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Taxpayer
Operators of  motor vehicles on the public roads or highways.

Tax Base
Motor vehicles operated upon the public roads or highways of
Ohio. Commercial vehicles based in Ohio and in other states pay
a prorated tax based on the ratio of the mileage traveled in Ohio
to total mileage.

Rates
Rates listed are for a 12-month period. Registrations for partial
years are prorated.

Passenger cars: $34.50
Motorcycles: $28.50
House trailers, travel trailers, mopeds: $24.50
Non-commercial trucks
(no more than 3/4 ton)
and motor homes: $49.50
Non-commercial trucks
(more than 3/4 ton and
less than 1.0 ton): $84.50
Commercial trailers,
semi-trailers: $39.50

Notes: The registration fees shown above do not include
permissive (local) taxes which vary based on the taxing district of
the customer. Permissive tax cannot exceed $20 per vehicle and
may be prorated, by law, by 50%, if  registering for less than six
months.

Commercial trucks, and tractors:
Rates vary between several weight classes depending on the
gross weight of  the vehicle. For example, for vehicles with a
gross weight under 2,001 lbs., the tax is $56. For vehicles
with a gross weight between 78,001 lbs. and 80,000 lbs.,
the tax is $1,351.

Non-commercial trailers:
Rates vary between several weight classes depending on the
gross weight of  the vehicle. For example, for vehicles with a
gross weight of  no more than 3,000 lbs., the tax ranges
from $16 to $42.
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Motor (Commercial) Buses:
Rates vary between several weight classes depending on the
gross weight of  the vehicle. For example, for vehicles with a
gross weight under 2,001 lbs., the tax is $21. For vehicles
with a gross weight between 78,001 and 80,000 lbs., the tax
is $1,641.

Farm Trucks:
Rates vary between several weight classes depending on the
unladen vehicle weight. For example, for vehicles with an
unladen weight between 2,901-3,000 lbs., the tax is $31. For
vehicles over 10,001-10,100 lbs. unladen weight, the tax
is $138.25.

Major Exemptions
• Vehicles owned and operated by the federal or state government

or by political subdivisions of  the State of  Ohio.
• Publicly-owned school buses used for transporting public

school pupils; privately-owned school buses used exclusively
for transporting private or public school pupils to and from
school or school functions.

• Vehicles registered in another state until owner becomes an
Ohio resident.

• Historical registrations (vehicles more than 25 years old).

Revenue (In Millions)
Fiscal
Year             Total
2001 $656.9
2002 670.2
2003 673.3
2004 770.8
2005 773.8

Disposition of Revenue
The Highway Bond Retirement Fund and the Highway Operating
Fund are allocated 42.6% of the revenue from commercial vehicles
having gross vehicle weights of  26,000 lbs. or more. After any
bond retirement obligations are met and payment is made to an
administration fund for the tax, the remaining revenues are
distributed as follows:
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• 34% to municipal corporation or county of registration;
• 47% to county in which vehicle owner resides;
• 9.0% to counties in the ratio of the number of miles

of county roads to the state total;
• 5.0% to townships in the ratio of  the number of  miles

of  township roads to the state total; and
• 5.0% divided equally among counties.

Payment Dates
• Commercial vehicles: March 1 - May 31.
• Passenger cars and noncommercial vehicles are required to be

registered annually on the owner’s birthdate.

Special Provisions/Credits
Several sections of  the Ohio Revised Code give counties,
municipalities, and townships the option to enact an additional
$5.00 per vehicle local permissive tax levy. Counties have the
authority to enact three different levies. Municipalities can
enact four different levies, and townships have the authority
to enact one levy. The total permissive tax levy, however, cannot
exceed $20 per district (the combination of  all county, municipal
and township levies).

Special license plate numbers or letter combinations are
available at an additional cost.

Dealers of manufactured homes and existing mobile homes
must pay the motor vehicle license tax. Owners of  manufactured
and existing mobile homes, however, are subject to either the
manufactured home tax or real property tax.

Sections of Ohio Revised Code
Chapters 4501, 4503 and 4504.

