Sales and Use Tax

source of revenue. It is also an important revenue

source for county governments and regional tran-
sit authorities, which are authorized to levy “piggyback”
taxes.The department also administers both state and
local taxes.

The Ohio sales and use tax dates back to 1934, when
the General Assembly enacted a three percent sales tax
effective January 1935.The use tax followed a year later.
In 1967, the legislature adopted a four percent state rate
and, for the first time, authorized county governments to
levy piggyback taxes, subject to repeal by a majority vote
of the county electorate. In 1974, transit authorities were
also granted the authority, with voter approval, to levy
sales taxes.

The current state sales and use tax rate, 5.75 percent,
was established on Sept. 1, 2013. During fiscal year 2014,
the tax generated more than $9.3 billion in revenue. Of
that amount approximately 98.1 percent or about $9.2
billion was distributed to the General Revenue Fund.The
balance was distributed to the Public Library Fund and At-
torney General Claims Fund.

The department collects the combined state and local
tax, then distributes the local share of revenue directly to
the counties and transit authorities. The same exemptions
and exceptions, credits, and payment dates apply to the
permissive taxes as to the state tax. See Sales and Use
Tax — Counties and Transit Authorities for a discussion of
permissive sales and use taxes.

Ohio is a full member of the Streamlined Sales Tax
Project (“SSTP”). SSTP member states are in compliance
with all provisions of the Streamlined Sales Tax Agree-
ment. The Agreement simplifies and modernizes sales
tax administration to substantially reduce the burden of
tax compliance. Membership makes it easier for persons
making sales in multiple states to voluntarily collect and
remit sales tax to member states.

The sales and use tax is state government’s primary

Taxpayer
(Ohio Revised Code 5739.01, 5739.03, 5739.031, 5739.17, 5741.01)

Any person who makes retail sales or taxable purchas-
es on which sales tax has not been paid is required to file
a return and remit the sales or use tax due. When an out-
of-state seller does not collect sales tax for the consumer
on the consumer’s purchase of a taxable good or service,

the consumer must remit to the department the use tax
due. See Exhibit 1 for a description of taxpayers and ap-
plicable vendor’s licenses.

Tax Base
(R.C. 5739.01, 5741.01)

State, county and transit authority sales and use taxes
apply to all retail sales of tangible personal property that
are not specifically exempt.The tax also applies to the
rental of tangible personal property, the rental of hotel
rooms by transient guests, and the sales of the following
specified services:

e repair of tangible personal property;

e installation of tangible personal property;

e washing, cleaning, waxing, polishing, and painting of a
motor vehicle;

e laundry and dry cleaning services;

e automatic data processing, computer services, and elec-
tronic information services used in business;

e telecommunications services;

e |lawn care and landscaping services;

e private investigation and security services;

¢ building maintenance and janitorial services;

e employment services and employment placement ser-
vices;

e exterminating services;

e physical fitness facility services;

e recreation and sports club services;

e mobile telecommunications services;

e satellite broadcasting services;

e personal care services;

e transportation of persons by motor vehicle or aircraft
entirely within this state;

e motor vehicle towing services;

e snow removal services; and

e electronic publishing services.

The tax also applies to all transactions by which a
warranty, maintenance, or service contract is, or is to be,
provided and all transactions by which tangible personal
property is, or is to be, stored. The use tax base is identical
to that of the sales tax. Use tax applies to purchases made
outside of Ohio and to purchases made from Ohio ven-
dors if the vendor did not charge sales tax. For additional
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Exhibit 1
Sales and Use Taxpayers and License, Permit or Account Types
Taxpayer Cost of License Description
Vendor $25 Each person or business establishment located in Ohio making retail sales.
Transient vendor $25 Retailer who makes sales in any county in which they have no fixed place of business. The license is
valid statewide.
Seller No fee Retailer located outside of Ohio who makes retail sales of property or services for storage, use, or
consumption in Ohio.
Direct pay No fee Consumers authorized by the Tax Commissioner to remit tax directly to the state instead of to the ven-
permit holder dor. This authority can only be issued upon application if the Commissioner determines that granting the
authority would improve compliance and increase the efficiency of the administration of the tax.
Clerks of court No fee Dealers remit taxes collected on sales of motor vehicles, watercraft, and outboard motors to county
clerks of court when a title is issued. Clerks of court also collect the tax on casual sales of motor
vehicles, and sales of watercraft and outboard motors required to be titled. Clerks of court remit these
receipts to the state.
JobsOhio Beverage No fee Collects and remits sales tax paid on state-controlled spiritous liquor sold in state-contracted liquor
System agencies.
. Purchasers who have not paid the tax to a vendor or seller (in most cases for out-of-state transactions)
Consumers’ use tax No fee K Tl e s
e — make payments directly to the state.
Streamlined salesand g fee Remote sellers in any other state that has passed laws conforming to the Strealined Sales Tax Agree-
streamlined use tax ment and that sell their products to customers in Ohio, using the Internet, mail order or telephone,
accounts without having a physical presence in Oho, collect and remit tax on such sales.

information on use tax, see the discussion in Rates, below,
under Sourcing.

