
TAX BASE
The taxable base is the assessed value of land and buildings.
Assessed value is 35% of market value, except for certain
agricultural land. County auditors must reappraise all real estate
once every six years. Equalization adjustments are made in the
third year following reappraisal.

RATES
Real property tax rates vary with taxing jurisdiction. Total tax rate
includes all levies, enacted by legislative authority or approved
by the voters, for all taxing jurisdictions within which the
property is located (e.g., county, township, municipal corpora-
tion, school district).

The 2000 average statewide gross tax rate was 79.68 mills.
Application of “tax reduction factors” resulted in an average
statewide net tax rate of 51.82 mills.

The Ohio Constitution prohibits governmental units from levy-
ing property taxes which in total exceed 1% of true value unless
approved by the voters.  Ohio law further limits property taxes
to 1% of taxable value; this provision is known as the 10-mill
limitation.

MAJOR  EXEMPTIONS
State law has implemented the following exceptions:

Land devoted exclusively to commercial agricultural use
may be valued according to current use instead of “highest
and best” use.

Certified air, water, and noise pollution control facilities are
exempt.

Property of  governmental and  private institutional  owners
is exempt on grounds of ownership and/or usage under a
general legislative authority for exempting real property
(examples include schools, hospitals, churches, and mu-
nicipal corporations).

Tax abatements are granted by county, township, and
municipal governments on qualified real property for a
designated time period for the purposes of economic and
community development.
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REVENUE (IN MILLIONS)
Property Tax Relief

Tax Taxes Charged Percentage Homestead
Year Before Relief(1)  Rollback(2) Exemption
1997 $7,172.5 $816.3 $66.0
1998 7,583.3 864.8 63.1
1999 8,129.3  922.3 66.3
2000 8,697.8   991.0 65.0

(1) Taxes charged represent real estate and public utility real property
taxes after tax reduction factors but before 10% and 2.5% rollbacks
and homestead exemption.

(2) Percentage rollback represents the 10% rollback for all real
property, including public utility real property, and the 2.5%

rollback for residential real property.

DISPOSITION OF REVENUE
Revenue is distributed to the counties, municipalities, town-
ships, and school districts according to the taxable values and
total millage levied by each. Statewide, school districts receive
approximately 65% of the total real property tax revenue.

SECTIONS OF OHIO REVISED CODE
Chapters 319, 321, 323, 5701, 5705, 5709, 5713, 5715 and 5721.

RESPONSIBILITY  FOR  ADMINISTRATION
Primarily county auditors, county treasurers, county boards of
revision, and the tax commissioner.

REMITTER OF TAX
All real property owners unless specifically exempt.

PAYMENT DATES
December 31: full amount of tax (or one-half) is due;  June 20:
balance due.

Each county is permitted, but is not required, to extend the
aforementioned due dates for the taxpayers' payments of the tax
to January 31 and to July 20, respectively.  Upon application by
a county treasurer alone or by a county auditor and treasurer
together, the tax commissioner may grant further extensions of
time in which the county must collect the tax.



SPECIAL PROVISIONS / CREDITS
If a school district has a total voted and unvoted current expense
millage exceeding 20 mills, its effective millage after application
of reduction factors (see below) cannot fall below 20 mills. If the
initial calculation of the factors does drop the effective  current
expense rate below 20 mills, the factors must be recalculated to
arrive at 20 mills.  Joint vocational schools have the same
provision with a floor of 2 mills.

Forest land devoted exclusively to forestry or timber growing
may be taxed at 50% of the local rate.

Three major state laws allow property tax credits (direct reduc-
tions of tax rather than reductions of value). These include the
percentage rollback, homestead exemption, and tax reduc-
tion factor.

Percentage Rollback
State law grants tax relief in the form of a 10% reduction in each
taxpayer’s real property tax bill. In addition to the 10% rollback,
a 2.5% rollback is granted on real property taxes for owner-
occupied dwellings. The state reimburses local governments
for these tax losses.

Homestead Exemption
This tax relief is granted to qualified low income, elderly and
disabled homeowners, as well as to certain surviving spouses.  The
tax reduction is reimbursed to local governments by the state. The
tax reduction under the homestead exemption is equal to the gross
millage rate multiplied by a reduction in taxable value determined
by the income class of the homeowner.  The income classes are
increased based on inflation factors to determine eligibility.  Also,
taxable value reductions were indexed.  In 2002, the dollar amount
of reductions were also indexed.  For tax year 2002, the income
classes and the reduction in values were as follows:

Total Income of Reduce Taxable Value
Owner and Spouse By the Lesser of
$12,500 or less $5,100 or 75% of taxable value
12,501 - $18,300 3,100 or 60% of taxable value
18,301 - 24,100 1,000 or 25% of taxable value
24,101 and over -0-
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SPECIAL PROVISIONS / CREDITS (con't.)
Tax Reduction Factor
Percentage reductions are applied to taxes levied against real
property after reappraisal or update. Separate percentage re-
ductions are applied to two classes of real property: Class I,
consisting of residential and agricultural property, and Class II,
consisting of commercial, industrial, mineral and public utility
real property. These reductions do not apply to any tangible
personal property.

