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Alcoholic Beverage Taxes 

R esponsibility for administering Ohio’s taxes on 
alcoholic beverages is split between the Department 
of Taxation and the Department of Commerce’s Divi­

sion of Liquor Control.This chapter covers only the role of 
the Department of Taxation, which administers taxes on 
beer, wine, cider and mixed beverages of up to 21 percent 
alcohol by volume (ABV). 

Tax payments from excise taxes on beer, wine, cider 
and mixed beverages totaled approximately $57.7 million 
in fiscal year 2015. Of this amount, approximately $56.6 
million was distributed to the General Revenue Fund. Ap­
proximately $1.2 million from five cents per gallon of the 
excise tax on wine (including sparkling wine and ver-
mouth) was distributed to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund. 
Two cents of the five cents is temporary and is scheduled 
to end on June 30, 2015. 

The Department of Taxation also administers county 
permissive taxes on beer, wine, cider and mixed bever-
ages. Cuyahoga County is the only county that levies such 
taxes. In 2008, the General Assembly prohibited new local 
taxes on alcohol. See the Local Government Taxes section 
for details. 

Taxpayer 
Excise taxes on alcoholic beverages are paid by the 

manufacturers, importers and wholesale distributors that 
sell and distribute in Ohio, as shown in the table 
below. 

•	 Beer is brewed or fermented from malt products. It 
contains at least 0.5 percent but not more than 12 
percent ABV. 

•	 Mixed beverages are mixtures of wine or distilled 
spirits with carbonated or noncarbonated flavoring 
materials. They contain at least 0.5 percent and not 
more than 21 percent ABV. 

•	 Wine, including sparkling wine and vermouth, con­
sists of fermented juices of grapes, fruits or other 
agricultural products. It contains at least 0.5 percent 
and not more than 21 percent ABV. By law, wine 
with less than four percent ABV is not subject to the 
alcoholic beverage excise tax. 

•	 Cider consists of fermented juices of apples, in­
cluding flavored, sparkling or carbonated cider. It 
contains at least 0.5 percent and not more than six 
percent ABV. 

A separate tax on liquor gallonage is administered by 
the Division of Liquor Control. 

Rates 
Excise tax rates on each alcoholic beverage vary by 

type and alcohol content. The state tax rates are as fol­
lows: 

Type of Product Code Section Taxpayer 

Bottle and canned beer 4301.42 Manufacturer, bottler, can­
ner or wholesale dealer 

Wine 4301.43 Manufacturer, wholesale 
dealer or retail dealer 

Mixed beverages 4301.43 Manufacturer, wholesale 
dealer or retail dealer 

Beer in barrels 4305.01 Manufacturer or consignee 

Tax Base 
(Ohio Revised Code 4301.01) 

The tax base is comprised of beer, wine, cider and 
mixed beverages up to 21 percent ABV. These beverages 
are defined in law as follows: 

Type of Product Code Section Measure Rate 

Beer in bottles or cans 4301.42 6 oz. or fractional 
part thereof 

0.84 cent(s)1 

Wine (containing 4% - 14% 
ABV2) 

4301.43 - .432 Gallon 32 cents 

Wine (containing 14% - 21% 
ABV by volume) 

4301.43 - .432 Gallon $1.00 

Vermouth 4301.43 - .432 Gallon $1.10 

Sparkling, carbonated wine 
& champagne 

4301.43 - .432 Gallon $1.50 

Cider 4301.43 Gallon 24 cents 

Mixed Beverages 4301.43 Gallon $1.20 

Beer in barrels 4305.01 31 gallons $5.58 
1 The rate on bottles and cans having less than 12 ounces is 0.14 cent(s) per 
ounce. 
2 Alcohol by volume. 
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1805 General Assembly enacts first saloon license law, 
permitting counties to charge annual fees of between 
$4 and $12. 

1851 New Ohio constitution prohibits the licensing of liquor 
traffic, but permits the legislature to “provide against 
evils resulting therefrom.” 

1886 After two previous taxes are struck down, the General 
Assembly enacts the Dow Law, a $200 annual tax on 
the traffic of liquor and $100 annual tax on the traffic 
of “malt or vinous” alcohol. Generally, the tax applies 
to saloons; manufacturers are exempted. Initially, pro­
ceeds are split between county treasuries and county 
poor funds. The Dow Law, framed as an “act providing 
against the evils” of liquor traffic, withstands constitu­
tional scrutiny. 