In Quill v. North Dakota, 504 U.S. 298 (1992), the
Supreme Court of the United States held that a state
may not compel a seller without physical presence
in the state (“remote seller”) to collect tax due from
Ohio consumers. The Court acknowledged that Con-
gress has the power to authorize states to impose a
collection requirement on remote sellers; however,
to date, Congress has not passed any law giving
states such authority. The fact that a remote seller
might not have a collection obligation to Ohio does
not relieve an Ohio consumer from the legal obliga-
tion to remit use tax on taxable goods and services
purchased from out-of-state sellers (e.g., internet or
catolog sellers) who did not collect sales tax from
the Ohio consumer.

Rates
(R.C. 5739.02, 5739.021, 5739.023, 5739.025, 5739.026, 5741.02, 5741.021 --

5741.023)
State rate
The state sales and use tax rate has been 5.75 percent
since September 1, 2013.
Local rates

Please see the section of this report entitled Sales and
Use Tax — Counties and Transit Authorities for a discussion

of permissive sales and use taxes.
Rate schedule

A combined sales tax schedule that includes local levies
is codified at R.C. 5739.025.

Sourcing

For taxable sales made by Ohio vendors and delivered
to an Ohio consumer, the sales tax rate is based on the
location where the vendor receives the order. Sales made
by out-of-state vendors are generally sourced to the loca-
tion where the consumer receives the tangible personal
property.

Exceptions include services where the rate is based on
the location where the service is received.

Special sourcing rules are in place for certain sales
of electronic information services, electronic publishing
services and software delivered electronically that are
concurrently available for use by the consumer in multiple
locations, for certain types of direct mail, for telecommuni-
cations services, and for leases.

Generally, the applicable use tax rate for all taxable
sales on which no sales tax was paid to the vendor is
based on the location of the purchaser.

Effective Jan. 1, 2010, a consumer has no additional use
tax liability on the purchase of tangible personal property
if the consumer paid sales tax to a vendor, regardless of
whether the amount of sales tax invoiced is calculated at
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the rate where the consumer receives the property or the
rate where the vendor received the order. Consumers do,
however, have a liability on purchases made out-of-state,
by catalog or via the Internet on which no sales tax has
been paid. Taxpayers with an annual consumer’s use tax
liability exceeding $1,000 must register for a consumer’s
use tax account and file returns. Other taxpayers can remit
consumer use tax either on state income tax returns or by
filing a use tax voluntary payment form.

Exemptions and Exceptions
(R.C. 5709.25, 5739.01, 5739.011, 5739.02, 5741.02, 6121.16, 6123.041)

The sales and use tax does not apply to:

copyrighted motion picture films unless solely used
for advertising;

service transactions in which tangible personal
property is an inconsequential element for which no
separate charge is made except for the services that
are specifically taxable (see Tax Base);

the value of motor vehicles traded in on new motor
vehicles sold by licensed new motor vehicle dealers;

tangible personal property or the benefit of a taxable
service to be resold in the form received;

the refundable deposit paid on returnable beverage
containers, cartons, and cases;

tangible personal property used or consumed in
commercial fishing;

sales to U.S. government agencies;

sales to the state or any of its political subdivisions;
food for human consumption off the premises where
sold;

food sold to students in a dormitory, cafeteria, frater-
nity, or sorority;

newspapers;

magazine subscriptions or magazines distributed as
controlled circulation publications (exemption for
magazine subscriptions repealed as of Jan. 1, 2014);
motor vehicle fuel subject to the state motor fuel
excise tax;

gas, water, and steam delivered through pipes or
conduits by a utility company and electricity deliv-
ered through wires;

communications services provided by telegraph
companies;

casual sales except for motor vehicles, titled water-
craft and outboard motors, snowmobiles, and all-
purpose-vehicles;

sales by churches and nonprofit organizations (ex-
cept for the sale of motor vehicles) provided that the
number of sales does not exceed six days each year;
transportation of persons or property, except the
transportation of persons specifically taxed as a ser-
vice;

sales to churches, nonprofit organizations included
under Internal Revenue Code (I.R.C.) 501(c)(3), non-

profit scientific research organizations, and to other
nonprofit charitable organizations;

sales to nonprofit hospitals and to those privately-
held homes for the aged and hospital facilities that
are financed with public hospital bonds;

building and construction material sold to contrac-
tors for incorporation into real property constructed
for federal, state, or local governments; for religious
and certain other nonprofit charitable institutions; for
horticulture and livestock structures; and for other
specified organizations and industries;

ships and rail rolling stock used in interstate or for-
eign commerce and material used for the repair, al-
teration, or propelling of such vessels;

