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If you sell at a flea market, you probably need a
vendor’s license. Failure to have one can result in a
fine of $25 to $100.

Those who need a vendor’s license are merchants who
sell often at flea markets.

People who sell items originally purchased for personal
use, and which were subject to any state’s sales taxing
jurisdiction, do not need a vendor’s license.

Vendors from one county who sell in that county must
obtain a vendor’s license from the county auditor for a
one-time $25 fee.

Flea market vendors who live in one county, but who sell
in another or other counties, must obtain a transient
vendor’s license. The fee is $25, and a transient vendor’s
license must be obtained from an Ohio Department of
Taxation Taxpayer Service Office, downloaded from the
Ohio Department of Taxation web site at tax.ohio.gov/ or
by calling (800) 282-1782.

Vendors must charge the sales tax rate for the county in
which a sale is made. Sales tax rates vary from county to
county in Ohio. Vendors must also file sales tax returns
and remit the taxes they collect to the Ohio Department of

Taxation twice each year, if the sales taxes collected are
less than $200 per month or monthly, if taxes collected are
more than $200.

Holders of vendors’ licenses must file sales tax returns
regularly, even when they make no sales. Failure to file a
return makes the vendor delinquent and subject to
penalties and assessments.

Vendors who go out of business must cancel their licenses.
There is a box on the sales tax return to indicate the final
day of business.

A flea market vendor must also register his or her name,
address, vendor’s license number and type of goods being
sold with the flea market operator.

Department of Taxation Enforcement personnel also check
tobacco sales at flea markets to make sure taxes have
been paid on the tobacco products and that tobacco
licenses are posted.

Operators of flea and antique markets, shows, and other
exhibitions must keep comprehensive vendor records for
four years. The records are subject to inspection by the
Ohio Tax Commissioner. Failure to keep the records can
result in a $25 to $100 fine.


