Alcoholic Beverage Taxes

alcoholic beverages is split between the Ohio

Department of Taxation and the Ohio Department
of Commerce’s Division of Liquor Control. This chapter
covers only the role of the Department of Taxation, which
administers taxes on beer, wine, cider and mixed bever-
ages of up to 21 percent alcohol by volume.

Tax payments from excise taxes on beer, wine, cider
and mixed beverages totaled approximately $56.6 million
in fiscal year 2014. Of this amount, approximately $55.5
million was distributed to the General Revenue Fund. Ap-
proximately $1.0 million from five cents per gallon of the
excise tax on wine (including sparkling wine and ver-
mouth) was distributed to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund.
Two cents of the five cents is temporary and is scheduled
to end on June 30, 2015.

The Department of Taxation also administers county
permissive taxes on beer, wine, cider and mixed bever-
ages. Cuyahoga County is the only county that levies such
taxes; in 2008, the General Assembly prohibited new local
taxes on alcohol. See the Local GovernmentTaxes section
for details.

R esponsibility for administering Ohio’s taxes on

e Beer is brewed or fermented from malt products. It con-
tains at least 0.5 percent but not more than 12 percent
alcohol by volume.

e Mixed beverages are mixtures of wine or distilled spir-
its with carbonated or noncarbonated flavoring materi-
als. They contain at least 0.5 percent and not more than
21 percent alcohol by volume.

e Wine, including sparkling wine and vermouth, consists
of fermented juices of grapes, fruits or other agricul-
tural products. It contains at least 0.5 percent and not
more than 21 percent alcohol by volume. By law, wine
with less than four percent alcohol is not subject to the
alcoholic beverage excise tax.

e Cider consists of fermented juices of apples, including
flavored, sparkling or carbonated cider. It contains at
least 0.5 percent and not more than six percent alcohol
by weight.

A separate tax on liquor gallonage is administered by

the Division of Liquor Control.

Rates

Excise tax rates on each alcoholic beverage vary by
type and alcohol content. The state tax rates are as fol-
lows:

Taxpayer
The excise taxes on alcoholic beverages are paid by the -
manufacturers, importers and wholesale distributors who Type ‘_)f Product Code Section Measure Rate
sell and distribute in and to Ohio, as shown in the table Beer in bottles or | 4301.42 6 oz. or 0.84
below. cans fractional part | cent(s)'
thereof
Type of Product Code Section | Taxpayer Wine (containing | 4301.43 - Gallon 32 cents
Bottle and canned beer | 4301.42 Manufacturer, bottler, can- alcohol 4% - 14% | 4301.432
ner or wholesale dealer by volume
Wine 4301.43 Manufacturer, wholesale Wine (containing | 4301.43 - Gallon $1.00
dealer or retail dealer alcohol 14% - 21% | 4301.432 cents
Mixed beverages 4301.43 Manufacturer, wholesale by volume
dealer or retail dealer Vermouth 4301.43 - Gallon $1.10
Beer in barrels 4305.01 Manufacturer or consignee 4301.432
Sparkling & 4301.43 - Gallon $1.50
Tax Base carbonated wine | 4301.432
(Ohio Revised Code 4301.01) & champagne
.The tax base is comprised of beer, wine, cider and Cider 4301.43 Gallon 24 cents
mixed beverages up to 21 percent alcohol by volume. -
These beverages are defined in law as follows: Mixed Beverages | 430143 Gallon $1.20
Beer in barrels 4305.01 31 gallons $5.58
' The rate on bottles and cans having less than 12 ounces is 0.14 cent(s) per
ounce.

32 tax.Ohio.gov |
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Exemptions and Refunds

(R.C. 4301.23, 4303.332, 4303.333, 4307.05)

Exemptions

The alcoholic beverage tax does not apply to:
e Sacramental wine used in religious rites.
e Sales to the federal government.

e Sales for resale outside Ohio.

Small breweries

Any Ohio A-1-c permit holder will receive a credit
against their excise tax the following year and a refund on
any excise tax paid during the current year on up to 9.3
million gallons of beer distributed in Ohio.