Reduction factors remain in effect until  an  increase or decrease
in value occurs because of the revaluation of existing property.
Revised reduction factors are then calculated and applied. The
computation of these percentage reductions is a rather complex
process. However, the basic effect is to eliminate increases in
revenue from voted taxes which might occur when existing real
property in a taxing unit is reappraised or updated.

HISTORY OF MAJOR CHANGES
1851 • New constitution required taxation of all property by

uniform rule (but expressly authorized exemption for
certain property classes, e.g., churches, schools, etc.).

1902 • Eliminated state property tax levies for general fund.

1910 • Culmination of reform movement led to creation of
single State Tax Commission to supervise local prop-
erty tax administration.

1925 • First statutory requirement for six-year reappraisal
cycle enacted.

1927 • Statute set aggregate tax limit of 15 mills on each dollar
of tax valuation except for taxes approved by voters
(1% of true value since 1911).

1931 • Constitutional amendment limited levies without vot-
ers approval to 1 1/2% of true value.

1933 • Constitution set limit of 1% of true value on non-voted
levies.

1934 • Statute reduced aggregate tax limit from 15 mills to 10
mills for non-voted levies.
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HISTORY OF MAJOR CHANGES (con't.)

1939 • State Tax Commission replaced by Department of
Taxation; a Board of Tax Appeals, which supervised
real property tax administration; and a Tax Commis-
sioner, who assumed functions with respect to taxa-
tion of public utility property.

1965 • First statutory requirement that real property be as-
sessed at no more than 50% of true value, with actual
percentage to be established by uniform rule of Board
of Tax Appeals.

1971 • Enactment of 10% rollback homestead exemptions.

1972 • BTA rule set tax value at 35% of true value to be
implemented by all counties as they complete their
sexennial reappraisal cycle, with annual adjustments
to maintain the 35% level.

1973 • Top bracket of the homestead exemption increased
from $8,000 to $10,000.

1974 • Valuation of agricultural property to be based upon
current use (1973 constitutional amendment).

1975 • Homestead exemption extended to permanently and
totally disabled homeowners.

1976 • Real property tax credits provided; real property valu-
ations updated every three years; State Department of
Tax Equalization created.

• Definition of "total income" for homestead exemption
amended to exclude disability benefits paid by the
Veterans Administration and other branches of the
armed services, and social security income increases
occurring after initial application for homestead ex-
emption.

• The limit of each homestead exemption income bracket
increased by $1,000 (except the highest bracket).

1978 • Effective June 30, 1978, the due date for payment of real
property taxes (full amount or one-half of it) changed
from December 20 to December 31.

HISTORY OF MAJOR CHANGES (con't.)
1979 • A 2.5% tax rollback on residential property is granted.

• Set the upper income limit of the homestead exemption
at $15,000 and created three $5,000 income brackets.

• Constitutional amendment passed effective for 1980 ,
allowed separate percentage reduction factors ap-
plied to two classes of real property (combined value
of residential and agricultural property and value of all
other real property).

1983 • Department of  Tax  Equalization eliminated and all of
its functions transferred to the Department of Taxa-
tion.

1986 • The limit of each homestead exemption income bracket
increased by $1,500 beginning in tax year 1988.

1991 • Homestead exemption extended to surviving spouses
of homestead exemption recipients (1990 constitu-
tional amendment).

1995 • The limit of each homestead exemption income bracket
increased by $4,300 beginning in tax year 1995.

1998 • Treasurers in counties with a population of at least
200,000 permitted to issue tax certificates on delin-
quent real property.

1999 • The limit of each homestead exemption income bracket
increased by 10.6% for tax year 1999.  The brackets (tax
year 2000) and the taxable value reductions (tax year
2002) will be indexed based on gross domestic product
deflater in future tax years.

• Certain manufactured homes that would otherwise be
subject to the manufactured home tax will be con-
verted to, and taxed as, real property.

• Each board of county commissioners is permitted to
charge a lower real estate transfer fee for homestead
exemption qualifiers than for other taxpayers.



COMPARISON WITH OTHER STATES
The complexity of real estate laws prevents simple rate compari-
sons among states. However, set forth below is the property tax
liability on the median residential home value in the largest city
in each of the thirteen selected states for 1999:

Median Home Property
Value in Tax On

State Largest City(1) Median Home(2)

New Jersey $110,000 $3,960
Massachusetts 161,400 2,163
California 244,500 1,956
Texas 57,700 1,639
New York 189,600 1,574
Florida 63,800 1,359
Pennsylvania 49,400 1,304
Ohio 65,500 1,094
Indiana 61,200 875
Illinois 78,000 741
West Virginia 65,700 598
Kentucky 44,300 589
Michigan 25,600 502

(1) Source: 1990 Census Data (most recent available data).
(2) Source: Department of Finance and Revenue, District of Columbia,

Tax Rates and Tax Burdens in the District of Columbia, A Nationwide
Comparison, 1999 Edition, published July, 2000.
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