
TAX BASE
The tax is applied to tangible personal property used in
business in Ohio (machinery, equipment, inventories). Busi-
ness land and buildings are taxed  under the real property tax.

Taxable value is determined by applying an assessment
percentage to the true value of tangible property. The per-
centage used to determine taxable value is 25% for all prop-
erty except inventories, which will be assessed at 24% for
2002.  The inventory assessment percentage will be phased
out by reducing the percentage by one percent each year
starting in tax year 2002 if revenue growth conditions are met
(growth conditions are removed beginning in tax year 2007).
The phase out will be completed by 2025, if the revenue
growth conditions are met each year.  If the revenue growth
conditions are not met in any or all of the 2003 - 2006 years,
the reduction will be completed no later than 2029.

RATES
Tax millage rates vary with taxing jurisdiction. The rates
applied to tangible personal property values are the full
voted and unvoted millage rates.  The 2000 average tax rate
was 73.86 mills.

MAJOR EXEMPTIONS
The first $10,000 of taxable value for each taxpayer.

Property of any level of government, school, college, church,
and property owned and not used in business.

Licensed motor vehicles and aircraft.

Personal property used in agriculture.

Patterns, jigs, dies, and drawings used in business that are held
for use and not for sale.

Certified air, water, and noise pollution control equipment and
facilities.

Property of insurance companies, financial institutions, and
dealers in  intangibles used in their business is exempt unless the
equipment is leased to others.
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MAJOR  EXEMPTIONS (con't.)
Property in a public recreational facility owned by a political
subdivision.

Certified energy conversion facilities (property used to
convert from the use of natural gas or fuel oil to other fuels).

Certified thermal efficiency improvement facilities (property
used for recovery and use of waste heat or steam).

Certified solid waste energy conversion facilities (property
used to convert solid waste from industrial operations into
energy).

All inventories in foreign trade zones established prior to
01/01/92 and only inventories exempt under federal law in
foreign trade zones established on or after 01/01/92.

Property shipped from outside Ohio and held in Ohio for
storage only.

Leased property used exclusively for agricultural purposes.

Machinery and equipment designed for agricultural use
while in the inventory of a merchant.

Qualified personal property located in an enterprise zone.

Machinery and equipment while under installation or con-
struction in a plant or facility and not capable of operation.

Property owned by a port authority and leased to a railroad
(partially exempt for a period of ten years).

Property used in the production of grape juice or wine and
not held in labeled containers in which it will be sold.



REVENUE (IN MILLIONS)

$10,000
Calendar Net Taxes Exemption

Year Levied Reimbursements
1997 $1,519.3 $89.9
1998 1,576.1 91.7
1999 1,644.8 91.8
2000 1,720.7 93.6

DISPOSITION OF REVENUE
Revenue is distributed to the counties, municipalities, town-
ships, school districts, and special districts according to the
taxable values and total millage levied by each. Statewide,
school districts receive approximately 70% of the total personal
property tax revenue.

SECTIONS OF OHIO REVISED CODE
 Chapters 319, 323, 5701, 5705, 5709, 5711, and 5719.

RESPONSIBILITY FOR ADMINISTRATION
The Tax Commissioner has exclusive responsibility for returns
of taxpayers with property in more than one county.

The Tax Commissioner and County Auditor have shared re-
sponsibility for returns of  taxpayers with property in only one
county.

REMITTER OF TAX
Taxpayers who own and use tangible personal property in
business in Ohio.

PAYMENT DATES
Each taxpayer with property in only one county pays to the
county treasurer one-half of the tax  liability on or before April
30 and the remainder by September 20.

Each taxpayer with property in more than one county pays to
each county treasurer the tax liability in one installment on or
before September 20.
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SPECIAL PROVISIONS / CREDITS
An exemption of the first $10,000 of taxable value on all tangible
personal property is allowed; the local revenue loss is reim-
bursed by the State.

Companies may receive up to a 75% exemption for no more than
ten years for tangible personal property used in an enterprise
zone located within a municipality. The exemption is limited to
60% for zones in unincorporated areas. Exemptions may exceed
these levels if approved by affected school districts or if the
property is located at a site where the taxpayer performed a
qualified environmental remediation.  All enterprise zones are
created by local authorities.  A company seeking to receive an
exemption must submit an investment proposal to the local
authority that created the zone where the operation will be
located.

HISTORY OF MAJOR CHANGES
1931 • Tangible property separated from real property and

intangible property; tangible property tax limited to
property used in business (based on 1929 amendment
to Ohio Constitution).

1967 • Assessment percentages applied to property used in
agriculture gradually reduced from 50% until property
is exempt in 1973.

• Assessment percentages applied to inventories and
restaurant property gradually reduced from 70% to
50% by 1971.

