
Name FEIN

Address 

Mailing address (if different from above) 

Contact person Telephone number 

Fax number E-mail address

1. Physical location of self-assessing purchaser (attach diagram or description if the location is serviced by multiple meters 
or if one meter services multiple locations)

 
 Street address City State ZIP code

2. Name of electric distribution company servicing location 

3. Meter numbers used by electric distribution company for billing purposes

4. Your account number assigned by electric distribution company 

5. Number of kilowatt hours consumed at this location in previous calendar year 

6. If line 5 is less than 45 million, estimated annual consumption

7. Do you consume any renewable energy generated on the same site as your location?

8. If so, what type of renewable energy facility resides on your site (i.e., wind, solar, thermal, biogas, etc.), and approximately 
how many kilowatt hours are consumed per month?

 

At the time of making the application, and by the fi rst day of May of each year, a self-assessing purchaser shall pay a fee of 
fi ve hundred dollars ($500) payable to the Ohio Treasurer of State to be submitted along with the application to the Ohio 
Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 530, Columbus, OH 43216-0530. This registration, if approved, will remain in effect through 
April 30 of the registration year or until canceled by the registrant or revoked by the tax commissioner.

Signature  Title  Date

I declare under penalties of perjury that the above statements have been examined by me and to the best of my knowledge 
and belief are true, complete and correct.
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P.O. Box 530
Columbus, OH 43216-0530
Phone (855) 466-3921 • Fax (206) 350-6722

Application for Self-Assessing Purchaser
 for the registration year May 1, 20         to April 30, 20     



Important Information Regarding
the Self Assessing Purchaser Application

Ohio Revised Code section 5727.81 (C) allows commercial or industrial purchasers of electricity that meet certain requirements 
to self-assess the excise tax imposed by this section. Such commercial or industrial purchasers may register and pay the 
tax directly to the state or to a municipality. A company may elect to self-assess the excise tax imposed by this section at 
the rate of $.00257 per kilowatt hour for the fi rst 500 million kilowatt hours, and $.001832 per kilowatt hour for each kilowatt 
hour in excess of 500 million kilowatt hours, distributed to a meter or location during the registration year. In order to qualify 
as a self-assessing purchaser, the following conditions must be met: 

1. The commercial or industrial location must have consumed at least 45 million kilowatt hours of electricity in the previous 
calendar year or is estimated to consume at least 45 million kilowatt hours over the next 12 months.  Attach a statement 
from your distributor to support your actual consumption. If you base your qualifi cation on an estimate, please attach 
documentation to support your estimated consumption. Failure to meet the 45 million kilowatt hour minimum will subject 
you to a higher tax rate retroactive to the beginning of the registration year, and you may not apply again for two years.  

2. A separate application is required for each location. A location can be serviced by multiple meters; however, the location 
must be a facility located on a contiguous property separated only by a roadway, railway or waterway.  Any single meter 
used to measure the quantity of electricity qualifi es as a location.      

3. An annual registration fee of $500 must accompany each application. Once approved, the registration is valid for one 
registration year, May 1 through April 30. The law does not provide for prorated fees for partial years.
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