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Wireless 9-1-1 Charge 

Tax Base
(R.C. 128.42)

For prepaid wireless service, it is the sale price. For 
post-paid wireless service, it is each wireless phone num-
ber with an Ohio billing address.

Rates
(R.C. 128.42)

For prepaid wireless service, the charge is 0.005% of 
the sale price. The charge is 25 cents per month on each 
wireless telephone number of a wireless service subscrib-
er who has a billing address in this state.

Special Provisions
(R.C. 128.44, 128.46)

A wireless service provider, reseller and seller may 
retain three percent of the wireless 9-1-1 charges as a col-
lection fee. Returns and payments must be remitted elec-
tronically, except upon a showing of good cause to the 
Tax Commissioner. The tax commissioner must provide 
not less than 30 days advance notice to known wireless 
service  providers, resellers and sellers of prepaid wireless 
calling services of any increase or decrease in wireless 
9-1-1 charges imposed under R.C. 128.46.

Filing and Payment Dates
(R.C. 128.46)

Returns and payments are due on the 23rd day of each 
month.

Disposition of Revenue
(R.C. 128.54, 128.55, 128.57)

The revenue from the charge is allocated as follows:
•	 97 percent to the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assis

tance Fund.
•	 2 percent to the 9-1-1 Program Fund (Steering Com-

mittee’s administration fund).
•	 1 percent to the Wireless 9-1-1 Administration Fund 

(Department of Taxation’s administration fund). 
Counties receive a monthly distribution from the Wire

less 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund. The distribution 
is to occur by the end of each month. The counties receive 
the same amount as they did in the corresponding month 
during CY 2013. In the event of insufficient moneys to 
make the month’s distributions, each county receives a 

Wireless 9-1-1 charges provide state level fund-
ing for local wireless 9-1-1 services. Current law 
imposes a wireless 9-1-1 charge on each wireless 

phone number of a wireless service subscriber who has 
a billing address in Ohio at the rate of 25 cents per month 
and on the purchase of prepaid wireless services occurring 
in Ohio at the rate of 0.005% of the purchase price.  Rev-
enues from the wireless 9-1-1 charges are distributed as 
follows:

•	 ninety-seven percent to the wireless 9-1-1 government 
assistance fund. The tax commissioner disburses mon-
eys from this fund to the counties.

•	 two percent to the wireless 9-1-1 program fund to de-
fray the Steering Committee’s cost of administering the 
9-1-1 system.

•	 one percent to the wireless administration fund to de-
fray the Ohio Department of Taxation’s (ODT) cost of 
collecting and administering the 9-1-1 charge.

Any excess remaining in the administrative funds is 
transferred to the next generation 9-1-1 fund. At the direc-
tion of the steering committee, the tax commissioner 
transfers the funds remaining in the wireless 9-1-1 govern-
ment assistance fund to the credit of the next generation 
9-1-1 fund. The tax commissioner also disburses money 
from the next generation 9-1-1 fund in accordance with 
guidelines established by the Steering Committee.

In fiscal year 2015, approximately $25.6 million was 
deposited into the three funds associated with this charge: 
$24.8 million to the wireless 9-1-1 government assistance 
fund; $0.5 million to the 9-1-1 program fund and $0.3 mil
lion for the wireless 9-1-1 administrative fund. 

Taxpayer
(Ohio Revised Code 128.42)

A 25 cents charge is imposed on each wireless tele-
phone number of a wireless service subscriber who has 
a billing address in Ohio. There is imposed on each retail 
sale of a prepaid wireless calling service occurring in Ohio, 
a wireless 9-1-1 charge of five-tenths of one per cent of 
the sale price. The charge is collected by the retailer at the 
point of sale for prepaid wireless service.
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distribution in proportion to the county’s share during the 
corresponding month in CY 2013. The Next Generation 9-1-
1 Fund is to receive from the Wireless 9-1-1 Government 
Assistance Fund any money in excess of amounts neces-
sary to make monthly distributions to counties. Addition-
ally, at the end of each fiscal year, any remainder in the 
administration funds is transferred to the Next Generation 
9-1-1 Fund.

Administration
(R.C. 128.02, 128.022, 128.40, 128.55)

The Statewide Steering Committee administers the 
9-1-1 service law. A program office in the Department of 
Administrative Services oversees administration of the 
wireless 9-1-1 government assistance fund, program fund 
and next Generation 9-1-1 fund. ODT administers the col-
lection of wireless 9-1-1 charges.  

Ohio Revised Code Citations
Chapter 128

Recent Legislation
Am. Sub. HB 64,131st General Assembly.
The bill clarified that the tax commissioner transfers 

funds remaining in the wireless 9-1-1 government assis-
tance fund to the next generation 9-1-1 fund at the direc-
tion of the steering committee. Additionally, any shortfall 
in monthly distributions from the wireless 9-1-1 govern-
ment assistance fund to counties from insufficient funds 
from a previous month shall be remedied in the following 
month.

Am. Sub. HB 483,130th General Assembly (Sept.15, 
2014).

The bill permitted refunds of erroneously or illegally 
paid 9-1-1 wireless charges under RC 5703.052.

