
      
                                         

State Taxes 

Estate Tax 

Taxpayer 
The estate representative (executor, administrator, trustee, etc.) 
or person in possession of  taxable property. 

Tax Base 
The net taxable estate equals the value of  the gross estate less 
allowable deductions. 

Rates
      Net 

Taxable Estate Tax Rate 
0 - $40,000 2.0% of taxable estate 

$40,001 - 100,000 $800 + 3.0% of excess over 
$40,000 

100,001 - 200,000 2,600 + 4.0% of excess over 
100,000 

200,001 - 300,000 6,600 + 5.0% of excess over 
200,000 

300,001 - 500,000 11,600 + 6.0% of excess over 
300,000

 500,001 and over 23,600 + 7.0% of excess over 
500,000 

Major Exemptions 
• Marital Deduction: 

A marital deduction is allowed in an amount equal to the net 
value of  any asset passing from the decedent to the 
surviving spouse, but only to the extent that the 
asset is included in the value of  the Ohio gross estate. 

• Other Deductions: 
Certain items eligible to be deducted from the gross estate 
prior to calculating tax liability include, but are not limited 
to: funeral expenses, costs of  administering the estate, 
unpaid debts against the estate, charitable bequests, 
portions of an annuity or other death benefit plan 
contributed by an employer, and qualified family-owned 
business interests. 
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Revenue (In Millions)(1)
 General 

Fiscal Local Revenue 
Year Governments Fund Total 
2000 $294.7 $140.0 $434.7 
2001 285.6 166.0 451.6 
2002 259.2 116.3 375.5 
2003 256.9 100.8 357.7 
2004 226.1 64.2 290.3 

Notes: (1)State General Revenue Fund figures are based on 
actual receipts reported by the Office of Budget and Management. 
Local government figures represent a liability because they are 
based on the certification of the local share (including fees) from the 
semi-annual settlements that occur each year. 

Disposition of Revenue 
Estates with dates of death on or after January 1, 2002: 
•	 80% to the municipal corporation or township of  origin; 
•	 20%, less costs of local administration, to the state General 

Revenue Fund. 

Effective for dates of death on or after June 29, 2004, local 
governments share in the costs of administering the estate tax in the 
same 80/20 split as the disposition of  estate tax revenue. 

Payment Dates 
The estate tax return is to be filed within nine months of the 
decedent’s death. However, an automatic six-month extension is 
granted to all estates. Payment of the estate tax is due at the 
expiration of  nine months from the date of  the decedent’s death 
to the treasurer of the county where the estate tax return was 
filed. 

Special Provisions/Credits 
For estates with a date of death on or after January 1, 2002, the 
credit is equal to the lesser of $13,900 or the amount of estate 
tax owed. This effectively exempts the first $338,333 of  the 
taxable estate from taxation. 

Additional Estate Tax: 
Tax levied in addition to the basic estate tax, to take advantage 
of  a federal law which allows a credit against federal estate tax 
liability for state death taxes paid. In general, the amount of 
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additional tax due and payable is the difference between the 
maximum federal credit allowed prior to the Economic Growth 
and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of  2001 minus state death taxes 
paid to Ohio and other states, U.S. territories, and the District of 
Columbia. 

Generation-Skipping Tax: 
Tax levied to take advantage of  a federal law allowing a state 
credit against federal tax liability on generation-skipping 
transfers of  property. Generation-skipping tax is a tax on 
transfers of  property which are made by a transferor to a transferee 
when said transferee is defined to be more than one generation 
removed from the transferor. The tax was adopted to ensure the 
obtaining of at least one transfer tax per generation. 

The tax is levied on every generation-skipping transfer of property 
having a situs in Ohio that occurs at the same time as, and as a 
result of, the death of  an individual. The Ohio tax is levied in an 
amount equal to the federal credit. The credit shall not exceed 5.0% 
of the amount of the generation-skipping transfer tax imposed, and 
applies to taxable distributions and taxable terminations, but not to 
direct skips. A direct skip occurs where a transfer is made to a party 
two or more generations removed from the transferor without any 
intermediate generation having an interest in the funds transferred. 