Small wineries

Any licensed Ohio wine producer whose total produc-
tion does not exceed 500,000 gallons in a calendar year
will be granted an exemption from the excise tax for such
year and a refund of any excise tax paid.

Filing and Payment Dates

(R.C. 4303.33, 4301.422)
Filing and payment schedules vary according to the
type of permit.

Beer permit holders
e Advance payments are due on or before the 18th day of
each month for that month’s estimated tax liability.
e Monthly payments are due on or before the 10th day of
the month for the previous month’s liability.

Chart 1

Wine and mixed beverage permit holders
Monthly payments are due on or before the 18th day of
each month for the previous month’s liability.

Discounts and Additional Credits
(R.C. 4303.33, 4301.422)

Discounts and additional credits are available for collec-
tion and timely payment of tax liability by permit holders.

Beer permit holders

An advance pay credit is available equal to three per-
cent of the amount of tax received by the 18th day of the
month for which the tax is paid. Also, a discount is offered
on the balance of tax due (after the advance payment)
if received by the 10th day of the following month. This
additional discount is the smaller of the following: three
percent of 10 percent of the advance payment or three
percent of the net amount of tax due after deducting the
advance payment.

Wine and mixed beverage permit holders

A three percent discount is available on the amount of
monthly payment if the payment is received on or before
the 18th day of the month for the previous month’s tax
liability.

Disposition of Revenue
(R.C. 924.51-.55, 4301.43, 4301.432, 4301.46, 4305.01, 4301.423)
State levies
All of the excise tax is distributed to the General Reve-
nue Fund, except for five cents per gallon of the excise tax

Cider

Vermouth 807 (1.3%)

Sparkling wine $0.1(0.2%)

$1.0(1.8%)

Mixed Beverage
$3.7 (6.4%)

Wine (over 14% to 21% alcohol)
$1.5(2.5%)

Wine (14% or less alcohol)
$5.6 (9.7%)

Source: Ohio Department of Taxation

Alcoholic Beverage Tax Liabilities
by Beverage (State Only)
Fiscal Year 2014

(figures in rounded millions)

Total: $57.8

Beer
$45.2 (78.2%)
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on wine (including sparkling wine and vermouth), which is
distributed to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund.

Administration
(R.C. 4307.04)

TheTax Commissioner administers alcoholic beverage
taxes on beer, wine, cider and mixed beverages of up to
21 percent alcohol by volume. The Division of Liquor Con-
trol, in the Ohio Department of Commerce, administers
the liquor gallonage tax. The Division of Liquor Control
is also responsible for issuing, suspending, and revoking
all permits to manufacture, distribute, and sell alcoholic
beverages.

Ohio Revised Code Citations
Chapters 924, 4301, 4303, 4305, 4307.

History of Major Changes

1805 General Assembly enacts first saloon license law,
permitting counties to charge annual fees of between $4
and $12.

1851 New Ohio constitution prohibits the licensing of liquor

traffic, but permits the legislature to “provide against
evils resulting therefrom.”

1886 After two previous taxes are struck down, the General
Assembly enacts the Dow Law, a $200 annual tax on
the traffic of liquor and $100 annual tax on the traffic of
“malt or vinous” alcohol. Generally, the tax applies to
saloons; manufacturers are exempted. Initially, pro-
ceeds are split between county treasuries and county
poor funds. The Dow Law, framed as an “act providing
against the evils” of liquor traffic, withstands constitu-
tional scrutiny.

1888 Dow tax is raised to $250, regardless of type of alcohol.
One-fifth of proceeds is directed to the state general
revenue fund.

1896 Dow tax is raised to $350; 30 percent of revenue is dedi-
cated to state general revenue fund.

1906 Dow tax is raised to $1,000.
1920 Prohibition begins.

1933 Prohibition ends; the modern taxation of alcohol begins.
Beer and malt beverages are taxed at $1 per barrel.
Wine is taxed at 10 percent of retail price.

