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Taxpayer
Operators of motor vehicles on the public roads or 
highways.

Tax Base
Motor vehicles operated upon the public roads or 
highways of Ohio. Commercial vehicles based in Ohio 
and in other states pay a prorated tax based on the ra-
tio of the mileage traveled in Ohio to total mileage.

Rates
Rates listed are for a 12-month period. Registrations 
for partial years are prorated. 

Passenger cars:  $34.50
Motorcycles:  $28.50
House trailers, travel trailers:  $24.50
Transit buses:   $26.50
Non-commercial trucks (no 
more than ¾ ton)
and motor homes:  $49.50
Non-commercial trucks 
(more than ¾ ton and
less than 1.0 ton):   $84.50
Commercial trailers, 
semi-trailers:  $39.50

Notes: The registration fees shown above do not include 
deputy fees or permissive (local) taxes which vary based on 
the taxing district of the customer. Permissive tax cannot ex-
ceed $20 per vehicle and may be prorated, by law, by 50%, if 
registering for less than six months.

Commercial trucks, and tractors:
Rates vary between several weight classes depending 
on the gross weight of the vehicle. For example, for 
vehicles with a gross weight under 2,001 lbs., the base 
fee is $56. For vehicles with a gross weight between 
78,001 lbs. and 80,000 lbs., the base fee is $1,351. This 
does not include permissive taxes, which vary based 
on the taxing district.

Non-commercial trailers:
Rates vary between several weight classes depending 
on the gross weight of the vehicle. For example, for 
vehicles with a gross weight of no more than 3,000 
lbs., the base fee ranges from $16 to $42. Permissive 
taxes are not included, which are based on the taxing 
district.

MOTOR VEHICLE LICENSE TAX
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Motor Buses:
Rates vary between several weight classes depending 
on the gross weight of the vehicle. For example, for 
vehicles with a gross weight under 2,001 lbs., the base 
fee is $21. For vehicles with a gross weight between 
78,001 and 80,000 lbs., the base fee is $1,641. This does 
not include permissive taxes, which are based on the 
taxing district.

Farm Trucks:
Rates vary between several weight classes depending 
on the unladen vehicle weight. 

Major Exemptions
• Vehicles owned and operated by the federal or state  
  government or by political subdivisions of the State  
  of Ohio.

• Publicly-owned school buses used for transporting  
  public school pupils; privately-owned school buses  
  used exclusively for transporting private or public  
  school pupils to and from school or school 
  functions.

• Vehicles registered in another state until the owner  
  becomes an Ohio resident.

• Historical registrations (vehicles 25 year and older).

Revenue (In Millions)  
 

      

Disposition of Revenue
The Highway Bond Retirement Fund and the High-
way Operating Fund are allocated 42.6% of the rev-
enue from commercial vehicles having gross vehicle 
weights of 26,000 lbs. or more. After any bond retire-
ment obligations are met and payment is made to an 
administration fund for the tax, the remaining rev-
enues are distributed as follows:
• 34% to municipal corporation or county of 
  registration;

• 47% to county in which vehicle owner resides;

MOTOR VEHICLE LICENSE TAX

 Fiscal
 Year             Total
 2002           $670.2
 2003             673.3
 2004             770.8
 2005             773.8
 2006             831.8 
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• 9.0% to counties in the ratio of the number of miles  
  of county roads to the state total;

• 5.0% to townships in the ratio of the number of   
  miles of township roads to the state total; and

• 5.0% divided equally among counties.

Payment Dates
• Commercial vehicles: 
  Staggered registration – vehicles are registered
  based on the last two digits of the social security  
  number or tax ID. All vehicles are to be registered by  
  the last day of their expiration month.

• Passenger cars and noncommercial vehicles are  
  required to be registered annually by the owner’s  
  birth date.

Special Provisions/Credits
Several sections of the Ohio Revised Code give coun-
ties, municipalities and townships the option to enact 
an additional $5.00 per vehicle local permissive tax 
levy. Counties have the authority to enact three dif-
ferent levies. Municipalities can enact four different 
levies, and townships have the authority to enact one 
levy. The total permissive tax levy, however, cannot 
exceed $20 per district (the combination of all county, 
municipal and township levies).

Special license plate numbers or letter combinations 
are available at an additional cost.

Dealers of manufactured homes and existing mobile 
homes must pay the motor vehicle license tax. Owners 
of manufactured and existing mobile homes, however, 
are subject to either the manufactured home tax or 
real property tax.  

Sections of Ohio Revised Code
Chapters 4501, 4503 and 4504.

