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Credits 
Credit for Smaller Insurance Companies or Groups (R.C. 

5729.031): Insurance companies or insurance company  
groups with less than $75 million in total U.S. premiums 
are eligible for a credit of up to $200,000 against their an-
nual tax liability. The closer insurers get to the $75 million 
mark, the lower the value of this credit.

Ohio Life and Health Guaranty Association Credit (R.C. 
3956.20): Insurance companies receive a tax credit for the 
full amount of assessments paid into the Ohio Life and 
Health Guaranty Association. By law, insurance companies 
are required to be members of the association, a not-for-
profit association created by Ohio law, as a condition of 
transacting business in Ohio. If a member became im-
paired or insolvent, the other members would be assessed 
by the association at a rate of up to 2 percent of gross 
premiums to protect policy holders of the impaired or 
insolvent insurer.

 The following credits are also applicable to the do-
mestic insurance premium tax and are described in detail 
in the Business Tax Credits chapter: Job Retention, Job 
Creation, Venture Capital Loan Loss, New Markets, Job 
Training and the Historic Building Rehabilitation credits.

Special Provisions
     Health Insuring Corporations (R.C. 5725.18, 1731.07):  
Domestic insurers that are health insuring corporations 
are taxed at the rate of 1 percent of all premium payments, 
excluding Medicare payments and small employer health 
care alliance premiums.
     Fire Insurance tax (R.C. 3737.71): An additional 0.75 per-
cent tax is levied on the gross premiums from fire insur-
ance and that portion of the premium reasonably allocable 
to fire insurance included in other insurance coverages.

Filing and Payment Dates 
(R.C. 5725.18, 5725.20, 5725.22)

The director of the Ohio Department of Insurance certi-
fies the tax liability of each insurance company to the Ohio 
treasurer of state by the first Monday of May. Within 20 
days, the treasurer issues a tax bill with payment due on 
June 15. The tax year is defined as the year in which the 
tax returns are due. Tax liabilities are based upon the pre-
vious year’s business activity.

Domestic Insurance Premium Tax 

The state has imposed an annual franchise tax on 
insurance companies since the 1830s. A domestic 
insurance company is every insurance company 

organized and existing under Ohio law. The tax is admin-
istered by the Ohio Department of Insurance. In fiscal 
year 2015, total domestic insurance premium taxes were 
approximately $257.2 million, with $251.6 million going 
to the state’s General Revenue Fund and the remaining 
$5.6 million to the state’s Fire Marshal Fund. 

Taxpayer 
(Ohio Revised Code 5725.01, 5725.18)

The tax is paid by domestic insurance companies orga-
nized and existing under Ohio law.

Tax Base 
(R.C.5725.18)

The tax applies to the gross amount of premiums re-
ceived from policies covering risks in Ohio. 

Rate
(R.C. 5725.18, 3737.71)

 The tax rate is 1.4 percent for domestic insurance 
companies that are not health insuring corporations.  The 
minimum tax is $250.

Exemptions 
(R.C.5725.03)

  The tax does not apply to annuities, deposit-type life 
insurance contracts, Medicare payments, small employer 
health care alliance premiums or federal crop insurance 
premiums.

Table 1

 Domestic Insurance Premium Tax Revenues (dollars in millions)

Fiscal Year General
Revenue Fund

Fire Marshal 
Fund

Total

2011 $189.4  $4.9  $194.3

2012  189.1  5.0  194.1

2013  206.4  5.0  211.6

2014  196.8  5.4  202.3

2015 251.6 5.6 257.2
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Disposition of Revenue
(R.C. 5725.24, 3737.71)

Revenue is distributed to the state’s General Revenue 
Fund, except for revenue from the additional tax on fire 
insurance (see Special Provisions), which is distributed to 
the Fire Marshal Fund.

Administration 
Director, Ohio Department of Insurance.

Ohio Revised Code Citations
R.C. Chapters 5725 and 5729, R.C. 1731.07, 3737.71, 

3956.20.

