INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX — SCHOOL DISTRICT

TAXPAYER
Every individual residing in, and every estate of a decedent who
at the time of death was residing in, a school district that levies
the tax.

TAX BASE
A resident tax on the amount reported as Ohio adjusted gross
income less $1,250 per exemption for 2003. (The exemption
amount is indexed for inflation. )

RATES
Multiples of 0.25 percent. The rate must be approved by a vote
of the school district residents before implementation. Current
rates range from 0.5 percent to 2.0 percent in 133 districts that
have a school district income tax in effect as of January 2004.

REVENUE (IN MILLIONS)

Fiscal Admin.

Year Revenue(’)  Fund(2)  Total
2000 $141.6 $2.3 $143.9
2001 152.7 2.4 155.1
2002 1446 2.3 146.9
2003 141.9 2.3 144.2

Notes: (1) For subsequent distribution to school districts.
(2) Money is deposited into the Administration Fund before
refunds are made.

DISPOSITION OF REVENUE
The Tax Commissioner returns all revenue collected to the school
district, less 1.5 percent retained for administrative purposes.

PAYMENT DATES
Same as state individual income tax and state withholding tax,
except larger withholders remit monthly, rather than on a partial
weekly basis.

SPECIAL PROVISIONS/CREDITS
Senior citizen credit: a taxpayer 65 years of age or older during
the taxable year receives a $50 credit against the amount of
school district income tax due. Only one credit is allowed for
eachreturn.
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX — SCHOOL DISTRICT

SECTIONS OF OHIO REVISED CODE
Chapters 5747 and 5748.

RESPONSIBILITY FOR ADMINISTRATION

Tax Commissioner.

HISTORY OF MAJOR CHANGES
1979+ General Assembly granted school districts authority
to levy an income tax solely for repaying a state
loan (no school district ever used this authority).

1981 * Current law enacted.

1983+ Certain provisions of the law repealed so that no
additional school districts could enact the tax. Any
school district enacting the tax prior to August 3,
1983 could continue to levy the tax (six did so).

1989« General Assembly reinstated provisions of the law
allowing additional school districts to levy the tax.
* $50 senior citizen credit allowed.

1991 * Income taxes permitted for a finite period of time,
in addition to permanent.
« Taxation of state retirement income clarified.

1992 < Permitted an income tax levy and property tax
reduction on a single ballot issue.

1995 Personal exemption increased to $750 per
taxpayer and spouse and $850 per dependent for
1996; these amounts increased to $850 and
$1,050, respectively, in 1997.

1996 * Personal exemption for taxpayer and spouses
raised to $950 in 1998 and $1,050 in 1999.

1997« Personal exemption indexed for inflation beginning
in 2000.
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX — SCHOOL DISTRICT

COMPARISONS WITH OTHER STATES (AS OF 12/03)

Kentucky
Local school boards may levy an occupational license tax on
compensation of individuals or on net profits of business at a
rate up to 0.5 percent. However, in counties with a population
over 300,000 the tax rate can be up to 0.75 percent. Local
school boards may also levy an excise tax not to exceed 20
percent of a county resident’s state individual income tax
liability.

Michigan
School districts are authorized to impose a “piggyback” tax on
the city income tax, but no such tax is currently levied.

Ohio
School districts may impose a tax levied in multiples of
0.25 of one percent on Ohio adjusted gross income of
residents.

Pennsylvania
Pittsburgh:
The Pittsburgh School District levies an income tax at 1.875
percent on earned income and net profits. Nonresidents are
not taxed.

Philadelphia:
The Philadelphia School District levies an “investment income
tax” of 4.5 percent on the net income from the ownership,
lease, sale, or other disposition of real property and tangible
and intangible personal property, including the net income
paid to any beneficiary of a trust or estate and the income of
any trust or estate of which such person is the substantial
owner. The tax is imposed only on residents.

California, Florida, lllinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, New

Jersey, New York, Texas, and West Virginia do not have a
school district income tax.
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