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Insurance Tax – Domestic
 

Taxpayer 
The tax is paid by insurance companies 

organized under Ohio law. 

Tax Base 
The tax applies to the gross amount of 

premiums from policies for Ohio risks by insur­
ance companies organized under Ohio law. 

Rates 
The tax rate is 1.4 percent of gross premi­

ums. The minimum tax is $250. 

Major Exemptions 
The tax does not apply to annuities, deposit-

type life insurance contract funds, Medicaid 
payments received before Oct. 1, 2009, Medi­
care payments, small employer health care 
alliance premiums, or federal crop insurance 
premiums. 

Revenue 
(In Millions) 

Fiscal General 
Year              Revenue Fund            Other1 Total 

2008 154.6$ $4.7$ 159.3$ 

2009 155.3 4.7 160.0 

2010 161.7 4.9 166.6 

2011 189.4 4.9 194.3 

2012 189.1 5.0 194.1 

Disposition of Revenue 
Revenue is distributed to the General 

Revenue Fund, except for revenue from an ad­
ditional 0.75 percent tax on fire insurance (see 
Special Provisions), which is distributed to the 
Fire Marshal Fund. 

Payment Dates 
The Director of the Ohio Department of In­

surance certifies the tax liability of each insur­

1 The “Other” category includes distributions to the Fire Marshal Fund 
and the Attorney General Claims Fund. 

ance company to the Ohio Treasurer of State 
by the first Monday of May. Within 20 days, the 
Treasurer issues a tax bill with payment due 20 
to 30 days from the date the tax bill is mailed. 

The tax year is defined as the year in which 
the tax returns are due. Tax liabilities are based 
upon the previous year’s business activity. 

Special Provisions/Credits 
Credit for smaller insurance groups: Insurer 

groups with less than $75 million in total U.S. 
premiums are eligible for a credit of up to 
$200,000 against annual tax liability. The closer 
groups get to the $75 million mark, the lower 
the value of this credit. 

Ohio Life and Health Guaranty Associa­
tion credit: Insurance companies receive a 
tax credit for the full amount of assessments 
paid into the Ohio Life and Health Guaranty 
Association. By law, insurance companies are 
required to be members of the association, 
a not-for-profit association created by Ohio 
law, as a condition of transacting business in 
Ohio. Should a member become impaired or 
insolvent, the other members are assessed by 
the association at a rate of up to 2 percent of 
gross premiums to protect policyholders of the 
impaired or insolvent insurers. 

Health insuring corporations: Domestic in­
surers that are health insuring corporations are 
taxed at the rate of 1 percent of all premium 
payments, excluding Medicare payments and 
payments received for Medicaid prior to Oct. 
1, 2009. 

Fire insurance tax: An additional 0.75 
percent tax is levied on the gross premiums 
derived from fire insurance and that portion of 
the premium reasonably allocable to fi re insur­
ance included in other insurance coverages. 

Sections of Ohio Revised Code 
Sections 5725.18 to 5725.24, 5725.31, 

5725.32, 5725.98, 5729.031, 1731.07, and 
3737.71. 

Responsibility for Administration 
Director, Ohio Department of Insurance. 
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History of Major Changes 
1830	 General Assembly enacts a 4 percent tax on 

dividends paid by insurance companies. 

1831	 The 4 percent tax is repealed; legislature 
enacts 5 percent tax on the dividends of 
“bank, insurance and bridge companies.” 

1846 Legislature increases tax to 6 percent on 
gross profits. 

1852	 New Ohio constitution requires the taxation 
of all real and personal property according 
to uniform rule, and that corporation prop­
erty be subject to taxation, same as for in­
dividuals. Legislature requires all insurance 
companies to list real property, tangible 
property, money and credits for taxation as 
property. 

1900	 Legislature enacts a 0.5 percent tax on the 
gross premiums of all insurance companies 
to support the state fire marshal office. Two 
years later, lawmakers limit this tax to fire 
insurance companies. 

