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Real Property Conveyance Fee 


State law establishes a mandatory conveyance fee 
on the transfer of real property. The fee is calculated 
based on a percentage of the property value that is 

transferred. In addition to the mandatory fee, all but one 
county levies a permissive real property transfer fee. The 
revenue from both the mandatory fee and the permissive 
fee is deposited in the general fund of the county in which 
the property is located - no revenue goes to the state. In 
2013, the latest year for which data is available, convey­
ance fees generated approximately $108.7 million in rev­
enues to counties: $34.0 million from mandatory fees and 
$74.7 million from permissive fees. 

Taxpayer
(Ohio Revised Code 319.202 and 322.06) 

The real property conveyance fee is paid by persons 
who make sales of real estate or used manufactured 
homes. 

Tax Base 
(R.C. 319.202) 

The tax applies to the value of real estate sold or trans­
ferred from one person to another. 

Rates 
(R.C. 319.54 and 322.02) 

The conveyance fee consists of two parts: (1) a statewide 
mandatory tax of 1 mill ($1 per $1,000 dollars of the value 
of property sold or transferred) applies in all 88 of Ohio’s 
counties, and (2) a county-permissive real property trans­
fer tax of up to 3 mills. As of 2013, 87 of 88 counties levied 
an additional permissive tax at rates ranging from 1 mill to 
3 mills. The exception was Ross County. 

Exemptions, Deductions, Credits 
(R.C. 319.54) 

The tax does not apply: 
•	 to sales or transfers to or from the U.S. government 

or its agencies, or to or from the state of Ohio or any 
of its political subdivisions. 

•	 to gifts from one spouse to another, or to children and 
their spouses. 

•	 to surviving spouses or to a survivorship tenant. 
•	 to sales or transfers to or from a non-profit agency 

that is exempt from federal income taxation, when 
the transfer is without consideration and furthers the 
agency’s charitable or public purpose. 

•	 when property is sold to provide or release security 
for a debt, or for delinquent taxes, or pursuant to a 
court order. 

•	 when a corporation transfers property to a stock­
holder in exchange for their shares during a corporate 
reorganization or dissolution. 

•	 when property is transferred by lease, unless the 

lease is for a term of years renewable forever.
 

•	 to a grantee other than a dealer, solely for the pur­
pose of, and as a step in, the prompt sale to others. 

•	 to sales or transfers to or from a person when no 
money or other valuable and tangible consideration 
readily convertible into money is paid or is to be paid 
for the realty, and the transaction is not a gift. 

•	 to an easement or right-of-way when the value of the 
interest conveyed is $1,000 or less. 

•	 to a trustee of a trust, when the grantor of the trust 
has reserved an unlimited power to revoke the trust. 

•	 to the grantor of a trust by a trustee when the transfer 
is made pursuant to the grantor’s power to revoke the 
trust or to withdraw trust assets. 

•	 to the beneficiaries of a trust, if the fee was paid on 
the transfer from the grant or to the trustee or if the 
transfer is made pursuant to trust provisions that 
became irrevocable at the death of the grantor. 

Filing and Payment Dates 
(R.C. 319.202) 

The fee is paid at the time of the transfer, generally as 
part of the closing process. 

Disposition of Revenue 
(R.C. 319.54) 

All revenue from the tax is deposited in the general 
fund of the county where the property is sold or trans­
ferred, except that fees charged and received for a transfer 
of real property to a county land reutilization corporation 
shall be credited to the county’s land reutilization corpora­
tion fund (established under section 321.263 of the Re­
vised Code). 
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Special Provisions 
County commissioners may prescribe a lower permis­

sive rate than generally levied in the county for convey­
ances of property receiving the homestead exemption. 

The tax also applies to transfers of used manufactured 
homes. 

Persons who purchase residential rental property in 
counties with populations over 200,000 must register their 
contact and property information with the county auditor 
within 60 days of the property transfer. Auditors in these 
counties must include a statement to this effect when the 
property is transferred and with the real property tax bill. 

Administration 
County auditors. 

