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Manufactured Home Tax 


State law establishes a tax on manufactured homes 
(mobile homes or house trailers). The tax is com­
puted and assessed by the county auditor where the 

manufactured home is located and is paid to and collected 
by the treasurer of the same county. The manufactured 
home tax is applied when the home is used as a residence. 
Manufactured homes used in a business other than for 
lease or rental as a residence are not subject to the manu­
factured home tax. 

   In calendar year 2014, about $30.4 million of taxes 
were levied on 197,410 manufactured homes in the state. 
Clermont County had the most manufactured homes 
(5,542), followed by Portage County (5,360) and Athens 
County (5,129) while Fayette County had the fewest (503). 
The average number of manufactured homes per county 
was about 2,243. 

Taxpayer 
(Ohio Revised Code 4503.06 & 4503.061) 

The tax is paid by all owners of manufactured or mobile 
homes that are sitused in Ohio and are not otherwise 
exempt. Homes acquire situs when they are located in 
Ohio through their placement on real property in the state, 
except when part of the inventory of a dealer in manufac­
tured or mobile homes. 

Tax Base 
(R.C. 4503.06) 

The tax is calculated based on one of two methods 
depending on when the manufactured home was first 
sitused in Ohio. 

For manufactured homes sitused in Ohio before Jan. 1, 
2000, the assessed value is 40% of the amount derived by 
multiplying the greater of either the home’s cost or market 
value at the time of purchase by a depreciation percentage 
(from one of two alternative schedules). 

For manufactured homes first sitused in Ohio or had 
ownership transferred on or after Jan. 1, 2000, the as­
sessed value is 35% of true value, which is like the base 
for real property. Also, owners of manufactured homes 
sitused in Ohio before Jan. 1, 2000, may elect to have the 
home taxed in this manner and not under the depreciation 
method. 

In cases where the owner converts a manufactured 
home to real property status (which requires the home to 
be affixed to real property owned by the homeowner on 

a permanent foundation), then the home is subject to the 
real property tax. 

Rates 
(R.C. 4503.06) 

Rates vary according to the property tax levies in effect 
where the manufactured home is located. The effective 
rate also varies according to how the property is assessed 
for tax purposes: 
• For homes assessed at 35% of true value (like real 

property), the manufactured home tax is based on the 
same credits and effective tax rates that apply to real 
property. 
• For homes assessed at 40% of depreciated cost or 

market value, the tax is based on the full (or gross) local 
tax rate. A minimum tax of $36 per year applies to homes 
assessed with the depreciation schedules, unless the 
home owner qualifies for the homestead exemption, in 
which case no minimum exists. 

Exemptions, Deductions, Credits 
(R.C. 4503.06) 

The tax does not apply when a manufactured or mobile 
home is: 
•	 part of the inventory of a new motor vehicle dealer or 

the inventory of a manufacturer, remanufacturer or 
distributor of manufactured or mobile homes. 

•	 a travel trailer (not exceeding 35 feet in length) or a 
park trailer meeting certain conditions. 

•	 licensed in another state, unless it is located in Ohio 
for more than 30 days in any calendar year. 

•	 taxed as real property. 
•	 exempt from taxation under Chapter 5709 of the Ohio 

Revised Code. 

Filing and Payment Dates 
(R.C. 4503.06)

 If the manufactured or mobile home is located in the 
state on January 1 of a given year, one-half of the tax is 
due by March 1 of that year with the balance due by July 
31. If the home is not located in Ohio on January 1, then 
no tax is due for that year. The Tax Commissioner may 
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grant extensions of these due dates upon application by 
a county treasurer or by a county auditor and a county 
treasurer together. 

Disposition of Revenue
(R.C. 4503.06) 

Revenue is distributed to the taxing subdivisions of 
each county in the same manner as other real estate and 
public utility taxes are distributed. However, 4.0 percent 
goes to the county auditor and 2.0 percent goes to the 
county treasurer as reimbursement for administrative 
costs. 

Special Provisions 
The homestead exemption for qualified senior citizens 

and disabled home owners is also available to owners of 
manufactured homes. See the Property Tax – Real Property 
chapter for details on the homestead exemption. 

Administration 
County auditors, county treasurers and the Tax Commis­

sioner. 