1971 • Assessment percentages for inventories gradually
reduced from 50% to 45% by 1974.

• Assessment percentages for furniture and fixtures
gradually reduced from 70% to 50% by 1976.

1976 • Starting in 1977, whenever annual revenue growth
conditions are satisfied, assessment percentages re-
duced by 2 percentage points each year until reaching
35% (Revenue growth conditions were satisfied in
1977 and 1978, reducing assessment percentages for
inventories from 45% to 41% and assessment percent-
ages for all other property from 50% to 46%.)

1978 • Revenue growth conditions  removed to allow annual
reductions in assessment percentages to the 35%
level.



HISTORY OF MAJOR CHANGES (con't.)
1978 • Credit against the corporate franchise or personal

income tax allowed for certain tangible property taxes
paid on manufacturing machinery and equipment.
Effective through 1993.

1983 • Starting in 1984, whenever annual revenue growth
conditions are satisfied, assessment percentages re-
duced by one percentage point each year until reach-
ing 25%.

• Exemption enacted for first $10,000 of taxable value.

1985 • Growth condition removed from law—annual reduc-
tions made automatic until reaching 25% level in 1993.

1992 • Definitions of real and personal property revised.

1994 • Enterprise zone program extended to December 31,
1997 and reduced maximum percentage for tax exemp-
tions.

1997 • Enterprise zone program extended to June 30, 1999.

1999 • Beginning tax year 2002, assessment percentage on
inventories reduced one percent annually if growth
conditions are met (growth conditions removed be-
ginning in tax year 2007).

• Beginning tax year 2002, the assessment percentage
on electrical generating equipment reduced from the
current 100 percent to 25 percent.

• Enterprise zone program extended to June 30, 2004.
• Enterprise zone program extended to certain qualified

electric generating peaking units.

COMPARISON WITH OTHER STATES
(AS OF 12/01)

California

Tangible personal property assessed at fair market value. All
property taxed unless expressly exempt by law (i.e., inventories).
Property is taxed at the aggregate of all lawful local levies, however
rate is fixed to meet budgetary necessities. Maximum rate cannot
exceed 1 percent of the full cash value of the property.

COMPARISON WITH OTHER STATES (con't.)

Florida

Tangible personal property assessed at full cash, or market value.
Inventories are exempt from taxation. Property is taxed at the
aggregate of all lawful local levies.

Illinois

Tangible personal property is exempt from taxation

Indiana

Tangible personal property assessed at 100 percent of true value,
unless specifically exempt. Property is taxed at the aggregate of all
lawful state and local levies. Total state rate is limited to $0.33 per
$100 of valuation. Total rate in all incorporated areas is limited to
$0.6667 while total rate in all unincorporated areas is limited to
$0.4167 on each $100 of valuation.

Kentucky

Tangible personal property assessed at fair cash value. Property
is taxed at the aggregate of all lawful state and local levies.

Massachusetts

Tangible personal property assessed at fair cash value determined
as of January 1 of each year. All property taxed unless expressly
exempt by law. Property is taxed at the aggregate of all lawful state
and local levies. Rate cannot exceed 2.5 percent of cash value
unless approved by two-thirds of voters.

Michigan

Tangible personal property assessed at 50 percent of true cash
value. All property taxed unless expressly exempt by law (i.e.,
inventories). Tax rate equals the aggregate of all lawful state and
local levies. However, total rate can not exceed 15 mills, or 1.5
percent, on each dollar of assessed value unless the voters
approve higher rate. There is a state education tax levy of 6 mills
imposed on all property.
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COMPARISON WITH OTHER STATES (con't.)

New Jersey

Tangible personal property assessed at a variable rate of true
value that is dependent upon a yearly analysis of the average
assessment ratio of real property. Property assessed, in general,
is not subject to taxation in New Jersey. However, business
tangible personal property, exclusive of inventories, is subject to
local taxation if used in the business of local telephone, telegraph
and messenger systems, companies, corporations or associations
that were subject to the public utilities gross receipts tax as of April
1, 1997.

New York

Tangible personal property is exempt from taxation.

Ohio

Tangible personal property assessed at 25 percent of its true
value, except inventory whose assessment rate is 24 percent of
true value. Property is taxed at the aggregate of all lawful local
levies.

Pennsylvania

Tangible personal property is exempt from taxation.

Texas

Tangible personal property assessed on the basis of 100 percent
of its appraised value. All property is taxed at the aggregate of all
lawful state and local levies. Property, other than manufactured
homes, that is not held or used for production of income is exempt.

West Virginia

Tangible personal property is assessed at 60 percent of its fair
market value. Property is taxed at the aggregate of all lawful state
and local levies.
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