Ohio Revised Code Citations 
Sections 319.202, 319.54, 319.99, 322.01–322.07 and 

322.99. 

History of Major Changes 

1967 The General Assembly enacts a mandatory real prop­
erty transfer fee of 1 mill and permits county commis­
sioners to impose additional taxes of up to 3 mills on 
conveyances on or after Jan. 1, 1968. The revenue 
from both components of the tax are distributed to 
the county general fund. 

1969 The General Assembly provides for the repeal of a 
permissive transfer tax adopted as an emergency by 
a vote of the electorate. 

2007 Owners of residential rental property in counties 
with populations greater than 200,000 are required to 
register their contact and property information with 
the county auditor. 

Table 1 

Real Property Conveyance Fees, Calendar Years 2008 - 2013 

Year Number of 
Conveyance 
Fees Paid 

Fees Collected Average Fee 
per Convey­
ance

Mandatory Permissive Total Fees 

2008 236,124 $31,376,693 $67,611,613 $98,988,306 $419.22 

2009 211,997 24,301,894 53,440,047 77,741,941 366.71 

2010 210,547 25,486,256 56,190,681 81,676,937 387.93 

2011 198,502 25,022,052 55,328,795 80,350,846 404.79 

2012 221,139 35,874,007 84,298,353 120,172,360 543.42 

2013 245,277 33,964,096 74,724,792 108,688,888 443.13 

Source: Surveys obtained from county auditors and conducted by the Ohio Department of Taxation 
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Table 2 

Real Property Conveyance Fees by County, Calendar Year 2013 
Number of Conveyances Fees Collected Permissive 