Ohio Revised Code Citations 
Sections 4501.01 and 4503.06 – 4503.0611 

Recent Legislation 
HB 85 of the 130th General Assembly (effective September 
11, 2014) 

The bill increases the amount of the Homestead Ex­
emption, from $25,000 to $50,000, to homesteads that 
are owned and occupied by veterans of the U.S. armed 
services (including the National Guard) who received a 
permanent total disability rating or a total disability rating 
for service-connected disability. The exemption, in addi­
tion, to homesteads, applies to manufactured or mobile 
homes taxed under the manufactured home tax. 

History of Major Changes 

1920 Separate license taxes enacted for motorcycles, pas­
senger cars and commercial vehicles. Trailers are taxed 
as commercial vehicles, at 20 cents per 100 lbs. of gross 
weight or fractional part thereof. 

General Assembly distinguishes “house trailers” from 
other trailers and levies an $18 annual license tax on 
them effective March 1, 1951. Revenue is distributed to 
local political subdivisions. 

1961 House trailer tax enacted as an ad valorem tax. Starting 
in 1962, house trailers were to be valued at 40 percent 
of its cost or market value at the time of purchase, 
whichever is greater, less a depreciation percentage. A 
minimum tax of $18 applies. 

1963 Legislature enacts a second depreciation schedule for 
house trailers that are purchased unfurnished. 

1969 Depreciation schedule allowances increase. 

1980 Legislature requires that the taxes owed are collected 
before a certificate of title is transferred. 

1984 “House trailers” are renamed “manufactured homes” in 
the Revised Code. 

1986 Legislature extends homestead exemption to certain 
owners of manufactured homes, effective tax year 1988. 

1999 General Assembly requires that manufactured homes 
be taxed like (but not as) real property when first locat­
ed in Ohio on or after Jan. 1, 2000 or when ownership is 
transferred on or after that date. Such homes remain on 
the manufactured home tax list, but the same tax rates 
and credits apply as apply to residential real property. 

Manufactured or mobile homes sitused in Ohio prior 
to Jan. 1, 2000 remain subject to depreciation method 
of taxation, unless the owner elects to have the home 
taxed like real property. The legislature also: 
•	 subjects used manufactured and mobile homes to 

transfer fees and taxes beginning Jan. 1, 2000. 
•	 requires owners who wish to move a manufac­

tured or mobile home to first obtain a relocation 
notice from the county auditor and pay the out­
standing taxes charged against the home. 

2003 Manufactured home park operators are permitted to 
remove an abandoned home from the park for sale or 
destruction. 

2004 Ohio Manufactured Homes Commission established 
to regulate the installation of manufactured housing 
in Ohio. Commission charged with setting a statewide 
standard for a permanent foundation, to which a manu­
factured or mobile home must be affixed before it can 
be converted to real property. 

2007 Expansion of the homestead exemption (see Property 
Tax – Real Property chapter) extended to qualified 
manufactured home owners, regardless of how the 
manufactured home is taxed. 

2013 Homestead exemption restricted for homeowners who 
do not receive the exemption for tax year 2014 to own­
ers with an Ohio adjusted gross income of $30,000 or 
less (adjusted annually for inflation). 

2014 HB 85 creates an enhanced homestead exemption for 
qualifying veterans. 

1949 
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Table 1 

Manufactured Home Valuation and Taxes, 2009-2014* 

Calendar Year Number of Manu­
factured Homes 

Taxable Value Current Taxes Levied 

Depreciation Basis Like Real Property Total Tax 

2009 215,187 $741,410,761 $9,424,732 $24,295,134 $33,719,866 

2010 207,442 731,457,508 8,241,063 24,495,409 32,736,472 

2011 205,028 721,099,212 7,726,520 23,333,502 31,060,022 

2012 201,650 701,130,275 7,699,112 23,004,564 30,703,676 

2013 199,226 687,531,892 6,687,740 23,774,879 30,462,619 

2014 197,410 681,030,305 6,049,709 24,395,774 30,445,484 

Source: Surveys received from local governments; data compiled by Department of Taxation (Table MH-1). 