material, machinery, equipment, and other items
used in packaging property to be sold at retail;

all drugs for a human dispensed by prescription;
urine and blood testing materials used by diabet-
ics or persons with hypoglycemia; medical oxygen
and medical oxygen equipment for personal use;
hospital beds for personal use; and epoetin alfa for
persons with a medical disease;

prosthetic devices, durable medical equipment for
home use, or mobility enhancing equipment sold by
prescription for use by a human;

emergency and fire protection vehicles used ex-
clusively by nonprofit organizations in providing
emergency and fire protection services for political
subdivisions;

sales to nonprofit community centers and to produc-
ers offering presentations in music, dramatics, the
arts, and related fields to foster public interest and
education;

motor vehicles sold in Ohio to nonresidents for ti-
tling and use in most other states and Canada, pro-
vided that the other state or province does not col-
lect sales tax from Ohio residents for motor vehicles
purchased there or provided that the state offers a
credit to their residents for vehicles purchased in
Ohio;

property used in the preparation of eggs for sale;
sales of property for use in agricultural production;

property manufactured in Ohio and immediately
shipped outside the state for use in retail business, if
sold by the manufacturer to the retailer and shipped
in vehicles owned by the retailer;

sales to non-commercial, educational broadcasting
stations;

sales of animals by nonprofit animal shelters and
county humane societies;

items used in preserving, preparing, or serving food,
or material used in maintaining or cleaning these
items in a commercial food service operation;
tangible personal property used by holders of ex-
empt facility certificates issued by the Tax Commis-
sioner in air, noise, or water pollution control facili-
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ties or in energy conversion, solid waste energy con-
version, or thermal efficiency improvement facilities;

bulk water for residential use;

sales of equipment used in qualified research and
development;

sales and installation of agricultural land tile and the
sale and installation of portable grain bins to farm-
ers;

fees paid for the inspection of emission control
equipment on motor vehicles;

sales, leases, repairs, and maintenance of motor ve-
hicles used primarily in providing highway transpor-
tation for hire;

sales to state headquarters of veterans’ organiza-
tions chartered by Congress or recognized by the
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs;

as defined by federal law, normally taxable food
items, such as soft drinks, sold to persons using
food stamps;

sales of tangible personal property and services
used directly in providing a telecommunications ser-
vice, mobile telecommunications service, or satellite
broadcasting service;

trade-ins on purchases of new or used watercraft or
outboard motors sold by licensed boat dealers;

property and labor used to fulfill a warranty or ser-
vice contract;

property used to store and handle purchased sales
inventory in a warehouse or similar facility, when
the inventory is primarily distributed outside Ohio to
retail stores of the person who owns or controls the
warehouse, to retail stores of an affiliated group of
which the owner of the warehouse is a member, or
by means of direct marketing;

sales of computer equipment made to qualifying cer-
tified teachers and used for educational purposes;

sales of certain tangible personal property made to
qualified motor racing teams;

sales of used manufactured and mobile homes;
sales of coin-operated car washes;

the provision of self-service laundry or dry cleaning
facilities;

intrastate transportation of persons by transit bus or
ambulance or by a person that holds a Certificate of
Public Convenience and Necessity under 49 United
States Code 41102;

sales of telecommunications services used directly
and primarily to perform the functions of a call cen-
ter;

sales of personal property and services used directly
and primarily in providing taxable intrastate trans-
portation of persons;

repair and replacement parts and repair and main-
tenance services for aircraft used primarily in a frac-
tional aircraft ownership program;

items used in acquiring, formatting, editing, storing,
and disseminating data or information by electronic
publishing;

items used in the repair and maintenance of aircraft
and avionics systems for aircraft;

repair, remodeling, replacement, or maintenance
services performed on aircraft or on an aircraft’s en-
gine, avionics, or component materials or parts;
sales of full flight simulators that are used for pilot
or flight-crew training and repair and replacement
parts or components for such full flight simulators;
and

repair and maintenance services for full flight simu-
lators.

Also, Ohio law:

permits a 25 percent sales tax refund for qualified
computer purchases for providers of electronic infor-
mation services;

caps at $800 the sales or use tax on any aircraft sold
as a fractional share aircraft; and

exempts from the use tax items that are held by a
person, but not for that person’s own use, and do-
nated to a charitable organization or to the state or
its political subdivisions for exclusively public pur-
poses.

