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The 2013 franchise tax instructions that follow apply only to 
fi nancial institutions (defi ned below). With the completion of 
the franchise tax phase-out in 2009, most corporations are not 
subject to the franchise tax for tax years (report years) 2010 and 
thereafter. However, financial institutions along with certain other 
corporations described in R.C. 5733.01(G) and 5751.01(E) are 
an exception. Financial institutions must file Ohio form FT 1120FI. 
Other corporations remaining subject to the franchise tax must file 
Ohio form FT 1120, the instructions for which are in a separate file 
on our Web site. 

In our continuing effort to serve Ohio taxpayers in a cost-effective 
manner the Department of Taxation did not mail the 2013 
franchise tax instruction booklet or the 2013 franchise tax 
forms. Instead, the franchise tax instructions and forms are 
available on the Department of Taxation’s Web site. In addition to 
forms and instructions, our Web site has links to the Ohio Revised 
Code, Administrative Code (tax commissioner rules), Department of 
Taxation information releases, and other information. We encourage 
you to become familiar with our Web site: 

tax.ohio.gov 

Taxpayers not having Internet access can obtain forms and 
printed instructions by calling us toll free at 1-800-282-1782. 

A financial institution is any of the following: 
• A national bank organized and existing as a national bank 

association pursuant to the “National Bank Act,” 12 U.S.C. 21; 
• A federal savings association or federal savings bank that is 

chartered under 12 U.S.C. 1464; 
• A bank, banking association, trust company, savings and loan 

association, savings bank or other banking institution that is 
incorporated or organized under the laws of any state; 

• Any corporation organized under 12 U.S.C. 611 to 631; 
• Any agency or branch of a foreign depository as defined in 12 

U.S.C. 3101; 
• A company licensed as a small business investment company 

under the “Small Business Investment Act of 1958,” 72 Stat. 689, 
15 U.S.C. 661, as amended; or 

• A company chartered under the “Farm Credit Act of 1933,” 48 
Stat. 257, 12 U.S.C. 1131(d), as amended. 

Specifically excluded from the definition of a "fi nancial institution" 
(and from the definition of a "dealer in intangibles") are insurance 
companies, credit unions and corporations or institutions organized 
under the “Federal Farm Loan Act” and amendments thereto. In 
addition, for franchise tax purposes a production credit association 
is not a fi nancial institution. 

Recent Legislation 

• Am. Sub. House Bill 508, 129th General Assembly. This bill allows 
“qualified financial institutions” to elect to calculate the base upon 
which the tax is imposed by using a single sales apportionment 
factor. See R.C. 5733.056(A)(21),(C) and (I). This bill expands 
the motion picture production tax credit from $20 million per fiscal 
biennium to $40 per fiscal biennium, and not more than $20 million 
in the first year of a fi scal biennium. 

• House Bill 510, 129th General Assembly. This bill is effective for 
the tax year that commences on Jan. 1, 2014. This bill passes a 
new financial institutions tax (“FIT”) that replaces the current Ohio 

corporation franchise tax applicable to financial institutions. Under 
this legislation, tax year 2013 will be the last year that taxpayers 
file the Ohio corporation franchise tax for fi nancial institutions. 

• Am. Sub. Senate Bill 314, 129th General Assembly, effective Sept. 
28, 2012. This bill extends eligibility for the historic preservation 
tax credit for certain qualified lessees. Regarding the job creation 
tax credit, the bill permits employers, in some circumstances, to 
use an earlier payroll period as the base from which the increase 
in payroll withholding is measured. 

Decisions 

Ohio Supreme Court 

During calendar year 2012 neither the Board of Tax Appeals nor 
the courts issued any decisions that significantly affect the Ohio 
corporation franchise tax. 

General Instructions and Information 

The Ohio corporation franchise tax is an excise tax imposed on 
certain domestic and foreign corporations for the privilege of doing 
business in Ohio, owning capital or property in Ohio, holding a 
charter or certificate of compliance authorizing the corporation to 
do business in Ohio, or otherwise having nexus with Ohio during 
a calendar year. Unless otherwise exempt, those corporations to 
which the franchise tax phase-out does not apply are subject to 
the franchise tax for each calendar year (tax year) for which on 
the first day of January of that calendar year the corporation holds 
an Ohio charter, does business in Ohio, owns or uses a part or all 
of its capital or property in Ohio, holds a certificate of compliance 
authorizing the corporation to do business in Ohio, or otherwise 
has nexus with Ohio under the Constitution of the United States. 

The franchise tax is levied on the value of a corporation’s issued and 
outstanding shares of stock. The value of issued and outstanding 
shares of stock is determined from the books of the taxpayer 
as of the beginning of the taxpayer’s annual accounting period 
that includes the first day of January of the tax year. See R.C. 
5733.056(B). Corporations remaining subject to the franchise tax 
after the phase-out, other than financial institutions, must determine 
the value of their issued and outstanding shares of stock under both 
the net income base and the net worth base and pay the tax on the 
base that produces the greater tax. Financial institutions are not 
subject to the tax on the net income base but are subject to the tax 
on the net worth base at a higher rate than other taxpayers. Financial 
institutions must file Ohio form FT 1120FI. Other corporations 
remaining subject to the franchise tax must file Ohio form FT 1120. 

Tax year. The calendar year in and for which the tax is paid is 
called the “tax year.” The tax year is also referred to as the “report 
year.” The franchise tax for tax year 2013 is paid for the privilege of 
doing business in Ohio during the calendar year 2013. 

Taxable year. The accounting period on which the tax is based 
is called the “taxable year” and is defined as “. . . a period ending 
on the date immediately preceding the date of commencement of 
the corporation’s annual accounting period that includes the fi rst day 
of January of the tax year.” Generally, a corporation’s taxable year 
for franchise tax purposes is the same as the corporation’s taxable 
year for federal income tax purposes. However, a corporation’s 
franchise tax taxable year may consist of an aggregation of 
more than one federal taxable year and can exceed one year in 
length. The franchise tax for tax year 2013 is based upon the 
taxpayer’s activity during its taxable year ending in 2012. See 
R.C. 5733.031(A), 5733.04(E) and general instruction #7. Unless 
otherwise stated, all references are to the Ohio Revised Code (R.C). 

- 1 -

http:tax.ohio.gov


 

 

 

  
 

 
   

 

 

 

    

 

 
   

 
 
 

 
  

 

   

 
  

 

 
  

 
 
 
  

  
 

 

  
  

 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

1. Who Must File 
Unless an exemption applies (see general instruction #2), a financial 
institution is subject to the franchise tax for each calendar year 
(tax year) that on the first day of January of that calendar year the 
corporation holds an Ohio charter, does business in Ohio, owns or 
uses a part or all of its capital or property in Ohio, holds a certificate 
of compliance authorizing the corporation to do business in Ohio, 
or otherwise has nexus with Ohio under the Constitution of the 
United States. 

Each financial institution that is subject to the franchise tax must file 
an Ohio corporation franchise tax report. Financial institutions must 
file Ohio form FT 1120FI; all other C corporations that remain subject 
to the franchise tax after the phase-out must file Ohio form FT 1120. 

2. Entities Generally Not Subject to Franchise Tax 
A. Financial Institutions That Are S Corporations 

If a financial institution is an S corporation, it generally is not 
subject to the franchise tax. However, if the S corporation 
financial institution was a C corporation during any portion of 
a taxable year ending in 2012, the S corporation is subject 
to the franchise tax for tax year 2013 and must file an Ohio 
corporation franchise tax report (Ohio form FT 1120FI). See 
First National Bank of Lebanon v Zaino, B.T.A. Case No. 2003 
M-627, March 19, 2004 and Sanders Health & Fitness Inc. v. 
Limbach, B.T.A. Case No. 88-E-559, June 21, 1991. 

Although an S corporation financial institution is generally 
not subject to the franchise tax, the S corporation may be 
subject to the tax on pass-through entities. An S corporation 
that has nexus with Ohio is subject to the tax on pass-through 
entities if one or more shareholders of the S corporation are 
nonresidents for any portion of the S corporation’s taxable 
year and the S corporation does not file a composite Ohio 
income tax return on behalf of the nonresident shareholders. 
For a further explanation of the tax on pass-through entities 
see the instructions for Ohio form IT 1140, Tax Return for 
Pass-Through Entities. 

B. Qualified Subchapter S Subsidiaries 
A financial institution that is a “qualified Subchapter S 
subsidiary” (QSSS) is exempt from the franchise tax that is 
based on the taxable year for which the parent S corporation 
makes the election under Internal Revenue Code (I.R.C.) 
section 1361(b)(3)(B)(ii). A QSSS is exempt because its 
separate legal existence is ignored for purposes of the 
franchise tax. 

C. Corporations in Bankruptcy 
A corporation in bankruptcy proceedings under Chapter 7 of 
the U. S. Bankruptcy Code is not liable for the franchise tax for 
that portion of the tax year during which the corporate franchise 
is impaired because of the Chapter 7 bankruptcy proceedings. 
However, a corporation in Chapter 7 bankruptcy is not exempt 
from the minimum fee. 

A corporation in reorganization proceedings under Chapter 11 
of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code is not exempt from the franchise 
tax because a corporation in reorganization is not equivalent 
to a corporation which has been adjudicated bankrupt or for 
which a receiver has been appointed. See Vought Industries, 
Inc. v. Tracy (1995), 72 Ohio St.3d 261. 

D. Corporations Exempt Under Federal Law 
Certain corporations are exempt from state tax because Con-
gress has expressly granted them immunity as a “federally 
chartered instrumentality.” For example, federal land bank 
associations are exempt from state taxes under U.S. Code 

Section 2098, Title 12. Certain other corporations are exempt 
because the United States Constitution’s Supremacy Clause 
grants implied immunity to private corporations that actually 
stand in the federal government’s shoes and are so closely 
connected to the government that the two cannot realistically 
be viewed as separate entities, at least insofar as the activity 
being taxed is concerned. An Agricultural Credit Association 
(ACA) is not immune from state taxation as a “federally char-
tered instrumentality” because (i) Congress has not expressly 
granted immunity to ACAs and (ii) the Supremacy Clause of the 
United States Constitution does not grant implied immunity to 
ACAs. See Farm Credit Serv. of Mid-America v. Zaino (2001), 
91 Ohio St.3d 564. 

3. Other exceptions to the franchise tax phase-out. 
In addition to financial institutions, the franchise tax phase-out 
and CAT phase-in do not apply to the following entities:

 (i) financial holding companies, 
(ii) bank holding companies, 
(iii) savings and loan holding companies, 
(iv) corporations directly or indirectly owned by one or more 
corporations described in (i) through (iii) when such subsidiary 
corporations are engaged in activities permissible for a financial 
holding company, 
(v) corporations directly or indirectly owned by one or more 
financial institutions that pay the franchise tax charged by R.C. 
5733.06(D) when such subsidiary corporations are engaged in 
activities permissible for a financial holding company and such 
corporations are not already described in (iv) above. 
(vi) corporations directly or indirectly owned by one or more 
insurance companies when such subsidiary corporations are 
engaged in insurance-type activities, and 
(vii) “securitization” companies described in R.C. 5751.01(E)(10). 
See R.C. 5733.01(G) and 5751.01(E). 

4. Nexus 
Unless an exemption applies, a financial institution that has nexus 
in or with Ohio under the Constitution of the United States is subject 
to the franchise tax. A corporate investor in a pass-through entity 
that does business in Ohio or otherwise has nexus in or with Ohio 
under the Constitution of the United States is itself doing business 
in Ohio and has nexus with Ohio. Accordingly, a fi nancial institution 
organized in a state other than Ohio is subject to the franchise tax 
even if the corporation’s only connection with Ohio is as (i) a partner 
or limited partner in a partnership having nexus with Ohio or (ii) a 
member of a limited liability company (LLC) having nexus with Ohio. 

A pass-through entity is an S corporation, partnership, limited 
liability company or any other person, other than an individual, 
trust or estate, if the partnership, LLC or other person is not 
classified for federal income tax purposes as an association taxed 
as a corporation. See (1) R.C. 5733.04(O), (2) the Department 
of Taxation’s September 2001 information release describing 
the standards the Department of Taxation will apply to determine 
whether an out-of-state corporation is subject to the franchise 
tax, and (3) the department’s March 15, 2001 information release 
entitled “Corporation Franchise Tax Nexus for Nonresident Limited 
Partners Following the UCOM Decision.” The Ohio Revised Code 
and the information releases are available on the Department of 
Taxation’s Web site. 

5. Entity Classification 
An entity not organized as a corporation but for federal income tax 
purposes treated as a corporation is also treated as a corporation 
for Ohio franchise tax purposes. Furthermore, an equity interest in 
an entity not organized as a corporation, but for federal income tax 
purposes treated as a corporation, is treated as an ownership of 
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stock in a corporation. Thus, if a business trust, partnership or LLC is 
treated as a corporation for federal income tax purposes, it also will be 
treated as a corporation for Ohio franchise tax purposes. Accordingly, 
such entities, unless otherwise exempt, must compute the tax and 
file a franchise tax report. See R.C. 5733.01 and the Department of 
Taxation’s information release entitled: “IRS ‘Check-the-Box’ Entity 
Selection Regulations” available on the department’s Web site. 

Disregarded entity. For purposes of Chapter 5733 of the Ohio 
Revised Code, the term “disregarded entity” means an entity that for 
its taxable year is by default, or has elected to be, disregarded as an 
entity separate from its owner pursuant to 26 C.F.R. 301.7701-3. Any 
entity that is treated as a “disregarded entity” for federal income tax 
purposes is also treated as a disregarded entity for Ohio franchise 
tax purposes. See R.C. 5733.01(F). Accordingly, a single-member 
LLC treated as a division of the corporate member for federal income 
tax purposes is treated as a division of the corporate member for 
franchise tax purposes. The corporate owner-member is subject 
to the franchise tax as if the LLC were a division of the corporation 
for both federal income tax and franchise tax purposes. That is, for 
franchise tax purposes: 

• If the disregarded entity has nexus with Ohio, then the owner has 
nexus with Ohio. 

• An interest in a disregarded entity is treated as ownership of the 
assets and liabilities of the disregarded entity itself. 

• A disregarded entity’s income, including gains or loss is included 
in the owner’s R.C. Chapter 5733 net income. 

• Any sale or other disposition of an interest in a disregarded entity 
is treated as a sale or other disposition of the disregarded entity’s 
underlying assets. 

• A disregarded entity’s property, payroll and sales are included in 
the owner’s property, payroll and sales factor. 

6. Dissolution or Surrender of License 
Each corporation seeking dissolution of its charter or surrender of 
its license to transact business in Ohio must submit to the Secretary 
of State a filing fee along with various affidavits or documents 
evidencing that the corporation has paid or adequately guaranteed 
various taxes and fees. For further information regarding the 
requirements of dissolving a corporation’s charter or surrendering 
a corporation’s license to conduct business in Ohio, please contact 
the office of the Secretary of State, 180 East Broad Street, 16th 
Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215 or call that office at (614) 466-3910 
or toll free 1-877-767-3453. For specific information regarding 
obtaining a tax release from the Ohio Department of Taxation, 
please contact the Ohio Department of Taxation, Dissolution Unit, 
P.O. Box 182382, Columbus, Ohio 43218-2382 or call (614) 995-
4422 or (888) 405-4039. 

The mere termination of business activities or voluntary dissolution 
does not exempt a corporation from the franchise tax. A corporation 
that on Jan. 1 of the tax year holds a charter or license to transact 
business in Ohio is subject to the Ohio franchise tax for that tax year 
even if prior to the beginning of the tax year it has ceased all business 
activities in Ohio and has applied for certificates showing the payment 
or adequate guarantee of all required taxes. See R.C. 5733.17. 

7. Accounting Period – Taxable Year 
For franchise tax purposes a corporation’s taxable year is a 
period ending on the date immediately preceding the date of 
commencement of the corporation’s annual accounting period 
that includes the first day of January of the tax year. Generally, a 
corporation’s taxable year for franchise tax purposes is the same 
as the corporation’s taxable year for federal income tax purposes. 
If a corporation’s taxable year is changed for federal income tax 
purposes, the corporation’s franchise tax taxable year is changed 
accordingly. 

A franchise tax taxable year may consist of an aggregation of more 
than one federal taxable year and can exceed 12 months in length. 
For example, a franchise tax taxable year may consist of two (or 
more) federal taxable years and can exceed 12 months in length 
in instances where the taxpayer changes its federal taxable year or 
the taxpayer is acquired by another corporation and then changes 
its taxable year. 

In addition, the law gives the tax commissioner authority to write 
rules prescribing an appropriate period as the taxable year for the 
following circumstances: (a) a corporation that has changed its 
taxable year for federal income tax purposes, (b) a corporation 
that as a result of a change of ownership has two or more short 
federal taxable years and (c) a new taxpayer that would otherwise 
not have a taxable year. 

The Department of Taxation has adopted the following rules 
regarding franchise taxpayers’ taxable years and change of 
accounting period: 

• 5703-5-01 	– Definitions Applicable to Rules 5703-5-01 to 5703-
5-05 of the Administrative Code 

• 5703-5-02 	– Date as of Which the Value of a Taxpayer's Issued 
and Outstanding Shares of Stock is Determined 

• 5703-5-03 	– Dates on Which a Taxpayer's Taxable Year Begins 
and Ends 

• 5703-5-04 – 	 Changes of a Taxpayer's Annual Accounting Period 

Note: Effective for taxable years ending after Dec. 31, 2003, Rule 
5703-5-04 eliminates income proration for taxable years that exceed 
one year in length. (Because financial institutions are not subject to 
the net income base of the franchise tax, the elimination of income 
proration has no effect on the tax paid by financial institutions.) In 
addition, the amended rule clarifies that if, as the result of a change 
of ownership, a taxpayer has two short-period federal taxable years 
because of the taxpayer’s inclusion in one or more consolidated 
federal income tax returns, and if the year-end of the taxpayer’s 
annual accounting period remains the same after the change of 
ownership as it was before the change, then for purposes of this rule 
there is not a change of the taxpayer’s annual accounting period. 

Important features of these rules are as follows: 
• Generally, a taxpayer's taxable year begins on the date 

immediately following the end of the taxpayer's prior taxable year 
and ends on the date immediately preceding the beginning of the 
taxpayer's annual accounting period that includes the first day of 
January of the tax year. 

• If a taxpayer changes its annual accounting period, there is (i) no 
period that is not subject to tax, and (ii) no period that is subject 
to tax in more than one tax year. 

• A franchise tax “taxable year” under certain circumstances may 
be more than or less than one year in length. 

Except for taxpayers that have changed their accounting period and 
taxpayers that have more than one federal taxable year ending in 
calendar year 2012, taxpayers must determine the value of their 
issued and outstanding shares of stock as follows: 
− For report year 2013 calendar year end taxpayers must use 

the period ending December 31, 2012. 
− For report year 2013 fiscal year end taxpayers must use the 
fiscal period ending in 2012. However, taxpayers fi ling their 
fi rst report must use the applicable period set out below. 
A. If a taxpayer incorporated in Ohio during 2012 and adopted 

a fi scal year ending in 2012, then the taxpayer’s taxable year 
begins on the date of incorporation and ends on the last day 
of its fiscal period ending in 2012. 
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B. If the taxpayer is a foreign corporation and first became an 
Ohio taxpayer during 2012 (that is, during 2012 the corporation 
began doing business in Ohio, began owning or using part or all 
of its capital or property in Ohio, obtained a license authorizing 
it to do business in Ohio or otherwise established nexus with 
Ohio under the Constitution of the United States) and after it 
became an Ohio taxpayer its fiscal year ended in 2012, then 
the taxpayer must use the accounting period commencing on 
the earliest of the following dates: (i) the date that it began 
doing business in Ohio, (ii) the date that it began owning or 
using a part or all of its capital or property in Ohio, (iii) the date 
that it obtained a license authorizing it to do business in Ohio 
or (iv) the date that it established nexus with Ohio under the 
Constitution of the United States. The taxable year ends on 
the taxpayer’s fiscal year ending in 2012. 