* This table includes data on manufactured homes that are subject to the depreciated cost-based manufactured home tax as well as manufac­
tured homes that are subject to the manufactured home tax that is like the real property tax. Manufactured homes that are taxed as real property 
(as well as manufactured homes not used for residential purposes) are not included in this table. 
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Table 2 

Manufactured Home Valuation and Taxes, Calendar Year 2014 

Current Taxes Levied Delinquencies 

County Number of 
Manufac­
tured Homes 

Taxable Value Depreciation 
Schedule Tax 

Taxed like 
Real Property 

Total Taxes Depreciation 
Schedule Tax 

Taxed like Real 
Property 

Total Delinquen­
cies 

Total Current Taxes 
& Delinquencies 

Totals 197,410  $681,030,305 $6,049,709 $24,395,774 $30,445,484 $24,995,146 $25,932,757 $50,927,902 $81,373,386 

Adams 4,480  $6,656,810 $90,593 $150,210 $240,803 $706,374 $223,875 $930,249 $1,171,052 

Allen 2,010  $6,769,950 $43,181 $183,286 $226,468 $66,959 $116,037 $182,996 $409,464 

Ashland 1,199  $3,399,190 $37,398 $96,884 $134,282 $44,265 $92,952 $137,217 $271,498 

Ashtabula 3,684  $12,102,304 $92,591 $395,112 $487,703 $88,032 $244,933 $332,965 $820,667 

Athens 5,129  $15,680,934 $193,127 $538,857 $731,985 $1,191,725 $977,903 $2,169,628 $2,901,613 

Auglaize 648  $1,408,860 $7,129 $39,739 $46,868 $3,156 $6,900 $10,056 $56,924 

Belmont 2,104  $8,100,890 $54,702 $239,768 $294,470 $47,247 $89,573 $136,820 $431,290 

Brown 3,506  $10,992,380 $135,891 $262,558 $398,449 $679,644 $467,138 $1,146,783 $1,545,231 

Butler 4,690  $15,770,915 $96,910 $592,470 $689,380 $396,837 $997,066 $1,393,903 $2,083,283 

Carroll 1,919  $6,877,910 $81,326 $192,792 $274,118 $223,732 $210,248 $433,980 $708,098 

Champaign 1,148  $2,664,600 $- $93,462 $93,462 $- $395,382 $395,382 $488,843 

Clark 2,554  $9,436,798 $76,594 $283,096 $359,690 $223,993 $255,256 $479,249 $838,939 

Clermont 5,542  $14,664,701 $285,966 $835,937 $1,121,903 $616,699 $622,121 $1,238,820 $2,360,723 

Clinton 1,244  $5,142,860 $81,453 $123,290 $204,743 $331,443 $137,046 $468,490 $673,233 

Columbiana 4,549  $17,995,191 $153,486 $527,707 $681,193 $1,431,321 $945,010 $2,376,332 $3,057,525 

Coshocton 2,309  $6,503,982 $31,904 $316,428 $348,331 $238,619 $148,611 $387,230 $735,562 

Crawford 783  $1,794,740 $15,452 $66,347 $81,800 $33,513 $37,074 $70,587 $152,387 

Cuyahoga 2,493  $11,519,380 $231,635 $1,395,058 $1,626,693 $134,041 $317,457 $451,498 $2,078,191 

Darke 896  $2,872,090 $17,679 $76,548 $94,226 $11,834 $32,073 $43,907 $138,133 

Defiance 1,148  $3,649,870 $24,690 $105,132 $129,822 $32,327 $88,142 $120,469 $250,291 

Delaware 1,293  $5,132,590 $44,512 $211,093 $255,606 $277,508 $237,583 $515,091 $770,697 

Erie 1,210  $3,409,790 $27,084 $108,337 $135,421 $106,960 $181,378 $288,338 $423,759 

Fairfield 899  $3,493,267 $23,534 $91,905 $115,438 $37,968 $185,789 $223,757 $339,195 

Fayette * 503  $2,191,497 $35,154 $57,033 $92,187 $35,090 $71,078 $106,168 $198,355 

Franklin 3,721  $14,908,911 $151,795 $733,813 $885,608 $1,125,083 $890,430 $2,015,513 $2,901,120 

Fulton 1,332  $5,204,090 $48,412 $186,671 $235,082 $72,652 $138,980 $211,632 $446,714 

Gallia 4,224  $11,036,623 $90,804 $281,610 $372,414 $331,179 $324,726 $655,904 $1,028,319 

Geauga 1,392  $9,665,220 $58,741 $311,855 $370,597 $82,560 $121,543 $204,103 $574,700 

