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State Taxes 

Taxpayer
The tax is paid by insurance companies organized 

under Ohio law.

Tax Base
The tax applies to the gross amount of premiums from 

policies for Ohio risks by insurance companies organized 
under Ohio law.

Rates
The tax rate is 1.4 percent of gross premiums. The 

minimum tax is $250. 

Major Exemptions
The tax does not apply to annuities, deposit-type life 

insurance contract funds, Medicaid, Medicare Part D, the 
government-paid portion of Medicare, or federal crop 
insurance.

Revenue (In Millions)
Fiscal                  General

  Year              Revenue Fund            Other1           Total
 2004 $166.1 $4.4 $170.5
 2005 171.4 4.7 176.1         
 2006 170.4 3.7 174.1      
 2007 169.6 2.8 172.4             
 2008 154.6 4.7 159.3            
  
Disposition of Revenue

Revenue is distributed to the General Revenue Fund, 
except for revenue from an additional 0.75 percent tax on 
fi re insurance (see Special Provisions), which is distrib-
uted to the Fire Marshal Fund.

Payment Dates
The Director of the Ohio Department of Insurance cer-

tifi es the tax liability of each insurance company to the 
Ohio Treasurer of State by the fi rst Monday of May. With-
in 20 days, the Treasurer issues a tax bill with payment 
due 20 to 30 days from the date the tax bill is mailed.

The tax year is defi ned as the year in which the tax re-
turns are due. Tax liabilities are based upon the previous 
year’s business activity.

1 The “Other”category includes distributions to the Fire Marshal Fund and the 
Attorney General Claims Fund.
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Special Provisions/Credits
Credit for smaller insurance groups: 

Insurer groups with less than $75 million in total 
U.S. premiums are eligible for a credit of up to $200,000 
against annual tax liability. The closer groups get to the 
$75 million mark, the lower the value of this credit. 
Ohio Life and Health Guaranty Association credit: 

Insurance companies receive a tax credit for the full 
amount of assessments paid into the Ohio Life and Health 
Guaranty Association. By law, insurance companies are 
required to be members of the association, a not-for-
profi t association created by Ohio law, as a condition of 
transacting business in Ohio. Should a member become 
impaired or insolvent, the other members are assessed by 
the association at a rate of up to 2 percent of gross premi-
ums to protect policy holders of the impaired or insolvent 
insurers. 
Health insurance corporations: 

Domestic insurers that are health insurance corpora-
tions are taxed at the rate of 1 percent of all premium 
payments, excluding payments received for Medicaid, 
Medicare Part D, and the government-paid portion of 
Medicare.
Fire insurance tax: 

An additional 0.75 percent tax is levied on the gross 
premiums derived from fi re insurance and that portion 
of the premium reasonably allocable to fi re insurance 
included in other coverages.

Sections of Ohio Revised Code
Sections 5725.18 to 5725.24, 5725.31, 5725.32, 5725.98, 

5729.031, and 3737.71.

Responsibility for Administration 
Director, Ohio Department of Insurance.

History of Major Changes
1830  General Assembly enacts a 4 percent tax on dividends 

paid by insurance companies.
1831 The 4 percent tax is repealed; legislature enacts 5 per-

cent tax on the dividends of “bank, insurance and bridge 
companies.” 

1846 Legislature increases tax to 6 percent on gross profi ts. 
1852  New Ohio constitution requires the taxation of all real 

and personal property according to uniform rule, and that 
corporation property be subject to taxation, same as for 
individuals. Legislature requires all insurance companies 
to list real property, tangible property, money and credits 
for taxation as property.
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1900 Legislature enacts a 0.5 percent tax on the gross premi-
ums of all insurance companies to support the state fi re 
marshal offi ce. Two years later, lawmakers limit this tax to 
fi re insurance companies. 

1933  General Assembly replaces tax on the personal property 
of insurance companies with a franchise tax on either 0.2 
percent of capital and surplus or 1.67 percent on gross 
premiums, whichever is less. 

1971  Legislature increases rates to either 0.3 percent of capital 
and surplus or 2.5 percent on gross premiums, whichever 
is less.

1979 Legislature replaces 0.5 percent tax on fi re insurance 
gross premiums with a new 0.75 percent tax. 

1981  Legislature increases tax rate on capital and surplus to 
0.6 percent. 

1989  The Ohio Life and Health Guaranty Association is estab-
lished, along with a 100 percent tax credit for assess-
ments paid by participating insurers.

1997  General Assembly enacts House Bill 215, which gradually 
phases in several major changes between 1999 and 2003. 
Changes include: 

A gradual reduction in the gross premium tax rate • 
from 2.5 percent to 1.4 percent.
A gradual elimination of the capital and surplus tax • 
base. 
A minimum tax of $250 (instead of $200).• 
An expansion of the tax credit for smaller insurer • 
groups to include those with less than $75 million 
in U.S. premiums. Previously, the limit had been $50 
million.

Comparisons with Other States (As of 12/08)
State                                            Tax Rate1

California                    In general, rates are 2.35 percent of   
 gross premiums. The rate on federally- 
 exempt pensions and profi t-sharing plans  
 is 0.5 percent.

Florida A 1 percent rate applies to annuities, a  
 0.75 percent rate applies to wet marine  
 and transportation and a 1.6 percent rate  
 applies to self-insurers. All others pay 1.75  
 percent of gross premiums. Florida’s fi re  
 marshal assessment is 1 percent.     

   

1 Other rates may apply to specifi c types of insurance and insurance providers.
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Illinois Illinois’ insurance tax is, in general, 0.5  
 percent of net premiums written in the  
 state.2 The Illinois fi re marshal tax is 1  
 percent. 

Indiana Companies are subject to Indiana’s gross  
 income tax unless they elect to pay a 1.3  
 percent tax on gross premiums. The fi re  
 insurance tax is 0.5 percent of gross   
 premiums received from Indiana-based  
 policies.          

Kentucky                      In general, the rate is 2 percent of gross  
 premiums. Additionally, a 1.5 percent sur- 
 charge applies on premiums for Kentucky  
 risks. Fire insurers pay an additional   
 surtax of 0.75 percent of premiums.   
 Life insurance companies may elect to  
 pay a tax on intangible property in lieu of  
 the gross premiums tax of 1.5 percent on  
 life insurers. 

Massachusetts             The rate is 2 percent of taxable gross  
 premiums, plus a surtax of 14 percent of  
 the tax imposed.  

Michigan                      The rate is equal to 1.25 percent of gross  
 direct premiums.

New Jersey                  In general, a rate of 1.05 percent applies  
 to the gross premiums on group accident  
 and health policies. A 2.1 percent rate  
 applies to all others.       

New York                     A 1.75 percent tax rate applies to all 
 premiums on accident and health   
 contracts. A 2 percent rate applies  
 to other, non-life insurance premiums.3

State                                            Tax Rate1 

1 Other rates may apply to specifi c types of insurance and insurance providers. 
2  Insurers are also subject to Illinois income and replacement taxes. Certain 
offsets and limits may apply.
3 Insurance companies also pay the New York corporate franchise tax.
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State                                            Tax Rate1 

1 Other rates may apply to specifi c types of insurance and insurance providers.

Ohio The rate is 1.4 percent of gross premiums.

Pennsylvania                The rate is 2 percent of gross premiums.               

Texas Life, accident, and health insurers are  
 taxed at 1.75 percent of gross premiums;  
 most others are taxed at 1.6 percent.                      

West Virginia               Rates of 3 percent to 5 percent apply,  
 depending on insurance product lines.

    