1934 Liquor is taxed at $1 per gallon. Tax on bottled beer and
malt beverages is set at 0.75 cents per each six ounces
or fractional share thereof.

1935 Mixed beverages are taxed at 10 percent of retail price.
Malt beverage tax is increased to $2.50 per barrel.

1939

Mixed beverages are taxed at 40 cents per gallon. Wine
tax is revised as follows:

e Wine (less than 14 percent alcohol): 12 cents per
gallon.

e Wine (14 percent to 21 percent alcohol): 30 cents per
gallon.

e Vermouth: 60 cents per gallon.

e Sparkling wine and champagne: $1 per gallon.

1959

Sales of wine and mixed beverages are subjected to
sales tax. Beer tax is increased to $2.50 per barrel.

1967

Beer and malt beverages are subjected to sales tax.

1969

New rates are enacted as follows:

e Liquor gallonage: $2.25 per gallon.

e Mixed beverages: 80 cents per gallon.

e Wine (less than 14 percent): 24 cents per gallon.
¢ Wine (14 to 21 percent): 60 cents per gallon.

e Vermouth: 75 cents per gallon.

e Sparkling wine and champagne: $1.25 per gallon.

1981

Temporary tax increases on beer, malt beverages, wine
and mixed beverages take effect from January to June.

1982

¢ Credit against taxes is enacted for Ohio brewers and
wine producers.

e Wine tax is increased 2 cents per gallon, with 3 cents
per gallon earmarked for grape industries. Distinction
between “beer” and “malt” beverages is repealed. Tax
on beer in containers of 12 ounces or less is changed
to 0.125 cents per ounce.

1989

Tax on barreled beer is increased to $3.50 per barrel.

1992

Tax on beerisincreased to 0.14 cents per ounce bottled

and $5.58 per barrel. Mixed beverage tax is increased to

$1.20 per gallon. Wine taxes are increased to the follow-

ing rates:

e Lessthan 14 percent alcohol: 32 cents per gallon.
Between 14 and 21 percent alcohol: $1 per gallon.

¢ Sparkling wine: $1.50 per gallon.

¢ Vermouth: $1.10 per gallon.

1995

Additional 2 cents of the excise tax on wine is temporar-
ily allocated to the Ohio grape industry special account
until July 1, 1999.

1997

Department of Liquor Control is renamed Division of
Liquor Control and placed within the Department of
Commerce.

1999

Temporary two cents per gallon tax on wine for the Ohio
Grape Industries Fund is extended until July 1, 2001 (and
extended for an additional two years in 2001, 2003, 2005,
2007, 2009, 2011 and 2013).

2007

General Assembly creates two new permit types, B-2A
and S, to allow for the direct shipment of wine by small
wineries to retailers and consumers in Ohio.
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History of Major Changes - continued

2008

General Assembly exempts holders of B-2a and S
permits from 30 cents of the 32 cents per gallon wine tax
and allows for a refund of all but two cents per gallon

of the total tax paid by these permit holders, retroac-
tive to Oct. 1, 2007. Also raises the threshold at which
wine manufacturers are eligible for these permits from
150,000 gallons to 250,000 gallons.

2011

General Assembly allows an “S” permit holder direct
shipment of beer by brand owner, or United States im-
porter, to consumers in Ohio. The first monthly tax return
that was affected by these changes was July, 2011
return, which was due August 10, 2011.

2013

Carved the A-1-c permit holders out of the A-1 permit
holders. A-1-c permit holders are those manufacturers
whose total production of beer, wherever produced, will
not exceed 31 million gallons of beer in a calendar year.

Comparisons with Other States
(as of July 1, 2014)

The percentages in this listing refer to alcohol content,
which is measured by volume. Malt beverages include
beer. One barrel equals 31 gallons. In states where the tax
is on a per liter basis, a conversion to gallons was done for
comparison sake.

Georgia * Distilled spirits: $3.79 (inclusive of import tax).
* Beer: $10 per barrel.
 Wine: Up to $1.51 per gallon (inclusive of
import tax).