Responsibility for Administration
• The Registrar of  the Ohio Department of  Public Safety, Bureau of

Motor Vehicles is the primary administrator.
• The Registrar may appoint private individuals, nonprofit

corporations, county auditors, and clerks of  courts of  common
pleas in counties having a population of less than 40,000 as
deputy registrars.
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History of Major Changes
1906 • Registration fee of $5 for all gasoline or steam motor

vehicles enacted.

1920 • Separate license taxes for motorcycles, passenger
cars, and commercial vehicles enacted.

1925 • Graduated rate schedule for commercial vehicles enacted.

1932 • Rates increased for motorcycles, passenger cars, and
commercial vehicles; method of revenue distribution
amended.

1937 • Rate schedule on farm trucks enacted.

1948 • Passenger car levy increased to $10.

1949 • Separate levy on house trailers enacted.

1951 • Separate graduated rate schedule on motor buses
enacted; levy on commercial vehicles increased.

1953 • Department of Highway Safety (containing the Bureau of
Motor Vehicles) created; current method of  revenue
distribution enacted.

1957 • Separate levy on transit buses enacted.

1967 • Counties and municipalities permitted to levy $5
permissive license tax.

1980 • Permissive authority given to Bureau of  Motor Vehicles to
have registration by mail.

• Rates on passenger cars, motorcycles, house and travel
trailers doubled; rates on all other vehicles increased.

1987 • Additional authority given to counties, municipalities.

1988 • Registration according to owner’s birthdate enacted.
• Bureau of  Motor Vehicles required to begin mail

registration.
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1989 • Legislation enacted which converted the fee structure of
commercial vehicle registrations from unladen weight to
gross vehicle weight as of  June, 1991.

1996 • Seven-digit plate issued to provide more combinations.

2000 • Ohio’s online registration program, Oplates.com, began.

2001 • Bicentennial plates issued to commemorate 200th

anniversary of Ohio’s statehood.

2002 • Phased-in increases of operational fees paid to deputy
registrars goes from $2.25 to $2.75 in 2001, and to $3.25
in 2003.

2003 • Registration fees increased by $11 to compensate for
revenue transferred from the Ohio Highway Patrol and the
Department of Public Safety to the Department of
Transportation for distribution to counties, municipalities,
and townships.

2004 • New sunburst Ohio plates issued.
• Biennial registration permitted.
• Staggered registration begun for commercial vehicles.
• Motorcycle plate becomes national standard size.

2005 • Print-on-demand (POD) forms for vehicle registrations
replaced the preprinted consigned application forms.
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Comparisons with Other States (As of 04/06)*
                                       Passenger Commercial
State Cars Vehicles

California $41.00, plus 0.65% of $1,431.00
market value. Electric
vehicles are an
additional $10.

Florida $27.60 - $45.60, depending $678.00
on age and weight
of vehicle.

Illinois $78 $1,970.00

Indiana $20.75 plus an excise tax of $819.75
$12 - $532, based on selling
price when new and age
of vehicle.

Kentucky $11.50 $1,007.00

Massachusetts $36 one-time fee, plus $900.00
excise tax of $25 per $1,000 of
value based on age of  vehicle.

Michigan $29 to $148 based on year $1,268.00
and weight, or price plus
length of  ownership.

New Jersey $32.50 - $81.00, based on $954.50
weight and model year.

New York Variable based on weight: $931.00

Motor Vehicle License Tax

minimum = $10.35
maximum =  $56.06

electric-propelled = $12.94

Note: *Comparisons based on a truck of 60,000 lbs. gross
weight. Estimate of  fees does not consider additional variable
fees legislated by state and local governments, or miscellaneous
state and/or local exemptions that might increase the fee.
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Comparisons with Other States (As of 04/06)*
                                       Passenger Commercial
State Cars Vehicles

Pennsylvania $36 $999.00

Texas $40.50 - $58.50 based on $619.00
model year for vehicles
weighing up to 6,000 lbs.
$25 plus $0.60 per 100 lbs. for
vehicles weighing over 6,000 lbs.

West Virginia  $28.50 $816.00

Note: *Comparisons based on a truck of 60,000 lbs. gross
weight. Estimate of  fees does not consider additional variable
fees legislated by state and local governments, or miscellaneous
state and/or local exemptions that might increase the fee.
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