Recent Legislation 
Amended Substitute House Bill Number 64, 131st Gen-

eral Assembly (effective Oct. 1, 2015) 
The act amended R.C. 5725.22(C) to change the pay-

ment date for domestic insurance premium tax such that 
the last day on which payment may be made without 
penalty shall be the 15th day of June.

History of Major Changes
1830 Legislature enacts a 4 percent tax on dividends paid by 

insurance companies with a $50 minimum tax.

1831 The 4 percent tax is repealed; legislature enacts a 5 
percent tax on the dividends of “bank, insurance and 
bridge companies.

1852 New Ohio Constitution requires the taxation of all real 
and personal property according to uniform rule and 
subjects corporation property to taxation, same as for 
individuals. Requires all insurance companies to list 
real property, tangible property, money and credits for 
taxation as property.

1900 Legislature enacts a 0.5 percent tax on the gross premi-
ums of all insurance companies to support the state fire 
marshal office. Two years later, lawmakers limit this tax 
to fire insurance companies.

1933 Legislature replaces tax on the personal property of 
insurance companies with a franchise tax on either 0.2 
percent of capital and surplus or 1.67 percent on gross 
premiums, whichever is less.

1971 Legislature increases rates to either 0.3 percent of 
capital and surplus or 2.5 percent on gross premiums, 
whichever is less.

1979 Legislature increases the 0.5 percent tax on fire insur-
ance gross premiums to 0.75 percent.

1981 Legislature increases the tax rate on capital and sur-
plus to 0.6 percent.

1989 The Ohio Life and Health Guaranty Association is estab-
lished, along with a 100 percent tax credit for assess-
ments paid by participating members.

1997 Legislature enacts HB 215, which phased in the follow-
ing changes between 1999 and 2003:

•	 gradual reduction in the gross premium tax rate 
from 2.5 percent to 1.4 percent.

•	 gradual elimination of the capital and surplus tax.
•	 minimum tax of $250 (instead of $200).
•	 expansion of the tax credit for smaller insurer 

groups to include those with less than $75 million 
in U.S. premiums (previously, the limit was $50 
million).

Comparisons with Other States
(as of July 1, 2015)

State	 Fee

Georgia In general, the tax rate is 2.25 percent of gross 
direct premiums. Rate may be abated or reduced 
based upon percentage of total assets invested 
in qualified Georgia property.

Indiana 1.3 percent on gross premiums. Fire insurance 
tax is 0.5 percent of gross premiums received 
from Indiana-based policies for fire risks.

Kentucky In general, the rate is 2 percent of all amounts 
paid. Additionally, a 1.8 percent surcharge ap-
plies on premiums for Kentucky risks. Fire insur-
ers pay an additional 0.75 percent on premiums. 
Life insurance companies may make an irrevo-
cable election to pay a tax on taxable capital and 
a reduced tax on premium receipts, in lieu of the 
gross premiums tax of 1.5 percent.

Michigan The rate is equal to 1.25 percent of gross direct 
premiums.

North Carolina 1.9 percent of gross premiums. There is an 
additional 0.74 percent on property coverage 
contracts.

Ohio 1.4 percent of gross premiums. Fire insurers pay 
an additional 0.75 percent on premiums derived 
from fire insurance.

Pennsylvania 2 percent on gross premiums.

Tennessee 2.5 percent of gross premiums, with a 1.75 per-
cent rate for life insurance companies. Compa-
nies writing fire insurance pay an additional 0.75 
percent.

Texas 1.6 percent of taxable gross premiums for prop-
erty and casualty insurance; 1.75 percent for life, 
health and accident insurance. A half tax rate of 
0.875 percent is due on the first $450,000 of life 
insurance or HMO premiums.   

West Virginia 3 percent of gross premiums. An additional 1 
percent applies generally on taxable premiums 
for casualty and fire insurance policies.


