
INSURANCE TAX - DOMESTICINSURANCE TAX - DOMESTIC
TAX BASE

The former tax base and calculation structure of the
domestic insurance tax is being phased out.  In 2002,
taxpayers must determine both the old and new tax bases.
(In 2003, only the new base will apply.)

Old Base: Either capital and surplus, or gross premi-
ums, whichever base yields less tax.

New Base: Gross premiums.

RATES
In 2002, an insurance company pays 20% of the tax calcu-
lated under the old base and rates, plus 80% of the tax
calculated under the new base and rate.  (In 2003, only the
new base and rate will apply.)

Old Tax Base Rates: 0.6% of capital and surplus, or
2.5% of gross premiums, which-
ever yields less tax.

New Tax Base Rates: 1.4% of gross premiums.

Minimum tax for 2002 is $200.  (In 2003, the minimum tax will
be $250.)

REVENUE (IN MILLIONS)
Fiscal General
Year Revenue Fund
1998 $63.2
1999 77.5
2000 88.2
2001 109.3

DISPOSITION OF REVENUE
General Revenue Fund.

SECTIONS OF OHIO REVISED CODE
Sections 5725.18 to 5725.24 and 3737.71.

RESPONSIBILITY FOR ADMINISTRATION
Director, Department of  Insurance.

REMITTER OF TAX
Insurance companies organized under Ohio law.

PAYMENT DATES
Director of Insurance certifies the tax to the State Treasurer
by the first Monday of May. Within 20 days, the State
Treasurer issues a tax bill with payment due 20 to 30 days
from the date the tax bill is mailed.

Note: Tax year is defined as the year in which the payments are filed.

Payments are based upon the previous year's business activity.

SPECIAL PROVISIONS / CREDITS
A tax credit for insurer groups with less than $75 million in
total premium sales to be phased in from tax year 1999 to 2003,
with a maximum credit of $200,000 in year 2003.  In 2002, the
maximum credit allowed is $160,000.

Members of the Ohio Life and Health Guaranty Association
are subject to assessment by the Association.  Should a
member become impaired or insolvent, the other members of
the Association are assessed at a rate not to exceed 2 percent
of their gross premiums to protect policy holders of the
impaired or insolvent insurers. A 100% tax credit is given to
the members of Ohio Life and Health Guaranty Association
on their assessments paid to the Association.

Domestic insurers that are health insurance corporations are
taxed at the rate of 1% of all premium payments, exclusive of
payments received by Medicare and Medicaid.

HISTORY OF MAJOR CHANGES
1830 • 4% property tax on dividends paid by insurance

companies.

1852 • Insurance companies required to list real property,
tangible property, money, and credits for taxation.

1933 • Changed to a franchise tax on the smaller of the
following:
 0.2% of capital and surplus.
 1.67% on premiums.

1971 • Franchise tax rate changed to smaller of  the follow-
ing:

0.3% of capital and surplus.
2.5% on gross premiums.
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HISTORY OF MAJOR CHANGES (con't.)
1981 • Tax  rate on capital and surplus increased to 0.6%.

1989 • Established the Ohio Life and Health Guaranty As-
sociation and assessment: 100% tax credit for as-
sessment paid by participating insurers.

1997 • The rate for domestic insurers is to be reduced to
1.4%. This is to be phased in starting in tax year 1999
to 2002. Minimum tax of $250 to be phased in over
same period.

• Tax credit for insurer groups with less than $50
million in Ohio premium sales to be phased in from
tax year 1999 to 2002.  The threshold is increased to
$75 million from July 1, 1999.

• The capital and surplus tax base will be phased out
starting in tax year 1999 through 2002.  Beginning
with tax year 2003, the tax will be computed solely on
gross premiums.

COMPARISON WITH OTHER STATES

State Tax Rate(1)

California In general 2.35%; ocean marine insurers
0.5%; surplus line brokers 5% of gross
premiums.

Florida Annuities 1%(2), wet marine and trans-
portation 0.75%; commercial self-insur-
ancefund, medical malpractice 1.6%; all
others 1.75% of gross premiums.

Illinois In general 2.0%; surplus line 3% of gross
premiums.

Indiana 2% premium tax or may  elect to pay the
gross income tax.

Kentucky In general, $2 per $100 of gross premiums.

Massachusetts 2.0% of taxable gross premiums, plus a
surtax of 14.0% of the tax imposed.

Michigan Single-business tax of 1.9916% in tax year
2002.

New Jersey In general, 1.05% of gross premiums on
group accident and health; all others
2.1%.

COMPARISON WITH OTHER STATES (con't.)
State Tax Rate(1)

New York 0.8% on life insurer's premiums; 1% on
accident and health insurers; 1.3% for
others. (3)

Ohio The  tax on capital and surplus is being
phased out with 2002 being the last
year it is used.  The tax rate of 1.4% on
gross premiums will be effective start-
ing in tax year 2003.  (See RATES
section for 2002 rates.)

Pennsylvania 2% of gross premiums.

Texas 1.75% of premium receipts for life,
accident and health insurance; 3.5%
for others.

West Virginia 4% for fire and casualty; 3% for others;
annuities 1.0%.

(1) Other rates may apply to specific types of  insurance and  insurance

providers.
(2) Domestic insurers maintaining their home offices in Florida are

exempt.
(3) Insurance companies also pay New York corporate franchise tax.
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