Indiana * Beer, flavored malt beverages and hard cider:
11.5 cents per gallon.
* Mixed beverages (15 percent or less): 47
cents per gallon.
e Wine (less than 21 percent): 47 cents per
gallon.
e Liquor and wine (21 percent or more): $2.68
per gallon.

Kentucky e Beer: $2.50 per barrel.
e Wine: 50 cents per gallon.
e Spirits: $1.92 per gallon.
* Distilled spirits placed in containers for resale
(less than 6%): 25 cents per gallon.

Michigan * Beer: $6.30 per barrel.
e Wine (16 percent or less): 51 cents per gallon;
75.7 cents per liter if over 16 percent.
* Mixed drinks (10 percent or less): $1.81 per
gallon.
e For liquor, including wine (more than 21 per-
cent): 12 percent of retail selling price.

North Carolina

* Beer: $19.13 per barrel.

* Wine: $1.00 per gallon; If more than 16% but
less than 24%: $1.11 per gallon).

e Liquor: 30 percent excise on distiller’s price
plus state store freight and bailment charge.

Pennsylvania | Maltor brewed beverages: $2.48 per barrel.
* Any alcoholic beverage, except malt or
brewed beverages, which contains more than
0.5 percent: 18 percent of net price.

Tennessee * Wine: $37.50 per barrel.

e Spirits: $4.40 per gallon.

* Alcoholic beverages (7 percent or less) $1.10
per gallon.

* Wine: $1.21 per gallon.

Texas * Beer (0.5 percent by volume to 4 percent by
weight): $6 per barrel.

« Still wine (14 percent or less): 20.4 cents per
gallon.

« Still wine (over 14 percent): 40.8 cents per
gallon.

» Sparkling wine: 51.6 cents per gallon.

* Ale and malt liquor (over 4 percent): 19.8
cents per gallon.

* Distilled spirits: $2.40 per gallon.

* Mixed beverages: 14 percent of gross re-
ceipts.

West Virginia | ¢ Beer and similar products (0.5 to 6 percent):

$5.50 per barrel.
* Wine: $1.00 per gallon.
e Liquor: 5 percent of retail price.
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Table 1
Alcoholic Beverage Tax Revenue
Fiscal Years 2010 - 2014
(dollars in millions)
Fiscal Year Beer Wine & Mixed | Liquor Total
Beverages
2010 $45.9 $10.2 $36.5 $92.6
2011 44.9 1.5 317.6 94.0
2012 46.5 12.2 39.4 98.1
2013 44.7 12.9 40.7 98.3
2014 44.0 12.6 4.8 98.4
Source: Office of Budget and Management financial reports

Table 2
Alcoholic Beverage Taxes, Reported Payments and Credits
Fiscal Year 2014

Type of Beverage Gross Tax Credits and Discounts Net Tax Receipts

Beer

Advance tax payments $37,869,083 $1,092,483 $36,776,600

Payments with return 7,312,193 59,341 7,243,462

Sub-Total $45,181,276 $1,161,214 $44,020,062
Wine and Mixed beverages

Payment with return $13,062,833 $370,035 $12,692,798

Total $58,244,109 $1,531,249 $56,712,860

Source: Ohio Department of Taxation, as reported on tax returns.

Table 3
Alcoholic Beverage Taxes Liability, as Reported on Returns
Fiscal Years 2012 - 2014

Type of Beverage 2012 2013 2014
Beer $47,114,394 $48,907,607 $45,206,066
Wine 14% or less alcohol 5,588,212 5,936,640 5,604,643
Wine 14-21% alcohol 1,394,923 1,503,243 1,464,552
Mixed beverages 3,958,262 3,822,599 3,713,666
Vermouth 70,469 84,376 90,661
Sparkling wine 965,831 1,027,167 1,021,494
Cider 134,360 279,146 720,382
Total $59,226,451 $61,560,778 $57,821,465
Note: Amounts represent tax liability as opposed to tax payments reported on Table 2.
Source: Ohio Department of Taxation, as reported on tax returns.