Ohio law also includes direct use and primary use exemp-
tions. The direct use exemption applies to:

material incorporated as a component part of tan-
gible personal property produced for sale by manu-
facturing, assembling, processing, or refining;

material used or consumed directly in the produc-

tion of tangible personal property by mining, farm-
ing, agriculture, horticulture, floriculture, or used in
the production of and exploration for crude oil and
natural gas;

tangible personal property used directly in rendering
a public utility service;

tangible personal property used or consumed in the
preparation for sale of printed and other reproduced
material and magazines distributed as controlled cir-
culation publications; and

certain property used in making retail sales includ-
ing: advertising material or catalogs used or con-
sumed in making retail sales that price and describe
property; preliminary materials sold to direct market-
ing vendors that will be used in printing advertising
material; printed matter that offers free merchandise
or chances to win sweepstakes prizes and includes
advertising material; equipment primarily used to
accept orders for direct marketing retail sales; and
certain automatic food vending machines.
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The primary use exemption refers to tangible personal
property used primarily in a manufacturing operation to
produce a product for sale.The primary use exemption
includes, but is not necessarily limited to, the following
items:

e production machinery and equipment that act upon
the product being produced;

e handling and transportation equipment (except li-
censed motor vehicles) used in moving property in
or between plants during the production process;

e property used in producing property that is used or
consumed in the production of a final product (use
on use);

e coke, gas, water, steam, and similar substances used
in the manufacturing operation;

e catalysts, solvents, water, acids, oil, and similar con-
sumables that interact with the product and are an
integral part of the manufacturing operation;

e property that is used to control, physically support,
or is otherwise necessary for functioning of machin-
ery and equipment and continuation of the manufac-
turing operation; and

e machinery and equipment, detergents, supplies, sol-
vents, and any other tangible personal property lo-
cated at a manufacturing facility that are used in the
process of removing soil, dirt, or other contaminants
from, or otherwise preparing in a suitable condi-
tion for use, towels, linens, articles of clothing, floor
mats, mop heads, or other similar items, to be sup-
plied to a consumer as part of laundry and dry clean-
ing services, only when the towels, linens, articles
of clothing, floor mats, mop heads, or other similar
items belong to the provider of the services.

Special Provisions
Cumulative filing (R.C. 5739.12 and Rule 5703-9-09)
TheTax Commissioner may require a vendor that oper-
ates from multiple locations or has multiple vendors’
licenses to report all liabilities on one consolidated return.
Vendors who have two or more places of business in Ohio
may, upon approval by the Tax Commissioner, file a single
monthly consolidated return reporting on one form the
information that normally is required to be reported from
each location.

Pre-arranged agreements (R.C. 5739.05 and Rule 5703-9-
08)

Vendors, such as fast food outlets, whose business is
of a nature that keeping records of which sales are taxable
and which are exempt would impose an unreasonable
burden, may be authorized by the Tax Commissioner to
pay an amount based on a test check conducted to deter-
mine the proportion of taxable sales to total sales. Busi-
nesses electing this method of payment still collect the tax
from customers at the time of purchase.

Pre-determined agreements (R.C. 5739.05 and Rule 5703-

9-08)
Vendors, such as coin-operated vending machine opera-

tors, whose business is of a nature that the collection of
the tax from consumers would impose an unreasonable
burden, may be authorized by the Tax Commissioner to
pay the tax at a pre-determined rate based on an analysis
of sales and prices.

Construction contractors (R.C. 5739.01 and Rule 5703-9-14)

Construction contractors are considered to be the con-
sumers of property incorporated into the construction of
or improvement to real property and, thus, are responsible
for paying the tax on such property.

Lodging tax (R.C. 5739.09)

In addition to the state sales tax, municipal corpora-
tions, townships, and counties may levy an excise tax on
hotel and motel room rentals at a rate not exceeding three
percent. In most cases, total combined local levies may
not exceed six percent. In certain cases, a portion of the re-
ceipts is earmarked for convention centers and visitors bu-
reaus. County convention facility authorities were permit-
ted between June 29, 1988 and Dec. 31, 1988 to enact an
additional four percent lodging tax for convention facility
or sports center construction. This tax is in addition to the
combined maximum six percent rate for county, township,
or municipal lodging taxes, thereby allowing a combined
local rate of 10 percent.

Payment by EFT (R.C. 5739.032, 5739.122, 5741.121)
Vendors are required to remit payment by electronic
funds transfer (EFT) in cases where annual liability ex-
ceeds $75,000 per calendar year. Taxpayers required to
use this payment method will be notified by the depart-
ment. Vendors that do not meet the $75,000 threshold may
request authorization by the Treasurer of State to remit tax
payments by EFT.

Accelerated tax payment (R.C. 5739.032, 5739.122,
5741.121)

Vendors required to remit tax by EFT are required to
make advance payment of 75 percent of each month’s an-
ticipated tax by the 23rd day of that month. These vendors
are still required to file a return by the 23rd of the next
month and pay the balance of their tax due, along with
that month’s accelerated payment.

Filing and Payment Dates
(R.C. 5739.031, 5739.12, 5739.17, 5741.12, Rule 5703-9-10)

See Exhibit 2 for a summary of filing and payment dates.

Discount
(R.C. 5739.12, 5741.12)

Payments made on or before the due date entitle the
vendor to a discount of 0.75 percent of the amount due.
(Example: $5,000 tax due — $37.50 discount = $4,962.50 net
tax due.)