1888 Dow tax is raised to $250, regardless of type of alcohol. 
One-fifth of proceeds is directed to the state general 
revenue fund. 

1896 Dow tax is raised to $350; 30 percent of revenue is dedi­
cated to state general revenue fund. 

1906 Dow tax is raised to $1,000. 

1920 Prohibition begins. 

Exemptions and Refunds
(R.C. 4301.23, 4303.332, 4303.333, 4307.05) 

Exemptions 
The alcoholic beverage tax does not apply to: 
•	 sacramental wine used in religious rites. 
•	 sales to the federal government. 
•	 sales for resale outside Ohio. 

Small breweries 
Any Ohio A-1-C permit holder (i.e., a manufacturer of 

beer with total production not to exceed 31 million gallons 
in a calendar year) will receive a credit against their excise 
tax the following year, and a refund on any excise tax paid 
during the current year, on up to 9.3 million gallons of 
beer distributed in Ohio. 

Small wineries 
Any licensed Ohio wine producer whose total produc­

tion does not exceed 500,000 gallons in a calendar year 
will be granted an exemption from the excise tax for such 
year and a refund of any excise tax paid. 

Filing and Payment Dates
(R.C. 4303.33, 4301.422) 

Filing and payment schedules vary according to the 
type of permit. 

Beer permit holders 
Advance payments are due on or before the 18th day 

of each month for that month’s estimated tax liability. 
Monthly payments are due on or before the 10th day of 
the month for the previous month’s liability. 

Wine and mixed beverage permit holders 
Monthly payments are due on or before the 18th day of 

each month for the previous month’s liability. 

Discounts and Additional Credits 
(R.C. 4303.33, 4301.422) 

Discounts and additional credits are available for collec­
tion and timely payment of tax liability by permit holders. 

Beer permit holders 
An advance pay credit is available equal to three per-

cent of the amount of tax received by the 18th day of the 
month for which the tax is paid. Also, a discount is offered 
on the balance of tax due (after the advance payment) 
if received by the 10th day of the following month. This 
additional discount is the smaller of the following: three 
percent of 10 percent of the advance payment or three 
percent of the net amount of tax due after deducting the 
advance payment. 

Wine and mixed beverage permit holders 
A three percent discount is available on the amount of 

monthly payment if the payment is received on or before 

the 18th day of the month for the previous month’s tax 
liability. 

Disposition of Revenue
(R.C. 924.51-.55, 4301.43, 4301.432, 4301.46, 4305.01, 4301.423) 

State levies 
All of the excise tax is distributed to the General Reve­

nue Fund, except for five cents per gallon of the excise tax 
on wine (including sparkling wine and vermouth), which is 
distributed to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund. 

Administration 
(R.C. 4307.04) 

The Tax Commissioner administers alcoholic beverage 
taxes on beer, wine, cider and mixed beverages of up to 
21 percent alcohol by volume.The Division of Liquor Con­
trol, in the Ohio Department of Commerce, administers 
the liquor gallonage tax.The Division of Liquor Control 
is also responsible for issuing, suspending, and revoking 
all permits to manufacture, distribute, and sell alcoholic 
beverages. 

Ohio Revised Code Citations 
Chapters 924, 4301, 4303, 4305, 4307. 

History of Major Changes 
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1933 Prohibition ends; the modern taxation of alcohol begins. 
Beer and malt beverages are taxed at $1 per barrel. 
Wine is taxed at 10 percent of retail price. 

1934 Liquor is taxed at $1 per gallon. Tax on bottled beer and 
malt beverages is set at 0.75 cents per each six ounces 
or fractional share thereof. 

1935 Mixed beverages are taxed at 10 percent of retail price. 
Malt beverage tax is increased to $2.50 per barrel. 

1939 Mixed beverages are taxed at 40 cents per gallon. Wine 
tax is revised as follows: 
•	  Wine (less than 14 percent ABV.) 
•	  Wine (14 percent to 21 percent ABV: 30 cents per 

gallon). 
•	 Vermouth: 60 cents per gallon. 
•	 Sparkling wine and champagne: $1 per gallon. 