1933	 General Assembly replaces tax on the 
personal property of insurance companies 
with a franchise tax on either 0.2 percent of 
capital and surplus or 1.67 percent on gross 
premiums, whichever is less. 

1971	 Legislature increases rates to either 0.3 per­
cent of capital and surplus or 2.5 percent on 
gross premiums, whichever is less. 

1979	 Legislature replaces 0.5 percent tax on fire 
insurance gross premiums with a new 0.75 
percent tax. 

1981 Legislature increases tax rate on capital 
and surplus to 0.6 percent. 

1989	 The Ohio Life and Health Guaranty Associa­
tion is established, along with a 100 percent 
tax credit for assessments paid by partici­
pating insurers. 

1997	 General Assembly enacts House Bill 215, 
which gradually phases in several major 
changes between 1999 and 2003. Changes 
include: 

• 	 A gradual reduction in the gross pre­
mium tax rate from 2.5 percent to 1.4 
percent. 

• 	 A gradual elimination of the capital 
and surplus tax base. 

• 	 A minimum tax of $250 (instead of 
$200). 

• 	 An expansion of the tax credit for smaller in­
surer groups to include those with less than $75 
million in U.S. premiums. Previously, the limit 
had been $50 million. 

Comparisons with Other States 
(As of September, 2012) 

In addition to the rates listed below, other 
rates may apply to specific types of insurance 
or insurance providers. 
California      

In general, the tax rate is 2.35 percent of 
gross premiums. The rate on federally-exempt 
pensions and profit-sharing plans is 0.5 per­
cent. 
Florida          

A 1 percent rate applies to annuities, a 
0.75 percent rate applies to wet marine and 
transportation insurance and a 1.6 percent rate 
applies to self-insurers. All others pay 1.75 per­
cent of gross premiums. Florida’s fi re marshal 
assessment is 1 percent. 
Illinois 

Illinois’ insurance tax is, in general, 0.5 per­
cent of net premiums on policies written in the 
state and 0.4 percent of health premiums.1 The 
Illinois fire marshal tax is 1 percent. 
Indiana 

Companies are subject to Indiana’s gross 
income tax unless they elect to pay a 1.3 per­
cent tax on gross premiums. The fi re insurance 
tax is 0.5 percent of gross premiums received 
from Indiana-based policies. 
Kentucky      

In general, the rate is 2 percent of gross pre­
miums. Additionally, a 1.8 percent surcharge 
applies on premiums for Kentucky risks. Fire 
insurers pay an additional surtax of 0.75 per­
cent of premiums. Life insurance companies 
may elect to pay a tax on intangible property 
in lieu of the gross premiums tax of 1.5 percent 
on life insurers. 
Massachusetts            

The rate is 2 percent of taxable gross pre­
miums. 
Michigan  

The rate is equal to 1.25 percent of gross 
direct premiums. 
New Jersey  

In general, a rate of 1.05 percent applies to 
the gross premiums on group accident and 

1 Insurers are also subject to Illinois income and replacement taxes. 
Certain offsets and limits may apply. 
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health policies. A 2.1 percent rate applies to all 
others.       
New York 

A 1.75 percent tax rate applies to all pre­
miums on accident and health contracts. A 2 
percent rate applies to other, non-life insurance 
premiums.1 

Ohio 
The rate is 1.4 percent of gross premiums. 

An additional tax of 0.75 percent applies to fi re 
insurance gross premiums. 
Pennsylvania      

The rate is 2 percent of gross premiums.               
Texas     

Life, accident, and health insurers are taxed 
at 1.75 percent of gross premiums; most others 
are taxed at 1.6 percent.                      
West Virginia       

Rates of 3 percent to 5 percent apply, de­
pending on insurance product lines. 

1 Insurance companies also pay the New York corporate franchise tax. 
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