C. All other new taxpayers must use the accounting period com-
mencing with the earliest of the four dates set forth in B above, 
and concluding with Dec. 31, 2012. See paragraphs (E)(2) and 
(E)(4) of Tax Commissioner Rule 5703-5-03. 

If the corporation changed its taxable year in 2011 or 2012 
or if the corporation had more than one federal taxable year 
ending in calendar year 2012, please see the above rules to 
determine the taxpayer’s taxable year. See our Web site for a 
copy of the rules. 

8. Tax Rate and Minimum Fee 
A financial institution is subject to the franchise tax at the rate of 13 
mills (.013) on its net value of stock apportioned to Ohio. However, 
the tax cannot be less than the minimum fee. 

The minimum franchise tax fee is $1,000 if either (i) the sum of the 
taxpayer’s gross receipts from its activities within and without Ohio 
during the taxable year equal or exceed $5 million or (ii) the total 
number of the taxpayer’s employees within and without Ohio at any 
time during the taxable year equals or exceeds 300. In determining 
whether the taxpayer’s gross receipts and number of employees 
equal or exceed those thresholds, the taxpayer must include its 
proportionate share of the gross receipts of any pass-through entity 
in which the taxpayer has a direct or indirect ownership interest and 
its proportionate share of the number of employees of the pass-
through entity. Furthermore, “gross receipts,” as used here, includes 
receipts which generate nonbusiness income and receipts from the 
sale of capital assets and I.R.C. section 1231 assets whether those 
sales generate business income or nonbusiness income. 

The minimum fee is $50 for taxpayers whose gross receipts and 
number of employees are less than the thresholds discussed 
above. See R.C. 5733.06(E). 

9. Time, Place and Method for Filing and Payment 
Except as otherwise provided, if a payment or document is mailed on 
or before the due date but delivered after the due date, the postmark 
date is deemed the date of delivery. If the due date of the report or 
the due date of an extension or payment falls on a Saturday, Sun-
day or legal holiday, then the report, extension or payment may be 
made on the next succeeding day that is not a Saturday, Sunday or 
legal holiday. Certain large taxpayers must pay by electronic funds 
transfer (see general instruction #9D). 

A. Filing Date; Payment Date; Declaration of Estimated Tax 
The filing and payment of the Ohio franchise tax for report year 
2013 is due between Jan. 1 and March 31, 2013. However, 
if by Jan. 31 the taxpayer does not file the report and make 
full payment of the tax, then by Jan. 31 the taxpayer must file 
Ohio form FT 1120E, Declaration of Estimated Corporation 

Franchise Tax and must pay one-third of the estimated tax, but 
not less than the minimum fee. But, if the taxpayer is required 
to pay by electronic funds transfer (EFT) and timely makes an 
estimated payment by Jan. 31, then the taxpayer should not 
file Ohio form FT 1120E (see general instruction #9D).

 B. Extension 
The tax commissioner will grant an automatic extension of time 
for filing the report until May 31, 2013 if by March 31, 2013 the 
taxpayer submits Ohio form FT 1120ER together with payment 
of the second one-third of the estimated tax due. If the taxpayer 
will file its franchise tax report after March 31, the taxpayer 
must submit Ohio form FT 1120ER by March 31 even if no 
additional payment is due. But, if the taxpayer is required to 
pay by EFT and timely makes its second estimated payment 
by March 31, then the taxpayer has an automatic extension 
for filing its franchise tax report to May 31 and the taxpayer 
should not file Ohio form FT 1120ER (see general instruction 
#9D). 

Additional Extension 
The tax commissioner will grant an additional automatic 
extension of time for filing the report beyond May 31, 2013 if 
the taxpayer has been granted an extension by the Internal 
Revenue Service and by May 31 the taxpayer submits Ohio 
form FT 1120EX together with the balance of the tax due. The 
second extension extends the filing date to the 15th day of 
the month following the month for which the IRS has granted 
an extension for filing the corporation’s federal income tax 
return. A copy of the federal extension must be attached to 
the franchise report, Ohio form FT 1120FI, when filed. 

If the taxpayer is required to pay by EFT and timely makes 
its third estimated payment by May 31, then the taxpayer has 
an automatic extension for filing its franchise tax report to 
the 15th day of the month following the month for which the 
Internal Revenue Service has granted an extension for filing 
the corporation’s federal income tax return and the taxpayer 
should not file Ohio form FT 1120EX (see general instruction 
#9D). 

The table below lists the latest possible due dates for fi ling the 
franchise tax report for tax year 2013 for the various taxable 
years ending in 2012. The table reflects the following assump-
tions: 
• If the taxpayer's taxable year ended on or after Aug. 31, 2012, 

the taxpayer has the maximum allowable federal extension, 
• The taxpayer has timely filed Ohio franchise tax forms FT 

1120E, FT 1120ER and, where applicable, FT 1120EX, and 
• The taxpayer made a good faith effort to timely pay its 

estimated franchise tax. 

Taxable Year Ending Latest Possible Due Date 
for Filing the 2013 

Franchise Tax Report 
01/31/12 through 7/31/12 05/31/2013 

08/31/2012 06/15/2013 

09/30/2012 07/15/2013 

10/31/2012 08/15/2013 

11/30/2012 09/15/2013 

12/31/2012 10/15/2013 

Note: Payment of all franchise tax for tax year 2013 is due 
by May 31, 2013, even if the taxpayer has an extension to 
file after that date. 
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 C. Place 
File the franchise report with the 
Ohio Department of Taxation 
P.O. Box 27
 
Columbus, Ohio 43216-0027.


 However, if the report is an amended report, please do not send 
the report to the above address. Instead, send the report to: 
Ohio Department of Taxation 
Business Tax Division 
Corporation Franchise Tax Unit 
P.O. Box 2476 

Columbus, Ohio 43216-2476
 

Please indicate that the report is amended by checking the 
appropriate box on the front of the report. If the amended 
report reflects an underpayment, please include payment 
along with the applicable interest on the amount due. If the 
amended report reflects an overpayment, please include 
(i) an Application for Corporation Franchise Tax Refund 
(Ohio form FT REF) or (ii) a complete explanation of the 
amendment. See Abitibi-Price Corporation and Subsidiaries 
v. Tracy, BTA No. 98-N-401 (3-12-01) and refer to general 
instruction #20. 

Note: An overpayment shown on an amended report 
cannot be credited against the tax liability for any other 
year. 

D. EFT Method of Payment 
A taxpayer must pay by electronic funds transfer (EFT) if for 
the second preceding tax year the taxpayer’s total franchise 
tax liability after reduction for nonrefundable credits exceeded 
$50,000. Nevertheless, payments made with an amended 
report cannot be made by EFT. For further EFT information 
see the Department of Taxation’s July 31, 1994 franchise tax 
information release entitled “Recently Enacted Legislation 
Revises the Requirements for Corporations Paying Corporate 
Franchise Tax by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).” The infor-
mation release is available on the Department of Taxation’s 
Web site. Please direct questions regarding the EFT payment 
program to the Ohio Treasurer of State’s office at 30 East 
Broad Street, 9th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215, or call that 
office toll-free at 1-877-338-6446. 

10. Interest on Underpayments and Overpayments 
During calendar year 2013 interest on underpayments and 
overpayments accrues at the rate of 3% per annum (based 
on the rounded federal short term rate of 0% plus the additional 
3% prescribed by R.C. 5703.47(B)). See the tax commissioner’s 
Oct. 15, 2012 administrative journal entry located at: tax.ohio. 
gov/ohio_individual/individual/interest_rates.aspx. Also see R.C 
5703.47. 

If a corporation fails to pay the tax by the date payment is due, 
interest accrues on the unpaid tax. In addition, penalties may be 
charged for late filing, late payment or failure to file. The period of 
the underpayment runs from the date payment was required to the 
date on which payment is made. There is no safe-harbor from 
interest on the underpayment of estimated tax. 

Interest on franchise tax overpayments runs from whichever of the 
following dates is the latest until the date the refund is paid: 
• the date of payment, 
• the 90th day after the final date the franchise tax report was 

required to be fi led, or 
• the 90th day after the date that the franchise tax report was filed. 

Interest on overpayments with respect to those franchise 
tax credits that cannot be claimed until receipt of a tax credit 
certificate substantiating the credit amount is payable from 
the date that the tax credit certificate is issued – not from the 
date the taxpayer paid the tax. Examples of franchise tax credits 
that cannot be claimed until receipt of a credit certifi cate include, 
but are not limited to, the jobs creation tax credit, the job retention 
credit, the historic building preservation credit and the research and 
development loan repayment credit. 

Reason: 
• The R.C. 5733.12 franchise tax refund statute of limitations states 

that a refund claim must be filed within three years from the date 
of the illegal, erroneous, or excessive payment. 

• R.C. 5733.12 also provides for the payment of interest on 
overpayments "as provided by section 5733.26 of the Revised 
Code." 

• R.C. 5733.26 states that interest on an overpayment is paid from 
the date of the illegal, erroneous or excessive payment – the same 
term used in R.C. 5733.12. 

• In Nestle R&D Ctr., Inc. v. Levin Slip Opinion No. 2009-Ohio-
1929 the Ohio Supreme Court held that the date of the illegal, 
erroneous or excessive payment with respect to the refund statute 
of limitations for the jobs creation tax credit is the date on which 
the tax credit authority issues a tax credit certificate for the amount 
of the credit. 

• As such, the department will compute interest on overpayments 
resulting from the jobs creation tax credit (and other franchise tax 
credits that when claimed must be substantiated by a tax credit 
certificate) from the date that the Ohio Development Services 
Agency (ODSA) issued the tax credit certificate – not from the 
date that the taxpayer paid the tax. 

In Nestle the Ohio Supreme Court held that Nestle’s 2001 franchise 
tax refund claim filed Jan. 6, 2005, based on a jobs creation tax credit 
(JCTC) certificate issued by the ODSA on Dec. 6, 2004, was timely 
filed within the R.C. 5733.12 refund statute of limitations period 
because the three-year refund statute of limitations with respect to 
Nestle’s JCTC for tax year 2001 began to run on the date that ODSA 
issued the tax credit certificate substantiating the credit amount. 
The court stated as follows: “ . . . the issuance on Dec. 6, 2004 of 
the certificate for taxable year 2000 retroactively established the 
illegal and excessive character of payments attributable to the tax 
year 2001 up to the amount of the credit (and also that the taxpayer 
would be entitled to collect the excess of credit over payments, if 
any). At that point the refund claim accrued for purposes of the 
limitations period and, as a result, the filing of the refund claim in 
January 2005 was timely.” See Nestle R&D Ctr., Inc. v. Levin Slip 
Opinion No. 2009-Ohio-1929. 

11. Penalties for Late Payment, Failure to File or Late Filing 
• Penalty may be imposed for failure to timely pay the tax (including 

estimated tax). Late payment penalty may not exceed 15% of the 
delinquent payment. See R.C. 5733.28(A)(2); also see “penalty 
safe harbor for estimated payments” below. 

• Penalty may be imposed for failure to file or to timely file a report. 
The penalty imposed may not exceed the greater of (i) $50 per 
month up to $500 or (ii) 5% per month of the tax due shown on 
the report up to 50%. 

• Additional penalties may be imposed for filing a fraudulent report 
and for filing a fraudulent refund claim. 

12. Penalty Safe Harbor for Estimated Payments 
The following safe harbor applies to penalty (but not to interest) on 
the underpayment of estimated tax: 
•	 With respect to estimated payments, the R.C. 5733.28(A)(2) 

failure to pay penalty applies to two periods: (1) “any period of 
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delinquency ending prior to the first day of June of the tax year” 
and (2) “any period of delinquency commencing the first day of 
June of the tax year and concluding on the extended due date.” 
See R.C. 5733.021. 

•	 For purposes of determining the R.C. 5733.28(A)(2) failure to pay 
penalty for any period of delinquency ending prior to the fi rst day 
of June of the tax year, the commissioner may charge penalty on 
the delinquent portion of the estimated tax. “Estimated tax” for 
this purpose means the lesser of 100% of last year’s tax or 90% 
of this year’s tax. See R.C. 5733.021(C)(1). 

•	 For purposes of determining the R.C. 5733.28(A)(2) failure to pay 
penalty for any period of delinquency commencing the first day of 
June of the tax year and concluding on the extended due date, 
the commissioner may charge penalty on the delinquent portion 
of the estimated tax. “Estimated tax” for this purpose means 90% 
of this year’s tax. See R.C. 5733.021(C)(2). 

13. Officers, Statutory Agent and Signature 
The president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, general manager, 
superintendent or managing agent of the corporation in Ohio must 
sign the report. If a domestic corporation has not completed its or-
ganization, one of its incorporators must sign the report. In addition, 
each taxpayer must list its president, secretary and treasurer along 
with the name and address of its statutory agent. 

14. Paid Practitioner’s Signature 
The Ohio Department of Taxation follows IRS Notice 2004-54. 
IRS Notice 2004-54 provides for alternative preparer-signature 
procedures for federal income tax paper returns that paid 
practitioners prepare on behalf of their clients. Paid preparers can 
follow those same procedures with respect to the following Ohio 
paper returns: individual income tax, school district income tax, 
withholding tax (employer and pass-through entity) and corporation 
franchise tax. See R.C. 5703.262(B) and 5747.08(F). 

15. Methods of Accounting 
The value of issued and outstanding shares of stock must be 
determined from the books of the corporation. The taxpayer must 
keep its books in accordance with a generally recognized and 
approved accounting system. The tax-basis method of accounting 
is a generally recognized and approved accounting system. See 
Gray Horse Inc. v. Limbach (1993), 66 Ohio St. 3d 631. If a taxpayer 
keeps its books both in accordance with regulatory accounting 
principles and in accordance with generally accepted accounting 
principals, the value of the taxpayer’s issued and outstanding shares 
of stock must be based upon those books kept in accordance with 
generally accepted accounting principles. See Tax Commissioner 
Rule 5703-5-08. 

16. Rounding Off to Whole Dollar Amounts 
The money items on the franchise tax report and accompanying 
schedules must be rounded to the nearest whole dollar by eliminat-
ing amounts less than 50 cents and increasing amounts from 50 
cents to 99 cents to the next highest dollar. 

17. Records Retention 
Every corporation must maintain books and records that substantiate 
the information reported on its Ohio franchise tax report. These 
books and records must be available for inspection by agents of 
the Ohio Department of Taxation for a period of four years from the 
later of (a) the date the taxpayer filed the franchise report or (b) the 
date the taxpayer was required to file the report. 

18. Enterprise Zone Tax Benefits 
Note: House Bill 1 (Budget Bill), 128th General Assembly 
extended through Oct. 15, 2010 the authority for local 
governments to enter into enterprise zone agreements. See 
R.C. 5709.62 as amended by HB 1. 

Businesses that establish, expand, renovate or occupy a facility 
pursuant to an enterprise zone agreement and that create new 
jobs in a certified enterprise zone without reducing employment 
elsewhere in Ohio may be entitled to a series of franchise tax 
benefits. See R.C. 5709.64 and 5709.65. Among these benefits 
are an employee training credit, a daycare credit, and treatment 
of the qualifying property as an exempted asset under the net 
worth base. 

To qualify for franchise tax enterprise zone benefi ts, businesses 
must (i) hold a Tax Incentive Qualifi cation Certificate (issued by the 
ODSA) and (ii) hire new employees to fill nonretail positions at the 
facility. At the time hired at least 25% of the new employees must 
have been at least one of the following: 

• Unemployed persons who had resided at least six months in the 
county in which the enterprise's project site is located; 

• Job Training Partnership Act eligible employees who had resided 
at least six months in the county in which the enterprise's project 
site is located; 

• Recipients of aid to dependent children, general relief or 
unemployment compensation benefits who had resided at least 
six months in the county in which the enterprise's project site is 
located; 

• Handicapped persons, as defined under R.C. 3304.11(A), 
who had resided at least six months in the county in which the 
enterprise's project site is located; 

• Residents for at least one year of a zone located in the county in 
which the enterprise's project site is located. See R.C. 5709.64 
and 5709.65. 

In addition to the enterprise zone franchise tax benefi ts described 
above, a taxpayer may apply to the director of the ODSA for an 
“employee tax credit certificate” for each eligible new employee 
the enterprise hires after June 30, 1994 at the facility to which the 
enterprise zone agreement applies provided that the taxpayer is 
complying with the enterprise zone agreement and has not closed 
or reduced employment at any place of business in Ohio within 
the 12 months preceding the application. For more information on 
the Credit for Eligible New Employees in an Enterprise Zone see 
Schedule A-1, credit #7 in the instructions booklet for corporations 
that are not fi nancial institutions. 

19. Assessments 
The tax commissioner may issue an assessment against the 
taxpayer for any deficiency within three years after the later of the 
following dates: 

• The final date the report subject to assessment was required to 
be fi led, or 

• The date the report was filed. 

However, both the assessment statute of limitations and the refund 
statute of limitations may be extended for an agreed-upon period 
if both the taxpayer and the tax commissioner consent in writing to 
the extension by signing Ohio form FT WAIVER before the statute 
of limitations period would otherwise expire. Furthermore, if the tax 
commissioner disregards a sham transaction, the assessment 
statute of limitations period is doubled. See general instruction 
#22 and R.C. 5703.56. 

An amended franchise tax report filed as a result of an adjustment 
to the corporation’s federal income tax return is deemed a report 
subject to assessment. However, the amended report does not 
reopen those facts, figures, computations or attachments from a 
previously filed report no longer subject to assessment or refund 
that are not affected, either directly or indirectly, by the adjustment 
to the corporation’s federal income tax return. Furthermore, 
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once the three-year refund statute of limitations has passed, the 
taxpayer may not offset the additional franchise tax resulting from 
IRS audit adjustments against franchise tax that the taxpayer 
erroneously overpaid due to errors or mistakes unrelated to the 
federal adjustments. See Gen. Motors Corp. v. Limbach (1993), 
67 Ohio St. 3d 90. 

The statute of limitations does not preclude either the tax 
commissioner or the taxpayer from adjusting the net operating loss 
carried forward from a year closed to assessment or refund to a 
year still open to assessment or refund. Furthermore, the statute of 
limitations does not preclude the tax commissioner or the taxpayer 
from adjusting the unused credits carried forward from a year closed 
to assessment or refund to a year still open to assessment or refund. 
See Consumer Direct v. Limbach (1991), 62 Ohio St. 3d 180. 

If the taxpayer does not pay the assessment within 60 days of 
receipt of the assessment, interest accrues on the assessment 
at the rate prescribed in R.C. 5703.47 from the date the tax 
commissioner issues the assessment until the date the taxpayer 
pays the assessment. 

If the taxpayer disagrees with an assessment, the taxpayer may 
object to the assessment by timely filing a petition for reassessment. 
See general instruction #20. 

20. Application for Refund and Petition for Reassessment 
Franchise taxpayers may request a refund by filing either prescribed 
Ohio form FT REF, Application for Corporation Franchise Tax 
Refund, or by filing an amended report accompanied by the full 
and complete reason for the refund claim. Please do not fi le an 
application for refund if the claimed overpayment for the tax 
year is shown on the originally filed franchise tax report for 
that tax year. 

