PROPERTY TAX — TANGIBLE
PERSONAL PROPERTY

TAXPAYER
Taxpayers who own and use tangible personal property in
business in Ohio.

TAX BASE
The tax is applied to tangible personal property used in
business in Ohio (machinery, equipment, inventories).
Business land and buildings are taxed under the real
property tax.

Taxable value is determined by applying an assessment
percentage to the true value of tangible property. The
percentage used to determine taxable value is 25 percent for all
property except inventories, which will be assessed at 23
percent for 2004. The inventory assessment percentage will be
phased-out by reducing the percentage by two percent in tax
years 2005 and 2006 if certain growth conditions are met
(growth conditions are removed beginning in tax year 2007).
Beginning in tax year 2007, the inventory assessment
percentage will be reduced two percent each year until it is
phased out.

RATES
Tax millage rates vary with the taxing jurisdiction. The rates
applied to tangible personal property values are the full voted
and unvoted millage rates. The 2002 average effective tax rate
was 75.91 mills.

MAJOR EXEMPTIONS
The first $10,000 of taxable value for each taxpayer.

Property of any level of government, school, college, church,
and property owned and not used in business.

Licensed motor vehicles and aircraft.
Personal property used in agriculture.

Patterns, jigs, dies, and drawings used in business that are held
for use and not for sale.

Certified air, water, and noise pollution control equipment and
facilities.
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Property of insurance companies, financial institutions, and
dealers in intangibles used in their business is exempt unless the
equipment is leased to others.

Property in a public recreational facility owned by a political
subdivision.

Certified energy conversion facilities (property used to convert
from the use of natural gas or fuel oil to other fuels).

Certified thermal efficiency improvement facilities (property used
for recovery and use of waste heat or steam).

Certified solid waste energy conversion facilities (property used
to convert solid waste from industrial operations into energy).

Allinventories in foreign trade zones established prior to
January 1, 1992 and only inventories exempt under federal law

in foreign trade zones established on or after January 1, 1992.

Property shipped from outside Ohio and held in Ohio for
storage only.

Leased property used exclusively for agricultural purposes.

Machinery and equipment designed for agricultural use while in
the inventory of a merchant.

Qualified personal property located in an enterprise zone.

Machinery and equipment while under installation or construction
in a plant or facility and not capable of operation.

Property owned by a port authority and leased to a railroad
(partially exempt for a period of 10 years).

Property used in the production of grape juice or wine and not
held in labeled containers in which it will be sold.

170



PROPERTY TAX TANGIBLE
PERSONAL PROPERTY

REVENUE (IN MILLIONS)

$10,000
Calendar Net Taxes Exemption
Year Levied Reimbursements
1999 $1,644.8 $91.8
2000 1,720.7 93.6
2001 1,802.5 94.5
2002 1,768.3 95.6

DISPOSITION OF REVENUE
Revenue is distributed to the counties, municipalities, townships,
and school districts according to the taxable values and total
millage levied by each. Statewide, school districts receive about
70 percent of total personal property tax revenue.

PAYMENT DATES
Each taxpayer with property in only one county pays to the
county treasurer one-half of the tax liability on or before April
30 and the remainder by September 20.

Each taxpayer with property in more than one county pays to
each county treasurer the tax liability in one installment on or
before September 20.

SPECIAL PROVISIONS/CREDITS
An exemption of the first $10,000 of taxable value on all
tangible personal property is allowed; the local revenue loss is
reimbursed by the state but is being phased out over 10 years,
beginning in tax year 2004.

Companies may receive up to a 75 percent exemption for no
more than 10 years for tangible personal property used in an
enterprise zone located within a municipality. The exemption is
limited to 60 percent for zones in unincorporated areas.
Exemptions may exceed these levels if approved by affected
school districts or if the property is located at a site where the
taxpayer performed a qualified environmental remediation.

All enterprise zones are created by local authorities. A company
seeking to receive an exemption must submit an investment
proposal to the local authority that created the zone where the
operation will be located.
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SECTIONS OF OHIO REVISED CODE
Chapters 319, 323, 5701, 5705, 5709, 5711, and 5719.

RESPONSIBILITY FOR ADMINISTRATION
The Tax Commissioner has exclusive responsibility for returns of
taxpayers with property in more than one county.

The Tax Commissioner and county auditor have shared
responsibility for returns of taxpayers with property in only one

county.

HISTORY OF MAJOR CHANGES

1931

1967

1971

1976

1978
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* Tangible property separated from real property
and intangible property; tangible property tax
limited to property used in business (based on
1929 amendment to Ohio Constitution).

* Assessment percentages applied to property used
in agriculture gradually reduced from 50 percent
until property is exempt in 1973.

* Assessment percentages applied to inventories and
restaurant property gradually reduced from 70
percent to 50 percent by 1971.

* Assessment percentages for inventories gradually
reduced from 50 percent to 45 percent by 1974.

* Assessment percentages for furniture and fixtures
gradually reduced from 70 percent to 50 percent
by 1976.

