Real Property Conveyance Fee

on the transfer of real property. The fee is calculated

based on a percentage of the property value that is
transferred. In addition to the mandatory fee, all but one
county levies a permissive real property transfer fee.The
revenue from both the mandatory fee and the permissive
fee is deposited in the general fund of the county in which
the property is located — no revenue goes to the state. In
2012, the latest year for which data is available, convey-
ance fees generated $120.1 million in revenues to coun-
ties: $35.9 million from mandatory fees and $84.3 million
from permissive fees.

Taxpayer
(R.C. 319.202 and 322.06)

The real property conveyance fee is paid by persons
who make sales of real estate or used manufactured
homes.

S tate law establishes a mandatory conveyance fee

Tax Base
(R.C. 319.202)

The tax applies to the value of real estate sold or trans-
ferred from one person to another.

Rates
(R.C. 319.54 and 322.02)

The conveyance fee consists of two parts: (1) a state-
wide mandatory tax of 1 mill ($1 per $1,000 dollars of the
value of property sold or transferred) applies in all 88 of
Ohio’s counties, and (2) counties may impose a permissive
real property transfer tax of up to 3 additional mills. As of
2012, 87 of 88 counties levied an additional permissive tax
at rates ranging from 1 mill to 3 mills. (The exception was
Ross County.)

Exemptions, Deductions, Credits
(R.C. 319.54)
The tax does not apply:

e To sales or transfers to or from the U.S. government
or its agencies, or to or from the state of Ohio or any of its
political subdivisions.

e To gifts from one spouse to another, or to children
and their spouses.

e To surviving spouses or to a survivorship tenant.
e To sales or transfers to or from a non-profit agency

that is exempt from federal income taxation, when the
transfer is without consideration and furthers the agency’s
charitable or public purpose.

e When property is sold to provide or release security
for a debt, or for delinquent taxes, or pursuant to a court
order.

e When a corporation transfers property to a stock-
holder in exchange for their shares during a corporate
reorganization or dissolution.

e When property is transferred by lease, unless the
lease is for a term of years renewable forever.

e To a grantee other than a dealer, solely for the pur-
pose of, and as a step in, the prompt sale to others.

e To sales or transfers to or from a person when no
money or other valuable and tangible consideration read-
ily convertible into money is paid or is to be paid for the
realty, and the transaction is not a gift.

e To an easement or right-of-way when the value of the
interest conveyed is $1,000 or less.

e To a trustee of a trust, when the grantor of the trust
has reserved an unlimited power to revoke the trust.

e To the grantor of a trust by a trustee when the trans-
fer is made pursuant to the grantor’s power to revoke the
trust or to withdraw trust assets.

e To the beneficiaries of a trust, if the fee was paid
on the transfer from the grant or to the trustee or if the
transfer is made pursuant to trust provisions that became
irrevocable at the death of the grantor.

Filing and Payment Dates
(R.C. 319.202)

The fee is paid at the time of the transfer, generally as
part of the closing process.

Disposition of Revenue
(R.C. 319.54)

All revenue from the tax is deposited in the general
fund of the county where the property is sold or trans-
ferred, except that fees charged and received for a transfer
of real property to a county land reutilization corporation
shall be credited to the county’s land reutilization corpora-
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tion fund (established under section 321.263 of the Revised
Code).

Special Provisions

e County commissioners may prescribe a lower permis-
sive rate than generally levied in the county for convey-
ances of property receiving the homestead exemption.

e The tax also applies to transfers of used manufactured
homes.

e Persons who purchase residential rental property in
counties with populations over 200,000 must register their
contact and property information with the county auditor
within 60 days of the property transfer. Auditors in these
counties must include a statement to this effect when the
property is transferred and with the real property tax bill.

Administration
County auditors

Ohio Revised Code Citations
Sections 319.202, 319.54, 319.99, 322.01-322.07 and 322.99.