Franchise taxpayers may initiate review proceedings pertaining to 
a franchise tax assessment issued by the Department of Taxation 
by filing Ohio form PR, Petition for Reassessment. 

Application for Corporation Franchise Tax Refund (Ohio form 
FT REF) applies to claimed overpayments by a taxpayer, whether 
made voluntarily or as the result of the payment of an assessment 
issued by the Ohio Department of Taxation. If the overpayment is 
not the result of an IRS adjustment and the statute of limitations 
has not been extended by Ohio form FT WAIVER (see general 
instruction #19), then within three years of the date of the illegal, 
erroneous or excessive payment the department must receive (i) 
the application for refund along with an amended report or (ii) an 
amended report accompanied by the full and complete reason for 
the refund claim. See Abitibi-Price Corporation and Subsidiaries v. 
Tracy, BTA No. 98-N-401 (3-12-01). 

Please mail your amended report and Ohio form FT REF or an 
amended franchise tax report along with a complete explanation 
of the amendment to: 

Ohio Department of Taxation 
Business Tax Division 
Corporation Franchise Tax Unit 
P.O. Box 2476 

Columbus, Ohio 43216-2476
 

Please indicate that a report is amended by checking the appropriate 
box on the front of the report. Do not send the FT REF and 
amended report to the address shown on the franchise tax 
form. 

Refund Statute of Limitations Law. For purposes of the refund 
statute of limitations, payment made before the due date or extended 

due date for filing the report to which the payment relates are 
deemed to have been made on the due date or extended due date. 
See R.C. 5733.12. Thus, for payments made before the due date 
or extended due date for filing the report, the three-year refund 
statute of limitations begins to run on the report’s due date or the 
later extended due date. (Under prior case law payments remitted 
with the estimated tax report [Ohio form FT 1120E] and extension 
requests [Ohio forms FT 1120ER and FT 1120EX] were deemed 
to have been made on the earlier of the date the Ohio corporation 
franchise tax report was filed or the due date of the report including 
extensions. Thus, under prior case law if a franchise tax report was 
filed before its extended due date, the three-year refund statute of 
limitations began to run on the date the report was filed rather than 
the later extended due date. See Hanna Mining Co. v. Limbach 
[1985], 20 Ohio St. 3d 3 and Athena Manor, Inc. v. Limbach, BTA 
Case No. 91-Z-12, February 26, 1993. 

If the claimed overpayment is the result of a change in federal 
taxable income, then the department must receive the claim for 
refund within the later of the following: (a) the three-year time 
period set forth above or (b) the one-year period set forth in 
general instruction #16 in the franchise tax instruction booklet 
for corporations that are not financial institutions (available in a 
separate file on the Department of Taxation’s Web site). However, 
if the refund claim is filed outside the three-year refund statute of 
limitations and the statute of limitations has not been extended by 
Ohio form FT WAIVER (see general instruction #19), the refund 
claim can include only the direct and indirect effects of the federal 
adjustments. See Gen. Motors Corp. v. Limbach (1993), 67 Ohio 
St. 3d 90 and The First Federal Savings Bank v. Tracy, BTA Case 
No. 94-T-1353, Aug. 23, 1996. 

Regardless of the above provisions to the contrary, a franchise tax 
refund claim that is based on a capital loss carryback is timely filed 
if the refund claim is filed within three years from the due date of the 
franchise tax report (including extensions thereof) for the taxable 
year in which the capital loss arose. See Prechter v. Tracy, BTA 
Case No. 95-M-1214, April 4, 1997. 

A taxpayer cannot use a refund claim form (Ohio form FT REF) to ap-
peal an assessment unless the taxpayer has paid the assessment. 
That is, if the taxpayer fails to file a petition for reassessment within 
60 days of receipt of the assessment, then the taxpayer cannot file 
a refund claim protesting the assessment until after the taxpayer 
has paid the assessment. 

Uniform application for refund procedure. R.C. 5703.70 
establishes a uniform application for refund procedure applicable to 
franchise tax and various other taxes (but not to individual income 
tax, school district income tax, withholding tax or pass-through entity 
tax). If a taxpayer properly files an application for refund under a 
law specifying that the R.C. 5703.70 uniform procedure applies and 
if the commissioner determines the amount of the refund to which 
the applicant is entitled is less than the amount claimed, then the 
tax commissioner and the taxpayer must proceed as follows: 

1.	 The commissioner must notify the applicant in writing by ordinary 
mail of the disallowed portion of the claimed refund. 

2.	 The applicant has 60 days from the date the commissioner 
mails the notification to provide additional information to the 
commissioner and/or to request a hearing. 

3.	 If the applicant neither requests a hearing nor provides additional 
information within the 60-day period described in #2, then (a) the 
commissioner will take no further action, (b) the refund denial 
becomes final, and (c) the taxpayer may not appeal to the Board 
of Tax Appeals the tax commissioner’s decision to deny all or a 
portion of the claimed overpayment. 
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4.	 If the applicant requests a hearing within the 60-day period 
described in #2, the commissioner must assign a time and place 
for hearing. After the hearing, the commissioner may make such 
adjustments to the refund as the commissioner finds proper and 
must issue a final determination. The taxpayer may appeal the 
commissioner’s final determination to the Board of Tax Appeals 
pursuant to R.C. 5717.02. 

5.	 If the applicant does not request a hearing within the 60-day day 
period described in #2 but does provide additional information 
within that period, then the commissioner (a) must review the 
information, (b) may make such adjustments to the refund as the 
commissioner finds proper and (c) must issue a fi nal determination. 
The taxpayer may appeal the commissioner’s fi nal determination 
to the Board of Tax Appeals pursuant to R.C. 5717.02. 

Petition for Reassessment. Franchise taxpayers may initiate 
review proceedings pertaining to a franchise tax assessment issued 
by the Department of Taxation by filing Ohio form PR, Petition for 
Reassessment. Ohio form PR applies only to assessments (not to 
proposed corrections) issued by the Ohio Department of Taxation. 

A taxpayer must file its petition within 60 days of receipt of the 
assessment. If the taxpayer sends the petition by certified mail, the 
date of postmark is considered the date filed. If the taxpayer sends 
the petition by regular mail, the date the Department of Taxation 
receives the petition is considered the date fi led. The petition must 
specify the items of the assessment objected to and the reasons for 
those objections. However, a taxpayer who has timely filed a Petition 
for Reassessment may raise additional written objections to the 
assessment at any time prior to the date of the tax commissioner’s 
final determination. If a taxpayer files the petition after the 60-day 
period has expired, the tax commissioner will dismiss the petition 
because the tax commissioner has no jurisdiction to consider a 
late-fi led petition. 

The portion of an assessment that must be paid upon the fi ling of 
a Petition for Reassessment is as follows: 

1. If the sole item objected to is the assessed penalty or interest, 
the assessed corporation must pay the entire assessment except 
for the penalty. 

2.	 If prior to the date of issuance of the assessment the assessed 
corporation failed to file (i) the annual report required by R.C. 
5733.02, (ii) any amended report required by R.C section 
5733.031(C) for the tax year at issue, or (iii) any amended report 
required by R.C. 5733.067(D) to indicate a reduction in the amount 
of the credit provided under that section, the assessed corporation 
must pay the entire assessment except for the penalty. 

3. If prior to the date of issuance of the assessment the assessed 
corporation filed (i) the annual report required by R.C. 5733.02, 
(ii) all amended reports required by R.C. 5733.031(C) for the 
tax year at issue and (iii) all amended reports required by 
R.C. 5733.067(D) to indicate a reduction in the amount of the 
credit provided under that section, and if a balance of the taxes 
shown due on the reports as computed on the reports remains 
unpaid, the assessed corporation must pay only that portion of 
the assessment representing any unpaid balance as shown on 
those reports together with all related interest. 

4. If the assessed corporation does not dispute that it is a taxpayer, 
but claims the protections of section 101 of Public Law 86-272, 
73 Stat. 555, 15 U.S.C.A. 381, as amended, the assessed 
corporation must pay only that portion of the assessment 
representing any unpaid balance of taxes shown due on the 
corporation’s franchise tax report. 

5. If none of the conditions specified in (1), (2), (3) and (4) above 
apply, or if the assessed corporation claims that it is not a 
taxpayer (that is, if the assessed corporation disputes that it is 

subject to the franchise tax), the assessed corporation is not 
required to pay any portion of the assessment. 

However, any unpaid portion of the assessment that upon fi nal deter-
mination is found to be correct bears interest at the rate prescribed 
in R.C. 5703.47 from the date the Department of Taxation issues 
the assessment until the date the taxpayer pays the assessment. 
See R.C. 5733.11. If the taxpayer decides to pay the assessment in 
full, such payment is not acknowledgment of agreement and will not 
prejudice the final determination of the petition, and the taxpayer will 
receive interest on any refund found due. See general instruction 
#10 for interest on underpayments and overpayments. 

Uniform petition for reassessment procedure. R.C. 5703.60 
establishes a uniform petition for reassessment procedure and a 
uniform assessment correction procedure applicable to franchise 
tax, individual income tax, pass-through entity tax, withholding tax, 
school district income tax and various other taxes. If the taxpayer 
has filed a proper petition for reassessment for a tax whose statute 
specifies the uniform reassessment procedure applies, this law 
permits the tax commissioner, upon receipt of additional information 
from the taxpayer, to correct an assessment without issuing a final 
determination and without a hearing. The commissioner’s corrected 
assessment issued in response to the taxpayer’s petition may 
increase the original assessment outside the assessment statute 
of limitations period. In addition, this law permits the commissioner 
to correct an assessment even if the taxpayer did not properly fi le a 
petition for reassessment or did not file a petition for reassessment. A 
more in-depth summary of this law is available in general instruction 
#26 of the franchise tax instructions for corporations that are not 
financial institutions. Those instructions are available in another file 
on the Department of Taxation’s Web site. 

21. Taxpayer’s Bill of Rights; Requests for an Opinion 
R.C. sections 5703.50 through 5703.54 establish certain 
administrative procedures relating to Department of Taxation audits 
and assessments. At or before the commencement of an audit 
the Department of Taxation must provide to the taxpayer a written 
description of the roles of the department and the taxpayer during 
an audit and a statement of the taxpayer’s rights. A brochure that 
discusses the Department of Taxation’s interpretation of this law is 
available on the department’s Web site. 

In addition, this law permits the tax commissioner to issue binding 
opinions regarding the taxation of proposed activities of the taxpayer. 
As set forth in Ohio Administrative Code (Tax Commissioner’s Rule) 
5703-1-12 a request for an opinion of the tax commissioner must 
comply with the following: 
• Be in writing; 
• Explicitly request an “Opinion of the Tax Commissioner”; 
• Specifically refer to R.C. 5703.53; 
• State all facts of the activity or transaction for which the opinion 

is requested; 
• Identify the parties involved in the activity or transaction about 

which the opinion is requested; 
• Set out the specific legal question or questions for which the 

opinion is requested; and 
• Be signed by an officer of the corporation authorized to act on its 

behalf. 

For further information see Rule 5703-1-12, Requests for an Opinion 
of the Tax Commissioner, available on the Department of Taxation’s 
Web site. 

22. Sham Transaction, Economic Reality, Substance Over 
Form and Step Transactions 

The tax commissioner has authority to apply the doctrines of “eco-
nomic reality,” “sham transaction,” “step transaction” and “substance 
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over form.” Generally the tax commissioner bears the burden of 
establishing by a preponderance of the evidence that these doc-
trines should apply. However, with respect to transactions between 
members of a controlled group, the taxpayer bears the burden of 
establishing that a transaction or series of transactions between 
members of the controlled group was not a sham transaction. If 
the tax commissioner disregards a sham transaction, the as-
sessment statute of limitations period is doubled. 

For purposes of this provision, the term “controlled group” means 
two or more persons related in such a way that one person directly 
or indirectly owns or controls the business operations of another 
member of the group. In the case of persons with stock or equity, one 
person owns or controls another if it directly or indirectly owns more 
than 50% of the other person’s common stock with voting rights or 
other equity with voting rights. The term “sham transaction” means 
a transaction or series of transactions without economic substance 
because there is no business purpose or expectation of profi t other 
than obtaining tax benefits. See R.C. 5733.111 and R.C. 5703.56. 

23. Tax Commissioner’s Right to Offset Refund 
The tax commissioner may apply a taxpayer’s franchise tax refund 
against the taxpayer’s indebtedness to the state of Ohio for any 
tax or fee and any charge, penalty or interest arising from such a 
tax or fee that is administered by the tax commissioner and paid to 
the state or to the clerk of courts. In addition, the tax commissioner 
may apply a taxpayer’s franchise tax refund in satisfaction of the 
corporation’s indebtedness to Ohio for workers’ compensation 
premiums, unemployment compensation contributions or 
unemployment compensation payments in lieu of contributions and 
interest on such amounts. The offset can be made only if those 
debts have become “final.” See R.C. 5733.121. 

Line Instructions
 
Schedule A – Computation of Franchise Tax
 

Line 7 – Overpayment Carryforward from 2012. Enter the 
overpayment shown on the originally filed 2012 report that was 
credited to estimated tax payments for tax year 2013. 

Note: An overpayment shown on an amended report may not be 
credited toward a payment for another year. If an amended report 
reflects an overpayment, the taxpayer must also submit Ohio 
form FT REF, Application for Corporation Franchise Tax Refund, 
or a statement that sets forth the full and complete reason for the 
overpayment (see Abitibi-Price Corporation and Subsidiaries v. 
Tracy, BTA No. 98-N-401 (3-12-01), and refer to general instruction 
#20. 

Line 8 – Estimated payments made in 2013. Enter the estimated 
payment paid with Ohio form FT 1120E, Declaration of Estimated 
Franchise Tax; Ohio form FT 1120ER, Application for Automatic 
Extension; and Ohio form FT 1120EX, Request for Additional 
Extension. 

Line 12 – Interest and Penalty. Enter any interest and penalty due 
as explained in general instructions #10, 11 and 12. 

Line 14 – Overpayment. 

Note: Because the 2013 report is the last franchise tax report, 
all overpayments shown on the 2013 report will be refunded. An 
overpayment shown on an amended report cannot be credited 
against the tax liability for any other year. If an amended report 
reflects an overpayment, the taxpayer must also submit Ohio 
form FT REF, Application for Corporation Franchise Tax Refund, 
or a statement that sets forth the full and complete reason for the 
overpayment (see Abitibi-Price Corporation and Subsidiaries v. 

Tracy, BTA No. 98-N-401 (3-12-01), and refer to general instruction 
#20. 

Schedule B – Balance Sheet 

Attach to the franchise tax report a balance sheet that reflects 
the books of the taxpayer as of the beginning and the end of the 
taxpayer’s taxable year. 

Schedule C – Exempted Assets (Net Book Value) 

Exempted assets are determined from the books of the taxpayer 
as of the beginning of the taxpayer’s annual accounting period 
that includes the first day of January of the tax year. See R.C. 
5733.056(B). For example, if an Ohio franchise taxpayer has a 
taxable year beginning July 1, 2011 and ending June 30, 2012, the 
taxpayer’s exempted assets for tax year 2013 are determined as 
of July 1, 2012, the beginning of the taxpayer’s annual accounting 
period that includes the first day of January 2013. Generally, the 
figures at the beginning of the taxpayer’s annual accounting period 
that includes the first day of January of the tax year (in this example, 
July 1, 2012) will be the same as the figures at the end of the taxable 
year that concludes prior to Jan. 1 of the tax year (in this example, 
June 30, 2012). 

Line 1 – Goodwill. Enter the amounts that reflect goodwill as 
shown in the annual report to shareholders. “Goodwill” is the cost 
in excess of fair value of net assets acquired. An intangible asset 
is not goodwill if it can be separately purchased and sold and has a 
separate, identifiable value (see GCC Beverages, Inc. v. Limbach, 
B.T.A. Case Nos. 87-H-1278 and 87-B-1279, Aug. 25, 1989). A 
taxpayer’s “core deposit intangible” is not goodwill (see Savings 
Bank v. Limbach, BTA No. 87-C-733 (11-2-90). 

Line 2 – Abandoned Property. Enter the amounts that reflect 
abandoned property as shown in the annual report to shareholders. 

Line 3 – Appreciation. Enter the amounts that refl ect appreciation 
as shown in the annual report to shareholders. Appreciation is an 
increase in asset value that occurs after acquisition. A taxpayer who 
accounts for its investment in subsidiaries under the equity method 
of accounting and maintains on its books a separate investment 
account for each individual investee may exclude as exempt 
appreciation the sum of the positive appreciation amounts and is 
not required to net positive and negative appreciation amounts. SHV 
North America Corp. v. Tracy (1994), 70 Ohio St.3d 395. (Under 
the equity method of accounting the investor initially records an 
investment in stock of an investee at cost and increases the carrying 
amount of the investment to recognize the investor’s share of the 
earnings of the investee after the date of acquisition. Likewise, the 
investor reduces the carrying amount of an investment by its share of 
the investee’s losses and by dividends received from the investee.) 

Following a reorganization and merger in which there has been no 
substantial change of ownership, a taxpayer may deduct as exempt 
appreciation the undistributed earnings of the merged corporation 
that it previously deducted before the reorganization and merger 
and that after the reorganization and merger are reflected in the 
taxpayer’s investment in the new corporation. See Sun Refi ning and 
Marketing Co. v. Limbach. B.T.A. Case No. 90-R-464, June 30, 1993. 

A holding company may not deduct as exempt appreciation the 
amount of retained earnings of an operating company at the time 
the shareholders of the operating company contributed their shares 
of the operating company to the holding company in return for an 
equal number of shares of the holding company pursuant to an 
I.R.C. section 351 tax free exchange. See Edwards Industries, Inc. 
v. Tracy (1996), 74 Ohio St.3d 643. 
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A taxpayer may not deduct as exempt appreciation the increase in 
the cash surrender values of whole life insurance policies of which 
the taxpayer was both owner and benefi ciary. See National City 
Bank v. Wilkins, 111 Ohio St. 3d 485, 2006-Ohio-6110. 

Line 5 – Other. The following qualify as exempted assets but 
generally do not apply to financial institutions: (1) the net book value 
of qualifying improvements to land or tangible personal property in 
an enterprise zone for which the ODSA has issued a Tax Incentive 
Qualifi cation Certificate, (2) the net book value of property within 
Ohio that is used exclusively during the taxable year for qualified 
research and (3) the book value of land in Ohio that pursuant to 
R.C. 5713.31 the county auditor of the county in which such land is 
located has determined is devoted exclusively to agricultural use. 

Schedule D – Apportionment Formula 

Am. Sub. House Bill 508, 129th General Assembly, allows certain 
financial institutions (“qualified financial institutions” as defi ned in 
R.C. 5733.056(A)(21)) to use a single sales factor, instead of the 
currently required three-factor apportionment formula, to calculate 
taxable net worth. To qualify to use the single sales factor, a financial 
institution must be at least 80% owned by a “grandfathered” unitary 
savings and loan company described in 12 U.S.C. 1467a(c)(9)(C). 
See R.C. 5733.056(A)(21), (C) and (I). 

Note: Terms appearing in italics are defined in the law. The 
definitions of the terms begin on page 14 of these instructions. 