Rate per 
Thousand 

Average Mandatory 
Fee per Conveyance 1 

Average Total Fee 
per Conveyance2 

County Fee Paid Fee Exempt Mandatory Permissive Total 

Statewide 245,277 205,171  $33,964,096 $74,724,792 $108,688,888 $138.47 $443.13 

Adams 699 639  $40,787 $122,360 $163,146 $3.00 $58.35 $233.40 

Allen 2,030 1,743  $217,104 $434,207 $651,311 $2.00 $106.95 $320.84 

Ashland 1,000 972  $111,050 $333,151 $444,202 $3.00 $111.05 $444.20 

Ashtabula 2,507 2,010  $184,981 $554,943 $739,925 $3.00 $73.79 $295.14 

Athens 858 732  $92,609 $277,826 $370,435 $3.00 $107.94 $431.74 

Auglaize 993 775  $119,615 $239,409 $359,024 $2.00 $120.46 $361.55 

Belmont 1,495 1,588  $144,422 $288,843 $433,265 $2.00 $96.60 $289.81 

Brown 1,008 1,124  $88,576 $177,152 $265,727 $2.00 $87.87 $263.62 

Butler 7,824 5,303  $1,331,484 $2,638,679 $3,970,164 $2.00 $170.18 $507.43 

Carroll 876 651  $80,395 $241,186 $321,581 $3.00 $91.78 $367.10 

Champaign 816 647  $115,028 $342,730 $457,757 $3.00 $140.97 $560.98 

Clark 2,983 2,353  $201,249 $926,871 $1,128,120 $3.00 $67.47 $378.18 

Clermont 4,456 2,910  $683,812 $2,055,515 $2,739,327 $3.00 $153.46 $614.75 

Clinton 909 789  $106,076 $265,189 $371,265 $2.50 $116.70 $408.43 

Columbiana 2,141 2,006  $154,608 $463,824 $618,432 $3.00 $72.21 $288.85 

Coshocton 745 784  $67,987 $203,960 $271,946 $3.00 $91.26 $365.03 

Crawford 936 846  $74,013 $222,038 $296,051 $3.00 $79.07 $316.29 

Cuyahoga 25,242 22,050  $3,259,490 $9,778,471 $13,037,962 $3.00 $129.13 $516.52 

Darke 1,122 1,074  $125,570 $251,180 $376,749 $2.00 $111.92 $335.78 

Defiance 797 611  $77,279 $231,838 $309,118 $3.00 $96.96 $387.85 

Delaware 5,367 2,428  $1,506,660 $3,053,480 $4,560,140 $2.00 $280.73 $849.66 

Erie 1,468 1,668  $190,327 $570,982 $761,309 $3.00 $129.65 $518.60 

Fairfield 2,911 1,892  $432,938 $1,298,813 $1,731,750 $3.00 $148.72 $594.90 

Fayette3 562 558  $62,647 $125,293 $187,940 $2.00 $111.47 $334.41 

Franklin 25,581 23,805  $4,911,377 $4,755,574 $9,666,951 $1.00 $191.99 $377.90 

Fulton 832 1,060  $90,553 $270,620 $361,173 $3.00 $108.84 $434.10 

Gallia 468 555  $55,974 $167,921 $223,894 $3.00 $119.60 $478.41 

Geauga 1,726 1,614  $350,031 $894,843 $1,244,874 $3.00 $202.80 $721.25 

Greene 3,005 2,483  $547,362 $547,362 $1,094,724 $1.00 $182.15 $364.30 

Guernsey 1,105 972  $97,546 $292,638 $390,184 $3.00 $88.28 $353.11 

Hamilton 17,554 11,603  $3,150,092 $6,161,899 $9,311,991 $2.00 $179.45 $530.48 

Hancock 1,644 1,311  $221,373 $442,747 $664,120 $2.00 $134.66 $403.97 

Hardin 684 628  $61,659 $184,977 $246,637 $3.00 $90.14 $360.58 

Harrison 544 559  $84,364 $265,093 $349,458 $3.00 $155.08 $642.39 

Henry 535 713  $56,987 $164,384 $221,371 $3.00 $106.52 $413.78 

Highland 1,064 912  $83,487 $166,974 $250,461 $2.00 $78.47 $235.40 

Hocking 663 568  $69,368 $208,103 $277,471 $3.00 $104.63 $418.51 

Holmes 795 536  $103,420 $310,261 $413,681 $3.00 $130.09 $520.35 

Huron 1,483 1,167  $117,592 $108,403 $225,995 $1.00 $79.29 $152.39 

Jackson 756 616  $53,766 $160,947 $214,713 $3.00 $71.12 $284.01 

Jefferson 1,127 1,495  $89,546 $268,638 $358,184 $3.00 $79.46 $317.82 

Knox 1,599 1,140  $168,123 $336,246 $504,369 $2.00 $105.14 $315.43 

Lake 4,343 4,025  $635,129 $1,901,078 $2,536,207 $3.00 $146.24 $583.98 

Lawrence 1,094 1,150  $97,768 $293,305 $391,074 $3.00 $89.37 $357.47 
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Real Property Conveyance Fees by County, Calendar Year 2013 (continued) 
Number of Conveyances Fees Collected Permissive 

