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INSURANCE TAX – DOMESTIC

TAXPAYER
 Insurance companies organized under Ohio law.

TAX BASE
The former tax base and calculation structure of  the domestic
insurance tax has been phased out. In 2002, taxpayers had to
determine both the old and new tax bases. In 2003, the new
base only became applicable.

Old base:  Either capital and surplus, or gross premiums,
whichever base yielded less tax.

New base: Gross premiums.

RATES
In 2002, an insurance company paid 20 percent of the tax
calculated under the old base and rates, plus 80 percent of the
tax calculated under the new base and rate. In 2003, only the
new base and rate is applicable.

Old tax base rates: 0.6 percent of capital and surplus, or 2.5
percent of gross premiums, whichever yielded less tax.

New tax base rates: 1.4 percent of gross premiums.

The minimum tax increased in 2003 to $250. In 2002, the
minimum tax was $200.

MAJOR EXEMPTIONS
Annuities, deposit-type life insurance contract funds, Medicaid,
government-paid portion of Medicare, and federal crop
insurance.

REVENUE (IN MILLIONS)
Fiscal      General
 Year Revenue Fund
2000 $88.2
2001 109.3
2002 132.5
2003 160.3

DISPOSITION OF REVENUE
General Revenue Fund.
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PAYMENT DATES
The Director of the Department of  Insurance certifies the tax
liability of  each insurance company to the Treasurer of  State by
the first Monday of  May. Within 20 days, the Treasurer issues a
tax bill with payment due 20 to 30 days from the date the tax bill
is mailed.

Note: Tax year is defined as the year in which the payments are
filed. Payments are based upon the previous year’s business
activity.

SPECIAL PROVISIONS/CREDITS
A tax credit for insurer groups with less than $75 million in total
countrywide premium sales was phased in from tax year 1999
to 2003 with a maximum credit of $200,000 in year 2003. In
2002, the maximum credit allowed was $160,000.

Members of the Ohio Life and Health Guaranty Association are
subject to assessment by the association. (The association is
organized not-for-profit under the Ohio Revised Code and is
operated by a board of  directors. Insurance companies are
required to be members as a condition of  transacting business
in the state.) Should a member become impaired or insolvent,
the other members are assessed at a rate not to exceed 2.0
percent of  their gross premiums to protect policy holders of
the impaired or insolvent insurers. A 100 percent tax credit is
given to members on assessments paid to the association.

Domestic insurers that are health insurance corporations are
taxed at the rate of 1.0 percent of all premium payments,
exclusive of payments received by Medicare and Medicaid.

An additional 0.75 percent is levied on the gross premium
receipts derived from fire insurance and that portion of  the
premium reasonably allocable to fire insurance included in other
coverages.

SECTIONS OF OHIO REVISED CODE
  Sections 5725.18 to 5725.24 and 3737.71.

RESPONSIBILITY FOR ADMINISTRATION
  Director, Department of Insurance.

HISTORY OF MAJOR CHANGES
1830 • 4.0 percent property tax on dividends paid by

insurance companies.

INSURANCE TAX – DOMESTIC



61

INSURANCE TAX – DOMESTIC

1852 • Insurance companies required to list real
property, tangible property, money,
and credits for taxation.

1933 • Changed to a franchise tax on the smaller of  either:
0.2 percent of capital and surplus.
1.67 percent on premiums.

1971 • Franchise tax rate changed to the smaller of  either:
0.3 percent of capital and surplus.
2.5 percent on gross premiums.

1981 • Capital and surplus rate increased to 0.6 percent.

1989 • Established the Ohio Life and Health Guaranty
Association and assessment; 100 percent tax
credit for assessment paid by participating
insurers.

1997 • Rate for domestic insurers reduced to 1.4
percent and phased in over tax years 1999 to
2002. Minimum tax of $250 phased in over
same period.

• Tax credit for insurer groups with less than $50
million in countrywide premium sales phased in
from tax year 1999 to 2002. The threshold was
increased to $75 million effective July 1, 1999.

• Capital and surplus tax base phased out over tax
    years 1999 through 2002. Beginning with tax

year 2003, tax is solely on gross premiums.

COMPARISONS WITH OTHER STATES (AS OF 12/03)

State Tax Rate(1)

California In general, 2.35 percent of gross
premiums; federally exempt
pensions and profit-sharing plans,
0.5 percent; ocean marine
insurers, 5.0 percent; surplus line
brokers and non-admitted
insurance, 3.0 percent.

Note: (1) Other rates may apply to specific types
of  insurance and insurance providers.
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Florida Annuities 1.0 percent(2); wet
marine and transportation 0.75
percent; commercial self-insurance
fund, medical malpractice 1.6
percent; all others 1.75 percent of
gross premiums.

Illinois In general, 2.0 percent; surplus line
3.5 percent of gross premiums.

Indiana Premiums taxed at 1.8 percent, or
may elect to pay the gross
income tax.

Kentucky In general, 2.0 percent of
gross premiums.

Massachusetts Rate of 2.0 percent of taxable
gross premiums, plus a surtax of
14 percent of the tax imposed.

Michigan Single-business tax of 1.0735
percent in tax year 2003.

New Jersey In general, 1.0 percent of gross
premiums on group accident and
health; all others 2.1 percent.

New York Rate of 0.7 percent for all
premiums received by
corporations licensed as life and
health insurers, including premiums
on accident and health contracts;
1.3 percent for all premiums written
by corporations licensed as
property and casualty insurers;
1.0 percent for all premiums on
accident and health contracts.(3)

Ohio Rate of 1.4 percent of gross
premiums.

INSURANCE TAX – DOMESTIC

Notes: (2) Domestic insurers maintaining their home offices in Florida
are exempt. (3) Insurance companies also pay New York corporate
franchise tax.
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Pennsylvania Rate of 2.0 percent of gross
premiums.

Texas Rates of 1.35 percent to 1.75
percent, depending on insurance
product lines.

West Virginia Rates of 4.0 percent for fire and
casualty; 3.0 percent for others;
annuities 1.0 percent.




