Local Taxes

S

Individual Income Tax — School
District

Taxpayer

In districts with the “traditional” tax base, the taxpayer
is every individual residing in a school district that levies
the tax, as well as every estate of a decedent who, at the
time of death was residing in such a school district. The
tax is levied on all types of income.

In districts with an “earned income only” tax base, the
taxpayer is every individual with wages or self-employ-
ment income residing in a school district that levies the
tax.

Tax Base
Ohio taxable income:

The “traditional” tax base is Ohio taxable income,
meaning Ohio adjusted gross income, less $1,500 for
each personal and dependent exemption claimed on the
Ohio individual income tax return for 2008. The value of
these exemptions is indexed to inflation.

Earned income only:

Some school districts have enacted a tax that applies
to earned income only. In these districts, the tax base in-
cludes wages, salaries and other employee compensation
as well as self-employment income. It does not include
unearned income such as retirement income, interest,
dividends, lottery winnings, capital gains and profits from
rental property or S corporations. Residents of “earned
income only” school districts are not entitled to personal
and dependent exemptions.

Rates

Rates must be in multiples of 0.25 percent, and rates
must be approved by a vote of the school district resi-
dents before implementation.

As of January 2009, rates ranged from 0.5 percent to
2 percent in the 172 school districts that levied an income
tax. Overall, Ohio has 614 public school districts.

Of the 172 districts levying an income tax, 19 used the
“earned income only” base.

Revenue (in Millions)

Fiscal District Adm.

Year Revenue Fund Total
2004 $155.9 $2.5 $158.5
2005 180.8 2.9 183.7
2006 2171 35 221.2
2007 266.9 43 2711.2
2008 311.7 5.0 316.7
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Disposition of Revenue

The Tax Commissioner returns all revenue collected to
the school district, less 1.5 percent retained for adminis-
trative purposes.

Payment Dates

Payment dates are the same as for the state individual
income tax and state withholding tax, except that em-
ployers with larger payrolls remit withholding monthly,
rather than on a partial weekly basis. Individual taxpayers
must file a quarterly estimated payment if they expect to
be under-withheld by more than $500 for the combined
school district and Ohio individual income taxes.

Special Provisions/Credits
Senior citizen credit:

A taxpayer 65 years of age or older during the taxable
year receives a $50 credit against the amount of school
district income tax due. Only one credit is allowed for
each return.

Sections of Ohio Revised Code
Chapters 5747 and 5748.

Responsibility for Administration
Tax Commissioner.

History of Major Changes

1979 General Assembly grants school districts authority to levy
an income tax solely for repaying a state loan.

1981 Legisalture repeals 1979 law and enacts Chapter 5748
of the Ohio Revised Code, authorizing school districts to
enact a school district income tax based on Ohio tax-
able income — meaning Ohio adjusted gross income, less
personal and dependent exemptions claimed on the Ohio
individual income tax return.

1983 General Assembly blocks additional school districts from
enacting the tax by repealing most of Chapter 5748, but
permits the six districts that had enacted the tax before
Aug. 3, 1983 to continue doing so.

1989 The General Assembly reinstates portions of Chapter
5748, allowing additional school districts to levy the tax.
Lawmakers also enact a $50 senior citizen credit.

1991 For the first time, school districts are permitted to seek
voter approval for income taxes for finite periods of time.
Previously, all levies had to be continuing levies.

1992 General Assembly permits districts to submit to voters an
income tax levy and a property tax reduction with a single
ballot issue.
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1997 Personal exemptions indexed to inflation beginning in
2000.

2005 General Assembly gives districts the option of levying the
tax on earned income — meaning, only wages and self-
employment income — instead of on the traditional base
of Ohio taxable income.

Comparisons with Other States (as of 01/08)
Kentucky

Local school boards may levy an occupational license
tax on compensation of individuals or on net profits of
business at a rate up to 0.5 percent. However, in counties
with a population over 300,000 the tax rate can be up to
0.75 percent.

Ohio

School districts can levy a tax in multiples of 0.25
percent; rates range from 0.5 percent to 2 percent. The
tax can be enacted on either a “traditional” base (Ohio
taxable income) or an “earned income only” base (wages
and self-employment income).

Pennsylvania

School districts (except for the School District of Phila-
delphia) are authorized to levy a tax up to 1.5 percent on
earned income and net profits of residents. Certain school
districts are exempt from the cap.
Pittsburgh —The Pittsburgh School District levies an in-
come tax at 2 percent on earned income and net profits.
Philadelphia —The School District of Philadelphia levies a
tax on the non-business income of Philadelphia residents.
The tax is applied to the net income from the ownership,
lease, sale, or other disposition of real property and tan-
gible and intangible personal property, including the net
income paid to any beneficiary of a trust or estate and the
income of any trust or estate of which such person is the
substantial owner. In 2007 the tax rate was 4.26 percent.

California, Florida, lllinois, Indiana, Massachusetts,
Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Texas, and West Virginia
do not have school district income taxes.
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