Disposition of Revenue
State sales and use tax (R.C. 5739.21, 5741.03)

During fiscal year 2014, the General Revenue Fund
(GRF) received approximately 98.1 percent of sales and
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Exhibit 2

Type of Return
Weekly

Taxpayer

Clerks of court

Semi-monthly JobsOhio Beverage

System

Monthly Vendors, sellers,

transient vendors,

direct pay permit

holders, consumer

use tax accounts,
streamlined sales

tax accounts,

streamlined use tax
accounts, delivery vendors

Quarterly Direct pay permit
holders, consumer

use tax accounts

Semi-annual Vendors, sellers,
transient vendors

delivery vendors

Type of Sales Tax Returns and Filing Payment Dates

Note: All monthly and semi-annual returns must be filed and paid electronically.

Payment Date

Payment on Monday for taxes collected during the preceding week on
motor vehicles, and on watercraft and outboard motors titled.

By the 15th day of the month for the tax collected during the last 15 days
of the previous month, and by the last day of the month for

the tax collected during the first 15 days of the month, on spiritous
liquor sold in state-contracted liquor agency stores.

By the 23rd day of the month following the close of the reporting period, which
is the previous month. Taxpayers whose annual liability in a prior year
exceeded $75,000 are required to pay by EFT. These same taxpayers

are required to make accelerated payments during each month.

By the 23rd day of January, April, July, and October for their tax

liability during the preceding three months; this method of payment

may be authorized for accounts with less than $5,000 in quarterly

tax liability.

By the 23rd day of the month following the close of each semi-annual period (pre-
determined by filing schedule) for the tax collected during the preceding six-month
period; this method of payment may be authorized for vendors and sellers whose

tax liability is less than $1,200 per six-month period.

use tax revenues, and the Public Library Fund (PLF)
received approximately 1.9 percent. The amount of state
sales tax revenue credited to the PLF varies from year to
year based on a fixed percentage of all tax collections into
the GRF. One half of each monthly transfer from the GRF
to the PLF is credited against the state sales tax portion of
GRF revenues.

Administration
TheTax Commissioner administers the sales and use
tax for the state.

Ohio Revised Code Citations
Chapters 306, 307, 351, 5709, 5739, 5741 and 6111.

Recent Court Decisions

Brown v. Levin, 2012-Ohio-5768

This was a class action suit seeking a refund of sales
tax paid on the amount received on motor vehicles traded
in as part of the federal “Cash for Clunkers” program.The
amount of consideration received from a third party, such
as “Cash for Clunkers,” is part of the tax base under Ohio
law.The taxpayer asserted that the amount received was
not part of the taxable price and he was due a refund of
sales tax paid on that amount. The Tax Commissioner chal-
lenged the complaint on jurisdictional grounds, asserting
that the taxpayer must first seek a refund of illegally or er-
roneously paid sales tax from the Department of Taxation
using the statutory procedure provided in R.C. 5739.07. The

Tenth District Court of Appeals agreed with the tax com-
missioner and remanded the case to the Common Pleas
Court with instructions to dismiss Brown’s complaint.

Bay Mechanical & Electrical Corp. v. Testa, 2012-Ohio-
4312

Bay Mechanical, a construction contractor, provided
plumbing, piping, HVAC, electrical wiring and other ser-
vices. In addition to its core employees, it relied on labor
provided by employees of Tradesmen International, Inc.
and Construction Labor Contractors. The Tax Commission-
er assessed use tax on these purchases finding that the
services were taxable employment services. Both the Tax
Commissioner and BTA rejected Bay Mechanical’s claim
that the services were not employment services under R.C.
5739.01(JJ)(3).

On appeal to the Supreme Court, Bay Mechanical
claimed that the contract language alone was sufficient to
establish the exception. In essence, Bay Mechanical’s view
was that the mere presence of the words “permanent”
and “indefinite” in the contracts established qualification
for the exception. Bay Mechanical did not provide any
documentation regarding the actual performance of the
contract during the audit process. The Court found that
the presence of “magic” words does not establish excep-
tion. Rather, the Court reiterated the rules it set forth in
H.R. Options and Moore Personnel Services, and found
that the Tax Commissioner must review the facts and cir-
cumstances to determine if the laborers were in fact per-
manently assigned. The Court affirmed the BTA's finding
that the summary evidence provided by Bay Mechanical
did not support permanent assignment stating, at 38:
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Given that H.R. Options calls for the consideration of
facts-and-circumstances evidence, that the documenta-
tion was completely withheld on audit, and that it was not
offered as an exhibit at the BTA hearing, we conclude that
the BTA did not act unreasonably, arbitrarily, or unconscio-
nably when it disregarded the summary exhibits in spite
of the controller’s foundational testimony.

