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Individual Income Tax —

Taxpayer

In districts with the “traditional” tax base,
the taxpayer is every individual residing in a
school district that levies the tax, as well as
every estate of a decedent who, at the time of
death, was residing in such a school district.
The tax is levied on all types of income.

In districts with an “earned income only”
tax base, the taxpayer is every individual with
wages or self-employment income residing in
a school district that levies the tax.

Tax Base
Ohio taxable income:

The “traditional” tax base is Ohio taxable
income, meaning Ohio adjusted gross income,
less $1,600 for each personal and dependent
exemption claimed on the Ohio individual
income tax return for taxable year 2010. The
value of these exemptions is indexed to infla-
tion.

Earned income only:

Some school districts have enacted a tax
that applies to earned income only. In these
districts, the tax base includes wages, salaries,
tips and other employee compensation as well
as self-employment income from sole propri-
etorships, partnerships and limited liability
companies treated as partnerships for income
tax purposes. It does not include unearned
income such as retirement income, lottery win-
nings, interest, dividends, capital gains, profits
from rental property and distributive shares
of profit from S corporations. Residents of
“earned income only” school districts are not
entitled to personal and dependent exemp-
tions.

Rates

Rates must be in multiples of 0.25 percent.
Also, rates must be approved by a vote of the
school district residents before implementa-
tion.

As of January 2010, rates ranged from 0.5
percent to 2 percent in the 178 school districts
that levied an income tax. Overall, Ohio has
614 public school districts.

Of the 178 districts levying an income tax,
25 used the “earned income only” base.

School District

Revenue

(In Millions)
Fiscal District
Year Revenue Admin. Fund Total
2006 $217.7 $35 $221.2
2007 266.9 43 2.2
2008 3117 5.0 316.7
2009 305.7 5.0 310.7
2010 299.0 4.9 301.9

Disposition of Revenue

TheTax Commissioner returns all revenue
collected to the school district, less 1.5 percent
retained for administrative purposes.

Payment Dates

Payment dates are the same as for the state
individual income tax and state withholding
tax, except that employers with larger pay-
rolls remit withholding monthly, rather than
on a partial weekly basis. Individual taxpay-
ers must file a quarterly estimated payment if
they expect to be under-withheld by more than
$500 for the combined school district and Ohio
individual income taxes.

Special Provisions/Credits
Senior citizen credit:

A taxpayer 65 years of age or older during
the taxable year receives a $50 credit against
the amount of school district income tax due.
Only one credit is allowed for each return.

Sections of Ohio Revised Code
Chapters 5747 and 5748.

Responsibility for Administration
Tax Commissioner.

History of Major Changes

1979 General Assembly grants school districts
authority to levy an income tax solely for

repaying a state loan.
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1981

1983

1989

1991

1992

1997

2005

Legislature repeals 1979 law and enacts
Chapter 5748 of the Ohio Revised Code,
authorizing school districts to enact a
school district income tax based on Ohio
taxable income (meaning Ohio adjusted
gross income, less personal and depen-
dent exemptions claimed on the Ohio
individual income tax return.)

General Assembly blocks additional
school districts from enacting the tax

by repealing most of Chapter 5748, but
permits the six districts that had enacted
the tax before Aug. 3, 1983 to continue
doing so.

The General Assembly reinstates por-

tions of Chapter 5748, allowing additional
school districts to levy the tax. Lawmak-
ers also enact a $50 senior citizen credit.

For the first time, school districts are per-
mitted to seek voter approval for income
taxes for finite periods of time. Previous-
ly, all levies had to be continuing levies.

General Assembly permits districts to
submit to voters an income tax levy and a
property tax reduction with a single bal-
lot issue.

Personal exemptions indexed to inflation
beginning in 2000.

General Assembly gives districts the
option of levying the tax on earned
income — meaning, only wages and self-
employment income — instead of on the
traditional base of Ohio taxable income.

Comparisons with Other States
(As of October, 2010)

California, Florida, lllinois, Indiana, Mas-
sachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, New York,
Texas, and West Virginia do not have school
district income taxes.

Kentucky

Local school boards may levy an occupa-
tional license tax on compensation of individu-
als or on net profits of business at a rate up to
0.5 percent. In counties with a population over
300,000, the tax rate can be up to 0.75 percent.
Ohio

School districts can levy a tax in multiples
of 0.25 percent; rates range from 0.5 percent
to 2 percent. The tax can be enacted on either
a “traditional” base (Ohio taxable income) or
an “earned income only” base (wages and self-
employment income).

Pennsylvania

School districts (except for the School Dis-
trict of Philadelphia) are authorized to levy a
tax up to 1.5 percent on earned income and net
profits of residents. Certain school districts are
exempt from the cap, including:

e Pittsburgh: The Pittsburgh School District
levies an income tax at 2 percent on
earned income and net profits.

® Philadelphia: The School District of Phila-
delphia levies a tax on the non-business
income of Philadelphia residents. The
tax is applied to the net income from the
ownership, lease, sale, or other disposi-
tion of real property and tangible and
intangible personal property, including
the net income paid to any beneficiary
of a trust or estate and the income of
any trust or estate of which such person
is the substantial owner. In 2010 the tax
rate is 3.928 percent.
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