Wireless 9-1-1 Charge

ireless 9-1-1 charge provides state level funding
Wfor local wireless 9-1-1 service. Recently enacted

legislation made substantive changes to the
state’s 9-1-1 service law. Responsibility for collection of
wireless 9-1-1 charges was transferred to the Department
of Taxation (ODT) from the Public Utilities Commission
of Ohio effective Jan. 1, 2014.The administration of state
9-1-1 service law was transferred to the newly created
Statewide Emergency Services Internet Protocol Network
Steering Committee (Steering Committee) from the De-
partment of Public Safety.

Current law imposes a wireless 9-1-1 charge on each
wireless phone number at the rate of 25 cents per month
and on the purchase of prepaid wireless services at the
rate of 0.005% of the purchase price. Revenue from the
wireless 9-1-1 charges are distributed as follows:

e Ninety-seven percent to the wireless 9-1-1 govern-
ment assistance fund. ODT disburses moneys from this
fund to the counties.

e Two percent to the wireless 9-1-1 program fund to
defray the Steering Committee’s cost of administering the
9-1-1 system.

e One percent to the wireless administration fund to
defray ODT's cost of collecting and administering the 9-1-1
charge.

Any excess remaining after distributions to the coun-
ties or the administrative funds is transferred to the next
generation 9-1-1 fund. ODT disburses money from the
next generation 9-1-1 fund in accordance with guidelines
established by the Steering Committee.

In fiscal year 2014, a total of almost $15.8 million was

deposited into the three funds associated with this charge:

$15.3 million to the wireless 9-1-1 government assistance
fund; $0.3 million to the 9-1-1 program fund and $0.2 mil-
lion for the wireless 9-1-1 administrative fund. For fiscal
year 2014, counties received the same amount as received
in the corresponding month during calendar year (CY)
2013 from the 9-1-1 government assistance fund.

Taxpayer

(Ohio Revised Code 128.42)

The charge is imposed on the consumer of the wireless
calling service. Wireless service providers and resellers
add the charge to post-paid wireless calling service in
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Ohio. The charge is collected by the retailer at the point of
sale for prepaid wireless service.

Tax Base

(R.C. 128.42)

For prepaid wireless service, it is the sale price. For post-
paid wireless service, it is each wireless phone number
with an Ohio billing address.

Rates
(R.C. 128.42)

For prepaid wireless service, the charge is 0.005% of the
retail price. For post-paid wireless service, the charge is
$0.25 per each wireless phone number.

Special Provisions

(R.C. 128.44; 128.46)

The taxpayer may retain three percent of the wireless
9-1-1 charges collected as a collection fee. Taxpayers must
remit returns and payments electronically, except upon

a showing of good cause to ODT. ODT must provide 30
days advance notice to known wireless service providers,
resellers, and sellers of prepaid wireless calling services
of any increase or decrease in wireless 9-1-1 charges im-
posed under R.C. 128.46.

Filing and Payment Dates

(R.C. 128.46)

Returns and payments are due on the 23rd day of each
month.

Disposition of Revenue
(R.C. 128.54, 128.55, 128.57)

The revenue from the charge is allocated as follows:

e 97 percent to the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assis-
tance Fund.

e 2 percent to the 9-1-1 Program Fund (Steering Com-
mittee’s administration fund).

® 1 percent to the Wireless 9-1-1 Administration Fund
(Department of Taxation’s administration fund).

Counties receive a monthly distribution from the Wire-
less 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund.The distribution
is to occur by the end of each month.The counties receive
the same amount as they did in the corresponding month
during CY 2013. In the event of insufficient moneys to
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make the month’s distributions, each county would receive
a distribution in proportion to the county’s share during
the corresponding month in CY 2013.The Next Generation
9-1-1 Fund is to receive from the Wireless 9-1-1 Govern-
ment Assistance Fund any moneys in excess of amounts
necessary to make monthly distributions to counties.
Additionally, at the end of each fiscal year, any remainder
in either administration fund is transferred to the Next
Generation 9-1-1 Fund.

Administration
(R.C. 128.02; 128.42 et seq.)

The Statewide Steering Committee administers the 9-1-
1 service law. ODT administers the collection of wireless
9-1-1 charges.

Ohio Revised Code Citations
Chapter 128

Recent Legislation

Am. Sub. HB 483, 130th General Assembly (September
15, 2014).

The bill permitted refunds of erroneously or illegally
paid 9-1-1 wireless charges under RC 5703.052.

Am. Sub. HB 59, 130th General Assembly (Effective
June 30, 2013).

The bill vested collection and disbursement responsibil-
ities for the wireless 9-1-1 charge in ODT effective January
1, 2014. The act codified 9-1-1 service law in Chapter 128
of the Ohio Revised Code.

Am. Sub. HB 472, 129th General Assembly.