History of Major Changes

1967 The General Assembly enacts a mandatory real prop-
erty transfer fee of 1 mill and permits county commis-
sioners to impose additional taxes of up to 3 mills on
conveyances on or after Jan. 1, 1968. The revenue
from both components of the tax are distributed to

the county general fund.

1969 The General Assembly provides for the repeal of a
permissive transfer tax adopted as an emergency by

a vote of the electorate.

2007 Owners of residential rental property in counties
with populations greater than 200,000 are required to
register their contact and property information with

the county auditor.

Table 1
Real Property Conveyance Fees
Fiscal Year Number of Fees Collected Average Fee
Conveya_nce Mandatory Permissive Total Fees per Convey-
Fees Paid ance
2007 276,879 $41,790,767 $89,048,526 $130,839,293 $472.55
2008 236,124 $31,376,693 $67,611,613 $98,988,306 $419.22
2009 211,997 $24,301,894 $53,440,047 $77,741,941 $366.71
2010 210,547 $25,486,256 $56,190,681 $81,676,937 $387.93
2011 198,502 $25,022,052 $55,328,795 $80,350,846 $404.79
2012 221,139 $35,874,007 $84,298,353 $120,172,360 $543.42
Source: Surveys obtained from county auditors and conducted by the Ohio Department of Taxation
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Table 2
Real Property Conveyance Fees, Calendar Year 2012
Number of Conveyances Fees Collected Permissive | Average Mandatory | Average Total Fee
Rate per Fee per Conveyance' | per Conveyance?
Thousand