Greene 798  $4,556,112 $29,768 $331,761 $361,529 $102,108 $121,862 $223,971 $585,500 

Guernsey 2,432  $7,586,080 $82,188 $230,781 $312,969 $604,008 $371,845 $975,853 $1,288,822 

Hamilton 2,624  $10,108,240 $92,085 $326,459 $418,544 $325,830 $360,635 $686,465 $1,105,009 

Hancock 2,026  $7,852,770 $50,484 $259,242 $309,727 $20,264 $107,015 $127,279 $437,006 

Hardin 967  $1,516,090 $6,366 $51,209 $57,575 $3,078 $26,116 $29,194 $86,769 

Harrison 1,043  $3,470,820 $33,229 $98,435 $131,664 $107,761 $150,898 $258,658 $390,322 

Henry 922  $2,967,850 $38,576 $93,652 $132,228 $43,202 $71,988 $115,190 $247,418 

Highland 2,562  $8,683,370 $112,838 $211,688 $324,525 $282,728 $266,332 $549,059 $873,585 

Hocking 2,161  $7,281,480 $73,107 $219,855 $292,962 $148,257 $168,724 $316,981 $609,943 

Holmes 1,416  $3,913,290 $57,496 $113,573 $171,069 $24,945 $30,979 $55,923 $226,992 

Huron 1,834  $6,744,620 $49,192 $187,977 $237,169 $216,049 $421,977 $638,026 $875,195 

Jackson 2,736  $10,320,724 $80,190 $297,460 $377,650 $1,079,920 $685,369 $1,765,289 $2,142,939 

Jefferson 2,734  $7,577,485 $90,281 $202,841 $293,122 $1,055,012 $319,589 $1,374,602 $1,667,723 

Knox 1,000  $4,749,790 $32,451 $158,564 $191,015 $87,747 $119,155 $206,902 $397,918 

Lake 2,164  $8,141,490 $82,613 $253,496 $336,109 $313,359 $354,482 $667,841 $1,003,950 

Lawrence 4,931  $21,513,320 $131,011 $470,369 $601,380 $754,684 $933,166 $1,687,850 $2,289,230 

Licking 2,922  $12,247,300 $91,992 $475,315 $567,307 $200,430 $540,823 $741,254 $1,308,561 

Logan 2,139  $6,896,580 $41,121 $235,176 $276,297 $181,243 $327,085 $508,328 $784,625 
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Manufactured Home Valuation and Taxes, Calendar Year 2014 (continued) 

Current Taxes Levied Delinquencies 

County Number of 
Manufac­
tured Homes 

Taxable Value Depreciation 
Schedule Tax 

Taxed like 
Real Property 

Total Taxes Depreciation 
Schedule Tax 

Taxed like Real 
Property 

Total Delinquen­
cies 

Total Current Taxes 
& Delinquencies 

Lorain 2,537  $13,677,810 $38,908 $525,372 $564,280 $83,667 $389,713 $473,380 $1,037,660 

Lucas 4,433  $12,548,959 $116,764 $632,105 $748,869 $621,380 $568,109 $1,189,489 $1,938,358 

Madison 941  $2,761,680 $24,695 $84,028 $108,723 $40,654 $90,143 $130,797 $239,520 

Mahoning 1,505  $4,256,750 $37,257 $138,463 $175,721 $218,449 $195,600 $414,049 $589,770 

Marion 1,136  $4,795,060 $22,782 $125,957 $148,739 $18,621 $98,863 $117,484 $266,224 

Medina 641  $2,455,290 $14,613 $87,372 $101,985 $80,217 $89,236 $169,454 $271,439 

Meigs 2,580  $8,255,580 $55,659 $268,968 $324,627 $348,105 $442,832 $790,937 $1,115,564 

Mercer 1,397  $3,136,050 $24,292 $118,404 $142,695 $32,761 $57,521 $90,282 $232,977 

Miami 704  $1,032,150 $17,576 $23,726 $41,302 $57,273 $27,439 $84,712 $126,014 

Monroe 1,170  $3,775,300 $30,444 $99,781 $130,225 $53,687 $26,356 $80,043 $210,268 

Montgomery 3,234  $10,630,484 $99,607 $1,041,106 $1,140,713 $143,351 $57,824 $201,174 $1,341,887 