Sales Factor 

The sales factor is a fraction whose numerator is the taxpayer’s 
Ohio receipts during the taxable year and whose denominator is 
the taxpayer’s everywhere receipts during the taxable year. The 
method of calculating receipts for purposes of the denominator is 
the same as the method used in determining receipts for purposes 
of the numerator. The sales factor includes the taxpayer’s receipts 
from the following sources: 

Line 1 – Receipts from the lease or rental of real property owned 
by the taxpayer and receipts from the sublease of real property. 
The numerator of the factor (within Ohio) includes receipts from the 
lease, rental or sublease of real property located in Ohio. 

Line 2 – Receipts from the lease or rental of tangible personal 
property owned by the taxpayer. The numerator of the factor 
includes receipts from the lease or rental of tangible personal 
property other than transportation property if the property is 
located in Ohio when first placed in service by the lessee. The 
numerator of the factor also includes receipts from the lease or 
rental of transportation property owned by the taxpayer to the 
extent that the property is used in Ohio. The extent an aircraft is 
deemed to be used in Ohio and the amount of receipts included 
in the numerator of the factor is determined by multiplying all the 
receipts from the lease or rental of the aircraft by a fraction whose 
numerator is the number of landings of the aircraft in Ohio and 
whose denominator is the total number of landings of the aircraft. 
If the extent of use within Ohio of any transportation property 
cannot be determined, the property will be deemed to be used 
wholly in the state in which the property has its principal base of 
operations. A motor vehicle is deemed to be used wholly in the 
state in which it is registered. 

Line 3 – Interest (and fees or penalties in the nature of interest) 
from loans secured by real property. The numerator of the factor 
includes interest (and fees or penalties in the nature of interest) 
from loans secured by real property located in Ohio. If the real 
property that secures the loan is located both within Ohio and one 
or more other states, such amounts are included in the numerator 

of the sales factor if more than 50% of the fair market value of the 
real property is located in Ohio. If more than 50% of the fair market 
value of the real property is not located within any one state, then 
such receipts are included in the numerator of the sales factor if the 
borrower is located in Ohio. The determination of whether the real 
property securing a loan is located in Ohio is made at the time the 
original loan agreement was made and all subsequent substitutions 
of collateral are disregarded. 

Line 4 – Interest (and fees or penalties in the nature of interest) 
from loans not secured by real property. The numerator of 
the factor includes interest (and fees or penalties in the nature of 
interest) from loans not secured by real property if the borrower 
is located in Ohio. 

Line 5 – Net gains from the sale of loans (including income 
recorded under the coupon stripping rules of section 1286 
of the Internal Revenue Code) secured by real property. The 
amount of net gain from the sale of loans secured by real property 
included in the numerator of the factor is determined by multiplying 
such net gains by a fraction whose numerator is interest (and fees 
or penalties in the nature of interest) from loans secured by real 
property located in Ohio and whose denominator is the total amount 
of interest (and fees or penalties in the nature of interest) from loans 
secured by real property. 

Line 6 – Net gains from the sale of loans (including income 
recorded under the coupon stripping rules of section 1286 
of the Internal Revenue Code) not secured by real property. 
The amount of net gain from the sale of loans not secured by real 
property included in the numerator of the factor is determined by 
multiplying such net gains by a fraction whose numerator is interest 
from loans not secured by real property to borrowers located in 
Ohio and whose denominator is interest from loans not secured by 
real property to borrowers everywhere. 

Line 7 – Interest (and fees or penalties in the nature of interest) 
from credit card receivables and receipts from fees charged 
to credit cardholders, such as annual fees. The numerator of 
the factor includes interest (and fees or penalties in the nature of 
interest) from credit card receivables and receipts from fees charged 
to credit cardholders, such as annual fees, if the billing address 
of the cardholder is in Ohio. 

Line 8 – Net gains from the sale of credit card receivables. 
The amount of such net gains included in the numerator of the 
factor is determined by multiplying such net gains by a fraction 
whose numerator is the sum of (1) interest (and fees or penalties 
in the nature of interest) from credit card receivables if the billing 
address of the cardholder is in Ohio and (2) fees charged to credit 
cardholders, such as annual fees, if the billing address of the 
cardholder is in Ohio. The denominator of the fraction is the sum 
of such amounts for credit cardholders everywhere. 

Line 9 – Credit card issuer’s reimbursement fees. The amount of 
credit card issuer’s reimbursement fees included in the numerator 
of the factor is determined by multiplying such fees by the fraction 
determined in the instructions for line #8, above. 

Line 10 – Receipts from merchant discount. Such receipts are 
computed net of any card holder charge backs but are not reduced by 
any interchange transaction fees or by any issuer’s reimbursement 
fees paid to another for charges made by its cardholders. The 
numerator of the factor includes receipts from merchant discounts 
if the commercial domicile of the merchant is in Ohio. 

Line 11 – Loan-servicing fees derived from loans secured by 
real property. The amount of such loan servicing fees included 
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in the numerator of the factor is determined by multiplying such 
fees by a fraction whose numerator is the amount included in the 
numerator of the sales factor pursuant to the instructions for line 
#3 above, and whose denominator is the total amount of interest 
(and fees or penalties in the nature of interest) from loans secured 
by real property. 

Line 12 – Loan-servicing fees derived from loans not secured 
by real property. The amount of such loan servicing fees included 
in the numerator of the factor is determined by multiplying such 
fees by a fraction whose numerator is the amount included in the 
numerator of the sales factor pursuant to the instructions for line #4 
above, and whose denominator is the total amount of interest (and 
fees or penalties in the nature of interest) from loans not secured 
by real property. 

Line 13 – Loan-servicing fees for servicing either the secured or 
unsecured loans of others. The numerator of the factor includes 
loan-servicing fees for servicing either the secured or unsecured 
loans of another if the borrower is located in Ohio. 

Line 14 – Receipts from services not otherwise apportioned. 
The numerator of the factor includes receipts from services not 
otherwise apportioned if the service is performed in Ohio. If the 
service is performed both within and without Ohio and if a greater 
proportion of the income-producing activity is performed in Ohio than 
in any other state based on cost of performance, the numerator of 
the sales factor includes receipts from such service. 

Line 15 – Interest, dividends, net gains and other income from 
investment assets and activities and from trading assets and 
activities. “Investment assets and activities” and “trading assets 
and activities” include but are not limited to: investment securities, 
trading account assets, federal funds, securities purchased and 
sold under agreements to resell or repurchase, options, futures 
contracts, forward contracts, notional principal contracts such as 
swaps, equities and foreign currency transactions. 

A. Components of the denominator with respect to interest, 
dividends, net gains and other income from investment assets 
and activities and from trading assets and activities: 
(i) With respect to investment assets and activities and trading 

assets and activities, the factor includes the amount by which 
interest from federal funds sold and securities purchased 
under resale agreements exceeds interest expense on fed-
eral funds purchased and securities sold under repurchase 
agreements. 

(ii) With respect to trading assets and activities, the factor in-
cludes the amount by which interest, dividends, gains and 
other income from trading assets and activities, including, 
but not limited to, assets and activities in the matched book, 
in the arbitrage book and foreign currency transactions, 
exceed amounts paid in lieu of interest, amounts paid in lieu 
of dividends, and losses from such assets and activities. 

B. Average value method for determining components of the nu-
merator with respect to interest, dividends, net gains and other 
income from investment assets and activities and from trading 
assets and activities described above. “Average value” as used 
below is determined by using the same rules for determining the 
average value of tangible personal property for purposes of the 
property factor. 
(i) 	 The amount of interest and dividends (other than interest 

and dividends from a subsidiary corporation at least 51% 
of whose common stock is owned by the taxpayer) and 
the amount of net gains and other income from investment 
assets and activities in the investment account included in 
the numerator of the factor are determined by multiplying all 

such income from such assets and activities by a fraction 
whose numerator is the average value of such assets that 
are properly assigned to a regular place of business of the 
taxpayer within Ohio and whose denominator is the average 
value of all such assets.

 (ii) The amount of interest from federal funds sold and purchased 
and from securities purchased under resale agreements and 
securities sold under repurchase agreements included in 
the numerator of the factor is determined by multiplying the 
amount by which interest from federal funds sold and securi-
ties purchased under resale agreements exceeds interest 
expense on federal funds purchased and securities sold 
under repurchase agreements by a fraction whose numera-
tor is the average value of federal funds sold and securities 
purchased under agreements to resell which are properly 
assigned to a regular place of business of the taxpayer 
within Ohio and whose denominator is the average value of 
all such funds and such securities. 

(iii) The amount of interest, dividends, gains and other income 
from trading assets and activities, but excluding amounts 
described in B(i) and B(ii) above included in the numerator of 
the factor is determined by multiplying the amount described 
in A(ii) above, by a fraction whose numerator is the average 
value of such trading assets that are properly assigned to a 
regular place of business of the taxpayer within Ohio and 
whose denominator is the average value of all such assets. 

(iv) Dividends and interest received from subsidiaries – amount 
included in numerator. The amount of dividends received on 
the capital stock of, and the amount of interest received from 
loans and advances to, subsidiary corporations at least 51% 
of whose common stock is owned by the taxpayer included 
in the numerator of the factor is determined by multiplying 
such dividends and interest by a fraction whose numerator 
is the sum of the net book value of the payor’s real property 
owned in Ohio and the payor’s tangible personal property 
owned in Ohio and whose denominator is the sum of the 
net book value of the payor’s real property owned wherever 
located and the payor’s tangible personal property owned 
wherever located. For purposes of determining this fraction, 
the taxpayer must determine net book value in accordance 
with generally accepted accounting principles. 

C. Gross income method for determining components of the nu-
merator with respect to interest, dividends, net gains and other 
income from investment assets and activities and from trading 
assets and activities described above. In lieu of using the aver-
age value method set forth in the instructions for item (B) above, 
the taxpayer may elect, or the tax commissioner may require in 
order to fairly represent the business activity of the taxpayer in 
Ohio, the following alternative method: 
(i) 	 The amount of interest and dividends (other than interest 

and dividends from a subsidiary corporation at least 51% 
of whose common stock is owned by the taxpayer) and 
the amount of net gains and other income from investment 
assets and activities in the investment account included in 
the numerator of the factor are determined by multiplying all 
such income from such assets and activities by a fraction 
whose numerator is the gross income from such assets 
and activities which are properly assigned to a regular 
place of business of the taxpayer within Ohio and whose 
denominator is the gross income from all such assets and 
activities.

 (ii) The amount of interest from federal funds sold and purchased 
and from securities purchased under resale agreements 
and securities sold under repurchase agreements included 
in the numerator of the factor is determined by multiplying 
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the amount by which interest from federal funds sold and 
securities purchased under resale agreements exceeds 
interest expense on federal funds purchased and securities 
sold under repurchase agreements by a fraction whose 
numerator is the gross income from such funds and such 
securities which are properly assigned to a regular place 
of business of the taxpayer within Ohio and whose 
denominator is the gross income from all such funds and 
such securities. 

(iii) The amount of interest, dividends, gains and other income 
from trading assets and activities but excluding amounts 
described in C(i) and C(ii) above, included in the numerator 
is determined by multiplying the amount described in A(ii) by 
a fraction whose numerator is the gross income from such 
trading assets and activities which are properly assigned to 
a regular place of business of the taxpayer within Ohio 
and whose denominator is the gross income from all such 
assets and activities. 

(iv) Dividends and interest received from subsidiaries – amount 
included in numerator. The amount of dividends received on 
the capital stock of, and the amount of interest received from 
loans and advances to, subsidiary corporations at least 51% 
of whose common stock is owned by the taxpayer included 
in the numerator of the factor is determined by multiplying 
such dividends and interest by a fraction whose numerator 
is the sum of the net book value of the payer’s real property 
owned in Ohio and the payer’s tangible personal property 
owned in Ohio and whose denominator is the sum of the 
net book value of the payer’s real property owned wherever 
located and the payer’s tangible personal property owned 
wherever located. For purposes of determining this fraction, 
the taxpayer must determine net book value in accordance 
with generally accepted accounting principles. 

D. If the taxpayer elects or is required by the tax commissioner to 
use the method set forth in C above, the taxpayer must use this 
method on all subsequent reports unless the taxpayer receives 
prior permission from the tax commissioner to use a different 
method or the tax commissioner requires a different method. 

E. The taxpayer has the burden of proving that an investment asset 
or activity or trading asset or activity was properly assigned to 
a regular place of business outside of Ohio by demonstrating 
that the day-to-day decisions regarding the asset or activity 
occurred at a regular place of business outside Ohio. Where the 
day-to-day decisions regarding an investment asset or activity or 
trading asset or activity occur at more than one regular place of 
business and one such regular place of business is in Ohio and 
one such regular place of business is outside Ohio, then such 
asset or activity is considered to be located at the taxpayer’s 
regular place of business where the investment or trading 
policies or guidelines with respect to the asset or activity are 
established. Unless the taxpayer demonstrates to the contrary, 
such policies or guidelines shall be presumed to be established 
at the commercial domicile of the taxpayer. 

Line 16 – All other receipts. The numerator of the factor includes 
all other receipts if either the income-producing activity is performed 
entirely in Ohio or the income-producing activity is performed both 
within and without Ohio and a greater proportion of the income-
producing activity is performed within Ohio than in any other state, 
based on costs of performance. 

Property Factor 

Note: If the property factor, as determined below, is less than 
1.00, please attach to the report a schedule that separately lists 
the taxpayer’s Ohio and everywhere cost values at the beginning 

and the end of the taxpayer’s taxable year for the following assets: 
(1) buildings and other depreciable assets, (2) land, (3) credit card 
receivables, (4) loans to subsidiaries and (5) loans other than loans 
to subsidiaries. 

Line 18 – Real property and tangible personal property owned, 

Line 19 – Real property and tangible personal property rented 
x 8, and 

Line 20 – Loans and credit card receivables. 
The property factor is a fraction whose numerator is the sum of the 
following: (1) the average value of the taxpayer’s real property 
owned and tangible personal property owned and physically 
located or used in Ohio during the taxable year, (2) the average value 
of real property and tangible personal property that the taxpayer has 
rented from another and that is physically located or used in Ohio 
during the taxable year and (3) the average value of the taxpayer’s 
loans and credit card receivables that are located within Ohio 
during the taxable year. The denominator of the property factor is 
the average value of all such property located or used both within 
and without Ohio during the taxable year. 

The value of the taxpayer’s real property owned and tangible 
personal property owned is the original cost or other basis of 
such property for federal income tax purposes without regard to 
depreciation, depletion or amortization. 

The value of loans and credit card receivables is the outstanding 
principal balance of such accounts without regard to any reserve for 
bad debts. However, if a loan or credit card receivable is charged-
off in whole or in part for federal income tax purposes, the portion 
of the loan or credit card receivable charged-off is not outstanding. 
Furthermore, a specifically allocated reserve that is established 
pursuant to generally accepted accounting principals and treated 
as charged-off for federal income tax purposes will be treated as 
charged-off for purposes of determining the property factor. 

The average value of owned property (including loans and credit 
card receivables) is one-half the sum of the value of the property 
on the first day of the taxable year and the value on the last day 
of the taxable year. However, the tax commissioner may require 
or the taxpayer may elect to average on a more frequent basis. 
When averaging on a more frequent basis is required by the tax 
commissioner or elected by the taxpayer, the same method of 
valuation must be used consistently by the taxpayer with respect 
to property within and without Ohio, and the same method must be 
used on all subsequent reports unless the taxpayer receives prior 
permission from the tax commissioner or the tax commissioner 
requires a different method of determining value. The average value 
of rented property is determined by multiplying gross rents payable 
during the taxable year by eight. 

A motor vehicle is deemed to be used wholly in the state in which 
it is registered. All other transportation property is included in the 
numerator of the property factor to the extent that the property is 
used in Ohio. The extent that an aircraft is deemed to be used in 
Ohio and the amount of value that is to be included in the numerator 
of the property factor is determined by multiplying the average 
value of the aircraft by a fraction whose numerator is the number of 
landings of the aircraft in Ohio and whose denominator is the total 
number of landings of the aircraft everywhere. If the extent of use 
within Ohio of any transportation property cannot be determined, 
then the property is deemed to be used wholly in the state in which 
the property has its principal base of operations. 

A credit card receivable or a loan, other than a loan to a subsidiary 
corporation at least 51% of whose common stock is owned by the 
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taxpayer, is assigned to the taxpayer’s regular place of business 
with which the credit card receivable or loan has a preponderance 
of substantive contacts. A credit card receivable or loan is located 
in Ohio if it is properly assigned to a regular place of business of 
the taxpayer within Ohio, and a credit card receivable or loan is 
located outside Ohio if it is properly assigned to a regular place of 
business of the taxpayer outside Ohio. 

A credit card receivable or a loan is presumed to have been 
properly assigned if: 

• The taxpayer assigned the credit card receivable or loan to a 
regular place of business and the assignment is consistent 
with federal or state regulatory requirements; 

• The assignment is based upon substantive contacts of the credit 
card receivable or loan to such regular place of business; and 

• The taxpayer uses the assignment for filing all state and local 
tax returns for which an assignment of credit card receivables or 
loans is required. 

In determining the state in which the preponderance of substantive 
contacts relating to a credit card receivable or a loan have occurred, 
the facts and circumstances regarding the credit card receivable 
or loan at issue must be reviewed on a case-by-case basis with 
consideration given to such activities as solicitation (both active and 
passive), investigation, negotiation, approval and administration. 

• “Active solicitation” occurs when an employee of the taxpayer 
initiates the contact with the customer. Active solicitation is 
located at the regular place of business that the employee is 
regularly connected with or working out of, regardless of where 
the employee’s services were actually performed. 

• “Passive solicitation” occurs when the customer initiates the 
contact with the taxpayer. If the customer's initial contact was 
not at a regular place of business of the taxpayer, the regular 
place of business, if any, where the passive solicitation occurred 
is determined by the facts in each case. 

• “Investigation” is the procedure whereby the taxpayer's 
employees determine the credit worthiness of the customer and 
the degree of risk in making a loan. Investigation is located at the 
regular place of business that the taxpayer’s employees are 
regularly connected with or working out of, regardless of where 
the services of such employees were actually performed. 

• “Negotiation” is the procedure whereby employees of the 
taxpayer and its customer determine the terms of the loan 
agreement such as the amount, duration, interest rate, frequency 
of repayment, currency denomination and security required. 
Negotiation is located at the regular place of business to which 
the taxpayer’s employees are regularly connected or working 
from, regardless of where the services of such employees were 
actually performed. 

• “Approval” is the procedure whereby the taxpayer's employees or 
board of directors make the final determination whether to enter 
the loan agreement. Approval is located at the regular place of 
business to which the employees are regularly connected or 
working from, regardless of where the services of such employees 
were actually performed. If the board of directors makes the 
final determination, such activity is located at the taxpayer’s 
commercial domicile. 

• “Administration” is the process of managing the account. 
Administration includes bookkeeping, collecting payments, 
corresponding with the customer, reporting to management 
regarding the status of the agreement and proceeding against 
the borrower or the security interest if the borrower is in default. 
Administration is located at the regular place of business from 
which the taxpayer oversees these activities. 

Absent any change of material fact, a loan (other than a loan or 
advance to a subsidiary corporation at least 51% of whose common 
stock is owned by the taxpayer) that has been properly assigned to a 
state shall remain assigned to that state for the length of the original 
term of the loan. Thereafter, the loan may be properly assigned 
to another state if the loan has a preponderance of substantive 
contacts to a regular place of business there. 