1959 Sales of wine and mixed beverages are subjected to 
sales tax. Beer tax is increased to $2.50 per barrel. 

1967 Beer and malt beverages are subjected to sales tax. 

1969 New rates are enacted as follows: 
•	 Liquor gallonage: $2.25 per gallon. 
•	 Mixed beverages: 80 cents per gallon. 
•	 Wine (less than 14 percent ABV): 24 cents per 

gallon. 
•	 Wine (14 to 21 percent ABV): 60 cents per gallon. 
•	 Vermouth: 75 cents per gallon. 
•	 Sparkling wine and champagne: $1.25 per gallon. 

1981 Temporary tax increases on beer, malt beverages, wine 
and mixed beverages take effect from January to June. 

1982 Credit against taxes is enacted for Ohio brewers and 
wine producers. Also, wine tax is increased 2 cents 
per gallon, with 3 cents per gallon earmarked for grape 
industries. Distinction between “beer” and “malt” 
beverages is repealed. Tax on beer in containers of 12 
ounces or less is changed to 0.125 cents per ounce. 

1989 Tax on barreled beer is increased to $3.50 per barrel. 

1992 Tax on beer is increased to 0.14 cents per ounce bottled 
and $5.58 per barrel. Mixed beverage tax is increased 
to $1.20 per gallon. Wine taxes are increased to the 
following rates: 
•	 Less than 14 percent alcohol: 32 cents per gallon. 
•	 Between 14 and 21 percent alcohol: $1 per gallon. 
•	 Sparkling wine: $1.50 per gallon. 
•	  Vermouth: $1.10 per gallon. 

1995 Additional 2 cents of the excise tax on wine is temporar­
ily allocated to the Ohio grape industry special account 
until July 1, 1999. 

History of Major Changes - continued 1997 Department of Liquor Control is renamed Division of 
Liquor Control and placed within the Department of 
Commerce. 

1999 Temporary two cents per gallon tax on wine for the Ohio 
Grape Industries Fund is extended until July 1, 2001 (and 
extended for an additional two years in 2001, 2003, 2005, 
2007, 2009, 2011, 2013 and 2015). 

2007 General Assembly creates two new permit types, B-2A 
and S, to allow for the direct shipment of wine by small 
wineries to retailers and consumers in Ohio. 

2008 General Assembly exempts holders of B-2A and S per­
mits from 30 cents of the 32 cents per gallon wine tax 
and allows for a refund of all but two cents per gallon 
of the total tax paid by these permit holders, retroac­
tive to Oct. 1, 2007. Also raises the threshold at which 
wine manufacturers are eligible for these permits from 
150,000 gallons to 250,000 gallons. 

2011 General Assembly allows an “S” permit holder direct 
shipment of beer by brand owner, or United States 
importer, to consumers in Ohio. 

2013 Carved the A-1-c permit holders out of the A-1 permit 
holders. A-1-c permit holders are those manufacturers 
whose total production of beer, wherever produced, will 
not exceed 31 million gallons of beer in a calendar year. 

Comparisons with Other States
(As of July 1, 2015) 

Unless otherwise noted, the percentages in this listing 
refer to alcohol content measured by volume. One barrel 
equals 31 gallons. Conversions to gallons and barrels were 
done for comparison sake. 

Georgia1 •	 Beer: $10 per barrel. 
•	 Wine (14 percent or less): Up to $1.51 per gallon. 
•	 Wine ( over 14 and up to 21 percent): Up to $2.54 

per gallon. 
•	 Wine (21 percent and greater): $3.79 per gallon. 
•	 Distilled spirits (less than 190 proof): $3.79 per 

gallon. 
•	 Alcohol (190 proof and greater): $5.30 per gallon. 

Indiana •	 Beer, malt beverages and cider: $3.57 per barrel. 
•	 Wine (less than 21 percent): 47 cents per gallon. 
•	 Mixed beverages (15 percent or less): 47 cents 

per gallon. 
•	 Liquor (21 percent and greater): $2.68 per gallon. 
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Comparisons with Other States - continued Recent Legislation 
House Bill 64, 131st General Assembly (FY 2016-2017 

Kentucky •	 Beer, malt beverages, and weak cider: $2.50 per 
barrel. 