Morgan 1,447  $3,504,314 $37,815 $86,954 $124,769 $261,771 $195,167 $456,938 $581,707 

Morrow 1,755  $7,416,370 $69,478 $212,182 $281,660 $227,626 $285,739 $513,365 $795,025 

Muskingum 3,672  $14,135,460 $107,121 $435,710 $542,830 $367,703 $557,252 $924,956 $1,467,786 

Noble 830  $2,990,890 $20,861 $81,576 $102,437 $21,853 $23,253 $45,106 $147,543 

Ottawa 3,959  $16,709,247 $72,349 $542,535 $614,884 $156,505 $284,444 $440,949 $1,055,833 

Paulding 798  $1,820,600 $22,430 $52,960 $75,390 $18,041 $38,636 $56,677 $132,067 

Perry 2,609  $7,886,340 $96,529 $214,255 $310,784 $1,180,192 $554,231 $1,734,423 $2,045,207 

Pickaway 1,967  $6,582,749 $52,430 $350,499 $402,929 $395,533 $708,619 $1,104,152 $1,507,081 

Pike * 3,299  $10,073,870 $90,084 $268,201 $358,285 $1,092,587 $653,350 $1,745,936 $2,104,222 

Portage 5,360  $28,221,730 $152,082 $1,002,044 $1,154,126 $598,722 $991,348 $1,590,070 $2,744,196 

Preble 714  $2,475,452 $8,842 $47,114 $55,956 $64,217 $50,034 $114,251 $170,207 

Putnam 681  $2,203,600 $18,322 $56,318 $74,640 $8,769 $30,372 $39,141 $113,781 

Richland 2,162  $5,819,903 $68,670 $423,558 $492,228 $602,300 $373,842 $976,142 $1,468,370 

Ross 4,364  $13,464,850 $166,167 $338,784 $504,951 $361,273 $377,896 $739,168 $1,244,119 

Sandusky 1,691  $5,751,870 $47,021 $155,745 $202,765 $258,389 $175,931 $434,320 $637,085 

Scioto 5,014  $18,665,200 $150,304 $565,438 $715,742 $727,862 $1,271,958 $1,999,821 $2,715,563 

Seneca 1,336  $4,269,546 $43,601 $203,698 $247,299 $358,433 $215,958 $574,391 $821,690 

Shelby 882  $3,096,840 $29,461 $85,167 $114,628 $31,653 $63,147 $94,800 $209,428 

Stark 3,129  $9,609,920 $60,330 $295,668 $355,998 $270,706 $279,795 $550,501 $906,499 

Summit 1,976  $5,518,013 $50,115 $271,657 $321,771 $273,509 $277,050 $550,559 $872,330 

Trumbull 3,843  $7,805,510 $86,120 $243,940 $330,060 $233,652 $268,543 $502,194 $832,254 

Tuscarawas 3,774  $16,969,720 $113,138 $508,459 $621,597 $250,909 $426,081 $676,990 $1,298,587 

Union 863  $2,832,650 $37,994 $118,116 $156,111 $41,458 $154,090 $195,549 $351,659 

Van Wert 675  $2,002,150 $14,270 $51,113 $65,383 $7,718 $44,759 $52,477 $117,859 

Vinton 1,882  $6,184,020 $78,848 $206,423 $285,271 $393,587 $307,623 $701,211 $986,481 

Warren 977  $2,812,644 $22,752 $120,520 $143,271 $170,542 $305,108 $475,650 $618,921 

Washington 4,440  $15,099,400 $137,295 $424,899 $562,194 $412,150 $460,900 $873,050 $1,435,244 

Wayne 3,526  $13,488,740 $131,379 $403,337 $534,715 $105,314 $200,483 $305,797 $840,512 

Williams 1,010  $3,113,030 $25,724 $100,906 $126,630 $60,976 $63,035 $124,011 $250,641 

Wood 3,931  $16,933,320 $140,873 $642,556 $783,430 $216,298 $295,075 $511,373 $1,294,803 

Wyandot 546  $1,073,490 $7,976 $25,317 $33,293 $5,345 $21,055 $26,400 $59,693 

* Did not submit 2014 data; previous year’s data shown 

Source: Surveys completed by county auditors and conducted by the Ohio Department of Taxation. 
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