Sections of Ohio Revised Code 
Chapter 5731. 

Responsibility for Administration 
The Tax Commissioner administers the estate tax. The tax is 
collected locally by the treasurer of the county in which the 
decedent resided. Tax due for a nonresident decedent owning 
real property or tangible personal property in Ohio is paid to 
the county where the return is filed. This is generally the county 
in which the majority of  the real property or tangible personal 
property is located. 

History of Major Changes 
1893 • First Ohio death tax enacted – an inheritance tax 

levied on the succession of property from a 
decedent’s estate. 

1968 • Inheritance tax repealed and an estate tax levied 
on taxable value of  the estate. 
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1976 • Surviving spouse exemption raised from 
$20,000 to $30,000. 

1979 • Resident decedent estates with gross value under 
$5,000 exempted from filing returns. 

1982 • Resident decedent estates with gross value under 
$10,000 exempted from filing returns, and all 
previous general and family exemptions doubled 
in amount. 

1983 • Tax credit and marital deduction adopted, family 
and general exemptions repealed, and resident 
decedent estates with gross value under 
$25,000 exempted from filing returns. 

1993 • Unlimited marital deduction became effective 
July 1, 1993. 

1997 • Effective March 7, 1997, excluded from taxable 
estate that portion of an annuity or other death 
benefit plan contributed by an employer. 

1999 • Increased from $25,000 to $40,000 the amount 
of property or money that a surviving spouse 
and/or children of the decedent can claim as an 
allowance for support. 

• Increased from $85,000 to $100,000 the 
maximum value of  a decedent’s estate that can 
be relieved from administration, but only where 
the surviving spouse is entitled to inherit all 
assets of  the estate. 

2000 • Two year phased-in increase of  the estate tax 
credit from $500 to $13,900. 

• Two year phased-in increase of  the local share of 
estate tax revenue from 64% to 80%, lowering the state 
share from 36% to 20%. 

• Deduction created for qualifying family-owned 
business interests. 

• A trustee’s duty to distribute income at least 
annually to a surviving spouse from an IRA marital 
deduction trust is satisfied so long as the 
language is in place to require that distribution. 
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2001 • Adoption of provisions (where certain 
circumstances apply) increasing from nine months 
to 13 months the time frame within which an 
executor or administrator, after the date of  their 
appointment, shall collect decedent’s assets and 
complete the estate administration. 

2002 • Provisions adopted that shortened the amount of time that 
another person must survive a decedent in order to inherit; 
also expanded the presumptive order of death to include 
probate and nonprobate transfers. 

2003 • Procedures enacted for distribution of a trust estate when a 
probate court terminates a trust with a fair market value of 
less than $100,000; also expanded the prohibition against 
trusts accumulating more than one year of income interest 
granted to a surviving spouse where that income interest is 
eligible for a qualified terminable interest property 
deduction. 

2004 • Requirement expanded for sharing of administrative costs 
of  estate tax between local governments and the state in 
proportion to their respective share of gross estate tax 
revenues; local governments required to pay 80%, and the 
state 20%. 

Comparisons with Other States (As of 04/05) 
Unlike Ohio, some states, including Indiana, Kentucky, New 
Jersey, and Pennsylvania levy inheritance taxes rather than 
estate taxes. An inheritance tax is based upon the succession of 
property transferred to an individual and the relationship of that 
individual to the decedent, rather than upon the value of  the 
estate itself. 

Other states, including California, Florida, Michigan, 
Pennsylvania, Texas, and West Virginia, levy a pick-up tax 
equivalent to the current federal credit. 

The following states have de-coupled their estate tax from the 
federal code: Illinois, Massachusetts, New Jersey, and New 
York. 
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