Sales tax rate in Ottawa County to change on July
COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio Department of
Taxation today reminded Ottawa County business owners that
the local sales tax rate will increase by a quarter of a
percent beginning on July 1, 2010.
Specifically, the overall sales tax rate in Ottawa County
will increase from 6.5 percent to 6.75 percent.
Retailers are required to collect sales tax from consumers at
the new rate for all taxable sales made on and after July 1.
Rate cards that show the amount of tax that should be charged
at various prices is available on the Ohio Department of
Taxation’s Web site, tax.Ohio.gov.
“We encourage business owners to prepare ahead of time for
this rate change,” said Bryan Hairston, administrator of the
department’s Sales and Use Tax Division. “On July 1, we
expect all retailers to be charging the correct sales tax.”
The state sales and use tax rate is 5.5 percent. County
governments or regional transit authorities have levied
additional “piggyback” rates in all 88 Ohio counties, and
these local rates can change at the start of any calendar
The Ohio Department of Taxation offers business owners
several ways to stay current when it comes to sales and use
tax rates throughout Ohio:
- The department’s e-mail alert service, which offers
retailers 60 days notice before a rate change anywhere in
Ohio. To sign up, visit tax.Ohio.gov.
- The department’s Web site, tax.Ohio.gov,
where sales tax rate changes are posted 60 days in advance of
- The department’s business tax hotline, which is (888)
405-4039. Business owners may call to find out if rate
changes are taking place in their location.
By law, when a county or transit authority imposes a new
sales tax or increases the existing rate, county auditors
must reimburse vendors for the cost of reprogramming computer
cash registers. Vendors must apply within six months of the
increase on a form provided by the county auditor.
# # #
News media with further questions should contact Mike
McKinney at (614) 466-5461 or John Kohlstrand at (614)
644-3858. Taxpayers with specific questions should contact
their county auditor or the Department of Taxation’s business
tax hotline at (888) 405-4039.