The amount of a loan or advance to a subsidiary corporation at 
least 51% of whose common stock is owned by the taxpayer to 
be included in the numerator of the property factor is determined 
by multiplying the average value of the loan by a fraction whose 
numerator is the net-book value of the subsidiary’s physical 
assets in Ohio and whose denominator is the net-book value 
of the subsidiary’s physical assets everywhere. The fraction is 
determined as of the end of the subsidiary’s taxable year that is 
included in the taxpayer’s taxable year. If the subsidiary corporation 
owns at least 51% of the common stock of another corporation, 
the ratio must be calculated by including the other corporation’s 
real property and tangible personal property, too. The calculation 
of the ratio applies with respect to all lower-tiered subsidiaries, if 
the immediate parent corporation of the subsidiary owns at least 
51% of the common stock of that subsidiary. As noted above, the 
average value of a loan is one-half the sum of the outstanding 
principal balance of such loan on the first day of the taxable year 
and the outstanding principal balance of such loan on the last day 
of the taxable year. 

Payroll Factor 

Line 22 – Compensation paid to employees. The payroll factor is 
a fraction whose numerator is the taxpayer’s total compensation 
paid in Ohio during the taxable year, and whose denominator is the 
taxpayer’s total compensation paid everywhere during the taxable 
year. Compensation is paid in Ohio if any one of the following three 
tests, applied consecutively, is met: 

1. The employee’s services are performed entirely within Ohio. 
2. The employee’s services are performed both within and outside 

Ohio, but the service performed outside Ohio is incidental to the 
employee’s service within Ohio. The term “incidental” means 
any service that is temporary or transitory in nature or which is 
rendered in connection with an isolated transaction. 

3. The employee’s services are performed both within and outside 
Ohio and:

 (a) The employee’s principal base of operations is within Ohio; 
or 

(b) There is no principal base of operations in any state in which 
some part of the services are performed, but the place from 
which the services are directed or controlled is in Ohio; or 

(c) The principal base of operations and the place from which 
the services are directed or controlled are not in any state 
in which some part of the service is performed, but the 
employee’s residence is in Ohio. 

Alternative Apportionment Methods. If the above apportionment 
provisions do not fairly represent the extent of the taxpayer’s 
business activity in Ohio, the taxpayer may request or the tax 
commissioner may require, in respect to all or any part of the 
taxpayer’s business activity, if reasonable: 

• Separate accounting; 
• The exclusion of any one or more of the factors; 
• The inclusion of one or more additional factors that will fairly 

represent the extent of the taxpayer's business activity in Ohio; 
or 

• The employment of any other method to effectuate an equitable 
allocation and apportionment of the taxpayer's value. 
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Schedule D-2 – Deposits Factor interest, taxes, insurance, repairs or any other amount required 

In lieu of using the property, payroll and sales factors as described 
above, qualifi ed institutions may elect to use a single deposits 
fraction whose numerator is the deposits assigned to branches 
in Ohio and whose denominator is the deposits assigned to 
branches everywhere. Deposits are assigned to branches within 
and without Ohio in the same manner such assignment is made for 
regulatory purposes. Qualified institutions can make this election 
on (1) an original report, (2) an amended report and refund claim 
filed within the statute of limitations or (3) a timely filed petition for 
reassessment. The election applies only to the tax year specified 
in the election and can be revoked at any time within the statute of 
limitations period. 

Definitions – RC. 5733.056(A) 

Billing address means the address where any notice, statement 
or bill relating to a customer’s account is mailed, as indicated in the 
books and records of the taxpayer on the first day of the taxable 
year or on such later date in the taxable year when the customer 
relationship began. 

Borrower or credit cardholder located in Ohio means: (1) a 
borrower, other than a credit card holder, that is engaged in a trade 
or business and maintains its commercial domicile in Ohio or (2) 
a borrower that is not engaged in a trade or business, or a credit 
cardholder, whose billing address is in Ohio. 

Branch means a “domestic branch” as defined in section 3 of the 
“Federal Deposit Insurance Act,” 64 Stat. 873, 12 U.S.C. 1813(o), 
as amended. 

Commercial domicile means the principal place from which the 
trade or business of the taxpayer is directed or managed. (The term 
“commercial domicile” is not defined in R.C. 5733.056; the definition 
here is taken from R.C. 5733.04.) 

Compensation means wages, salaries, commissions and any other 
form of remuneration paid to employees for personal services that 
are included in such employee’s gross income under the I.R.C. In the 
case of employees not subject to the I.R.C., such as those employed 
in foreign countries, the determination of whether such payments 
would constitute gross income to such employees under the I.R.C. 
is made as though such employees were subject to the I.R.C. 

Credit card means a credit, travel or entertainment card. 

Credit card issuer’s reimbursement fee means the fee a 
taxpayer receives from a merchant’s bank because one of the 
persons to whom the taxpayer has issued a credit card has charged 
merchandise or services to the credit card. 

Deposits has the meaning given in section 3 of the “Federal Deposit 
Insurance Act,” 64 Stat. 873, 12 U.S.C. 1813(1), as amended. 

Employee means any individual who, under the usual common law 
rules applicable in determining the employer-employee relationship, 
has the status of an employee of the taxpayer. 

Grandfathered Unitary Savings and Loan Holding Company is 
defined in 12 U.S.C. 1467a(c)(9)(C). 

Gross rents means the actual sum of money or other consideration 
payable for the use or possession of property. Gross rents includes: 
(1) any amount payable for the use or possession of real property 
or tangible personal property whether designated as a fi xed sum 
of money or as a percentage of receipts, profits, or otherwise, (2) 
any amount payable as additional rent or in lieu of rent, such as 

to be paid by the terms of a lease or other arrangement and (3) a 
proportionate part of the cost of any improvement to real property 
made by or on behalf of the taxpayer that reverts to the owner 
or lessor upon termination of a lease or other arrangement. The 
amount to be included in gross rents is the amount of amortization 
or depreciation allowed in computing the taxable income base for 
the taxable year. However, where a building is erected on leased 
land, by or on behalf of the taxpayer, the value of the building is 
determined in the same manner as if owned by the taxpayer. 

Gross rents does not include: (1) reasonable amounts payable as 
separate charges for water and electric service furnished by the 
lessor, (2) reasonable amounts payable as service charges for 
janitorial services furnished by the lessor, (3) reasonable amounts 
payable for storage, provided such amounts are payable for space 
not designated and not under the control of the taxpayer and (4) 
that portion of any rental payment that is applicable to the space 
subleased from the taxpayer and not used by it. 

Loan means any extension of credit resulting from direct negotiations 
between the taxpayer and its customer or the purchase, in whole or 
in part, of such extension of credit from another. Loans include debt 
obligations of subsidiaries, participations, syndications and leases 
treated as loans for federal income tax purposes. Loan does not 
include properties treated as loans under section 595 of the I.R.C.; 
futures or forward contracts; options; notional principal contracts 
such as swaps; credit card receivables, including purchased credit 
card relationships; noninterest-bearing balances due from depositor 
institutions; cash items in the process of collection; federal funds 
sold; securities purchased under agreements to resell; assets held 
in a trading account; securities; interests in a real estate mortgage 
investment conduit or other mortgage-backed or asset-backed 
security; and other similar items. 

Loan secured by real property means that 50% or more of the 
aggregate value of the collateral used to secure a loan or other 
obligation, when valued at fair market value as of the time the original 
loan or obligation was incurred, was real property. 

Merchant discount means the fee, or negotiated discount, charged 
to a merchant by the taxpayer for the privilege of participating 
in a program whereby a credit card is accepted in payment for 
merchandise or services sold to the cardholder. 

Participation means an extension of credit in which an undivided 
ownership interest is held on a pro-rata basis in single loan or pool 
of loans and related collateral. In a loan participation, the credit 
originator initially makes the loan and then subsequently resells all 
or a portion of it to other lenders. The participation may or may not 
be known to the borrower. 

Principal base of operations: 
With respect to an employee, the principal base of operations 
means the place of more or less permanent nature from which 
the employee regularly (a) starts work and to which the employee 
customarily returns in order to receive instructions from the 
employer, or (b) communicates with the employee’s customers or 
other persons or (c) performs any other functions necessary to the 
exercise of the trade or profession at some other point or points. 

With respect to transportation property, principal base of 
operations means the place of more or less permanent nature from 
which the transportation property is regularly directed or controlled. 

Qualified fi nancial institution means a financial institution in which 
not less than 80% of the financial institution’s ownership interest 
is owned directly or indirectly by a “grandfathered unitary savings 
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and loan company” described in 12 U.S.C. 1467a(c)(9)(C). See 
R.C. 5733.056(A)(21). Pursuant to R.C. 5733.056(I), a “qualified 
financial institution” is eligible to use a single sales factor to calculate 
its taxable net worth for the Corporate Franchise Tax. 

Qualifi ed institution means a financial institution that has at least 
9% of its deposits in Ohio as of the last day of June before the 
beginning of the tax year and meets one of the following three tests: 

1.	 On or after June 1, 1997 the financial institution has consummated 
one or more approved transactions with insured banks with 
different home states that would qualify under section 102 of the 
“Riegle-Neal Interstate Banking and Branching Effi ciency Act of 
1994,” Public Law 103-328, 108 Stat. 2338; or 

2.	 The financial institution is a federal savings association or federal 
savings bank that on or after June 1, 1997 has consummated one 
or more interstate acquisitions that result in a fi nancial institution 
that has branches in more than one state; or 

3.	 On or after June 1, 1997 the financial institution has consummated 
one or more approved interstate acquisitions under authority 
of Title Xl of the Ohio Revised Code that result in a financial 
institution that has branches in more than one state. 

Real property owned and tangible personal property owned 
means real property and tangible personal property, respectively, 
on which the taxpayer can claim depreciation for federal income tax 
purposes or to which the taxpayer holds legal title and on which no 
other person can claim depreciation for federal income tax purposes, 
or could claim depreciation if subject to federal income tax. Real 
property and tangible personal property do not include coin, currency 
or property acquired in lieu of or pursuant to a foreclosure. Federal 
income tax treatment (not book treatment) of a lease governs 
whether property is considered “owned” or “rented” by the lessee. 
Property is rented by the lessee if a transaction between lessor and 
lessee is considered a lease or rent for federal income tax purposes; 
property is owned by the lessee if the transaction is considered a 
purchase for federal income tax purposes. 

Regular place of business means an office at which the taxpayer 
carries on its business in a regular and systematic manner and that 
is continuously maintained, occupied and used by employees of 
the taxpayer. 

State means a state of the United States, the District of Columbia, 
the commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or any territory or possession 
of the United States. 

Syndication means an extension of credit in which two or more 
persons fund and each person is at risk only up to a specified 
percentage of the total extension of credit or up to a specified 
dollar amount. 

Transportation property means vehicles and vessels capable 
of moving under their own power as well as any equipment or 
containers attached to such property. 

Schedule E – Net Value of Stock 

Note: For franchise tax years 2002 and thereafter, a financial 
institution that is a related member to a company that makes 
the qualifying holding company election is not required (nor is 
it permitted) to make the Schedule E “qualifying amount” debt 
to equity adjustment set forth in R.C. 5733.05(C). 

The value of issued and outstanding shares of stock is determined 
from the books of the taxpayer as of the beginning of the taxpayer’s 
annual accounting period that includes the first day of January of 
the tax year. See R.C. 5733.056(B). For example, assume that an 
Ohio franchise taxpayer has a taxable year beginning July 1, 2011 

and ending June 30, 2012. The taxpayer’s franchise tax net value 
of stock for tax year 2013 is determined as of July 1, 2011, the 
beginning of the taxpayer’s annual accounting period that includes 
the first day of January of tax year 2013. Generally, the figures 
at the beginning of the taxpayer’s annual accounting period that 
includes the first day of January of the tax year (in this example, July 
1, 2012) will be the same as the figures at the end of the taxable 
year that concludes prior to Jan. 1 of the tax year (in this example, 
June 30, 2012). 

Line 2 – Ownership interest of depositors. With respect to a 
financial institution that does not have capital stock “issued and 
outstanding shares of stock” includes, but is not limited to ownership 
interests of depositors in the capital employed in such an institution. 
See R.C. 5733.04(A). Except for the amounts determined under 
the instructions for line 4, ownership interest of depositors does not 
include any amount which is treated as a liability in accordance with 
generally accepted accounting principles. 

Line 4 – Reserves and net deferred tax liabilities. Reserves 
and net deferred tax liabilities (that is, deferred tax liabilities less 
deferred tax benefits) are includable in the computation of net value 
of stock. See Kroger v. Bowers (1965), 3 Ohio St. 2d 76; Baldwin 
Piano and Organ Company v. Kosydar (April 7, 1975) First District 
Court of Appeals Hamilton County, Case No. 7425500; and Allied 
Stores of Penn-Ohio, Inc. v. Limbach, B.T.A. Case No. 85-B-484, 
February 19, 1988. The debit balance of the taxpayer’s deferred 
income tax account (that is, the excess of deferred tax benefits 
over deferred tax liability) accounted for in accordance with 
generally accepted accounting principles is deductible from 
net worth as a negative reserve, thereby decreasing taxable net 
worth. See USX v. Tracy, BTA Nos. 92-1479, 92-1480 (1-22-99). 

The gross profit portion of income received but not yet earned is 
includable in the net value of stock. For example, the gross profit 
portion of unearned subscription revenue received by a magazine 
publisher is includable in the net worth computation. 

Contingent liabilities are includable in the net worth computation if: 

• The taxpayer cannot reasonably estimate the amount of the 
liability; or 

• The taxpayer cannot establish from information available prior to 
the issuance of the financial statements that it is probable that a 
liability had been incurred at the balance sheet date. 

A taxpayer is not required to add to its net worth as a reserve any 
account, whether shown on the taxpayer's books as a liability or a 
reserve, if that account results from and is maintained in accordance 
with FASB Statement No. 106 (see Tax Commissioner Rule 5703-
5-10). Deferred income that is neither earned nor received is not 
generally includable in the net worth computation. However, the 
gross profit portion of income from an installment sale is includable 
in the net worth computation. 

Schedule F – Adjusted Net Value of Stock for Holding 

Companies
 

This schedule applies to: 

• Financial institutions that own at least 25% of the issued and 
outstanding shares of common stock of another financial 
institution, 

• Financial institutions that own at least 80% of the issued and 
outstanding shares of common stock of a public utility as defined 
in R.C. 5727.01, and 

• Financial institutions that own at least 80% of the issued and 
outstanding shares of common stock of an insurance company 
as defined in R.C. 5725.01. 
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The taxpayer's excludable investment, total assets and net value 
of stock are determined from the books of the taxpayer as of the 
beginning of the taxpayer's annual accounting period that includes 
the first day of January of the tax year. See R.C. 5733.056(B). For 
example, assume that an Ohio franchise taxpayer has a taxable year 
beginning July 1, 2011 and ending June 30, 2012. For tax year 2013 
the taxpayer's franchise tax excludable investment, total assets and 
net value of stock are determined as of July 1, 2012 the beginning 
of the taxpayer's annual accounting period that includes the fi rst day 
of January of tax year 2013. Generally, the figures at the beginning 
of the taxpayer's annual accounting period that includes the fi rst day 
of January of the tax year (in this example, July 1, 2012) will be the 
same as the figures at the end of the taxable year that concludes 
before Jan. 1 of the tax year (in this example, June 30, 2012). 

Line 1 – Excludable Investment. If the taxpayer owns the 
applicable percentage of the common stock of a public utility, 
insurance company or another financial institution, as set forth 
above, enter the taxpayer’s investment in such public utility, 
insurance company, or other financial institution net of goodwill and 
appreciation included in such investment. Appreciation does not 
include “negative appreciation”. See SHV North American Corp. v. 
Tracy (1994), 70 Ohio St.3d 395. 

Line 2 – Total Assets. Enter the taxpayer’s total assets as shown 
by the books of the corporation net of all appreciation and goodwill. 

Schedule A-1
 
Nonrefundable Credits
 

The nonrefundable credits generally available to fi nancial institu-
tions are summarized below in the order in which taxpayers must 
claim them as set out in R.C. 5733.98. In addition, the table on 
page 21 lists (i) all currently available nonrefundable franchise tax 
credits in the order in which taxpayers (whether general taxpayers 
or financial institutions) must claim them, (ii) the carryforward period 
of each credit and (iii) the section of the Ohio Revised Code that 
authorizes each credit. 

Although several credits listed in the table are available, they gener-
ally do not apply to financial institutions. For information regarding 
the credits listed in the table but not summarized in these instruc-
tions, please see the franchise tax instructions for general taxpayers. 
Those instructions are available in another file on the department’s 
Web site. If a credit listed in the table applies to the taxpayer but is 
not shown on schedule A-1 of Ohio franchise tax form FT 1120FI, 
then in completing the form please line out a credit that the taxpayer 
does not claim and enter the credit and the amount that the taxpayer 
is claiming consistent with the order set out in R.C. 5733.98. 

The order of the credits is important if the taxpayer is entitled to more 
than one nonrefundable credit and the taxpayer is unable to use 
some portion of the total credit amount in the year the credits were 
generated (because the total credit amount exceeds the tax due 
before credits). Nonrefundable credits not used in the year gener-
ated can generally be carried forward to future years. However, the 
carryforward period is limited and varies from credit to credit. The 
unused amount of a particular credit carried forward to a later year 
must be used after any lower numbered credit listed in R.C. 5733.98 
but prior to the same credit generated in the later year and prior 
to any higher numbered credit listed. Any credit amount remaining 
unused after the carryforward period for that credit expires is lost. 

A nonrefundable credit may be used to reduce the tax liability (before 
considering any payments) to the minimum fee, but a nonrefund-
able credit may not reduce the tax liability (before considering any 
payments) below the minimum fee. 

Note 1: The job creation credit, the credit for tax withheld by the Ohio 
Lottery Commission, the historical building preservation tax credit, 
the credit for losses on loans made to the Ohio Venture Capital 
(OVC) Program, and the motion picture credit are not included below 
because these credits are refundable credits which are considered 
payments of the tax. See the line instructions for Schedule A, line 9. 

Note 2: Unless otherwise stated, all credit computations under 
Chapter 5733 must include the taxpayer’s proportionate share 
amounts from any pass-through entity in which the taxpayer has a 
direct or indirect interest. See R.C. 5733.057. 

Note 3: The R.C. 122.173 grant for purchases of new manufacturing 
machinery and equipment does not apply to a lessor that purchases 
new manufacturing machinery and equipment and leases that 
equipment to a manufacturer (other than a manufacturer that is 
a member of the lessor’s qualifying controlled group – see the 
consolidated grant provision in R.C. 122.173(I)). See Duramed 
Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Zaino, BTA No. 2002-V-164 (3-7-03). 

In Duramed the Board of Tax Appeals held that Duramed could claim 
the R.C. 5733.33 manufacturer’s credit on manufacturing equipment 
that it leased from Ortho-McNeil Pharmaceuticals in 1994 (prior to 
the qualifying purchase period) and purchased during the qualifying 
purchase period by exercising an option in the lease agreement. 
Finding nothing in the record to suggest that the lease was treated 
as a purchase for federal income tax purposes or under Generally 
Accepted Accounting Principles, the board held that the existence of 
the lease does not operate to defeat the credit. The board found that 
the definition of “new” machinery is unambiguous and requires only 
that the original use in Ohio begin with the taxpayer and such original 
use is not restricted or limited to the qualifying purchase period. 