* Startingin 1977, whenever annual revenue growth
conditions were satisfied, assessment percentages
reduced by 2.0 percentage points each year until
reaching 35 percent. (Revenue growth conditions
were satisfied in 1977 and 1978, reducing
assessment percentages for inventories from 45
percent to 41 percent and assessment percentages
for all other property from 50 percent to
46 percent.)

* Revenue growth conditions removed to allow annual
reductions in inventory assessment percentages for
inventories to the 35 percent level.
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* Credit against the corporation franchise or
personal income tax allowed for certain tangible
property taxes paid on manufacturing machinery
and equipment, effective through 1993.

1983 e Startingin 1984, whenever annual revenue growth
conditions were satisfied, assessment percentages
for all tangible property, other than inventories,
reduced by one percentage point each year until
reaching 25 percent.

* Exemption enacted for first $10,000 of taxable
value.

1985« Growth condition removed from law — annual
reductions made automatically until reaching 25
percent level in 1993.

1992 < Definitions of real and personal property revised.

1994 < Enterprise zone program extended to
December 31, 1997 and maximum
percentage for tax exemptions reduced.

1997 < Enterprise zone program extended to
June 30, 1999.

1999 e Beginning tax year 2002, assessment percentage
on inventories reduced one percent annually if
growth conditions were met (growth conditions
removed beginning in tax year 2007; 2004 rate is
23 percent).

* Beginning tax year 2002, the assessment
percentage on electrical generating equipment
reduced from 100 percent to 25 percent.

* Enterprise zone program extended to
June 30, 2004.

* Enterprise zone program extended to certain
qualified electric generating peaking units.

2003 e« Beginning tax year 2003, the late filing penalty of
one-half of the $10,000 exemption was repealed.
* Beginning tax year 2003, reasonable cause can
be considered in the abatement of a late payment
penalty.
* Beginning tax year 2004, taxpayers with a
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taxable value of less than $10,000 are no longer
required to file a return. The reimbursement

of the revenues lost due to the exemption will be
phased out over a10-year period.

* Effective for tax years 2005 and 2006, the
inventory assessment percentage will be reduced
by 2.0 percent each year if collections increase.

* Effective for tax year 2007, the inventory
assessment rate will be reduced by 2.0 percent
automatically.

COMPARISONS WITH OTHER STATES (AS OF 12/03)
California
Tangible personal property assessed at fair market value. Al
property taxed unless expressly exempt by law (i.e.,
inventories). Property is taxed at the aggregate of all
lawful local levies, however, rate is fixed to meet budgetary
necessities. Maximum rate cannot exceed 1.0 percent of the full
cash value of the property.

Florida
Tangible personal property assessed at full cash, or market
value. Inventories are exempt from taxation. Property is taxed
at the aggregate of all lawful local levies.

lllinois
Tangible personal property is exempt from taxation.

Indiana
Tangible personal property assessed at 100 percent of true
value unless specifically exempt. Property is taxed at the
aggregate of all lawful state and local levies. Total state rate is
limited to 33 cents per $100 of valuation. Total rate in all
incorporated areas is limited to 0.6667 cent(s) while total rate
in all unincorporated areas is limited to 0.4167 cent(s) on each
$100 of valuation.

Kentucky
Tangible personal property assessed at fair cash value.
Property is taxed at the aggregate of all lawful state and local
levies.

Massachusetts
Tangible personal property assessed at fair cash value
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determined as of January 1 of each year. All property taxed
unless expressly exempt by law. Property is taxed at the
aggregate of all lawful state and local levies. Rate cannot exceed
2.5 percent of cash value unless approved by two-thirds of
voters.

Michigan
Tangible personal property assessed at 50 percent of true
cash value. All property taxed unless expressly exempt by law
(i.e., inventories). Tax rate equals the aggregate of all lawful
state and local levies and personal property not used to
produce income. However, total rate cannot exceed 15 mills, or
1.5 percent, on each dollar of assessed value unless the voters
approve a higher rate. There is a state education tax levy of 6.0
mills imposed on all property.

New Jersey
Tangible personal property assessed at a variable rate of true
value that is dependent upon a yearly analysis of the average
assessment ratio of real property. In general, tangible personal
property is not subject to taxation in New Jersey. However,
business tangible personal property, exclusive of inventories, is
subject to local taxation if used in the business of local
telephone, telegraph and messenger systems, companies,
corporations, or associations that were subject to the public
utilities gross receipts tax as of April 1, 1997.

New York
Tangible personal property is exempt from taxation.

Ohio
Tangible personal property assessed at 25 percent of its
true value, except inventory, which is assessed at 23
percent of true value. Property is taxed at the aggregate
of all lawful local levies.

Pennsylvania
Tangible personal property is exempt from taxation.

Texas
Tangible personal property assessed on the basis of 100
percent of its appraised value. All property is taxed at the
aggregate of all lawful state and local levies. Property, other
than manufactured homes, that is not held or used for
production of income is exempt.
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West Virginia
Tangible personal property is assessed at 60 percent of its fair
market value. Property is taxed at the aggregate of all lawful
state and local levies.
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