of line 6.

Line 7  –  Enter the greater of line 5 or line 6 in Column C of line 
7.

Line 8  –  Subtract line 1 from line 7. This is your oil and natural gas 
regulatory cost recovery fee amount.  

Instructions
Line 9  –  If your liability is not paid on or before the due date, you 

are subject to interest from the date the schedule was 
due until the date the schedule was actually received 
by the Ohio Department of Taxation. The interest rate 
is determined on a calendar year basis and can change 
from year to year. Please refer to our Web site at tax.
ohio.gov for the current interest rate. An example of an 
interest calculation is as follows:

 Amount due: $5,000
 Schedule due: 2/15/10
 Schedule fi led: 4/6/10
 Days late: 50
 Interest rate: 4% (rate for year 2010)

Line 10 –  Add together the amounts in lines 8 and 9, Column C. 
This is the total amount you owe. If you fi le a severance 
tax return (SV 3), enter this amount on line 14 of the SV 
3.

If you do not fi le a severance tax return, make remittance in the 
amount payable on line 10 to the Ohio Treasurer of State and mail 
the cost recovery schedule and payment to Ohio Department of 
Taxation, Excise Tax Section, P.O. Box 530, Columbus, OH 43216-
0530.

Penalty Provision: Any person who fails to fi le a cost recovery 
schedule or pay the cost recovery fee as required may be subject 
to an assessment that includes a penalty of fi ve (5) percent per 
month of the amount of the unpaid fee due, to a maximum penalty 
of twenty-fi ve (25) percent.

If you have any questions, please call the Excise Tax Section at 
(855) 466-3921.
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50 days

365 days 
X  4%  X  $5,000  =  $27.40 interest