Rate per 
Thousand 

Average Mandatory 
Fee per Conveyance1 

Average Total Fee 
per Conveyance2 

County Fee Paid Fee Exempt Mandatory Permissive Total 

Licking 3,829 3,327  $532,314 $717,189 $1,249,503 $2.00 $139.02 $326.33 

Logan 1,269 925  $140,461 $140,461 $280,922 $1.00 $110.69 $221.37 

Lorain 6,571 4,687  $864,335 $2,593,006 $3,457,342 $3.00 $131.54 $526.15 

Lucas 9,823 9,519  $1,025,878 $3,077,634 $4,103,513 $3.00 $104.44 $417.75 

Madison 695 643  $112,217 $112,217 $224,434 $1.00 $161.46 $322.93 

Mahoning 4,663 5,054  $459,539 $1,378,294 $1,837,833 $3.00 $98.55 $394.13 

Marion 1,385 1,122  $128,418 $128,418 $256,837 $1.00 $92.72 $185.44 

Medina 3,787 2,345  $635,661 $1,271,090 $1,906,751 $2.00 $167.85 $503.50 

Meigs 434 504  $25,884 $77,653 $103,537 $3.00 $59.64 $238.56 

Mercer 904 705  $113,370 $283,425 $396,795 $2.50 $125.41 $438.93 

Miami 2,485 1,590  $329,939 $329,890 $659,828 $1.00 $132.77 $265.52 

Monroe 433 525  $44,268 $88,536 $132,804 $2.00 $102.24 $306.71 

Montgomery 11,335 9,034  $1,235,937 $2,459,011 $3,694,948 $2.00 $109.04 $325.98 

Morgan 314 279  $15,773 $47,319 $63,092 $2.00 $50.23 $200.93 

Morrow 849 695  $83,502 $250,506 $334,008 $3.00 $98.35 $393.41 

Muskingum 1,741 1,555  $201,087 $402,059 $603,146 $2.00 $115.50 $346.44 

Noble 507 401  $60,106 $180,318 $240,424 $3.00 $118.55 $474.21 

Ottawa 1,606 1,341  $202,257 $202,257 $404,513 $1.00 $125.94 $251.88 

Paulding 476 553  $39,026 $117,077 $156,103 $3.00 $81.99 $327.95 

Perry 692 699  $49,638 $149,542 $199,180 $3.00 $71.73 $287.83 

Pickaway 1,074 927  $138,609 $277,218 $415,827 $2.00 $129.06 $387.18 

Pike 554 508  $51,407 $51,407 $102,814 $1.00 $92.79 $185.58 

Portage 3,158 2,579  $442,124 $1,325,159 $1,767,283 $3.00 $140.00 $559.62 

Preble 931 857  $86,460 $172,919 $259,379 $2.00 $92.87 $278.60 

Putnam 686 664  $69,590 $208,770 $278,360 $3.00 $101.44 $405.77 

Richland 2,336 2,208  $235,158 $705,473 $940,630 $3.00 $100.67 $402.67 

Ross 1,450 1,119  $151,434 $- $151,434 $- $104.44 $104.44 

Sandusky 1,160 829  $113,205 $321,173 $434,378 $3.00 $97.59 $374.46 

Scioto 1,374 1,358  $100,562 $301,687 $402,250 $3.00 $73.19 $292.76 

Seneca 1,173 1,041  $97,770 $293,309 $391,079 $3.00 $83.35 $333.40 

Shelby 984 800  $113,085 $339,254 $452,338 $3.00 $114.92 $459.69 

Stark 7,790 6,580  $934,266 $2,786,692 $3,720,959 $3.00 $119.93 $477.66 

Summit 11,355 9,036  $1,492,212 $4,476,127 $5,968,339 $3.00 $131.41 $525.61 

Trumbull 3,723 4,671  $289,625 $868,678 $1,158,303 $3.00 $77.79 $311.12 

Tuscarawas 1,836 1,852  $208,901 $626,703 $835,604 $3.00 $113.78 $455.12 

Union 1,597 827  $326,745 $326,745 $653,491 $1.00 $204.60 $409.20 

Van Wert 698 635  $72,500 $217,499 $289,999 $3.00 $103.87 $415.47 

Vinton 305 324  $16,321 $48,963 $65,284 $3.00 $53.51 $214.05 

Warren 5,517 3,012  $1,327,564 $2,655,128 $3,982,692 $2.00 $240.63 $721.89 

Washington 1,135 1,013  $114,278 $342,834 $457,113 $3.00 $100.69 $402.74 

Wayne 2,271 1,909  $259,682 $259,682 $519,363 $1.00 $114.35 $228.69 

Williams 945 1,196  $72,359 $217,076 $289,435 $3.00 $76.57 $306.28 

Wood 2,597 2,096  $406,755 $807,481 $1,214,236 $2.00 $156.63 $467.55 

Wyandot 483 562  $29,653 $88,960 $118,614 $3.00 $61.39 $245.58 
1Average mandatory fee per conveyance excludes exempt conveyances and permissive fees collected. 
2Average total fee per conveyance excludes exempt conveyances yet includes both mandatory and permissive fees collected. 
3Data not submitted for 2013; previous year’s data shown. 

Source: Surveys obtained from county auditors and conducted by the Ohio Department of Taxation. 
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