This bill delayed the implementation of the collection of
the prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge at the point of sale until
January 1, 2014. Until January 1, 2014, wireless service
providers and resellers continued to remit the 9-1-1 charge
on prepaid wireless.

Sub. HB 360, 129th General Assembly.

The bill decreased the post-paid monthly wireless 9-1-1
charge from 28 cents to 25 cents and imposed a 9-1-1
charge of 0.005% on prepaid wireless collected at the
point of sale.

History of Major Changes

2012 Sub. HB 360 (129th General Assembly) decreased the
post-paid monthly wireless 9-1-1 charge from 28 cents
to 25 cents. The bill required the prepaid wireless
charge to be 0.005% of the retail price imposed at the

point of sale.

2012 Sub. H.B. 472 (129th General Assembly) required the
monthly wireless 9-1-1 charge to be continuously
imposed on prepaid subscribers until the new prepaid
charge imposed at the point of sale took effect on

January 1, 2014.

2013 Am. Sub. HB 59 (130th General Assembly) codified
9-1-1 service law into Chapter 128 of the Ohio Revised

Code.

2014 Am. Sub. H.B. 483 (130th General Assembly) added the
wireless 9-1-1 charge to the list of taxes and fees that

can be refunded from the refund fund.

Comparisons with Other States
(As of July 1, 2014)

State Charge

Georgia Prepaid $0.75; Post-paid $1.00-$1.50.
Indiana Prepaid $0.50; Post-paid $0.80.

Kentucky $0.70 Pre- and Post-paid.

Michigan Prepaid 1.92 percent of sale price; Post-paid

$0.19 state fee and county fee ranges from
$0.00-$3.00.

North Carolina $0.60 for Pre- and Post-paid.

Ohio Prepaid 0.005 percent of the sale price; Post-

paid $0.25.

Pennsylvania $1.00 Pre- and Post-paid.

Tennessee Prepaid $0.53; Post-paid $1.00.

Texas Prepaid 2 percent of sale price; Post-paid
$0.50.

West Virginia Prepaid 6 percent of sale price; Post-paid $3.00

2004 Am. Sub. H.B. 361 (125th General Assembly) estab-
lished a service charge of 32 cents per month to be
billed to each wireless number in the state.

2008 Am. Sub. S.B. 129 (127th General Assembly) reduced

the wireless 9-1-1 charge from 32 cents per month to
28 cents.
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Table 1
Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund distributions for FY 2014

County Amount County Amount County Amount
Adams $45,000.00 Guernsey $47,429.04 Muskingum $93,202.72
Allen $120,471.26 Hamilton $1,181,862.87 Noble $45,000.00
Ashland $56,544.54 Hancock $87,113.70 Ottawa $48,564.26
Ashtabula $113,974.16 Hardin $45,000.00 Paulding $45,000.00
Athens $57,868.75 Harrison $45,000.00 Perry $45,000.00
Auglaize $53,825.06 Henry $45,000.00 Pickaway $58,520.03
Belmont $70,186.47 Highland $47,131.11 Pike $45,000.00
Brown $45,767.74 Hocking $45,000.00 Portage $161,454.06
Butler $377,159.39 Holmes $45,000.00 Preble $45,797.84
Carroll $45,000.00 Huron $68,793.62 Putnam $44,999.99
Champaign $44,999.99 Jackson $45,000.00 Richland $130,064.20
Clark $146,393.38 Jefferson $70,265.92 Ross $78,826.45
Clermont $201,555.71 Knox $64,658.42 Sandusky $66,030.80
Clinton $52,376.83 Lake $252,729.32 Scioto $74,371.02
Columbiana $110,763.95 Lawrence $62,493.92 Seneca $62,530.04
Coshocton $45,000.00 Licking $175,423.04 Shelby $54,012.85
Crawford $49,586.32 Logan $53,374.82 Stark $421,021.00
Cuyahoga $1,495,800.62 Lorain $324,020.68 Summit $621,375.79
Darke $55,752.40 Lucas $499,121.38 Trumbull $219,926.68
Defiance $45,631.71 Madison $45,000.00 Tuscarawas $96,551.82
Delaware $317,138.87 Mahoning $270,167.12 Union $66,330.56
Erie $85,967.65 Marion $74,620.22 Van Wert $45,000.00
Fairfield $154,057.59 Medina $184,024.31 Vinton $45,000.00
Fayette $45,000.00 Meigs $45,000.00 Warren $229,128.41
Franklin $1,312,019.35 Mercer $45,287.41 Washington $69,003.09
Fulton $48,583.54 Miami $106,901.30 Wayne $113,793.50
Gallia $45,000.00 Monroe $45,000.00 Williams $44,999.99
Geauga $93,621.67 Montgomery $630,224.00 Wood $131,829.17
Greene $162,927.91 Morgan $45,000.00 Wyandot $45,000.00

Morrow $45,000.00 Total $13,485,957.93

Source: Ohio Department of Taxation

' Represents distributions from January-June 2014.