Gallenstein v. Testa, 2014-Ohio-98

This case involved the tax commissioner’s assessment
of use tax on a 44-foot Sea Ray Sundancer Gallenstein
purchased from a private owner in Indiana. The Board
of Tax Appeals affirmed the assessment and Gallenstein
appealed to the Supreme Court of Ohio asserting that her
registration of the boat in Ohio was not sufficient to create
a taxable nexus and she met all the requirements of the
transient use exception in R.C. 5741.02(C)(4).

The Court agreed with Gallenstein and reversed the as-
sessment holding that:

Registering a boat in Ohio is not the same as being re-
quired to register a boat in Ohio because R.C. 1547.531(B)
(3) exempts from registration watercraft that have been
documented by the United States Coast Guard or its suc-
cessor as “temporarily transitting.” 1d. at ] 21. (emphasis
in original).

In so holding, the Court noted that from 2002 through
2004, Gallenstein, a Kentucky resident, operated her boat
in Ohio waters fewer than a dozen times, her principal
use was not on Ohio waters and the boat was docked in
Indiana.

Hoffman Properties Limited Partnership v. Testa, BTA
Case No. 2011-1372 (April 29, 2014) 2014 WL 2708161

In this case, the tax commissioner assessed use tax on
an irrigation system installed in a golf course. Hoffman
asserted that the irrigation system was real property and
not subject to use tax. The Board of Tax Appeals (“BTA")
found that “such specialized irrigation system was de-
signed and installed to address the unique needs associ-
ated with the operation of a golf course and to primarily
benefit the ongoing business conducted on the land, i.e.,
the golf course!” Therefore, the BTA affirmed the assess-
ment holding “that the irrigation system purchased by
Hoffman does not constitute real property, but is personal
property, i.e., a business fixture, and, as such, is subject to
tax, pursuant to R.C. 5701.03(B)."

Refuse Transfer Systems, Inc. v. Levin, BTA Case No.
2009-1710 (Oct. 2, 2013), 2013 WL 6833199

The tax commissioner assessed use tax on ‘tippers’
used in Refuse Transfer’s business of hauling solid waste.
Refuse Transfer appealed to the BTA contending that “[a]
tipper is an integral component of the semi-tractor ve-
hicles in this case. Refuse trailers either have a built-in
hydraulic lift, or otherwise must be assisted by a tipper
machine. Without the tipper, the trailer does not serve the
purpose of hauling and delivery [of] the waste!” The BTA
rejected Refuse Transfer’s claim holding that “the tipper

is used to unload the waste being transported, a function
that occurs after the transportation takes place, and as
such, remains subject to use tax.”

History of Major Changes

1934

General Assembly enacts a 3 percent sales tax
effective Jan. 1, 1935.

1935

Legislature enacts a companion use tax effective
Jan. 1, 1936.

1936

Ohio voters approve a constitutional amend-
ment exempting food for human consumption
off the premises where sold.

1962

The use of sales tax stamps is discontinued.

1967

Legislature increases rate to 4 percent and
broadens the tax base to include cigarettes and
beer.

1971

Cigarettes again become exempt.

1980

Senate Bill 448, signed Dec. 19, temporarily in-
creases the state sales tax rate to 5 percent from
Jan. 1 through June 30, 1981.

1981

House Bill 694, signed on Nov. 15, immediately
increases the state sales tax rate from 4 percent
to 5.1 percent. Some vendors indicate the new
rate is incompatible with their registers. House
Bill 552, signed on Nov. 24, immediately low-
ers the state rate to 5 percent. Other provisions
of H.B. 694 stand, including a broadening of
the base to again include cigarettes, as well as
repairs and other selected services. Other legisla-
tion establishes a credit for trade-ins on new
motor vehicles.

1983

Base is broadened to include business data pro-
cessing services.

1987

Purchases made with food stamps become ex-
empt from the tax; long distance telecommunica-
tions service becomes taxable.

1990

The legislature exempts tangible personal prop-
erty primarily used in manufacturing operations
from the tax, replacing a direct use exemption
for manufacturers. Also, a credit is established
for trade-ins on new or used watercraft.

1991

The tax base is broadened to include lawn care,
landscaping, private investigation and security
services.
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History of Major Changes - continued

1993

Legislature broadens tax base to include build-
ing cleaning and maintenance, exterminating,
employment agency and personnel supply ser-
vices as well as memberships in physical fitness
facilities and recreation and sports clubs. Exemp-
tions are established for qualified property used
in research and development and for nonprofit
scientific organizations. The vendor discount is
lowered from 1.5 percent to 0.75 percent of tax
collections.

1994

General Assembly exempts purchases made by
organizations defined under Internal Revenue
Code 501(c)(3).

1997

Legislature exempts the sale of personal com-
puters and qualified equipment to licensed and
certified teachers.

1999

The sale of used manufactured and mobile
homes becomes exempt effective Jan. 1, 2000.

