
  

 

PROPERTY TAX – REAL 

TAXPAYER 
All real property owners unless specifically exempt. 

TAX BASE 
The taxable base is the assessed value of land and buildings. 
Assessed value is 35 percent of market value, except for 
certain agricultural land. County auditors must reappraise all real 
estate once every six years. Equalization adjustments are made 
in the third year following reappraisal. 

RATES 
Real property tax rates vary with taxing jurisdiction. Total tax 
rate includes all levies, enacted by legislative authority or 
approved by the voters, for all taxing jurisdictions 
within which the property is located (e.g., county, township, 
municipal corporation, school disctict). 

The 2002 average statewide gross tax rate was 81.09 mills. 
Application of “tax reduction factors” resulted in an average 
statewide effective tax rate of 52.52 mills. 

The Ohio Constitution prohibits governmental units from levying 
property taxes which in total exceed 1.0 percent of  true value 
unless approved by the voters. Ohio law further limits property 
taxes to 1.0 percent of taxable value; this provision is known as 
the 10-mill limitation. 

MAJOR EXEMPTIONS 
State law has implemented the following exceptions: 

Land devoted exclusively to commercial agricultural use 
may be valued according to current use instead of 
“highest and best” use. 

Certified air, water and noise pollution control facilities 
are exempt. 

Property of  governmental and private institutional 
owners is exempt on grounds of ownership and/or 
usage under a general legislative authority for exempting 
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PROPERTY TAX – REAL 

real property (examples include schools, hospitals, 
churches, and municipal corporations). 

Tax abatements are granted by county, township, and 
municipal governments on qualified real property for a 
designated time period for the purposes of  economic 
and community development. 

REVENUE (IN MILLIONS) 

Property Tax Relief 
Tax Taxes Charged  Percentage Homestead 
Year Before Relief(1) Rollback(2) Exemption 
1999 $8,129.3 $922.3 $66.3 
2000 8,697.8 991.0  65.0 
2001 9,183.4 1,035.1 64.0 
2002 9,807.9(3) 1,123.5 63.7 

Notes: (1) Taxes charged represent real estate and public utility 
real property taxes after tax reduction factors but before the 
10 percent and 2.5 percent rollbacks and homestead 
exemption. (2) Percentage rollback represents the 10 
percent rollback for all real property, including public utility 
real property, and the 2.5 percent rollback for residential real 
proper ty. (3) Percentage rollback and homestead exemption 
figures are estimated. 

DISPOSITION OF REVENUE 
Revenue is distributed to the counties, municipalities, townships, 
and school districts according to the taxable values and total 
millage levied by each. Statewide, school districts receive 
approximately two-thirds of  the total real property tax revenue. 

PAYMENT DATES 
December 31: full amount of tax (or one-half) is due; June 20: 
balance due. 

Each county is permitted, but is not required, to extend the 
aforementioned due dates for the taxpayer’s payments of 
the tax to January 31 and to July 20, respectively, because of 
cer tain delays affecting property tax administration. Upon 
application by a county treasurer alone or by a county auditor 
and treasurer  together, the Tax Commissioner may grant further 
extensions of time in which the county must collect the tax. 
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PROPERTY TAX – REAL 

SPECIAL PROVISIONS/CREDITS 
If  a school district has a total voted and unvoted current 
expense millage exceeding 20 mills, its effective millage after 
application of  reduction factors (see below) cannot fall below 
20 mills. If  the initial calculation of the factors does drop the 
effective current expense rate below 20 mills, the factors must 
be recalculated to arrive at 20 mills. Joint vocational schools 
have the same provision with a floor of 2.0 mills. 

Forest land devoted exclusively to forestry or timber growing 
may be taxed at 50 percent of the local rate. 

Three major state laws allow property tax credits (direct 
reductions of tax rather than reductions of value). These include 
the percentage rollback, homestead exemption, 
and tax reduction factor. 