Am. Sub. HB 59,130th General Assembly (Effective June 
30, 2013).

The bill vested collection and disbursement responsibil
ities for the wireless 9-1-1 charge in ODT effective Jan. 1, 
2014. The act codified 9-1-1 service law in Chapter 128 of 
the Ohio Revised Code.

2004 Am. Sub. HB 361 (125th General Assembly) established 
a service charge of 32 cents per month to be billed on 
each wireless number of a subscriber with a billing 
address in the state.

2008 Am. Sub. SB 129 (127th General Assembly) reduced the 
wireless 9-1-1 charge from 32 cents per month to 28 
cents.

2012 Sub. HB 360 (129th General Assembly) decreased the 
post-paid monthly wireless 9-1-1 charge from 28 cents 
to 25 cents. The bill required the prepaid wireless 
charge to be 0.005% of the retail price imposed at the 
point of sale.

2012 Sub. HB 472 (129th General Assembly) required the 
monthly wireless 9-1-1 charge to be continuously 
imposed on prepaid subscribers until the new prepaid 
charge imposed at the point of sale took effect on 
January 1, 2014.

2013 Am. Sub. HB 59 (130th General Assembly) codified 
9-1-1 service law into Chapter 128 of the Ohio Revised 
Code.

2015 Am. Sub. HB 64 (131st General Assembly) clarified that 
the tax commissioner transfers funds remaining in the 
wireless 9-1-1 government assistance fund to the next 
generation 9-1-1 fund at the direction of the steering 
committee. Additionally, any shortfall in monthly distri-
butions from the wireless 9-1-1 government assistance 
fund to counties from insufficient funds from a previous 
month shall be remedied in the following month.

State Charge 

Georgia prepaid $0.75; post-paid $1.00-$1.50.

Indiana prepaid $0.50; post-paid $0.90.

Kentucky $0.70 pre- and post-paid.

Michigan prepaid 1.92 percent of sale price; Post-paid
$0.19 state fee and county fee ranges from
$0.00-$3.00.

North Carolina $0.60 for pre- and post-paid.

Pennsylvania $1.00 pre- and post-paid.

Tennessee $1.16 pre- and post-paid

Texas prepaid 2 percent of sale price; post-paid $0.50.

West Virginia prepaid 6 percent of sale price; post-paid $3.00

Comparisons with Other States
(As of June 30, 2015)

History of Major Changes



118 9-1-1 Wireless Chargehiotax. .gov

Table 2

Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund distributions for FY 2015

County Amount County Amount County Amount

Adams $90,000 Guernsey $90,476 Muskingum $176,447 

Allen $228,858 Hamilton $2,245,169 Noble $90,000 

Ashland $104,182 Hancock $164,443 Ottawa $91,556

Ashtabula $216,515 Hardin $90,000 Paulding $90,000

Athens $106,792 Harrison $90,000 Perry $90,000 

Auglaize $98,821 Henry $90,000 Pickaway $108,076 

Belmont $131,075 Highland $90,199 Pike $90,000 

Brown $90,000 Hocking $90,000 Portage $306,712 

Butler $716,485 Holmes $90,000 Preble $90,000

Carroll $90,000 Huron $128,329 Putnam $90,000

Champaign $90,000 Jackson $90,000 Richland $247,081

Clark $278,102 Jefferson $131,231 Ross $148,107 

Clermont $382,893 Knox $120,177 Sandusky $122,882 

Clinton $95,966 Lake $480,106 Scioto $139,323.56 

Columbiana $210,417 Lawrence $115,910 Seneca $115,981 

Coshocton $90,000 Licking $333,249 Shelby $99,191

Crawford $92,528 Logan $97,934 Stark $799,808 

Cuyahoga $2,841,552 Lorain $615,538 Summit $1,180,419 

Darke $102,620 Lucas $948,174 Trumbull $417,792 

Defiance $90,000 Madison $90,000 Tuscarawas $183,049 

Delaware $602,464 Mahoning $513,233 Union $123,473 

Erie $162,184 Marion $139,815 Van Wert $90,000 

Fairfield $292,661 Medina $349,589 Vinton $90,000 

Fayette $90,000 Meigs $90,000 Warren $435,272 

Franklin $2,492,425 Mercer $90,000 Washington $128,742

Fulton $91,575 Miami $203,079 Wayne $216,172 

Gallia $90,000 Monroe $90,000 Williams $90,000 

Geauga $177,273 Montgomery $1,197,228 Wood $250,434 

Greene $309,512 Morgan $90,000 Wyandot $90,000 

Morrow $90,000 Total $25,689,296 

Source: Ohio Department of Taxation

Table 1

Wireless 9-1-1 Charge Revenues
(dollars in millions)

Fiscal Year Wireless 9-1-1 
Government 

Assistance Fund

9-1-1 Program 
Fund

Wireless 9-1-1 
Adminstrative 

Fund

Total

2014 $15.3 $0.3 $0.2 $15.8

2015 24.8 0.5 0.3 25.6

Source:  Ohio Office of Budget and Management financial reports.