2003

House Bill 95 temporarily increases the state
sales tax rate from 5 percent to 6 percent from
July 1, 2003 to June 30, 2005. The vendor dis-
count is temporarily increased from 0.75 percent
to 0.9 percent during the same period. Also:

e The tax base is expanded to include laundry
and dry cleaning, satellite broadcasting service,
personal care services, the intrastate transpor-
tation of persons by motor vehicle or aircraft,
towing service, snow removal, and the storage
of tangible personal property, effective Aug. 1,
2003.

e The threshold is raised for mandatory pay-
ment by electronic funds transfer from $60,000
annual tax liability to $75,000, and such taxpay-
ers begin paying on an accelerated schedule.

e Some definitions of food, beverages, and
medical supplies are changed to conform to the
provisions of the multistate Streamlined Sales
Tax Project.

2000

Also, for the purposes of the sales and use tax,
the sales of new manufactured or mobile homes
are no longer considered motor vehicle sales.

2005

House Bill 1 resets the sales tax rate to 5.5
percent effective July 1, 2005, and extends the
temporary vendor discount rate of 0.9 percent
through June 30, 2007.

2000

Legislature reduces transient vendor’s license
fee from $100 to $25. Also, the definition of an
exempt casual sale is changed to include items
that had been subject to the taxing jurisdiction of
another state.

2006

General Assembly exempts property withdrawn
from inventory and donated to a charitable orga-
nization from the use tax.

2001

The application of the sales and use tax on cer-
tain leased motor vehicles, watercraft, aircraft,
and on the lease of tangible personal property
by businesses is changed so that the tax is paid
upon consummation of the lease.

2008

General Assembly enacts House Bill 429, which
allows Ohio to retain origin sourcing for most
sales of tangible personal property made by
Ohio vendors to Ohio consumers effective Jan.
1, 2010.

2002

Senate Bill 200 permits refunds to be issued di-
rectly to consumers in cases where the consum-
er illegally or erroneously paid tax to the vendor.

2009

Electronic filing of sales tax returns becomes
mandatory. General Assembly, in House Bill 1,
applies sales tax to monthly Medicaid premiums
received by health insuring corporations in lieu
of a former 5.5 percent franchise fee.

2013

House Bill 59 increases the state sales and use
tax rate to 5.75%, effective Sept. 1, 2013.

2014

Ohio became a full member of the Streamlined
Sales Tax Project.
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Comparisons with Other States
(As of September, 2014)

This table shows state sales tax rates, the maximum

combination of local sales tax rates currently in effect for
each state, and the highest combined state and local sales
tax rate currently in effect for each state.
State State Rate | Max. Max. Total Rate
Local Rate
Georgia 4.00% 4.00% 8.00%
Indiana 7.00 7.00
Kentucky 6.00 6.00
Michigan 6.00 6.00
North Carolina 4.75 2.75 7.50
Ohio 5.75 2.25 8.00
Pennsylvania 6.00 2.00 8.00
Tennessee 7.00 2.75 9.75
Texas 6.25 2.00 8.25
West Virginia 6.00 1.00 7.00

Distribution of Revenue from Sales & Use Tax

Chart

Fiscal Year 2014

(figures in millions)

Source: OAKS State Fi

* Includes Public Library Fund and Attorney General Claims Fund.

