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Taxpayer
Insurance companies organized under Ohio law.

Tax Base
Gross amount of premiums from policies for Ohio 
risks by insurance companies organized under Ohio 
law.

Rates
• 1.4% of gross premiums.
• The minimum tax is $250. 

Major Exemptions
Annuities, deposit-type life insurance contract funds, 
Medicaid, government-paid portion of Medicare, and 
federal crop insurance.

Revenue (In Millions)
 Fiscal General
  Year Revenue Fund

     

   

Disposition of Revenue
•  Revenue from additional 0.75% tax on fi re insur- 
  ance to the Fire Marshal Fund (see Special 
  Provisions).
•  Remainder to the General Revenue Fund.

Payment Dates
The Director of the Ohio Department of Insurance 
certifi es the tax liability of each insurance company 
to the Ohio Treasurer of State by the fi rst Monday of 
May. Within 20 days, the Treasurer issues a tax bill with 
payment due 20 to 30 days from the date the tax bill is 
mailed.

The tax year is defi ned as the year in which the tax re-
turns are due. Tax liabilities are based upon the previ-
ous year’s business activity.

Special Provisions/Credits
A tax credit for insurer groups with less than $75 mil-
lion in total country-wide premiums was phased in 

  2002               $132.5
  2003                 160.3
  2004                 166.1
  2005                 171.4
  2006                 170.4  
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from tax year 1999 to 2003, resulting in a maximum 
credit of $200,000 in tax year 2003 and beyond.

Members of the Ohio Life and Health Guaranty As-
sociation are subject to assessment by the associa-
tion. (The association is organized not-for-profi t under 
the Ohio Revised Code and is operated by a board 
of directors. Insurance companies are required to be 
members as a condition of transacting business in the 
state.) Should a member become impaired or insol-
vent, the other members are assessed at a rate not to 
exceed 2.0% of their gross premiums to protect policy 
holders of the impaired or insolvent insurers. A 100% 
tax credit is given to members equal to assessments 
paid to the association.

Domestic insurers that are health insurance corpora-
tions are taxed at the rate of 1.0% of all premium pay-
ments, exclusive of payments received for Medicaid 
and the government-paid portion of Medicare.

An additional 0.75% tax is levied on the gross premi-
ums derived from fi re insurance and that portion of 
the premium reasonably allocable to fi re insurance 
included in other coverages.

Sections of Ohio Revised Code
Sections 5725.18 to 5725.24, 5725.31, 5725.32, 5725.98, 
5729.031, and 3737.71.

Responsibility for Administration 
Director, Ohio Department of Insurance.

History of Major Changes
1830  •  4.0% property tax on dividends paid by 
    insurance companies.
1852  •  Insurance companies required to list real  
    property, tangible property, money, and credits   
    for taxation.
1933  •  Changed to a franchise tax on the smaller of   
    either: 0.2% of capital and surplus, or 1.67% 
    on premiums.
1971  •  Franchise tax rate changed to the smaller of either:
    0.3% of capital and surplus, or 2.5% on gross premiums.
1981  •  Capital and surplus rate increased to 0.6%.
1989  •  Established the Ohio Life and Health Guaranty Associa- 
    tion and assessment; 100% tax credit for assessment paid  
    by participating insurers.
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1997  •  Rate for domestic insurers reduced to 1.4% and phased in  
    over tax years 1999 to 2002. Minimum tax of $250 
    (increased from $200) established beginning in 2003. 
   •  Tax credit for insurer groups with less than $75 million in  
    country-wide premiums phased in from tax year 1999 to  
    2002. The threshold was $50 million prior to July 1, 1999.
   •  Capital and surplus tax base phased out over tax years  
    1999 through 2002. Beginning with tax year 2003, tax   
    based solely on gross premiums.

Comparisons with Other States (As of 05/07)
State                                           Tax Rate(1)
California                    In general, 2.35% of gross premiums; 
         federally exempt pensions and profi t-
         sharing plans, 0.5%.

Florida                         Annuities 1.0%(2); wet marine and 
 transportation, 0.75%; self-insurers, 1.6%;  
 all others, 1.75% of gross premiums. Fire  
 marshal assessment is 1.0%.        

Illinois                         0.5% of net premiums written in the state,  
 except 0.4% for health maintenance 
 organizations.

Indiana                        Companies are subject to gross income tax  
 unless they elect to pay 1.3% tax on gross  
 premiums; fi re insurance, 0.5% of gross     
 premiums received from Indiana-based  
 policies.          

Kentucky                     In general, 2.0% of gross premiums, plus  
 1.5% surcharge on premiums for Kentucky  
 risks. Fire insurers pay an additional surtax  
 of 0.75% of premiums. Life insurance com- 
 panies may elect to pay a tax on intangible  
 property in lieu of the gross premiums tax. 

Massachusetts           2.0% of taxable gross premiums, plus a  
 surtax of 14% of the tax imposed.  
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Notes: (1) Other rates may apply to specifi c types of insur-
ance and insurance providers. (2) Domestic insurers main-
taining their home offi ce in Florida are exempt. (3) Insurers 
are subject to Illinois income and replacement taxes, also. 
Certain offsets and limits may apply. (4) Insurance companies 
also pay New York corporate franchise tax.   
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State                                           Tax Rate(1)
Michigan                     Single-business tax plus surcharge of 1.26  
 times the taxpayers’ liability, which results  
 in an effective tax rate of 1.0735% on   
 company’s adjusted receipts less credits

New Jersey                 In general, 1.05% of gross premiums on  
 group accident and health; all others 2.1%.       

New York                    1.75% for all premiums on accident and  
 health contracts;  2.0% on other non-life  
 insurance premiums.(3)

Pennsylvania               2.0% of gross premiums.               

Texas                            Life, accident, and health insurers are   
 taxed at 1.75% of gross premiums; most  
 others are taxed at 1.6%.                      

West Virginia              Rates of 3.0% to 4.0%, depending on 
 insurance product lines. Additional surtax  
 of 0.5% on fi re policies, except farmers’   
 fi re mutual policies.    

Notes: (1) Other rates may apply to specifi c types of insur-
ance and insurance providers. (2) Domestic insurers main-
taining their home offi ce in Florida are exempt. (3) Insurers 
are subject to Illinois income and replacement taxes, also. 
Certain offsets and limits may apply. (4) Insurance companies 
also pay New York corporate franchise tax.                                 
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