ESTATE TAX

TAXPAYER
The estate representative (executor, administrator, trustee, etc.)
or person in possession of taxable property.

TAX BASE
The net taxable estate equals the value of the gross estate less
allowable deductions.

RATES
Net
Taxable Estate Tax Rate

0 - $40,000 2.0 percent of taxable estate
$40,000 - 100,000 $800 + 3.0 percent of excess over $40,000
100,000 - 200,000 2,600 + 4.0 percent of excess over 100,000
200,000 - 300,000 6,600 + 5.0 percent of excess over 200,000
300,000 - 500,000 11,600 + 6.0 percent of excess over 300,000

500,000 and over 23,600 + 7.0 percent of excess over 500,000

MAJOR EXEMPTIONS

Marital Deduction:
A marital deduction is allowed in an amount equal to the net
value of any asset passing from the decedent to the
surviving spouse, but only to the extent that the
asset is included in the value of the Ohio gross estate.

Other Deductions:
Certain items eligible to be deducted from the gross estate
prior to calculating tax liability include, but are not limited
to: funeral expenses, costs of administering the estate,
unpaid debts against the estate, charitable bequests,
portions of an annuity or other death benefit plan
contributed by an employer, and qualified family-owned
business interests.

REVENUE (IN MILLIONS) (1)

General
Fiscal Local Revenue
Year Governments Fund Total
2000 $294.7 $140.0 $434.7
2001 285.6 166.0 451.6
2002 259.2 116.3 375.5
2003 256.9 100.8 357.7

Notes: (7) State General Revenue Fund figures are based on
actual receipts reported by the Office of Budget and
Management. Local government figures represent a liability
because they are based on the certification of the local share
(including fees) from the semi-annual settlements that occur
each year. 37



DISPOSITION OF REVENUE

Estates with dates of death on or after January 1, 2002: 80
percent to the municipal corporation or township of origin; 20
percent, less costs of local administration, to the state General
Revenue Fund.

PAYMENT DATES

The estate tax return is to be filed within nine months of the
decedent’s death. However, an automatic six-month extension is
granted to all estates. Payment of the estate tax is due at the
expiration of nine months from the date of the decedent’s death
to the treasurer of the county where the estate tax return was
filed.

SPECIAL PROVISIONS/CREDITS

For estates with a date of death on or after January 1, 2002, the
credit is equal to the lesser of $13,900 or the amount of estate
tax owed. This effectively exempts the first $338,333 of the
taxable estate from taxation.

Additional Estate Tax:

Tax levied in addition to the basic estate tax, to take advantage
of a federal law which allows a credit against federal estate tax
liability for state death taxes paid. In general, the amount of
additional tax due and payable is the difference between the
maximum federal credit allowed prior to the Economic Growth
and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001 minus state death taxes
paid to Ohio and other states, U.S. territories, and the District of
Columbia.

Generation-Skipping Tax:
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Tax levied to take advantage of a federal law allowing a state
credit against federal tax liability on generation-skipping
transfers of property. (Generation-skipping tax is a tax on
transfers of property and trust to each generation, i.e., a trust
established for a child that is transferred to a grandchild is
taxed at each transfer.) The tax is levied on every generation-
skipping transfer of property having a situs in Ohio that occurs
at the same time as, and as a result of, the death of an individual.
The Ohio tax is levied in an amount equal to the federal credit.
The credit shall not exceed 5.0 percent of the amount of the
generation-skipping transfer tax imposed. In the case of a direct
skip, i.e., a property or trust transferred directly to a
grandchild, the tax is not levied on the middle generation.



ESTATE TAX

SECTIONS OF OHIO REVISED CODE
Chapter 5731.

RESPONSIBILITY FOR ADMINISTRATION
The Tax Commissioner administers the estate tax. The tax is
collected locally by the treasurer of the county in which the
decedent resided. Tax due for a nonresident decedent owning
real property or tangible personal property in Ohio is paid to
the county where the return is filed. This is generally the county
in which the majority of the real property or tangible personal
property is located.

HISTORY OF MAJIOR CHANGES

1893 * First Ohio death tax enacted — an inheritance tax
levied on the succession of property from a
decedent’s estate.

1968 * Inheritance tax repealed and an estate tax levied

on taxable value of the estate.

1976

Surviving spouse exemption raised from
$20,000 to $30,000.

1979

Resident decedent estates with gross value under
$5,000 exempted from filing returns.

1982 Resident decedent estates with gross value under
$10,000 exempted from filing returns, and all
previous general and family exemptions doubled

in amount.

1983 Tax credit and marital deduction adopted, family
and general exemptions repealed, and resident
decedent estates with gross value under

$25,000 exempted from filing returns.

1993 * Unlimited marital deduction became effective
July 1,1993.

1997 « Effective March 7, 1997, excluded from taxable

estate that portion of an annuity or other death
benefit plan contributed by an employer.

39



1999 * Increased from $25,000 to $40,000 the amount
of property or money that a surviving spouse
and/or children of the decedent can claim as an
allowance for support.

* Increased from $85,000 to $100,000 the
maximum value of a decedent’s estate that can
be relieved from administration, but only where
the surviving spouse is entitled to inherit all
assets of the estate.

2000 * Two year, phased-in increase of the estate tax
credit from $500 to $13,900.

* Two year, phased-in increase of the local share of
estate tax revenue from 64 percent to 80
percent, lowering the state share from 36 percent
to 20 percent.

* Deduction created for qualifying family-owned
business interests.

* Atrustee’s duty to distribute income at least
annually to a surviving spouse from an IRA marital
deduction trust satisfied so long as the
language is in place to require that distribution.

2001 * Adoption of provisions (where certain
circumstances apply) increasing from nine months
to 13 months the timeframe within which an
executor or administrator, after the date of their
appointment, shall collect decedent’s assets and
complete the estate administration.

COMPARISONS WITH OTHER STATES (AS OF 12/03)
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Ohio

Rates from 2.0 percent where taxable estate is less than
$40,000, to $23,600 plus 7.0 percent of excess over
$500,000 for estates over $500,000.

Note: The estate tax credit effectively exempts the first
$338,333 of estate value from taxation.

Unlike Ohio, some states, including Indiana, Kentucky, New
Jersey, and Pennsylvania levy inheritance taxes rather than
estate taxes. An inheritance tax is based upon the succession of
property transferred to an individual and the relationship of that
individual to the decedent, rather than upon the value of the
estate itself.



ESTATE TAX

Other states, including California, Florida, Michigan, Texas,
and West Virginia, levy only a pick-up tax equivalent to the
current federal credit.

The following states have de-coupled their estate tax from the

federal code: lllinois, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New
York, and Pennsylvania.
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