Because the Board of Tax Appeals held that the original use in Ohio 
of equipment that Ortho-McNeil purchased and leased to Duramed 
began with Duramed, the original use of the equipment in Ohio 
could not have begun with Ortho-McNeil, the original purchaser and 
lessor. As such, the equipment was not “new” as to Ortho-McNeil. 
Accordingly, a lessor that purchases manufacturing machinery 
and equipment and leases that equipment to a manufacturer is not 
entitled to the credit or to the grant on such equipment because, 
as to the lessor, the manufacturing machinery and equipment is 
not “new manufacturing machinery and equipment” as defi ned in 
R.C. 5733.33(A)(2). 

Nonrefundable Credits Available to Financial Institutions 

1. Credit for dealer in intangibles tax paid by member of qualify-
ing controlled group (R.C. 5733.45). If on Jan. 1 of the franchise 
tax year a financial institution is a member of a qualifying controlled 
group of which a dealer in intangibles is also a member, the finan-
cial institution is allowed a nonrefundable franchise tax credit. (A 
“qualifying controlled group” is defined in R.C. 5733.04(M) as two 
or more corporations that meet the R.C. 5733.052(A) ownership 
and control requirements to file a combined report, whether or not 
the corporations actually file a combined report and whether or not 
the corporations are subject to the franchise tax). The franchise tax 
credit equals the lesser of the amounts described in (a) or (b) below: 

(a) The amount of the dealer in intangibles tax paid by the dealer 
during the calendar year preceding the fi nancial institution’s 
tax year (reduced by any refund of such tax received), or 

(b) The product of the amounts described in (i) to (iii) below: 
(i) 	The cost of the financial institution’s direct investment 

in capital stock of the dealer in intangibles (exclusive of 
goodwill and appreciation associated with such invest-
ment) as of the last day of the financial institution’s taxable 
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year ending immediately preceding the franchise tax year 
for which the financial institution is claiming the credit. 

(ii) The dealer in intangibles’ “percentage allocable to Ohio” 
ratio included in Exhibit B or C of dealers in intangibles 
Ohio form 980 for the calendar year immediately preced-
ing the franchise tax year for which the fi nancial institution 
is claiming the credit. 

(iii) The dealer in intangible tax rate for the calendar year 
immediately preceding the franchise tax year for which 
the financial institution is claiming the credit. 

2. Credit for Savings-and-Loan Association Fees (R.C. 
5733.063). Savings-and-loan associations are permitted a credit 
against the total tax due equal to the amount of the annual 
assessment the association paid during the taxable year to the 
Ohio Division of Savings and Loan Associations under R.C. 
1155.13 less the amount the association paid in supervisory fees 
during the taxable year to the Federal Savings-and-Loan Insurance 
Corporation or in the case of a savings and loan association not 
insured by the Federal Savings-and-Loan Insurance Corporation, 
the amount it would have paid if insured thereby. To qualify for this 
credit, the association must file with the franchise report a document 
certified by the Superintendent of the Division of Savings-and-Loan 
Associations verifying the amount of state annual assessment fees 
and supervisory fees paid by the association during the taxable year. 

3. Ethanol plant investment credit (R.C. 5733.46 and R.C. 
901.13). This nonrefundable franchise tax and individual income tax 
credit equals 50% of the amount of money that the taxpayer invests 
in R.C. 901.13 certified ethanol plants in the calendar year preceding 
the tax year (the investment period is the calendar year preceding 
the tax year regardless of whether the taxpayer’s taxable year is 
a calendar year). The credit is limited to $5,000 per taxpayer per 
certified ethanol plant regardless of the number of years in which the 
taxpayer makes such investments. The credit applies to tax years 
2003 through 2013. Credits not used in the tax year following the 
calendar year in which the taxpayer makes the investment may be 
carried forward for three tax years. 

4. Credit for Taxes Paid by a Qualifying Pass-Through Entity 
(R.C. 5733.0611). Upon filing a corporation franchise tax report, a 
qualifying investor corporation in a qualifying pass-through entity can 
claim a nonrefundable credit equal to the corporation’s proportionate 
share of the tax paid by the qualifying pass-through entity. To claim 
this credit, the qualifying investor must attach to its franchise tax 
report a copy of the IRS form K-1 indicating the qualifying investor’s 
proportionate share of the amount of the pass-through entity tax 
for which the qualifying investor seeks to claim a credit. For an 
explanation of the tax on qualifying pass-through entities see the 
instructions for Ohio form IT 1140, Tax Return for Pass-Through 
Entities and Trusts. This credit has an unlimited carryforward period. 

5. New Markets Tax Credit (R.C. 5725.33, 5729.16 and 5733.58). 
The Ohio new markets credit is similar in concept and definition 
to the federal new markets credit (IRC section 45D). However, the 
Ohio credit applies only to financial institutions as a nonrefundable 
credit against the franchise tax and to insurance companies as a 
credit against the premiums tax. In addition, the Ohio new markets 
credit applies only to the extent that the community development 
entity (in which the financial institution or insurance company 
holds an equity investment) invests in qualifi ed active low-income 
community businesses in Ohio. The aggregate total Ohio credit 
is limited to $10 million per year. Credits not used in the year that 
they otherwise could have been claimed can be carried forward for 
four years. (Terms in italics are defined in R.C. 5725.33 and/or in 
IRC section 45D.) 

Specifically, the Ohio new markets credit applies to taxpayer 
financial institutions and insurance companies that purchase and 
hold on the credit allowance date a qualified equity investment in 
an IRC section 45D community development entity (CDE) whose 
service area includes (at least some portion of) Ohio. The financial 
institution or insurance company must acquire for cash after Oct. 
16, 2009 (the effective date of R.C. 5725.33 as enacted by HB 
1) a qualified equity investment in a CDE at its original issuance. 
The CDE in turn must use at least 85% of the taxpayer’s equity 
investment purchase price to make capital investments in or loans 
to businesses in low-income communities and at least a portion 
of the CDE’s investments must be in active businesses located in 
Ohio low-income communities. 

In order to claim the credit for a particular tax year, a financial 
institution must hold a qualified equity investment on the credit 
allowance date occurring in the calendar year immediately 
preceding the tax year. On the other hand, insurance companies 
must hold a qualified equity investment on the credit allowance 
date occurring in the calendar year for which the tax is due. For 
qualified equity investments made after Oct. 16, 2009 and before 
Jan. 1, 2010, the taxpayer’s credit allowance dates are Jan. 1, 
2010 and Jan. 1 of the six following years. For qualifi ed equity 
investments made on or after Jan. 1, 2010, the taxpayer’s credit 
allowance dates are the date on which the taxpayer made the 
qualified equity investment and the anniversary of that date in 
each of the six following years. 

The Ohio new markets credit is computed by multiplying the adjusted 
purchase price of the taxpayer’s qualified equity investment in 
the qualified community development entity by the applicable 
percentage on the credit allowance date. See the formulas below. 
The applicable percentage is 0% for each of the first two credit 
allowance dates, 7% for the third credit allowance date, and 8% 
for each of the four following credit allowance dates. Thus, the total 
Ohio credit over the seven credit allowance dates equals 39% of 
the adjusted purchase price. 

The adjusted purchase price of the taxpayer’s qualifi ed equity 
investment is equal to the amount that the taxpayer paid for the 
qualified equity investment in the CDE multiplied by a fraction 
the numerator of which is qualified low-income community 
investments made by the CDE in projects located in Ohio on the 
credit allowance date and the denominator of which is the total 
amount of qualified low-income community investments made by 
the CDE in projects located in all states on the credit allowance 
date. However, the qualified low-income community investments 
made by the issuer in projects located in Ohio is equal to the 
sum of the qualified low-income community investments in each 
qualified active low-income community business in Ohio and the 
amount included in the numerator for each such investment is 
limited to $2,564,000.

Credit = Adjusted 
purchase price 

x Applicable % 
on credit 

allowance date 
Adjusted 

purchase price 
= Amount paid for 

qualifi ed equity 
investments 

Issuer’s QLIC 
investments in Ohio on 
credit allowance date.1 

x 

Issuer’s QLIC 
investments in all states 
on credit allowance date 

1 The issuing qualified community development entity’s qualifi ed low-
income community (QLIC) investments in Ohio projects is limited to 
investments in qualified active low-income community businesses 
in Ohio and each such investment is not to exceed $2,564,000. 
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For additional information visit the ODSA’s web site at http:// 
development.ohio.gov or call 614-995-2292. 

Schedule A-2
 
Refundable Credits
 

1. Refundable jobs creation tax credit (JCTC). (R.C. 122.17.) 
For credit agreements entered into on or after the Oct. 16, 2009 
effective date of the amendment to the credit enacted by Amended 
Substitute House Bill 1 (HB 1), 128th General Assembly, the credit 
is computed as a percent of the growth in income tax withholding 
at the project site over the taxpayer’s baseline withholding for that 
year. Specifically: 

− The credit is computed as a percent (as stated in the agreement 
between the taxpayer and the tax credit authority) of the amount 
by which (i) income tax withheld from employees at the project 
site during the taxable year exceeds (ii) the taxpayer’s baseline 
withholding at the project site for that taxable year. 

− Withholding includes the sum of Ohio and school district income 
tax withheld from all employees at the project site during the 
taxable year regardless of whether the employee is a “new” 
employee and regardless of whether the employee is a full-
time employee. 

Baseline withholding. For JCTC agreements entered into on or 
after Oct. 16, 2009, the taxpayer’s baseline withholding for the first 
year of the credit agreement equals the sum of Ohio and school 
district income tax withheld by the taxpayer from all the taxpayer’s 
employees at the project site during the 12 months immediately 
preceding the date that the tax credit authority approved the 
taxpayer’s application multiplied by the sum of one plus the 
taxpayer’s pay increase factor. However, if for the first year of the 
agreement the taxpayer is credit eligible for only a portion of the year, 
the taxpayer’s baseline withholding for the first year is reduced in 
proportion to the number of days the taxpayer was not credit eligible. 
Thus, if the taxpayer is credit eligible for only a portion of the first 
year of an agreement entered into on or after Oct. 16, 2009, then 
baseline withholding for the first year is determined by multiplying 
the proportionately reduced withholding by the sum of one plus the 
pay increase factor. 

Baseline withholding for year two of the agreement is determined by 
multiplying (i) the “unreduced” baseline amount for the first year by 
(ii) the sum of one plus the pay increase factor. (Note: The unreduced 
baseline amount for the first year equals the sum of Ohio and school 
district income tax withheld from all employees at the project site 
during the 12 months immediately preceding the date that the tax 
credit authority approved the taxpayer’s application multiplied by 
the sum of one plus the pay increase factor.) 

Baseline withholding for year three and for each subsequent 
year of the agreement is determined by multiplying the previous 
year’s baseline amount by one plus the pay increase factor. The 
pay increase factor is an assumed annual rate that payroll at the 
project site will increase from one year to the next. The taxpayer’s 
pay increase factor is determined by the authority and remains 
constant throughout the term of the agreement. 

HB 1 also amended the required contents of a JCTC agreement 
along with the term during which the taxpayer must maintain 
operations at the project location in order to avoid repaying the 
credit or a portion of the credit. See the ODSA’s administrative rules 
122:7-1-01 through 06 and R.C. 122.17 as amended by the bill. For 
additional information regarding the JCTC and HB 1’s amendment to 
the JCTC, please visit the ODSA’s Web site at http://development. 
ohio.gov or call (614) 466-4551 or (800) 848-1300 

For credit agreements entered into before the Oct. 16, 2009 
effective date, prior law applies and the credit is computed only 
with respect to Ohio income tax amounts withheld from “new” 
full-time employees at the project site. The instructions that follow 
apply to credit agreements that are entered into before Oct. 16, 
2009. 

The amount of the credit with respect to credit agreements that 
are entered into before Oct. 16, 2009 equals the amount of Ohio 
income tax the taxpayer withheld from compensation paid to “new 
employees” during the taxpayer’s taxable year multiplied by the 
percentage specified in the taxpayer’s agreement with the Tax Credit 
Authority. The refundable new jobs credit is treated as a payment 
made on Jan. 1 of the tax year. 

The term “new employee” means a full-time employee fi rst employed 
by the taxpayer in the project that is the subject of the tax credit 
agreement after the taxpayer enters into the agreement. New 
employees include employees hired after the Tax Credit Authority 
approves the taxpayer’s project but before the taxpayer signs the tax 
credit agreement with the Tax Credit Authority as long as the taxpayer 
signs the agreement within 60 days after receiving the agreement 
from the ODSA. If the authority determines it appropriate, a “new 
employee” also may include an employee rehired or called back 
from lay-off to work in a new facility or on a new product or service. 

Taxpayers claiming the new jobs credit must submit a copy of 
the director of development’s certificate of verification with the 
taxpayer’s tax report for the taxable year. However, the law also 
provides that failure to submit a copy of the certificate with the report 
does not invalidate a claim for the credit if the taxpayer submits 
a copy of the certificate to the commissioner within 60 days after 
the commissioner requests it. See R.C. 122.17(H) as amended by 
House Bill 530, 126th Ohio General Assembly. 

If a taxpayer claims the refundable new jobs credit with respect to 
an employee, the taxpayer may not claim the nonrefundable R.C. 
5709.66 enterprise zone new employee credit with respect to the 
same employee. 

The Tax Credit Authority and the ODSA administer the JCTC. Tax 
credit agreement application forms are available from the ODSA, 
Strategic Business Investment Division, Office of Grants and Tax 
Incentives, P.O. Box 1001, Columbus, Ohio 43216-1001. The street 
address for the ODSA is 77 S. High Street, 28th fl oor, Columbus, 
Ohio 43215. For additional information please visit the ODSA’s Web 
site at http://development.ohio.gov or call (614) 466-2317, (614) 
466-4551 or (800) 848-1300. 

2. Refundable credit for tax withheld by the Ohio Lottery 
Commission. 

Enter the amounts the Ohio Lottery Commission withheld from its 
payments to the taxpayer pursuant to R.C. 5747.062(B)(2). See 
R.C. sections 3770.072(B), 5747.062(B)(2) and 5733.98(A)(33) 
for more information. 

Refundable credit for losses on loans made to the Ohio Venture 
Capital (OVC) Program. (R.C. 150.01 to 150.10, 5733.49, 5733.98, 
5747.80 and 5747.98) 
The refundable credit for losses on loans made to the Ohio Venture 
Capital (OVC) Program does not appear on the 2013 Ohio franchise 
tax report (or on the 2012 individual income tax return) because 
no credit certificates were issued for the tax year. The purpose of 
the credit is to provide OVC lenders and investors some security 
against losses on their loans to the program 

Substitute Senate Bill 321, 126th Ohio General Assembly, made the 
credit for losses on loans made to the Ohio Venture Capital Program 
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refundable. Under prior law the taxpayer had a choice of taking this 
credit as a refundable credit or as a nonrefundable credit. 

3. Refundable Ohio historic preservation credit. (R.C. 149.311). 
Administered by the ODSA, the refundable historic preservation 
credit applies to owners or qualified lessees of certain historic Ohio 
buildings for the expenditures paid or incurred to rehabilitate such 
buildings provided that ODSA approves the proposed rehabilitation 
project. If ODSA approves the project, the credit equals 25% of the 
owner or qualified lessee’s “qualified rehabilitation expenditures” 
(QREs) paid or incurred during the 24- or 60-month rehabilitation 
period shown on the taxpayer’s tax credit certificate issued by 
ODSA. The historic building’s owners or qualified lessees can claim 
the credit against their franchise tax, dealer in intangibles tax or 
income tax liability. 

As originally enacted, the law provided for two credit application 
periods: one beginning July 1, 2007 and ending June 30, 2008, the 
other beginning July 1, 2008 and ending June 30, 2009. However, 
on March 13, 2008, ODSA suspended further consideration of 
pending applications for the application period that began July 1, 
2007 after the potential credits for the 41 rehabilitation projects 
that ODSA had already approved exceeded the amount that had 
been budgeted for the credit. Following suspension of the review 
and approval process, the Ohio General Assembly amended the 
law. 

Amended Substitute House Bill (HB) 554, 127th General Assembly, 
effective Sept. 11, 2008, substantially amended the credit as 
summarized below. The law as amended: 

1. Eliminates the credit application period July 1, 2008 through 
June 30, 2009, and creates two new application periods: one 
beginning July 1, 2009, the other beginning July 1, 2010. 

2. Eliminates the cost-benefit analysis from the application review 
and approval process. Prior law required a cost benefi t analysis 
showing that the rehabilitation project would yield a net revenue 
gain in state and local taxes. In place of the cost-benefi t analysis, 
current law requires consideration of the proposed project’s 
“potential economic impact and a regional distributive balance 
of credits throughout the state.” 

3.	 Eliminates the first-come-first-serve order of reviewing and 
approving credit applications. 

4. Limits the credit per project to the lesser of (a) $5 million or (b) 
25% of estimated QREs shown on the application. Prior law did 
not limit the amount of the credit per project and prior law did 
not limit the credit to 25% of estimated QREs. 

5. Limits the total aggregate credit divided-up among all applicants 
to $60 million for each of application periods beginning July 1, 
2009 and July 1, 2010. Prior law did not limit the aggregate credit 
per application period. 

6. Earmarks $45 million of the $60 million total aggregate credit for 
each of the application periods beginning July 1, 2009 and July 1, 
2010 to applications that were filed during the period beginning 
July 1, 2007 but had not been approved by March 1, 2008. 

7. Eliminates the provision under prior law that limited to 100 the 
total number of projects that could be approved with respect 
to an application period. That is, current law does not limit the 
number of projects that can be approved for the credit for each 
application period (but as noted above, the law as amended 
limits the credit per project to $5 million and the total aggregate 
credit to $60 million), and 

8. Specifically provides that the owner of a historic building may 
not include the state, a state agency, or any political subdivision 
(which has been ODSA’s position since the credit’s enactment). 

ODSA will apply prior law (the law as it existed prior to amendment 
by HB 554) to those applications that as of March 1, 2008 ODSA 

had approved for the credit. Thus, for the 41 credit applications 
that ODSA had approved by that date, the credit is not limited to 
$5 million per application, and the aggregate limit of $60 million 
does not apply. ODSA refers to such applications as “Round 1” 
applications. 

ODSA will apply the law as amended by HB 554 (see #1 through 
#7 above) to those completed applications that as of March 13, 
2008 ODSA had not approved for the credit. ODSA refers to such 
applications as “in queue” or “Round 2” applications. 

While the franchise tax historic building preservation credit remains 
entirely refundable under current law, such is not the case for the 
income tax credit and the dealer in intangibles credit. Current law 
provides that if any amount of the income tax credit or dealer in 
intangibles tax credit is refunded, then the sum of the amount 
refunded and the amount applied to reduce the tax otherwise due 
in that year may not exceed $3 million. The unused credit balance 
can be carried forward for fi ve years. 

Amended Substitute House Bill 1, 128th General Assembly amended 
R.C. 5733.47 & 5747.76 to specifically provide that if a pass-through 
entity (PTE) owns and restores a historic building with respect to 
which the ODSA issued a preservation tax credit certificate for the 
PTE’s “qualified rehabilitation expenditures”, the PTE can allocate 
the credit among the PTE’s equity owners in proportion to their 
ownership interests or in such proportions or amounts as the equity 
owners mutually agree. This provision applies to credits claimed 
with respect to certificates issued in taxable years ending on or 
after Oct. 16, 2009. See section 803.20 of the Bill. (While prior 
law did not specifically address credit allocation, the department 
maintained that the pass-through entity must allocate the credit to 
each equity investor in accordance with the investor’s interest in 
the pass-through entity on the date that the pass-through entity filed 
the tax credit certifi cate request.) 