County Fee Paid Fee Exempt Mandatory Permissive Total
Statewide 221,139 191,083 $35,874,007 $84,298,353 $120,172,360 $162.22 $543.42
Adams 677 547 $38,440 $115,319 $153,759 $3.00 $56.78 $227.12
Allen 2,089 1,635 $216,858 $433,716 $650,574 $2.00 $103.81 $311.43
Ashland 934 918 $99,401 $298,202 $397,602 $3.00 $106.42 $425.70
Ashtabula 2,421 2,258 $188,977 $566,932 $755,909 $3.00 $78.06 $312.23
Athens 652 881 $159,421 $478,264 $637,685 $3.00 $244.51 $978.04
Auglaize 927 693 $108,581 $217,161 $325,742 $2.00 $117.13 $351.39
Belmont 1,470 1,663 $120,010 $240,021 $360,031 $2.00 $81.64 $244.92
Brown 910 845 $71,714 $143,428 $215,142 $2.00 $78.81 $236.42
Butler 6,695 4,799 $1,052,436 $2,103,328 $3,155,764 $2.00 $157.20 $471.36
Carroll 849 635 $71,512 $232,537 $310,049 $3.00 $91.30 $365.19
Champaign 770 650 $105,536 $314,815 $420,351 $3.00 $137.06 $545.91
Clark 2,676 2,058 $201,408 $732,235 $933,643 $3.00 $75.26 $348.90
Clermont 3,693 2,587 $581,902 $1,750,415 $2,332,317 $3.00 $157.57 $631.55
Clinton 847 792 $92,889 $232,218 $325,107 $2.50 $109.67 $383.83
Columbiana 2,148 1,987 $172,691 $506,775 $679,466 $3.00 $80.40 $316.33
Coshocton 690 709 $59,834 $179,502 $239,336 $3.00 $86.72 $346.86
Crawford 920 803 $60,562 $181,685 $242,246 $3.00 $65.83 $263.31
Cuyahoga 22,370 21,939 $2,972,977 $8,918,931 $11,891,908 $3.00 $132.90 $531.60
Darke 1,080 916 $152,684 $305,368 $458,051 $2.00 $141.37 $424.12
Defiance 941 637 $86,068 $258,203 $344,271 $3.00 $91.46 $365.86
Delaware 4,481 2,397 $1,155,323 $2,382,785 $3,538,108 $2.00 $257.83 $789.58
Erie 1,363 1,558 $158,493 $475,478 $633,970 $3.00 $116.28 $465.13
Fairfield 2,761 1,803 $394,966 $1,184,898 $1,579,864 $3.00 $143.05 $572.21
Fayette (c) 598 538 $57,162 $113,797 $170,959 $2.00 $95.59 $285.88
Franklin 22,746 18,730 $4,253,513 $4,126,665 $8,380,178 $1.00 $187.00 $368.42
Fulton 854 936 $93,863 $281,590 $375,453 $3.00 $109.91 $439.64
Gallia 512 494 $6,025,439 $18,076,318 $24,101,758 $3.00 $11,768.44 $47,073.75
Geauga 1,566 1,589 $301,188 $783,326 $1,084,514 $3.00 $192.33 $692.54
Greene 2,681 2,308 $466,454 $466,454 $932,907 $1.00 $173.98 $347.97
Guernsey 1,061 1,013 $111,1M $333,333 $444.444 $3.00 $104.72 $418.89
Hamilton 14,333 10,688 $2,436,150 $4,845,167 $7,281,317 $2.00 $169.97 $508.01
Hancock 1,669 1,193 $252,122 $504,245 $756,367 $2.00 $151.06 $453.19
Hardin 670 655 $65,324 $195,971 $261,295 $3.00 $97.50 $389.99
Harrison 410 521 $205,834 $617,502 $823,337 $3.00 $502.03 $2,008.14
Henry 545 627 $58,450 $175,349 $233,798 $3.00 $107.25 $428.99
Highland 1,069 836 $86,747 $173,494 $260,241 $2.00 $81.15 $243.44
Hocking 608 575 $52,553 $157,659 $210,212 $3.00 $86.44 $345.74
Holmes 732 571 $105,145 $315,436 $420,582 $3.00 $143.64 $574.57
Huron 1,150 1,118 $98,886 $93,482 $192,368 $1.00 $85.99 $167.28
Jackson 756 649 $59,598 $183,899 $243,497 $3.00 $78.83 $322.09
Jefferson 1,163 1,643 $180,202 $540,605 $720,807 $3.00 $154.95 $619.78
Knox 1,440 1,070 $151,407 $302,815 $454,222 $2.00 $105.14 $315.43
Lake 3975 4,060 $551,838 $1,651,576 $2,203,413 $3.00 $138.83 $554.32
Lawrence 1,003 1,013 $77,597 $232,792 $310,389 $3.00 $71.31 $309.46
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Table 2: Real Property Conveyance Fees, Calendar Year 2012 (continued)

Number of Conveyances Fees Collected Permissive | Average Mandatory | Average Total Fee
Rate per Fee per Conveyance' | per Conveyance?
Thousand