•	 Wine and cider: 50 cents per gallon. 
•	 Distilled spirits (less than 6 percent): 25 cents 

per gallon. 
•	 Distilled spirits (6 percent and greater): $1.92 per 

gallon. 

Michigan •	 Beer: $6.30 per barrel. 
•	 Wine (16 percent or less): 51 cents per gallon. 
•	 Wine (greater than 16 percent): 75.7 cents per 

gallon. 
•	 Mixed drinks (10 percent or less) $1.82 per gal­

lon. 
•	 Distilled spirits (including wine 21 percent and 

greater): 12 percent of selling price. 

North •	 Beer: $19.13 per barrel. 
Carolina •	 Wine (less than 17 percent): $1.00 per gallon. 

•	 Wine (17 to 24 percent): $1.11 per gallon. 
•	 Liquor: 30 percent of selling price. 

Pennsyl­ •	 Brewed or malt beverages, including cider: $2.48 
vania per barrel. 

•	 Alcoholic beverages other than brewed or malt 
beverages: 18 percent of selling price. 

Tennessee •	 Beer and all other beverages (less than 5 per­
cent): $35.60 per barrel. 

•	 Beer and all other beverages (5 to 7 percent) 
$1.10 per gallon. 

•	 Beer and all other beverages (7 to 21 percent): 
$1.21 per gallon. 

•	 Distilled spirits: $4.40 per gallon. 

Texas •	 Beer (4 percent alcohol by weight or less): 
$6.00 per barrel. 

•	 Ale and malt liquor (over 4 percent alcohol by 
weight): $6.14 per barrel. 

•	 Wine (14 percent or less): 20.4 cents per gallon. 
•	 Wine (over 14 percent): 40.8 cents per gallon. 
•	 Sparkling wine: 51.6 cents per gallon. 
•	 Distilled spirits: $2.40 per gallon. 
•	 Mixed beverages: 6.7 percent of gross receipts. 

West •	 Beer and similar products (less than 12 percent): 
Virginia $5.50 per barrel. 

•	 Wine: $1.00 per gallon. 
•	 Liquor: 5 percent of retail price. 

1Inclusive of import tax. 

biennial budget bill; budget provisions effective July 1, 
2015) 
Extends through June 30, 2017, the two cents per gal­
lon wine tax revenue that is credited to the Ohio Grape 
Industries Fund. 

Table 1 
Alcoholic Beverage Tax Revenue 

Fiscal Years 2011 - 2015 
(dollars in millions) 

Fiscal Year Beer Wine & Mixed 
Beverages 

Liquor Total 

2011 $44.9 $11.5 $37.6 $94.0 

2012 46.5 12.2 39.4 98.1 

2013 44.7 12.9 40.7 98.3 

2014 44.0 12.6 41.8 98.4 

2015 43.9 13.8 43.4 101.1 

Source: Office of Budget and Management financial reports 
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Table 3 

Alcoholic Beverage Taxes Liability 
Fiscal Years 2013 - 2015 

(dollars in millions) 

Type of Beverage 2013 2014 2015 

Beer $48.9 $45.2 $45.4 

Wine 14% or less ABV 5.9 5.6 5.5 

Wine > 14-21% ABV 1.5 1.5 1.4 

Mixed Beverages 3.8 3.7 3.7 

Vermouth 0.1 0.1 0.1 

Sparkling Wine 1.0 1.0 1.0 

Cider 0.3 0.7 0.5 

Total $61.6 $57.8 $57.6 

Note: Amounts represent tax liability as opposed to tax payments 
reported on Table 2. 

Source: Ohio Department of Taxation, as reported on tax returns. 

Table 2 

Alcoholic Beverage Taxes, Reported Payments and Credits 
Fiscal Year 2015 

Type of Beverage Gross Tax Credits and Discounts Net Tax Receipts 

Beer 

Advance tax payments $33.9 $1.1 $32.8 

Payment with return 11.5 0.1 11.4 

Sub-total 45.3 1.1 44.2 

Wine and Mixed Beverages 

Payment with return 12.7 0.4 12.3 

Total $58.0 $1.5 $56.5 

Source: Ohio Department of Taxation, as reported on tax returns. 


	Untitled
	equals 31 gallons. Conversions to gallon