Additional information is available on ODSA’s Web site at http:// 
development.ohio.gov. Please direct your questions and comments 
regarding the Ohio Historic Preservation Tax Credit to the ODSA’s 
Urban Development Division from their Web site or call (614) 995-
2292 or (800) 848-1300 

4. Refundable motion picture credit. (R. C. 122.85, 5733.59 and 
5747.66 and sections 812.2 and 701.9 of Amended Substitute 
House Bill 1, 128th General Assembly) 

A motion picture company whose motion picture was precertifi ed by 
the director of the ODSA as a tax credit-eligible production may apply 
to the director of the ODSA on or after July 1, 2009 for a refundable 
credit equal to a percentage of the motion picture company’s eligible 
production expenditures with respect to the tax credit eligible 
production. (Terms in italics are defined in R.C. 122.85.) 

If the lesser of (a) total budgeted eligible production expenditures 
as stated in the application for certification as a tax credit eligible 
production, or (b) the actual eligible production expenditures as 
determined by an independent CPA hired at the motion picture 
company’s expense, is greater than $300,000, the credit equals 
the sum of the following: 

(i) 25% of the lesser of such budgeted or actual eligible 
expenditure amounts excluding budgeted or actual eligible 
expenditures for cast and crew wages for Ohio residents; 

(ii) 35% of budgeted or actual eligible expenditures for cast and 
crew wages of Ohio residents. 

If the lesser of the amounts described in (a) and (b) above is less 
than or equal to $300,000, the credit does not apply. 
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If the motion picture company is a pass-through entity whose owners 
include C corporations and/or individuals, each C corporation can 
claim its share of the credit against the franchise tax and each 
individual can claim the individual’s share of the credit against 
the income tax. Both individuals and corporations must claim the 
credit for the taxable year in which the ODSA issues the tax credit 
certificate. 

The following limitations apply to the motion picture credit: 

−	 Not more than $5 million of tax credit is allowed per tax credit-
eligible production. 

− For each fiscal biennium beginning on or after July 1, 2011, not 
more than $40 million of aggregate total tax credit is allowed per 
fiscal biennium, and not more than $20 million in the first year of 
a fi scal biennium. 

. 

For additional information pertaining to the motion picture credit, call 
the Ohio Development Services Agency at (614) 644-5156 or (800) 
848-1300 or visit their Web site at http://www.ohiofilmoffice.com. 

Tax Commissioner Rules Applicable to Financial Institutions 
in Determining the Ohio Corporation Franchise Tax 

5703-5-01 Definitions applicable to rules 5703-5-01 to 5703-5-05 
of the Administrative Code 

5703-5-02 Date as of which the value of a taxpayer’s issued and 
outstanding stock is determined 

5703-5-03 Dates on which a taxpayer’s taxable year begins and 
ends 

5703-5-04* Changes of a taxpayer’s annual accounting period 
5703-5-05 Taxes excludable in computing the corporate tax under 

the net worth basis 
5703-5-08 	 Books from which the value of issued and outstanding 

shares of stock is determined under the net worth 
basis of the corporation franchise tax 

5703-5-10 Corporate franchise tax; accounts maintained under 
Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 106 

5703-1-12 Requests for an opinion of the tax commissioner 

*Note: Effective for taxable years ending after Dec. 31, 2003, Rule 
5703-5-04 eliminates income proration for taxable years that exceed 
one year in length. In addition, the amended rule clarifies that if, 
as the result of a change of ownership, a taxpayer has two short-
period federal taxable years because of the taxpayer’s inclusion 
in one or more consolidated federal income tax returns, and if the 
year-end of the taxpayer’s annual accounting period remains the 
same after the change of ownership as it was before the change, 
then for purposes of this rule there is not a change of the taxpayer’s 
annual accounting period. 

Information Releases 

Since 1991 the Ohio Department of Taxation has issued the following 
corporation franchise tax information releases: 
• Waiver of Corporation Franchise Tax Filing Requirement for 2011 

for S Corporations, Oct. 2010 
• No 2011 Franchise Tax Filing or Payment Obligation for 

Corporations Subject to the Phase-Out, Oct. 2010 
• Waiver of Corporation Franchise Tax Filing Requirement for 2010 

for S Corporations, Oct. 2009 
• No 2010 Franchise Tax Filing or Payment Obligation for 

Corporations Subject to the Phase-Out, Sept. 2009 
• Questions Regarding Ohio’s Manufacturing Machinery and 

Equipment Tax Credit and Subsequent Grant, Sept. 2006. 

• Income and Franchise Tax Updates, December 2004 
• Questions Regarding Ohio’s New Manufacturing Machinery and 

Equipment Tax Credit – R.C. 5733.33 & 5747.31, Sept. 2004 – 
Revised Feb. 2005 

• The Franchise Tax Effects of the I.R.C. Section 338(h)(10) 
Election, June 2004 

• Sales Factor Situsing Revisions, April 2004 
• Ohio Bonus Depreciation Adjustment and the Internal Revenue 

Code's Passive Activity Loss, Basis Limitation and At-Risk Rules, 
Nov. 2002 

• Recently Enacted Ohio Legislation Affects Depreciation 
Deductions for Taxable Years Ending in 2001 and Thereafter, 
July 2002 – Revised July 2005 

• Pass-Through Entity Tax: Certain Estimated Tax Payments Due 
Sept. 16, 2002, July 3, 2002 

• Corporation Franchise Tax – Nexus Standards, Sept. 2001 – 
Revised May 19, 2003 

• Corporation Franchise Tax Nexus for Nonresident Limited 
Partners Following the UCOM Decision, March 15, 2001 

• I.R.C. Section 482 Study: Taxpayers seeking to Avoid Ohio 
Corporate Franchise Tax Report Required or Expanded 
Combinations, June 23, 2000 – Revised Jan. 2005 

• Withdrawal of Special Instructions, Oct. 31, 1997 
• Am. Sub. H.B. No. 215, 122nd General Assembly (Budget Bill), 

Summary of Franchise Tax & Income Tax Provisions, Sept. 18, 
1997 

• IRS ‘Check the Box’ Entity Selection Regulations, Aug. 19, 1997 
• Revisions to May 6, 1996 Information Release, June 18, 1996 
• Alternative Twenty Percent Credit, May 7, 1996 
• Examples Setting Forth the Division's Interpretation of Ohio 

Revised Code Sections 5733.33 and 5747.31, ‘Second Credit 
for Purchases of New Manufacturing Machinery and Equipment,’ 
May 6, 1996 

• Second Credit for Purchases of New Manufacturing Machinery 
and Equipment, Sept. 22, 1995 

• Twenty Percent Threshold Test Credit for Purchases of New 
Manufacturing Machinery and Equipment, Sept. 21, 1995 

• Newly Enacted Investment Tax Credit Law, Oct. 14, 1994 
• Taxation of S Corporations and Their Shareholders, July 31, 1994 
• Recently Enacted Legislation Revises the Requirements for 

Corporations Paying Corporate Franchise Tax by Electronic Funds 
Transfer (EFT), July 31, 1994 

• Taxation of S Corporations and Their Shareholders, July 31, 1994 
• New Legislation Requires Certain Corporations to Pay Corporate 

Franchise Tax by Electronic Funds Transfer, Oct. 29, 1993 
• Safe Harbor Leases: Franchise Tax Policy Change, Nov. 10, 1992 
• Application of Ohio Revised Code Section 5733.053 (Transferor 

Statute) to the Merger of a C Corporation into an S Corporation, 
Sept. 24, 1992 

• Schedule B-3 (Combined) – Related Entity and Related Member 
Adjustments for Corporations Included in a Combined Franchise 
Tax Report, May 6, 1992 

• Exempt Federal Interest, Jan. 9, 1992 
• Credit for Investment in Qualified Subsidiaries, July 16, 1991 
• Taxpayer Elected Franchise Tax Combinations, May 15, 1991 
• Foreign Technical Service Fee Deductions, May 15, 1991. 

Tax information releases are not “Opinions of the Tax Commissioner” 
within the meaning of R.C. 5703.35. Nevertheless, the releases 
do reflect the Department of Taxation's interpretation of the law. 
Information releases are available on the department’s Web site. 

tax.ohio.gov 
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The Order in Which Taxpayers Must Claim Nonrefundable Franchise Tax Credits1 (R.C. 5733.98) 

Credit 
No. 

Nonrefundable Credit Carryforward 
Period 

R.C. Section 

1. Credit Allowed to Financial Institutions for Dealer in Intangibles Tax 
Paid by a Member of the Financial Institution’s Qualifying Controlled 
Group2 5733.45 

2. Credit for Qualifying Affiliated Groups (due to Related Entity and 
Related Member Adjustments) Not Applicable 5733.068 

3. Credit for Savings and Loan Association Fees2 None 5733.063 

4. Credit for Recycling and Litter Prevention Donations None 5733.064 

5. Credit for Maintaining Railroad Crossing Warning Devices None 5733.43 

6. Job Retention Credit Three years 5733.0610(B) &122.171 

7. Credit for Qualified Research Expense Seven years 5733.351 

8. Credit for Eligible New Employees in an Enterprise Zone Three years 5709.66 

9. Ethanol Plant Investment Credit Three years 5733.46 and 901.13 

10. Credit for Grape Production Property Seven years 5733.32 

11. Technology Investment Credit  Fifteen years 5733.35, 122.15, 122.151, 
122.152, 122.153, & 122.154 

12. Enterprise Zone Day Care and Training Credits Unlimited* 5709.65(A) 

13. New Markets Credit2 Four years 5725.33, 5729.16 and 5733.58 

14. Research and Development Loan Repayment Credit Unlimited* 5733.352 and 166.17 thru 
166.21 

15. Credit for Taxes Paid by a Qualifying Pass-Through Entity Unlimited* 5733.0611 

*Unlimited – Unused credit amounts may be carried forward until fully utilized

 Note 1: Several nonrefundable credits listed in R.C. 5733.98 are not included in the table above because (i) the credit has expired, or 
(ii) the credit was converted to a refundable credit, (iii) the credit was converted to a grant and/or (iv) the taxpayers to whom the credit 
applied are subject to the franchise tax phase-out and commercial activity tax (CAT) phase-in. 
• Expired credits listed in R.C. 5733.98 but not included in the table include: (i) the subsidiary corporation credit, (ii) the credit for 

employers that enter into agreements with child day-care centers, (iii) the credit for employers that reimburse employee child day-
care expenses, (iv) the credit for employers that establish on-site child day-care centers, (v) the credit for purchases of lights and 
reflectors for tractors, (vi) the credit for eligible costs associated with a voluntary action under R.C. 5733.34, (vii) the export sales 
credit, and (viii) the credit for selling alternative fuel. 

• The credit for losses on loans to the Ohio venture capital program is not included in the table because Substitute Senate Bill 321, 
126th Ohio General Assembly effective June 5, 2006 made this credit refundable. For refundable credits applicable to general tax-
payers see the line instructions for schedule A, line 24. 

• The R.C. 5733.33 second credit for purchases of new manufacturing machinery and equipment (7.5%-13.5% credit) is not included 
in the table because for taxable years ending after June 30, 2005 the 7.5%-13.5% credit converted to a nonrefundable grant. The 
grant is claimed after all nonrefundable credits and before all refundable credits. See the line instructions for schedule A, line 21. 

• Although included in the table for years 2009 and earlier, the following credits are not included in the table for 2012: (i) electric 
company credit for using Ohio coal (R.C. 5733.39), (ii) credit for small telephone companies (R.C. 5733.57), (iii) telephone com-
pany credit for eligible nonrecurring 911 charges (R.C. 5733.55), and (iv) credit for providing programs to aid the communicatively 
impaired (R.C. 5733.56). These credits specifically apply only to electric companies and telephone companies. Electric companies 
and telephone companies are not subject to the franchise tax for tax years 2010 and thereafter because of the franchise tax phase-
out and CAT phase-in. As such, the listed credits have been deleted from the table. 

Note 2: Credits #1, 3 and 13 apply only to fi nancial institutions. 
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Ohio Franchise Tax Forms 
Many of the Department of Taxation’s forms are available on the department’s Web site at tax.ohio.gov. 

FT COM Request for Permission to File or to Amend a Combined Corporation Franchise Tax Report 

FT 1120E Declaration of Estimated Corporation Franchise Tax 

FT 1120ER Application for Automatic Extension 

FT 1120EX Request for an Additional Extension of Time for Filing Corporation Franchise Tax Report 

FT 1120 Corporation Franchise Tax Report 

FT 1120VL Valuation Limitation on Gains and Losses from Sales or Exchanges of Property 

FT 1120C Corporation Franchise Tax (Combined Report) 

FT OTAS Ohio Taxpayers’ Affi liation Schedule 

FT 1120FI Corporation Franchise Tax Report for Financial Institutions 

FT REF Application for Corporation Franchise Tax Refund 

PR Petition for Reassessment 

FT HELP Special Handling Notice 

FT QHC Qualifying Holding Company Election 

Grant Request Form 

Note 1: Franchise tax forms “Supplemental Schedules for Electric Companies” and “Supplemental Schedule for Local Exchange Tele-
phone Companies” are not listed in the above table because electric companies and telephone companies are subject to the franchise 
tax phase-out and the commercial activity tax (CAT) phase-in. Thus, electric companies and telephone companies have no franchise tax 
filing or payment requirement for tax years 2010 and thereafter. 

Note 2: Franchise tax form, FT 1120S, “Notice of S Corporation Status” is not included in the above table. By administrative journal entry 
dated Dec. 17, 2012 the tax commissioner waived the R.C. 5733.09(B) notice of S election filing requirement for 2013 (taxable year end-
ing in 2012). That is, unlike 2009 and earlier years, S corporations and their “qualified subchapter S subsidiaries” are not required to file 
a 2013 Notice of S Corporation Status, form FT 1120S. See the tax commissioner’s administrative journal entry at the following address: 
<http://tax.ohio.gov/corporation_franchise/filing_exemptions.aspx. 
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	P.O.
	P.O.
	P.O.
	 Box 27. Columbus, Ohio 43216-0027..

	 However, if the report is an report, pl
	amended 


	P.O.
	P.O.
	 Box 2476 .Columbus, Ohio 43216-2476. 


	Please indicate that the report is amend
	(i) an Application for Corporation Franc
	(Ohio form FT REF) or (ii) a complete ex
	v. Tracy, BTA No. 98-N-401 (3-12-01) and
	Note: An overpayment shown on an amended
	D. EFT Method of Payment 
	A taxpayer must pay by electronic funds 
	-
	th

	10. Interest on Underpayments and Overpa
	During calendar year 2013 interest on un
	If a corporation fails to pay the tax by
	interest

	Interest on franchise tax overpayments r
	• 
	• 
	• 
	the date of payment, 

	• 
	• 
	the 90th day after the ﬁnal date the fra

	• 
	• 
	the 90th day after the date that the fra


	Interest on overpayments with respect to
	Reason: 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	The R.C. 5733.12 franchise tax refund st

	• 
	• 
	R.C. 5733.12 also provides for the payme

	• 
	• 
	R.C. 5733.26 states that interest on an 

	•
	•
	 In Nestle R&D Ctr., Inc. v. Levin Slip 
	-


	• 
	• 
	As such, the department will compute int


	In Nestle the Ohio Supreme Court held th
	11. Penalties for Late Payment, Failure 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	Penalty may be imposed for failure to ti

	• 
	• 
	Penalty may be imposed for failure to ﬁl

	• 
	• 
	Additional penalties may be imposed for 


	12. Penalty Safe Harbor for Estimated Pa
	The following safe harbor applies to pen
	•. With respect to estimated payments, t
	•. With respect to estimated payments, t
	delinquency ending prior to the ﬁrst day


	•. 
	•. 
	•. 
	•. 
	For purposes of determining the R.C. 573

	•. 
	•. 
	For purposes of determining the R.C. 573


	13. Ofﬁcers, Statutory Agent and Signatu
	The president, vice president, secretary
	-

	14. Paid Practitioner’s Signature 
	The Ohio Department of Taxation follows 
	15. Methods of Accounting 
	The value of issued and outstanding shar
	16. Rounding Off to Whole Dollar Amounts
	The money items on the franchise tax rep
	-

	17. Records Retention 
	Every corporation must maintain books an
	18. Enterprise Zone Tax Beneﬁts 
	Note: House Bill 1 (Budget Bill), 128 Ge
	th

	R.C. 5709.62 as amended by HB 1. 
	Businesses that establish, expand, renov
	To qualify for franchise tax enterprise 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	Unemployed persons who had resided at le

	• 
	• 
	Job Training Partnership Act eligible em

	• 
	• 
	Recipients of aid to dependent children,

	• 
	• 
	Handicapped persons, as defined under R.

	• 
	• 
	Residents for at least one year of a zon


	In addition to the enterprise zone franc
	19. Assessments 
	The tax commissioner may issue an assess
	•
	•
	•
	 The ﬁnal date the report subject to ass

	• 
	• 
	The date the report was ﬁled. 


	However, both the assessment statute of 
	An amended franchise tax report ﬁled as 
	An amended franchise tax report ﬁled as 
	once the three-year refund statute of li


	The statute of limitations does not prec
	The statute of limitations does not prec
	If the taxpayer does not pay the assessm
	If the taxpayer disagrees with an assess
	20. Application for Refund and Petition 
	Franchise taxpayers may request a refund
	Franchise taxpayers may initiate review 
	Application for Corporation Franchise Ta
	Please mail your amended report and Ohio
	Ohio Department of Taxation 
	Business Tax Division 
	Corporation Franchise Tax Unit 
	P.O. Box 2476 .Columbus, Ohio 43216-2476
	Please indicate that a report is amended
	Refund Statute of Limitations Law. For p
	Refund Statute of Limitations Law. For p
	due date for ﬁling the report to which t
	before
	earlier of


	If the claimed overpayment is the result
	Regardless of the above provisions to th
	A taxpayer cannot use a refund claim for
	-

	Uniform application for refund procedure
	1.. 
	1.. 
	1.. 
	The commissioner must notify the applica

	2.. 
	2.. 
	The applicant has 60 days from the date 
	mails


	3.. 
	3.. 
	If the applicant neither requests a hear



	4.. 
	4.. 
	4.. 
	4.. 
	If the applicant requests a hearing with

	5.. 
	5.. 
	If the applicant does not request a hear


	Petition for Reassessment. Franchise tax
	A taxpayer must ﬁle its petition within 
	The portion of an assessment that must b
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	If the sole item objected to is the asse

	2.. 
	2.. 
	If prior to the date of issuance of the 

	3. 
	3. 
	3. 
	If prior to the date of issuance of the 

	(ii) all amended reports required by R.C
	R.C. 5733.067(D) to indicate a reduction

	4. 
	4. 
	If the assessed corporation does not dis

	5. 
	5. 
	If none of the conditions speciﬁed in (1


	subject to the franchise tax), the asses
	However, any unpaid portion of the asses
	-

	Uniform petition for reassessment proced
	21. Taxpayer’s Bill of Rights; Requests 
	R.C. sections 5703.50 through 5703.54 es
	In addition, this law permits the tax co
	• 
	• 
	• 
	Be in writing; 

	• 
	• 
	Explicitly request an “Opinion of the Ta

	•
	•
	 Speciﬁcally refer to R.C. 5703.53; 

	• 
	• 
	State all facts of the activity or trans

	• 
	• 
	Identify the parties involved in the act

	• 
	• 
	Set out the speciﬁc legal question or qu

	• 
	• 
	Be signed by an ofﬁcer of the corporatio


	For further information see Rule 5703-1-
	22. Sham Transaction, Economic Reality, 
	The tax commissioner has authority to ap
	The tax commissioner has authority to ap
	-

	over form.” Generally the tax commission
	-
	not
	-



	For purposes of this provision, the term
	For purposes of this provision, the term
	23. Tax Commissioner’s Right to Offset R
	The tax commissioner may apply a taxpaye
	Line Instructions. Schedule A – Computat
	Line 7 – Overpayment Carryforward from 2
	Note: An overpayment shown on an amended
	Line 8 – Estimated payments made in 2013
	Line 12 – Interest and Penalty. Enter an
	Line 14 – Overpayment. 
	Note: Because the 2013 report is the las
	Tracy, BTA No. 98-N-401 (3-12-01), and r
	Schedule B – Balance Sheet 
	Attach to the franchise tax report a bal
	Schedule C – Exempted Assets (Net Book V
	Exempted assets are determined from the 
	Line 1 – Goodwill. Enter the amounts tha
	B.T.A. Case Nos. 87-H-1278 and 87-B-1279
	Line 2 – Abandoned Property. Enter the a
	Line 3 – Appreciation. Enter the amounts
	Following a reorganization and merger in
	A holding company may not deduct as exem
	I.R.C.
	I.R.C.
	I.R.C.
	 section 351 tax free exchange. See Edwa

	v. 
	v. 
	Tracy (1996), 74 Ohio St.3d 643. 