Percentage Rollback: 
State law grants tax relief in the form of  a 10 percent reduction 
in each taxpayer’s real property tax bill. In addition to the 10 
percent rollback, a 2.5 percent rollback is granted on real 
property taxes for owner-occupied dwellings. The state 
reimburses local governments for these tax losses. 

Homestead Exemption: 
This tax relief is granted to qualified low income, elderly and 
disabled homeowners, as well as to cer tain surviving spouses. 
The tax reduction is reimbursed to local governments by the 
state. The tax reduction under the homestead exemption is equal 
to the gross millage rate multiplied by a reduction in taxable 
value determined by the income class of homeowner. The 
income classes are increased based on inflation factors to 
determine eligibility. Also, taxable value reductions were indexed. 
In 2002, the dollar amount of reductions was also indexed. For 
tax year 2003, the income classes and the reduction in values 
were as follows: 

Total Income of Reduce Taxable Value 
Owner and Spouse By the Lesser of 
$12,800 or less $5,200 or 75 percent of taxable value 

12,801 - $18,700 3,200 or 60 percent of taxable value 
18,701 - 24,700 1,000 or 25 percent of taxable value 
24,701 and over  -0-
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Tax Reduction Factor: 
Percentage reductions are applied to taxes levied against real 
property after reappraisal or update. Separate percentage 
reductions are applied to two classes of  real property: 
Class I, consisting of residential and agricultural proper ty, and 
Class II, consisting of commercial, industrial, mineral and public 
utility real property. These reductions do not apply to any 
tangible personal property. 

Reduction factors remain in effect until an increase or decrease 
in value occurs because of  the revaluation of existing property. 
Revised reduction factors are then calculated and applied. The 
computation of these percentage reductions is a rather complex 
process. However, the basic effect is to eliminate increases in 
revenue from voted taxes which might occur when existing real 
proper ty in a taxing unit is reappraised or updated. 

SECTIONS OF OHIO REVISED CODE 
Chapters 319, 321, 323, 5701, 5705, 5709, 5713, 5715 and 
5721. 

RESPONSIBILITY FOR ADMINISTRATION 
Primarily county auditors, county treasurers, county boards of 
revision, and the Tax Commissioner. 

HISTORY OF MAJOR CHANGES 
1851 • New constitution required taxation of  all property 

by uniform rule (but expressly authorized 
exemption for cer tain property classes, e.g., 
churches, schools, etc.). 

1902 • Eliminated state property tax levies for general 
fund. 

1910 • Culmination of  reform movement led to creation of 
single State Tax  Commission to supervise local 
property tax administration. 

1925 • First statutory requirement for six-year reappraisal 
cycle enacted. 

1927 • Statute set aggregate tax limit of 15 mills on each 
dollar of tax valuation except for taxes approved 
by voters (1.0 percent of true value since 1911). 
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1931 • Constitutional amendment limited levies without 
voters’ approval  to 1.5 percent of  true value. 

1933 • Constitution set limit of 1.0 percent of true value on 
non-voted levies. 

1934 • Statute reduced aggregate tax limit from 15 mills to 
10 mills for non-voted levies. 

1939 • State Tax Commission replaced by: Depar tment of 
Taxation; the Board of Tax  Appeals, to supervise 
real property tax administration; and a Tax 
Commissioner, who assumed functions with respect 
to taxation of  public utility proper ty. 

1965 • First statutory requirement that real property be 
assessed at no more than 50 percent of true value, 
with actual percentage to be established by uniform 
rule of  Board of Tax Appeals. 

1971 • Enactment of 10 percent rollback and homestead 
exemptions. 

1972 • BTA rule set tax value at 35 percent of true value to 
be implemented by all counties as they complete 
their sexennial reappraisal cycle, with annual 
adjustments to maintain the 35 percent level. 

1973 • Top income bracket of the homestead exemption 
increased from $8,000 to $10,000. 

1974 •  Valuation of agricultural property to be based upon 
current use (1973  constitutional amendment). 

1975 • Homestead exemption extended to permanently 
and totally disabled homeowners. 

