News Releases

News Release

Sales tax rate to change on Oct. 1 in two counties

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio Department of Taxation today reminded all business owners that the local sales tax rates will increase by a quarter of a percent beginning Oct. 1, 2010 in Brown and Sandusky counties.

Specifically:

  • The overall sales tax rate in Brown County will change from 6.75 percent to 7 percent.
  • The overall sales tax rate in Sandusky County will change from 6.75 percent to 7 percent.

Retailers are required to collect sales tax from consumers at the new rate for all taxable sales made on and after Oct. 1. Rate cards that show the amount of tax that should be charged at various prices is available on the Ohio Department of Taxation’s Web site, tax.Ohio.gov.

“We encourage all business owners to be prepared ahead of time and not get caught by surprise on the first of October,” said Bryan Hairston, administrator of the department’s Sales and Use Tax Division. “As of Oct. 1, we expect all retailers to be charging the correct sales tax.”

The state sales and use tax rate is 5.5 percent. County governments or regional transit authorities have levied additional “piggyback” rates in all 88 Ohio counties, and these local rates can change at the start of any calendar quarter.

The Ohio Department of Taxation offers business owners several ways to stay current when it comes to sales and use tax rates throughout Ohio:

  • The department’s e-mail alert service, which offers retailers 60 days notice before a rate change anywhere in Ohio. To sign up, visit tax.Ohio.gov.
  • The department’s Web site, tax.Ohio.gov, where sales tax rate changes are posted 60 days in advance of any changes.
  • The department’s business tax hotline, which is (888) 405-4039. Business owners may call to find out if rate changes are taking place in their location.

By law, when a county or transit authority imposes a new sales tax or increases the existing rate, county auditors must reimburse vendors for the cost of reprogramming computer cash registers. Vendors must apply within six months of the increase on a form provided by the county auditor.

# # #

News media with further questions should contact Mike McKinney at (614) 466-5461 or John Kohlstrand at (614) 644-3858. Taxpayers with specific questions should contact their county auditor or the Department of Taxation’s business tax hotline at (888) 405-4039.