	A taxpayer may not deduct as exempt appr
	A taxpayer may not deduct as exempt appr
	Line 5 – Other. The following qualify as
	R.C. 5713.31 the county auditor of the c
	Schedule D – Apportionment Formula 
	Am. Sub. House Bill 508, 129th General A
	R.C. 5733.056(A)(21)) to use a single sa
	Note: Terms appearing in italics are deﬁ
	Sales Factor 
	The sales factor is a fraction whose num
	Line 1 – Receipts from the lease or rent
	The numerator of the factor (within Ohio
	Line 2 – Receipts from the lease or rent
	Line 3 – Interest (and fees or penalties
	Line 3 – Interest (and fees or penalties
	of the sales factor if more than 50% of 

	Line 4 – Interest (and fees or penalties
	Line 5 – Net gains from the sale of loan
	Line 6 – Net gains from the sale of loan
	not 

	The amount of net gain from the sale of 
	Line 7 – Interest (and fees or penalties
	Line 8 – Net gains from the sale of cred
	Line 9 – Credit card issuer’s reimbursem
	Line 10 – Receipts from merchant discoun
	Line 11 – Loan-servicing fees derived fr
	Line 11 – Loan-servicing fees derived fr
	in the numerator of the factor is determ


	Line 12 – Loan-servicing fees derived fr
	Line 12 – Loan-servicing fees derived fr
	 no

	Line 13 – Loan-servicing fees for servic
	Line 14 – Receipts from services not oth
	Line 15 – Interest, dividends, net gains
	A. Components of the denominator with re
	(i) 
	(i) 
	(i) 
	With respect to investment assets and ac
	-


	(ii) 
	(ii) 
	With respect to trading assets and activ
	-



	B. Average value method for determining 
	-

	(i) .The amount of interest and dividend
	(i) .The amount of interest and dividend
	such income from such assets and activit

	 (ii) The amount of interest from federa
	-
	-

	(iii) The amount of interest, dividends,
	(iv) Dividends and interest received fro
	C. Gross income method for determining c
	-
	-

	(i) .
	(i) .
	(i) .
	The amount of interest and dividends (ot

	 (ii) 
	 (ii) 
	The amount of interest from federal fund



	the amount by which interest from federa
	the amount by which interest from federa
	(iii) The amount of interest, dividends,
	(iv) Dividends and interest received fro
	D. If the taxpayer elects or is required
	E. The taxpayer has the burden of provin
	Line 16 – All other receipts. The numera
	Property Factor 
	Note: If the property factor, as determi
	Note: If the property factor, as determi
	and the end of the taxpayer’s taxable ye

	(1) buildings and other depreciable asse
	Line 18 – Real property and tangible per
	Line 19 – Real property and tangible per
	Line 20 – Loans and credit card receivab
	The value of the taxpayer’s real propert
	The value of loans and credit card recei
	The average value of owned property (inc
	A motor vehicle is deemed to be used who
	A credit card receivable or a loan, othe
	A credit card receivable or a loan, othe
	taxpayer, is assigned to the taxpayer’s 


	A credit card receivable or a loan is pr
	A credit card receivable or a loan is pr
	• 
	• 
	• 
	The taxpayer assigned the credit card re

	• 
	• 
	The assignment is based upon substantive

	• 
	• 
	• 
	The taxpayer uses the assignment for ﬁli

	In determining the state in which the pr

	• 
	• 
	“Active solicitation” occurs when an emp

	• 
	• 
	“Passive solicitation” occurs when the c

	• 
	• 
	“Investigation” is the procedure whereby

	• 
	• 
	“Negotiation” is the procedure whereby e

	• 
	• 
	“Approval” is the procedure whereby the 


	commercial domicile. 
	• “Administration” is the process of man
	Absent any change of material fact, a lo
	The amount of a loan or advance to a sub
	Payroll Factor 
	Line 22 – Compensation paid to employees
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 The employee’s services are performed e

	2. 
	2. 
	The employee’s services are performed bo

	3. 
	3. 
	3. 
	The employee’s services are performed bo

	 (a) 
	 (a) 
	 (a) 
	The employee’s principal base of operati

	(b) 
	(b) 
	There is no principal base of operations

	(c) 
	(c) 
	The principal base of operations and the




	Alternative Apportionment Methods. If th
	•
	•
	•
	 Separate accounting; 

	• 
	• 
	The exclusion of any one or more of the 

	• 
	• 
	The inclusion of one or more additional 

	• 
	• 
	The employment of any other method to ef



	Schedule D-2 – Deposits Factor interest,
	In lieu of using the property, payroll a
	In lieu of using the property, payroll a
	Deﬁnitions – RC. 5733.056(A) 
	Billing address means the address where 
	Borrower or credit cardholder located in
	Branch means a “domestic branch” as deﬁn
	Commercial domicile means the principal 
	Compensation means wages, salaries, comm
	Credit card means a credit, travel or en
	Credit card issuer’s reimbursement fee m
	Deposits has the meaning given in sectio
	Employee means any individual who, under
	Grandfathered Unitary Savings and Loan H
	Gross rents means the actual sum of mone
	(1) any amount payable for the use or po
	(1) any amount payable for the use or po
	to be paid by the terms of a lease or ot

	Gross rents does not include: (1) reason
	Loan means any extension of credit resul
	Loan secured by real property means that
	Merchant discount means the fee, or nego
	Participation means an extension of cred
	Principal base of operations: With respe
	With respect to transportation property,
	Qualiﬁed ﬁ nancial institution means a ﬁ
	Qualiﬁed ﬁ nancial institution means a ﬁ
	and loan company” described in 12 U.S.C.


	R.C. 5733.056(A)(21). Pursuant to R.C. 5
	R.C. 5733.056(A)(21). Pursuant to R.C. 5
	Qualiﬁ ed institution means a ﬁnancial i
	1.. 
	1.. 
	1.. 
	On or after June 1, 1997 the ﬁnancial in

	2..
	2..
	 The ﬁnancial institution is a federal s

	3.. 
	3.. 
	On or after June 1, 1997 the ﬁnancial in


	Real property owned and tangible persona
	Regular place of business means an ofﬁce
	State means a state of the United States
	Syndication means an extension of credit
	Transportation property means vehicles a
	Schedule E – Net Value of Stock 
	Note: For franchise tax years 2002 and t
	The value of issued and outstanding shar
	The value of issued and outstanding shar
	and ending June 30, 2012. The taxpayer’s

	Line 2 – Ownership interest of depositor
	Line 4 – Reserves and net deferred tax l
	The gross proﬁt portion of income receiv
	Contingent liabilities are includable in
	• 
	• 
	• 
	The taxpayer cannot reasonably estimate 

	• 
	• 
	The taxpayer cannot establish from infor


	A taxpayer is not required to add to its
	-

	Schedule F – Adjusted Net Value of Stock
	This schedule applies to: 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	Financial institutions that own at least

	• 
	• 
	Financial institutions that own at least

	• 
	• 
	Financial institutions that own at least



	The taxpayer's excludable investment, to
	The taxpayer's excludable investment, to
	Line 1 – Excludable Investment. If the t
	Line 2 – Total Assets. Enter the taxpaye
	Schedule A-1. Nonrefundable Credits. 
	The nonrefundable credits generally avai
	-

	Although several credits listed in the t
	-
	-

	The order of the credits is important if
	and
	-

	A nonrefundable credit may be used to re
	-

	Note 1: The job creation credit, the cre
	Note 2: Unless otherwise stated, all cre
	Note 3: The R.C. 122.173 grant for purch
	In Duramed the Board of Tax Appeals held
	Because the Board of Tax Appeals held th
	R.C. 5733.33(A)(2). 
	Nonrefundable Credits Available to Finan
	1. Credit for dealer in intangibles tax 
	-
	-

	(a) 
	(a) 
	(a) 
	The amount of the dealer in intangibles 

	(b) 
	(b) 
	The product of the amounts described in 


	(i) .The cost of the ﬁnancial institutio
	(i) .The cost of the ﬁnancial institutio
	-

	year ending immediately preceding the fr


	(ii) The dealer in intangibles’ “percent
	(ii) The dealer in intangibles’ “percent
	-

	(iii) The dealer in intangible tax rate 
	2. 
	2. 
	2. 
	Credit for Savings-and-Loan Association 

	3. 
	3. 
	Ethanol plant investment credit (R.C. 57

	4. 
	4. 
	Credit for Taxes Paid by a Qualifying Pa


	(R.C. 5733.0611). Upon ﬁling a corporati
	5. New Markets Tax Credit (R.C. 5725.33,
	businesses
	Ohio

	Speciﬁcally, the Ohio new markets credit
	In order to claim the credit for a parti
	 the calendar year immediately preceding

	The Ohio new markets credit is computed 
	The adjusted purchase price of the taxpa
	Ohio
	business

	Credit 
	Credit 
	Credit 
	= 
	Adjusted purchase price 
	x 
	Applicable % on credit allowance date 

	Adjusted purchase price 
	Adjusted purchase price 
	= 
	Amount paid for qualiﬁ ed equity investm
	Issuer’s QLIC investments in Ohio on cre

	TR
	Issuer’s QLIC investments in all states 

	TR
	on credit allowance date 


	The issuing qualiﬁed community developme
	1 
	businesses 

	in Ohio and each such investment is not 

	For additional information visit the ODS
	For additional information visit the ODS
	development.ohio.gov

	Schedule A-2. Refundable Credits. 
	1. Refundable jobs creation tax credit (
	effective date of the amendment to the c
	th

	− The credit is computed as a percent (a
	− Withholding includes the sum of Ohio a
	Baseline withholding. For JCTC agreement
	multiplied by the sum of one plus the ta

	Baseline withholding for year two of the
	unreduced”

	(ii) the sum of one plus the pay increas
	Baseline withholding for year three and 
	HB 1 also amended the required contents 
	the JCTC, please visit the ODSA’s Web si
	ohio.gov

	For credit agreements entered into befor
	The amount of the credit with respect to
	The term “new employee” means a full-tim
	Taxpayers claiming the new jobs credit m
	th

	If a taxpayer claims the refundable new 
	The Tax Credit Authority and the ODSA ad
	http://development.ohio.gov

	2. Refundable credit for tax withheld by
	Enter the amounts the Ohio Lottery Commi
	R.C. sections 3770.072(B), 5747.062(B)(2
	Refundable credit for losses on loans ma
	Substitute Senate Bill 321, 126 Ohio Gen
	Substitute Senate Bill 321, 126 Ohio Gen
	th

	refundable. Under prior law the taxpayer


	3. Refundable Ohio historic preservation
	3. Refundable Ohio historic preservation
	As originally enacted, the law provided 
	Amended Substitute House Bill (HB) 554, 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	Eliminates the credit application period

	2.
	2.
	 Eliminates the cost-beneﬁt analysis fro

	3..
	3..
	 Eliminates the ﬁrst-come-ﬁrst-serve ord

	4. 
	4. 
	Limits the credit per project to the les
	estimated
	estimated


	5. 
	5. 
	Limits the total aggregate credit divide

	6. 
	6. 
	Earmarks $45 million of the $60 million 

	7. 
	7. 
	Eliminates the provision under prior law
	projects


	8.
	8.
	 Speciﬁcally provides that the owner of 


	ODSA will apply prior law (the law as it
	ODSA will apply prior law (the law as it
	had approved for the credit. Thus, for t
	not


	ODSA will apply the law as amended by HB
	While the franchise tax historic buildin
	Amended Substitute House Bill 1, 128 Gen
	th

	R.C. 5733.47 & 5747.76 to speciﬁcally pr
	or in such proportions or amounts as the

	Additional information is available on O
	development.ohio.gov. Please direct your
	-

	4. Refundable motion picture credit. (R.
	th

	A motion picture company whose motion pi
	If the lesser of (a) total  eligible pro
	budgeted
	actual

	(i)
	(i)
	(i)
	 25% of the lesser of such budgeted or a
	excluding


	(ii)
	(ii)
	 35% of budgeted or actual eligible expe


	If the lesser of the amounts described i

	If the motion picture company is a pass-
	If the motion picture company is a pass-
	The following limitations apply to the m
	−. Not more than $5 million of tax credi
	− For each ﬁscal biennium beginning on o
	. 
	For additional information pertaining to
	http://www.ohioﬁ

	Tax Commissioner Rules Applicable to Fin
	5703-5-01 Deﬁnitions applicable to rules
	5703-5-04* Changes of a taxpayer’s annua
	5703-5-08 .Books from which the value of
	5703-5-10 Corporate franchise tax; accou
	*Note: Effective for taxable years endin
	Information Releases 
	Since 1991 the Ohio Department of Taxati
	• 
	• 
	• 
	Waiver of Corporation Franchise Tax Fili

	• 
	• 
	No 2011 Franchise Tax Filing or Payment 

	• 
	• 
	Waiver of Corporation Franchise Tax Fili

	• 
	• 
	No 2010 Franchise Tax Filing or Payment 

	• 
	• 
	Questions Regarding Ohio’s Manufacturing


	• 
	• 
	• 
	Income and Franchise Tax Updates, Decemb

	• 
	• 
	Questions Regarding Ohio’s New Manufactu

	• 
	• 
	The Franchise Tax Effects of the I.R.C. 

	• 
	• 
	Sales Factor Situsing Revisions, April 2

	• 
	• 
	Ohio Bonus Depreciation Adjustment and t

	• 
	• 
	Recently Enacted Ohio Legislation Affect

	• 
	• 
	Pass-Through Entity Tax: Certain Estimat

	• 
	• 
	Corporation Franchise Tax – Nexus Standa

	• 
	• 
	Corporation Franchise Tax Nexus for Nonr

	• 
	• 
	I.R.C. Section 482 Study: Taxpayers seek

	• 
	• 
	Withdrawal of Special Instructions, Oct.

	• 
	• 
	Am. Sub. H.B. No. 215, 122nd General Ass

	• 
	• 
	IRS ‘Check the Box’ Entity Selection Reg

	• 
	• 
	Revisions to May 6, 1996 Information Rel

	• 
	• 
	Alternative Twenty Percent Credit, May 7

	• 
	• 
	Examples Setting Forth the Division's In

	• 
	• 
	Second Credit for Purchases of New Manuf

	• 
	• 
	Twenty Percent Threshold Test Credit for

	• 
	• 
	Newly Enacted Investment Tax Credit Law,

	• 
	• 
	Taxation of S Corporations and Their Sha

	• 
	• 
	Recently Enacted Legislation Revises the

	• 
	• 
	Taxation of S Corporations and Their Sha

	• 
	• 
	New Legislation Requires Certain Corpora

	• 
	• 
	Safe Harbor Leases: Franchise Tax Policy

	• 
	• 
	Application of Ohio Revised Code Section

	• 
	• 
	Schedule B-3 (Combined) – Related Entity

	• 
	• 
	Exempt Federal Interest, Jan. 9, 1992 

	• 
	• 
	Credit for Investment in Qualiﬁed Subsid

	• 
	• 
	Taxpayer Elected Franchise Tax Combinati

	• 
	• 
	Foreign Technical Service Fee Deductions


	Tax information releases are not “Opinio
	tax.ohio.gov 
	tax.ohio.gov 


	The Order in Which Taxpayers Must Claim 
	1

	Credit No. 
	Credit No. 
	Credit No. 
	Nonrefundable Credit 
	Carryforward Period 
	R.C. Section 

	1. 
	1. 
	Credit Allowed to Financial Institutions
	5733.45 

	2. 
	2. 
	Credit for Qualifying Afﬁliated Groups (
	Not Applicable 
	5733.068 

	3. 
	3. 
	Credit for Savings and Loan Association 
	 None 
	5733.063 

	4. 
	4. 
	Credit for Recycling and Litter Preventi
	None 
	5733.064 

	5. 
	5. 
	Credit for Maintaining Railroad Crossing
	None 
	5733.43 

	6. 
	6. 
	Job Retention Credit 
	Three years 
	5733.0610(B) &122.171 

	7. 
	7. 
	Credit for Qualiﬁed Research Expense 
	Seven years 
	5733.351 

	8. 
	8. 
	Credit for Eligible New Employees in an 
	Three years 
	5709.66 

	9. 
	9. 
	Ethanol Plant Investment Credit 
	Three years 
	5733.46 and 901.13 

	10. 
	10. 
	Credit for Grape Production Property 
	Seven years 
	5733.32 

	11. 
	11. 
	Technology Investment Credit  
	Fifteen years 
	5733.35, 122.15, 122.151, 122.152, 122.1

	12. 
	12. 
	Enterprise Zone Day Care and Training Cr
	Unlimited* 
	5709.65(A) 

	13. 
	13. 
	New Markets Credit2 
	Four years 
	5725.33, 5729.16 and 5733.58 

	14. 
	14. 
	Research and Development Loan Repayment 
	Unlimited* 
	5733.352 and 166.17 thru 166.21 

	15. 
	15. 
	Credit for Taxes Paid by a Qualifying Pa
	Unlimited* 
	5733.0611 

	*Unlimited – Unused credit amounts may b
	*Unlimited – Unused credit amounts may b

	 Note 1: Several nonrefundable credits l
	 Note 1: Several nonrefundable credits l
	-
	-
	-


	- 21 
	- 21 
	-
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	TR
	Ohio Franchise Tax Forms Many of the Dep
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	FT COM 
	Request for Permission to File or to Ame
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	FT 1120E 
	Declaration of Estimated Corporation Fra

	FT 1120ER 
	FT 1120ER 
	Application for Automatic Extension 

	FT 1120EX 
	FT 1120EX 
	Request for an Additional Extension of T

	FT 1120 
	FT 1120 
	Corporation Franchise Tax Report 

	FT 1120VL 
	FT 1120VL 
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	FT 1120C 
	Corporation Franchise Tax (Combined Repo

	FT OTAS 
	FT OTAS 
	Ohio Taxpayers’ Afﬁ liation Schedule 

	FT 1120FI 
	FT 1120FI 
	Corporation Franchise Tax Report for Fin

	FT REF 
	FT REF 
	Application for Corporation Franchise Ta

	PR 
	PR 
	Petition for Reassessment 

	FT HELP 
	FT HELP 
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	FT QHC 
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	TR
	Grant Request Form 


	Note 1: Franchise tax forms “Supplementa
	-

	Note 2: Franchise tax form, FT 1120S, “N
	-
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