Responsibility for Administration
• The Registrar of the Ohio Department of Public 
  Safety, Bureau of Motor Vehicles is the primary 
  administrator.

• The Registrar may appoint private individuals,   
  nonprofi t corporations, county auditors and clerks of  
  courts of common pleas in counties having a popu- 
  lation of less than 40,000 as deputy registrars. 

MOTOR VEHICLE LICENSE TAX
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History of Major Changes
1906  •  Registration fee of $5 for all gasoline or steam motor 
    vehicles enacted.
1920  •  Separate license taxes for motorcycles, passenger cars,  
    and commercial vehicles enacted.
1925  •  Graduated rate schedule for commercial vehicles
    enacted.
1932  •  Rates increased for motorcycles, passenger cars, and  
    commercial vehicles; method of revenue distribution  
    amended.
1937  •  Rate schedule on farm trucks enacted.
1948  •  Passenger car levy increased to $10.
1949  •  Separate levy on house trailers enacted.
1951  •  Separate graduated rate schedule on motor buses
    enacted; levy on commercial vehicles increased.
1953  •  Department of Highway Safety (containing the Bureau of  
    Motor Vehicles) created; current method of revenue   
    distribution enacted.
1957  •  Separate levy on transit buses enacted.
1967  •  Counties and municipalities permitted to levy $5 
    permissive license tax.
1980  •  Permissive authority given to Bureau of Motor Vehicles to  
    have registration by mail.
   •  Rates on passenger cars, motorcycles, house and travel  
    trailers doubled; rates on all other vehicles increased.
1988  •  Registration according to owner’s birthdate enacted.
   •  Bureau of Motor Vehicles required to begin mail
    registration.
1989  •  Converted the fee structure of commercial vehicle regis- 
    trations from unladen weight to gross vehicle weight as  
    of June, 1991.
2002  •  Phased-in increases of operational fees paid to deputy  
    registrars goes from $2.25 to $2.75 in 2001, and to $3.25 
    in 2003.
2003  •  Registration fees increased by $11 to compensate for 
    revenue transferred from the Ohio Highway Patrol and  
    the Department of Public Safety to the Department of  
    Transportation for distribution to counties, municipalities,  
    and townships.
2004 •  Biennial registration permitted. 
   •  Staggered registration begun for commercial vehicles. 
2005  •  Print-on-demand (POD) forms for vehicle registrations  
    replaced the preprinted consigned application forms. 
   • Business Applications Services System (BASS) 
    implemented statewide. Customers began receiving 
    8 ½” x 11” registration cards.
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Comparisons with Other States (As of 05/07)*

California              $49.00, plus 0.65% of market $1,431.00
      value. Electric vehicles 
      are an additional $10.

Florida                   $27.60 - $45.60, depending $694.60
      on weight of vehicle.

Illinois   $78    $2,253.00

Indiana  $20.75 plus an excise tax of $810.00  
      $12 - $532, based on selling
      price when new and age of vehicle.

Kentucky  $11.50                                                         $1,007.00

Massachusetts    $36 fee, plus excise tax of $900.00
      $25 per $1,000 of value based 
      on age of vehicle.

Michigan  $29 to $148 based on year $1,268.00 
      and weight of vehicles valued 
      up to $30,000. Minimum fee of 
      $148 for vehicles valued 
      over $30,000.   

New Jersey      $35.50 - $84.00, based on $928.50
      weight and model year.

New York Variable based on weight: $345.75
       minimum   =  $10.25 
       maximum  =  $56.00; 
      electric-propelled  =  $13.00       

Pennsylvania $36 $891.00

Texas   $40.50 - $58.50 based on model year  $619.00
      for vehicles weighing up to 6,000 lbs. 

      $25 plus $0.60 per 100 lbs. for
      vehicles weighing over 6,000 lbs.

MOTOR VEHICLE LICENSE TAX

                                       Passenger                                       Commercial
State                                  Cars                                                 Vehicles

Note: * Comparisons based on a truck of 60,000 lbs. gross 
weight. Estimate of fees does not consider additional vari-
able fees legislated by state and local governments, as well 
as miscellaneous state and/or local exemptions that might 
increase the fee charged.
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West Virginia $28.50 $816.25

Note: * Comparisons based on a truck of 60,000 lbs. gross 
weight. Estimate of fees does not consider additional vari-
able fees legislated by state and local governments, as well 
as miscellaneous state and/or local exemptions that might 
increase the fee charged.

                                       Passenger                                       Commercial
State                                  Cars                                                 Vehicles