Total: $9,344.6 million

General Revenue Fund
$9,165.8
98.1%

nancial Accounting
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Table 1
State and Permissive (Local) Sales and Use Tax Collections, by Industrial Classification: July 2013 through June 2014 period’
Industrial Classification NAICs codes Number of Business | July-December Jan.-June 2014 | Total FY 2014
Entities, Jan.-June 2013 collections collections collections
20142
Agriculture, Forestry, and Fishing 111100-115310 866 $3,823,699 $5,676,031 $9,499,730
Mining 211110-213110 181 7,806,223 13,032,209 20,838,432
Utilities (excluding telecommunications) 221100-221300 125 27,748,899 119,048,206 146,797,105
Construction 236110-238900 2,434 35,206,230 30,140,797 65,347,027
Manufacturing 311110-339900 10,880 192,200,036 218,302,793 410,502,829
Wholesale Trade 423100-425120 4,852 165,862,126 172,322,205 338,184,331
Retail Trade:
Motor Vehicle and Parts Dealers® 441110-441300 5,236 195,149,256 218,942,059 414,091,315
Furniture and Home Furnishings Stores 442110-442299 3,363 97,659,000 98,831,960 196,490,960
Electronic and Appliance Stores 443111-443130 2,436 163,914,897 180,591,686 344,506,583
Building Material and Garden Equipment & Supplies | 444110-444200 6,819 401,619,129 395,681,406 797,300,535
Food and Beverage Stores 445110-445310 6,842 250,011,268 262,461,035 512,472,303
Health and Personal Care Stores 446110-446190 7,028 114,975,347 124,402,909 239,378,256
Gasoline Stations 447100 1,402 83,505,253 85,190,502 168,695,755
Clothing and Clothing Accessories Stores 448110-448320 4614 192,396,507 186,071,228 378,467,735
Sporting Goods, Hobby, Book, and Music Stores 451110-451220 5,867 111,166,632 106,349,082 217,515,714
General Merchandise Stores 452110-452900 4,169 617,227,328 555,213,958 1,172,441,286
Miscellaneous Store Retailers 453110-453990 24,020 374,764,382 407,883,413 782,647,795
Nonstore Retailers 454110-454390 5,184 88,115,850 111,989,254 200,105,104
Transportation and Warehousing 431000-493100 1,759 17,186,307 18,041,518 35,227,825
Information (including telecommunications) 511110-519100 3,300 382,220,765 420,166,275 802,387,040
Finance and Insurance 522110-525990 540 302,314,643 323,630,683 625,945,326
Real Estate, and Rental & Leasing of Property 531110-533110 3,823 113,514,795 132,768,837 246,283,632
Professional, Scientific and Technical Services 541110-541990 1,743 91,457,443 72,617,304 164,074,748
Management of Companies (Holding Companies) 551111-551112 73 6,445,204 11,953,760 18,398,964
Administrative & Support Services, and Waste Management & 561110-562000 10,783 198,056,900 200,801,395 398,858,295
Remediation Services
Education, Health Care and Social Assistance 611000-624410 3,391 11,564,208 13,461,105 25,025,313
Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation 711100-713900 3,451 29,308,204 30,939,004 60,247,208
Accommodation and Food Services 721110-722410 19,371 432,115,892 432,018,836 864,134,728
Other Services 811110-812990 18,206 129,683,471 141,826,663 271,510,134
Unclassified n/a 8,432 26,506,888 26,490,991 52,997,879
TOTAL* 177,190 | $4,863,526,782 | $5,116,847,103 $9,980,373,885

Source: Ohio Department of Taxation

'Industrial classification data reflects the principal business activity of each business entity, generally based on the industrial (NAICs) code indicated on the entity’s
sales or use tax registration form. In addition, the tax collection data reflected in this table primarily emanates from businesses that operate as vendors or sellers,
who collect sales or use taxes from customers and remit such collections to the state. However, some businesses (such as manufacturers) remit the sales or use tax
on their taxable purchases directly to the state instead of to their vendors and sellers, usually by means of a direct payment or consumer use tax account. Amounts
remitted by entities that have these types of accounts are also included in this table.

?Indicates the number of separate legal entities (not the number of separate locations) that filed and remitted sales or use tax at any time during the January through
June 2014 period.

3Tax collections from automobile and watercraft sales are not included in this table. Such taxes are collected by the county clerks of courts and then remitted to the
state.

“The data in this table is extracted from sales and use tax returns. The totals in this table do not match actual collections because this table does not include clerk of
courts tax collections and because the table does not reflect subsequent adjustments made to tax returns, as well as revenue generated from audit activity.
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Table 2

Total Sales and Use Tax Collections attributed to
membership in Streamlined Sales Tax (a)
(Includes State and Permissive Sales and Use Tax
Collections)

Fiscal Years 2011 - 2014

Fiscal Year Total collections attributed to membership in
Streamlined Sales Tax (b)

2011 $33,978,942

2012 37,198,356

2013 43,811,607

Source: Ohio Department of Taxation

(a) The state of Ohio became an associate member of Stream-
lined Sales Tax on October 1, 2005, and became a full member
on January 1, 2014.

(b) Total collections attributed to Ohio’s membership in Stream-
lined Sales Tax are remitted under a variety of account types.
Collections from all known accounts associated with Stream-
lined Sales Tax are summarized here. However, taxpayers may
remit sales and use tax due to Ohio’s membership with Stream-
lined Sales Tax without notifying the Department of Taxation of
this distinction.

Table 3
Sales & Use Tax
Number of Accounts by Type and Payment Schedule
(As of July 1, 2014)
Payment Schedule
Accounts Semi-Annual | Monthly | Quarterly Total
Vendor's 79,559 70,148 0 149,707
Master (accounts issued by the state) 1,302 5,086 0 6,388
Transient 28,498 3,830 0 32,328
Service 1,772 7,785 0 15,557
Delivery 5,426 1,347 0 6,773
Consumers’ 0 1,404 18,989 20,393
Direct Pay 0 317 144 461
Out-of-State 7,858 8,551 0 16,409
Streamlined Sales (a) 0 418 418
Streamlined Use (a) 0 0 0
Totals 130,415 98,386 19,133 248,434
Source: Ohio Department of Taxation
(a) A subset of total collections attributed to Ohio’s membership in Streamlined Sales Tax are
remitted under Streamline Sales and Streamline Use accounts. The remainder of total collec-
tions attributed to Ohio’s membership in Streamlined Sales Tax are remitted under other account
types.