1976 • Real property tax credits provided; real proper ty 
valuations updated every  three years; state 
Department of Tax Equalization created. 
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• Definition of “total income” for homestead 
exemption amended to exclude disability benefits 
paid by the Veterans Administration and other 
branches of the armed services, and Social Security 
income increases occurring after initial application 
for homestead exemption. 

• The limit of each homestead exemption income 
bracket increased by $1,000 (except the highest 
bracket). 

1978 • Effective June 30, 1978, the due date for payment 
of real property taxes (full amount or one-half  of 
it) changed from December 20 to December 31. 

1979 • A 2.5 percent tax rollback on residential property 
granted. 

• Upper income limit of the homestead exemption set 
at $15,000 and three $5,000 income brackets 
created. 

• Constitutional amendment passed effective for 1980 
that allowed separate percentage reduction factors 
applied to two classes of real property (combined

    value of residential and agricultural property and 
value of  all other real property). 

1983 • Department of Tax Equalization eliminated and all of 
its functions transferred to the Department of 
Taxation. 

1986 • The limit of each homestead exemption income 
bracket increased by $1,500 beginning in tax year 
1988. 

1991 • Homestead exemption extended to surviving 
spouses of homestead exemption recipients (1990 
constitutional amendment). 

1995 • The limit of each homestead exemption income 
bracket increased by $4,300 beginning in tax year 
1995. 

1998 • Treasurers in counties with a population of  at least 
200,000 permitted to issue tax certificates on 
delinquent real property. 
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1999 • The limit of each homestead exemption income 
bracket increased by 10.6 percent for tax year 
1999. The brackets (tax year 2000) and the taxable 
value reductions (tax year 2002) indexed annually 
based on inflation. 

• Certain manufactured homes that would otherwise 
be subject to the manufactured home tax converted 
to, and taxed as, real property. 

• Each board of county commissioners permitted to 
charge a lower real estate transfer fee for 
homestead exemption qualifiers than for other 
taxpayers. 

2003 • Definition of exemption for land devoted exclusively 
to agricultural use expanded to include land used 
for conservation purposes to abate soil erosion, 
provided that these practices do not comprise 
more than 25 percent of the land otherwise qualified 
as exclusively devoted to agricultural use. 
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COMPARISONS WITH OTHER STATES (AS OF 12/03) 
The complexity of real estate laws prevents a simple rate 
comparison among states. However, the table below highlights 
the property tax liability on the median residential home value in 
the largest city in each of  the thirteen selected states for 1999. 
Note: (Data is sorted by descending value on “Property Tax on 
Median Home.”)

 Median Home  Effective Property 
Taxable Value in  Tax Rate, Tax On 

State / City Largest City(1) per $100(2) Median Home(3) 

New Jersey (Newark) $119,000 $3.12 $3,713 
Illinois (Chicago) 132,400 1.86 2,463 
California (Los Angeles) 221,600 1.07 2,371 
Massachusetts (Boston) 190,600 1.11 2,116 
Texas (Houston) 79,300 2.62 2,078 
Florida (Jacksonville) 87,800 1.97 1,730 
New York (New York City) 211,900 0.77 1,632 
Ohio (Columbus) 101,400 1.59 1,612 
Pennsylvania (Philadelphia)59,700 2.64 1,576 
Indiana (Indianapolis) 98,500 1.50 1,478 
Michigan (Detroit) 63,600 2.23 1,418 
Kentucky (Louisville) 82,300 1.17 963 
West Virginia (Charleston) 101,400 0.91 923 

Notes: (1) Source: Department of Finance and Revenue, 
District of Columbia, Tax Rates and Tax Burdens in the District of 
Columbia, A Nationwide Comparison(2000), 1999 edition, 
published July 2000, Table 5. (2) Source: Table 4, Tax Rates 
and Tax Burdens in the District of Columbia, A Nationwide 
Comparison(2000). (3) Source: calculations by the Ohio 
Department of  Taxation. 
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