County Fee Paid Fee Exempt Mandatory Permissive Total

Licking 3,302 3419 $464,084 $464,084 $928,167 $1.00 $140.55 $281.09
Logan 1,11 872 $132,032 $132,032 $264,064 $1.00 $118.84 $237.68
Lorain 5,602 4,325 $709,918 $2,129,755 $2,839,674 $3.00 $126.73 $506.90
Lucas 9,365 8,328 $811,180 $2,433,539 $3,244,719 $3.00 $86.62 $346.47
Madison 632 679 $98,031 $98,031 $196,062 $1.00 $155.11 $310.22
Mahoning 4,430 4,361 $423,785 $1,271,215 $1,695,000 $3.00 $95.66 $382.62
Marion 1,225 990 $129,578 $129,578 $259,157 $1.00 $105.78 $211.56
Medina 3,336 2,295 $553,483 $1,106,568 $1,660,052 $2.00 $165.91 $497.62
Meigs 455 487 $23,321 $69,981 $93,308 $3.00 $51.27 $205.07
Mercer 870 732 $122,048 $305,121 $427,169 $2.50 $140.29 $491.00
Miami 2,135 1,499 $278,835 $278,835 $557,670 $1.00 $130.60 $261.20
Monroe 327 510 $20,070 $40,141 $60,211 $2.00 $61.38 $184.13
Montgomery 10,412 8,053 $1,192,365 $2,366,044 $3,558,408 $2.00 $114.52 $341.76
Morgan 323 246 $20,369 $40,738 $61,108 $2.00 $63.06 $189.19
Morrow 809 667 $69,748 $209,244 $278,991 $3.00 $86.21 $344.86
Muskingum 1,754 1,429 $184,493 $368,787 $553,281 $2.00 $105.18 $315.44
Noble 347 420 $32,709 $98,128 $130,837 $3.00 $94.26 $377.05
Ottawa 1,256 1,151 $170,468 $170,468 $340,936 $1.00 $135.72 $271.45
Paulding 445 484 $46,612 $139,837 $186,449 $3.00 $104.75 $418.99
Perry 716 616 $51,487 $153,408 $204,895 $3.00 $71.91 $286.17
Pickaway 870 756 $128,820 $257,641 $386,461 $2.00 $148.07 $444.21
Pike 440 469 $40,134 $40,134 $80,268 $1.00 $91.21 $182.43
Portage 2,998 2,368 $371,858 $1,115,075 $1,486,933 $3.00 $124.04 $495.97
Preble 876 841 $108,868 $217,735 $326,603 $2.00 $124.28 $372.83
Putnam 755 659 $77,068 $231,204 $308,272 $3.00 $102.08 $408.31
Richland 2,246 1,944 $212,988 $638,963 $851,951 $3.00 $94.83 $379.32
Ross 1,543 1,172 $154,373 $- $154,373 $ $100.05 $100.05
Sandusky 1,103 795 $109,762 $312,928 $422,691 $3.00 $99.51 $383.22
Scioto 1,328 1,196 $87,697 $263,092 $350,789 $3.00 $66.04 $264.15
Seneca 1,178 972 $103,354 $310,062 $413,417 $3.00 $87.74 $350.95
Shelby 981 731 $98,872 $296,615 $395,486 $3.00 $100.79 $403.15
Stark 7117 5,875 $855,955 $2,562,114 $3,418,068 $3.00 $120.27 $480.27
Summit 9,577 9,594 $1,381,727 $4,136,451 $5,518,178 $3.00 $144.28 $576.19
Trumbull 3,495 4,142 $277,953 $833,677 $1,111,630 $3.00 $79.53 $318.06
Tuscarawas 1,699 1,662 $173,833 $521,499 $695,332 $3.00 $102.31 $409.26
Union 1,194 820 $234,531 $234,531 $469,062 $1.00 $196.42 $392.85
Van Wert 685 675 $63,588 $190,763 $254,350 $3.00 $92.83 $371.31
Vinton 305 324 $16,321 $48,963 $65,284 $3.00 $53.51 $214.05
Warren 5,040 2,802 $1,000,898 $2,001,795 $3,002,693 $2.00 $198.59 $595.77
Washington 1,068 996 $121,364 $364,092 $485,456 $3.00 $113.64 $454.55
Wayne 2,021 1,709 $230,903 $230,903 $461,806 $1.00 $114.25 $228.50
Williams 1,040 1,107 $86,019 $258,056 $344,075 $3.00 $82.71 $330.84
Wood 2,407 2,210 $340,578 $674,870 $1,015,448 $2.00 $141.49 $421.87
Wyandot 416 1,164 $42,655 $127,965 $170,620 $3.00 $102.54 $410.14

'Average mandatory fee per conveyance excludes exempt conveyances and permissive fees collected.

Average total fee per conveyance excludes exempt conveyances yet includes both mandatory and permissive fees collected.

®Data not submitted for 2012; previous year’s data shown.

Source: Surveys obtained from county auditors and conducted by the Ohio Department of Taxation.




